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1. INTRODUCTION 
 
AUTHORITY  
 

Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 8, § 8-134 and Arizona Code of 
Judicial Administration (ACJA) § 7-201 and § 7-203 establish the 
authority for administration of the Confidential Intermediary Board 
by the Arizona Supreme Court.  The Court administers the 
Confidential Intermediary Program through the Certification and 
Licensing Division of the Administrative Office of the Courts. 

DEFINITION ACJA § 7-202 defines confidential intermediaries as persons who 
complete the requirements for certification established by ACJA  
§ 7-201, ACJA § 7-203, and ARS  § 8-134 and possess a 
validation confidential intermediary certificate issued by the 
Arizona Supreme Court. 
 

REQUIREMENT FOR 
EXAMINATION 

All candidates for certification as a confidential intermediary shall 
successfully pass a written examination.  
 
ACJA § 7-201 and § 7-203 do not provide for any waiver of the 
examination.  All potential candidates for certification must take 
and pass the examination in order to be eligible to apply for 
certification.  
 

EXEMPTIONS FROM 
CERTIFICATION 

ARS 8-134 does not require any agency licensed by the state or 
the Arizona Department of Economic Security to be certified as 
confidential intermediaries. 
 

PURPOSE OF THIS 
HANDBOOK 

The purpose of this handbook is to provide candidates with 
detailed information about the examination for certification as a 
confidential intermediary.  The handbook includes information 
about subject matter areas assessed by the examination, 
candidate responsibilities on the day of the examination, and 
notification of examination results. 
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2. APPLICATION POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 
 
ELIGIBILITY All potential candidates for certification must successfully 

complete the written knowledge examination, submit a completed 
application for certification, including the application fee, and 
possess the education or experience as outlined in ACJA § 7-201 
and § 7-203. 

CONFIRMATION OF 
ELIGIBILITY 

Potential applicants for certification as a confidential intermediary 
must possess and demonstrate one or more of the qualifications 
to sit for the exam illustrated by ACJA § 7-203.  AJCA § 7-203 and 
instructions for registering to participate in the examination are 
available for candidate review on the Program website at 
www.supreme.state.az.us/cip/.  
 
Available seats for the examination are filled on a first come first-
come, first-serve basis.  Examination staff reserves the right to 
limit the number of seats available at each administration.  All 
candidates who fail to appear for a scheduled examination will be 
assessed a fee as prescribed by ACJA § 7-203. 
 

FEES The fee for participating in the examination is $50.00.  If it 
becomes necessary for an applicant to retake the examination, 
the fee is $50.00.  If a candidate registers for the exam and fails to 
appear as scheduled, the candidate will be assessed a $50.00 re-
registration fee.   
 

SPECIAL 
ACCOMMODATIONS 

Requests for special accommodations in accordance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 must be submitted to the 
Certification and Licensing Division with substantiating 
documentation. 
 
Requests must include a description of the nature of the disability 
and limitations related to the examination, the type of 
accommodation(s) requested and verification from a qualified 
professional.  The qualified professional must have special 
expertise to evaluate the existence of the disability and proposed 
accommodations needed for the specific disability.  Requests are 
reviewed and granted on an individual basis. 

 

http://www.supreme.state.az.us/cip/
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3. OVERVIEW OF THE EXAMINATION 
 

 
TIME LIMITS 

 

 
Candidates are allowed a total of three (3) hours to complete the 
examination.  Candidates may wish to complete the multiple-
choice questions in any order; however, are responsible for 
managing their own time.   
 

FORMAT The examination consists of 100 multiple-choice questions worth 
one point each.  There is one correct answer for each question.  
There is no penalty for guessing; therefore, candidates should 
answer all of the questions.   
 
The multiple-choice questions cover subject matter areas related 
to the provision of services as a confidential intermediary (see 
Content Specifications, Section 4).  The questions are designed to 
demonstrate candidates possess the basic knowledge, skills, and 
abilities to provide confidential intermediary services.   
 

PASSING SCORE The passing score is the score that a candidate must achieve in 
order to pass the examination and qualify for certification as a 
confidential intermediary in Arizona.   

