
  
 IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ARIZONA 

____________________________________ 
 
 
 
In the Matter of: ) 
 ) 
STATE BAR OF ARIZONA  ) Administrative Order 
REGULATION RECORDS RETENTION ) No. 2020 - 153 
SCHEDULE FOR CASE FILES  )  
 ) 
____________________________________)    
 
 In accordance with Rule 32(m), Rules of the Supreme Court, the State Bar will maintain 
its records under public access policies adopted by the Supreme Court. 
 

Therefore, pursuant to Article VI, Section 3, of the Arizona Constitution,  
 

IT IS ORDERED that the attached records retention and disposition schedule is approved 
and shall be used by the State Bar of Arizona for its case file records relating to discipline, 
disability, reinstatement, and contempt proceedings, unauthorized practice of law, and monitoring 
of probation, diversion, and conditional admittees.  
 

Dated this 30th day of September, 2020. 
 
 
 
 

____________________________________ 
ROBERT BRUTINEL 
Chief Justice 
 



The State Bar of Arizona  
Record Retention and Disposition Schedule 

 
 

A.  Definitions.  In this schedule the following definitions apply:  
 
“Case data” means the electronic information about a case, but not images of documents, 
maintained by the records manager, generally found in a case management system, and 
often posted to the web or the State Bar’s website.  
 
“Case file” means all documents and other material created or received by the state bar in 
relation to discipline, disability, unauthorized practice of law, reinstatement proceedings, 
contempt proceedings, and monitoring records related to probation, diversion and 
conditional admittees either in paper or electronic format, and includes items such as CDs, 
DVDs, transcripts and flash drives. Case file includes case data.  Documents in case files 
do not include duplicate copies or drafts of documents preserved only for convenience of 
reference. 
 
“Electronic storage” means digitization of paper case files. Digital records of case file and 
case data maintained in a case management system, and document repository. 
 
“Docket” means the case number, case type, names of respondent and complainant, case 
decision, date of destruction, disposition effective date, and the original listing of 
documents/orders filed in the case. 
 
“Final disposition” means the issuance of a mandate, final judgment and order or other 
final action closing the case file. 

 
“Retention period” means the period of time during which records must be kept before they 
may be disposed of, usually a period of years and sometimes contingent on an event.  
 
“Records manager” means the person or persons responsible for keeping and disposing of 
any records held by the state bar, in relation to discipline, disability, unauthorized practice 
of law, reinstatement proceedings, contempt proceedings, and monitoring records related 
to probation, diversion and conditional admittees. 
 

B. General Provisions. 
 
1. Permanent records.  As set forth below, the records manager shall maintain, regardless 

of format, records designated as permanent.  
 

2. Retention period of 50 years. As set forth below, the records manager shall maintain, 
regardless of format, records designated as having a retention period of 50 years, 
however, the records manager may, after ten years from the final disposition of a case, 
maintain the case file via electronic storage and may destroy the paper case file.  

 



3.  Paper case files and electronic records.  As set forth below, the records manager may 
destroy or delete all remaining paper or electronic case files at the end of the retention 
period.  

 
4. No duty to migrate to new technology. The records manager is not responsible for 

migrating to new technology any material received/filed such as CD and DVD that 
must be read by a computer. 

 
5.  Completeness of schedule.  This records retention and disposition schedule is intended 

to govern all lawyer regulation case files, which include discipline, disability, 
unauthorized practice of law, reinstatement, contempt, monitoring records related to 
probation, diversion and conditional admittees.  If a record cannot be located in this 
schedule, the records manager should use his or her best judgment to place a record 
within a category that is already identified.  

 
6. Destruction of non-permanent records.  When a paper case file or other paper record is 

eligible for destruction, the records manager shall take proper precautions to protect the 
privacy of the individuals identified in the case file or other record and destroy the 
complete case file or other record by shredding, burning, or pulverizing the physical 
case file or other record. Electronic images of case file documents, data, or other 
records shall be deleted from all electronic repositories in which they reside, including 
servers and hard drives. A list containing minimal information, such as the case 
number, case type, respondent and complainant names, and date of destruction, 
capturing any case files or other records destroyed to maintain a record that the case 
file or other record has been destroyed and has not been merely misplaced or never 
existed.  

 
7. Effective date.  The provisions of this order are effective the date of this order and may 

be applied retroactively at the discretion of the records manager.   
 

C. Retention and Disposition Schedule.  The state bar records manager shall retain and 
dispose of records relating to discipline, disability, unauthorized practice of law, 
reinstatement proceedings, contempt proceedings, and monitoring records related to 
probation, diversion, and conditional admittees according to the following schedule:   

  



RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULE 
 

Record Category Retention 
Period 

Remarks 

   
A. Dockets for all case files Permanent  
   
B. Case Files 
 
Discipline, disability, unauthorized 
practice of law, reinstatement, 
contempt, monitoring records related 
to probation, diversion and 
conditional admittees. 
 

50 years From the final disposition   
 

After 10 years from the final 
disposition, the case file may be 
stored electronically, and the paper 
record destroyed 

 

   
C. Case Files resulting in dismissal 3 years From the date of dismissal (unless 

retained pursuant to Rule 71 Ariz. R. 
Sup. Ct.) 

   
 
 
 
 
 
 

 


