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PREMIER v. NAVARRO
Opinion of the Court

OPINION

Presiding Judge Patricia K. Norris delivered the opinion of the Court, in
which Judge Patricia A. Orozco and Judge Kent E. Cattani joined.

N ORRIS, Judge:

q Under Arizona Revised Statutes (“A.R.S.”) section 33-932
(2014), a health care provider, other than a hospital, may perfect a medical
lien if it records the lien “before or within thirty days after the patient has
received any services relating to the injuries.” We hold this provision
allows a non-hospital health care provider to perfect a lien retroactively for
any services received by the provider’s patient within the 30 days preceding
the provider’s recording of the lien and prospectively thereafter, assuming
the provider complies with all other statutory lien formalities.

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY!

q2 From June 29, 2011 until October 9, 2011, Plaintiff/ Appellant
Premier Pain Management treated a third party for injuries arising out of a
car accident involving Defendant/Appellee Kimberly Navarro.? On
September 16, 2011, Premier recorded a health care lien for the cost of the
services it had rendered to the third party. On March 28, 2013, Navarro’s
automobile insurance carrier settled the third party’s injury claim and paid
the settlement sum to the third party. The third party did not pay Premier
for any of the medical services she had received.

q3 Premier subsequently sued the Navarros to enforce its health
care lien. The Navarros moved to dismiss Premier’s complaint arguing that
by waiting until September 16, 2011 to record its lien, Premier had failed to

IThe Arizona Legislature has not amended any of the statutes
cited in this opinion since 2004. Thus, we cite to the current version of all
statutes.

ZBecause the superior court dismissed this case for failure to
state a claim, we accept as true the well-pled facts as alleged in the
complaint. Sullivan v. Pulte Home Corp., 232 Ariz. 344, 345, § 2, 306 P.3d 1,
2 (2013).
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perfect the lien within 30 days after it had provided “any services” to the
third party as required by A.R.S. § 33-932. The superior court agreed with
the Navarros and dismissed Premier’s complaint.

DISCUSSION
4 Section 33-932 reads in pertinent part as follows:

A. In order to perfect a lien granted by § 33-931,
the executive officer, licensed health care
provider or agent of a health care provider shall
record, before or within thirty days after the
patient has received any services relating to the
injuries, except a hospital which shall record
within thirty days after the patient is
discharged, in the office of the recorder in the
county in which the health care provider is
located a verified statement in writing setting
forth all of the following:

1. The name and address of the patient as they
appear on the records of the health care
provider.

4. The dates or range of dates of services
received by the patient from the health care
provider.

5. The amount claimed due for health care.

6. For health care providers other than hospitals
or ambulance services, to the best of the
claimant’s knowledge, the names and addresses
of all persons, firms or corporations and their
insurance carriers claimed by the injured person
or the injured person’s representative to be
liable for damages arising from the injuries for
which the person received health care.

B. The verified statement shall also include the
amount claimed due as of the date of recording
of the claim or lien and a statement regarding
whether the patient’s treatment has been
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terminated or will be continued. Amounts
incurred during the continued period are also
subject to the lien.

95 On appeal, Premier argues the superior court should not have
dismissed its complaint because it recorded its lien under A.R.S. § 33-932
within 30 days after it had provided the third party “any services.” Under
Premier’s construction of the statute, a non-hospital health care provider
could perfect a lien for all services it provided to its patient including those
rendered long before it had recorded the lien if it recorded the lien within
30 days after “any service,” including the last service.

q6 The Navarros argue this construction ignores the distinction
the statute draws between health care providers, such as Premier, and
hospitals. As the Navarros correctly point out, A.R.S. § 33-932 authorizes a
hospital to record its lien within 30 days after it has discharged its patient,
while it requires a non-hospital health care provider to record its lien
“before or within thirty days after the patient has received any services
relating to the injuries.” We agree with the Navarros that Premier’s
construction of the statute would eliminate this distinction and would
allow a non-hospital health care provider to record a lien for all services it
provided to the patient as long as it recorded the lien within 30 days after
discharging the patient —a right the Legislature gave only to hospitals.3 See
generally State v. Fikes, 228 Ariz. 389, 391, § 6,267 P.3d 1181, 1183 (App. 2011)
(“[W]e may not construe part of a statute in a way that would render any

3Initially, only hospitals could record health care liens. 1954
Ariz. Sess. Laws, ch. 126, §§ 1-2 (2d Reg. Sess.). In 1988, the Legislature
authorized other health care providers to record liens. 1988 Ariz. Sess.
Laws, ch. 298, § 3 (2d Reg. Sess.). As originally introduced, the proposed
statute did not impose different recording requirements for hospitals and
other health care providers. S.B. 1158, Introduced Version, 38th Leg., 2d
Reg. Sess. (1988). Instead, it simply required all health care providers to
record the lien before or within ten days after the patient “has received any
services relating to the injuries.” Id. Through an amendment to the
proposed statute, the Legislature adopted the language of the statute which
distinguishes between hospitals and other health care providers. Compare
S.B. 1158, Introduced Version, with 1988 Ariz. Sess. Laws, ch. 298, § 3 (2d
Reg. Sess.), and S.B. 1158, House Engrossed Version, 38th Leg., 2d Reg. Sess.
(1988); see State v. Barnard, 126 Ariz. 110,112, 612 P.2d 1073, 1075 (App. 1980)
(successive drafts of same act are instructive in determining legislative
intent).
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other part of the statute void, superfluous, contradictory or insignificant.”
(quoting State v. Larson, 222 Ariz. 341, 9 14, 214 P.3d 429, 432 (App. 2009)
(internal quotation marks omitted))).

q7 In contrast to Premier’s construction of A.R.S. § 33-392, the
Navarros argue the phrase “any services” refers to when “any services” are
first provided. Under their construction of the statute, we would have to
insert an additional requirement into the statute, effectively changing it to
require a non-hospital health care provider to record a lien within 30 days
after the patient first receives any services relating to the injuries. Section
33-932 does not include the word “first,” and it is a fundamental rule of
statutory construction that a court should not impose a requirement into a
statute that the Legislature has elected to omit. See State v. Baggett, 232 Ariz.
424,426, 410, 306 P.3d 81, 83 (App. 2013) (court will not read limitation into
statute when legislature has chosen not to include limitation); Hart v. Hart,
220 Ariz. 183, 187, 9§ 17, 204 P.3d 441, 445 (App. 2009) (“[S]tandard
principles of statutory construction require that we do not judicially impose
a requirement the legislature has intentionally chosen not to require.”).

q8 In construing statutes, our obligation is to “give effect” to
legislative intent. Ariz. Dep’t of Revenue v. Action Marine, Inc., 218 Ariz. 141,
143, 9 10, 181 P.3d 188, 190 (2008). To do this, we exercise de novo review,
Ariz. Citizens Clean Elections Comm’n v. Brain, 234 Ariz. 322, 325, 9 11, 322
P.3d 139, 142 (2014),* and, in exercising this review, we are not bound by
the parties’ legal arguments. Jeter v. Mayo Clinic Ariz., 211 Ariz. 386, 403
n.23, 4 76, 121 P.3d 1256, 1273 n.23 (App. 2005). To determine legislative
intent, we examine the wording of A.R.S. § 33-932 as a whole, and we view
that wording in context with due regard to the distinction the statute draws
between hospitals and non-hospital health care providers. See Action
Marine, 218 Ariz. at 143, § 10, 180 P.3d at 190 (to give effect to legislative
intent, court construes statute as a whole and, inter alia, considers its
language, context, and subject matter); State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v.
White, 231 Ariz. 337, 342, 9 19, 295 P.3d 435, 440 (App. 2013) (“We do not
consider words in isolation when interpreting statutes.” (citation omitted)
(internal quotation marks omitted)); Pinto Valley Copper Corp. v. Ariz. Dep't
of Econ. Sec., 146 Ariz. 484, 486, 706 P.2d 1251, 1253 (App. 1985) (“[S]tatutory

4We also review de novo a superior court’s dismissal of a
complaint under Rule 12(b)(6). Coleman v. City of Mesa, 230 Ariz. 352, 355,
9 7,284 P.3d 863, 866 (2012).


http://www.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?ft=Y&referencepositiontype=S&rs=ap2.0&rp=%2ffind%2fdefault.wl&serialnum=2019610923&fn=_top&referenceposition=432&findtype=Y&vr=2.0&db=0004645&wbtoolsId=2019610923&HistoryType=C
http://www.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?ft=Y&referencepositiontype=S&rs=ap2.0&rp=%2ffind%2fdefault.wl&serialnum=2033078033&fn=_top&referenceposition=142&findtype=Y&vr=2.0&db=0004645&wbtoolsId=2033078033&HistoryType=F
http://www.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?ft=Y&referencepositiontype=S&rs=ap2.0&rp=%2ffind%2fdefault.wl&serialnum=2033078033&fn=_top&referenceposition=142&findtype=Y&vr=2.0&db=0004645&wbtoolsId=2033078033&HistoryType=F
http://www.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?ft=Y&referencepositiontype=S&rs=ap2.0&rp=%2ffind%2fdefault.wl&serialnum=2029561870&fn=_top&referenceposition=440&findtype=Y&vr=2.0&db=0004645&wbtoolsId=2029561870&HistoryType=C
http://www.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?ft=Y&referencepositiontype=S&rs=ap2.0&rp=%2ffind%2fdefault.wl&serialnum=2029561870&fn=_top&referenceposition=440&findtype=Y&vr=2.0&db=0004645&wbtoolsId=2029561870&HistoryType=C
http://www.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?ft=Y&referencepositiontype=S&rs=ap2.0&rp=%2ffind%2fdefault.wl&serialnum=1985147943&fn=_top&referenceposition=1253&findtype=Y&vr=2.0&db=0000661&wbtoolsId=1985147943&HistoryType=N
http://www.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?ft=Y&referencepositiontype=S&rs=ap2.0&rp=%2ffind%2fdefault.wl&serialnum=1985147943&fn=_top&referenceposition=1253&findtype=Y&vr=2.0&db=0000661&wbtoolsId=1985147943&HistoryType=N
http://www.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?ft=Y&referencepositiontype=S&rs=ap2.0&rp=%2ffind%2fdefault.wl&serialnum=2028567580&fn=_top&referenceposition=866&findtype=Y&vr=2.0&db=0004645&wbtoolsId=2028567580&HistoryType=F
http://www.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?ft=Y&referencepositiontype=S&rs=ap2.0&rp=%2ffind%2fdefault.wl&serialnum=2028567580&fn=_top&referenceposition=866&findtype=Y&vr=2.0&db=0004645&wbtoolsId=2028567580&HistoryType=F

PREMIER v. NAVARRO
Opinion of the Court

provisions must be considered in the context of the entire statute, and
consideration must be given to all of the statute’s provisions . . ..”).

b[E As noted above, A.R.S. § 33-932 allows a hospital to perfect a
lien as long as it records the lien within 30 days after a patient’s discharge.
Thus, a hospital’s lien applies retroactively to all services it provided to the
patient related to the patient’s injuries, even if it provided those services
more than 30 days before it recorded the lien. In contrast, A.R.S. § 33-932
allows a non-hospital health care provider to perfect a lien only if it records
the lien before or within 30 days after the patient receives any services
related to the injuries. Unless the lien is recorded before the patient receives
the services, the lien applies retroactively only to the services provided to
the patient within the 30 days prior to its recordation. Accordingly, under
the statutory scheme, a non-health care provider’s lien applies retroactively
to any services received by the patient within the 30 days preceding the
recording of the lien and prospectively thereafter, assuming the non-
hospital health care provider complies with all other statutory lien
formalities. This construction maintains the distinction between hospitals
and non-hospital health care providers and is consistent with the purpose
of the health care provider lien statutes. As our supreme court has
explained, the statutes were designed “to lessen the burden on hospitals
and other medical providers imposed by non-paying accident cases.”
Blankenbaker v. Jonovich, 205 Ariz. 383, 387, 4 19, 71 P.3d 910, 914 (2003)
(citation omitted) (internal quotation marks omitted); see also Action Marine,
218 Ariz. at 143, 9 10, 180 P.3d at 190 (court considers purpose of statute in
ascertaining legislative intent).

q10 Here, Premier provided health care services to the third party
from June 29, 2011 until October 9, 2011, but did not record its lien until
September 16, 2011. Premier’s lien applied retroactively to any services it
provided to the third party within the 30 days prior to September 16, 2011
(that is, on or after August 17, 2011) and prospectively to any services
rendered thereafter. Assuming it complied with all other statutory lien
formalities, Premier was entitled to enforce its lien against the Navarros
insofar as it pertained to those services. See A.R.S. § 33-934(A) (2014) (lien
claimant may enforce lien against “the person, firm or corporation liable for
damages” to the injured person). Therefore, the superior court should not
have dismissed Premier’s complaint against the Navarros.
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CONCLUSION

q11 We vacate the superior court’s dismissal of Premier’s
complaint, and remand for further proceedings consistent with this
opinion. As the prevailing party on appeal, we award Premier its
reasonable attorneys’ fees and statutory taxable costs on appeal, A.R.S. §§
33-934(B) and 12-341 (2003), contingent upon its compliance with Arizona
Rule of Civil Appellate Procedure 21.

Ruth A. Willingham - Clerk of the Court
FILED:ama
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