  
The passing score for the examination is a scaled score of 70 out 

of the possible 100 points.  (Please note: the scaled score may 
be different from or higher than the raw score, which is the 
number of correct answers out of 100.) Scoring is not based on a 
candidate achieving a passing score in each of the content 
specification areas, but rather is reflective of the overall score on 
the examination. 
 
 

 



 

 7 

 

 

4. CONTENT SPECIFICATIONS 
 

CONTENT AREAS The content for the examination was developed by a focus group of 
confidential intermediaries from representative practice settings in 
January 2007.  They evaluated the importance of major subject 
matter areas of practice, determined their relative importance to 
practice, and assigned a weight (percentage) to each area.   
 
For example, if the weight is 20%, there would be 20 questions on a 
100-item examination.  There are five content areas outlined in the 
content specifications: 
 
I.          Statutes and code (20%) 

 a.      ARS Section 8-134 
 b.      ACJA Section 7-201 
 c.      ACJA Section 7-203 
 d.      ICWA   

II.        Program procedures (15%) 
 a.      Certification 
 b.      Complaints 
 c.      Renewal  
 d.   Compliance 

III.      Ethics (25%) 
 a.      Standards of conduct 
 b.      Confidentiality 
 c.      Sensitivity and professionalism 
 d.      Conflicts of interest 

IV.     Case procedures (30%) 
 a.      Search parties 
 b.      Request for appointment 
 c.      Consultation and mentoring 
 d.      Fees and expenses 
 e.      Record access, affidavits, and orders for release 
 f.        File review statement 
 g.      Information consents 
 h.      Request for withdrawal and case reassignment 
 i.        Finalization report 

V.        Search process (10%) 
 a.      Record searches 
 b.      Public information 
 c.      Communication and telephone call guidelines 
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The specified percentages of content area questions will be 
randomly ordered on the examination.   For example, questions on 
program procedures will not be contained in one section or placed 
in consecutive order. 
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5. SAMPLE QUESTIONS 
 
These specific questions will not be on the examination but are representative of the 
types and format of the questions on the examination. 
 
1. Within how many days must an applicant retake the examination upon notice of the 

examination results? 
A. 120 days 
B. 90 days 
C. 60 days 
D. 30 days 

 
 
2. Mary Smith, Harry Williams and John Jones are CIs who work in the same office.  

Mary and John plan to marry soon. Mary, who was adopted at birth, wants to locate 
her birth parents and invite them to her wedding.  Who can conduct the search for 
Mary's birth parents? 
A. Mary, as the adoptee 
B. John, as a personal friend 
C. Harry, as a business associate 
D. Another CI 

 
 
3. A CI attempts to contact a birth father but the birth father's wife demands to know 

why he is being contacted.  What should the CI tell the wife? 
A. "It is a personal matter."   
B. "I need to speak with her about a court matter." 
C. "I have information about a family member." 
D. "I am doing an investigation." 

 
 
Answers: B, D, A
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6. EXAMINATION POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 
 

 
EXAMINATION 
SECURITY  

 
Candidates cannot receive any unauthorized assistance during 
the examination, including but not limited to any of the following:  

 

 Impersonating another person in order to take the examination 
on that person’s behalf; 

 

 Communicating examination content to any person (during or 
after the examination); 

 

 Removing examination materials from the examination room 
for the purpose of selling, distributing, buying, receiving, or 
having unauthorized possession of any portion of the 
examination; 

 

 Having in one’s possession books, equipment, notes, written or 
printed materials, data, other than the examination materials 
distributed; 

 

 Reproducing examination materials or providing notes of 
examination content to any persons other than the examination 
staff; and, 

 

 Obstructing or subverting the administration of the 
examination. 

 
Any candidate who violates examination security policies is 
subject to denial of certification pursuant to ACJA §§ 7-201 and 7-
202.   
 

ARRIVAL AT THE 
EXAMINATION  

On the day of the examination, the candidate must arrive at the 
designated examination site no later than the established 
registration time.     
 

TARDINESS  An examination will not be disrupted to accommodate late arrivals.  
If a candidate reports late, the candidate will not be permitted to 
take the examination and will be required to pay prescribed fees 
for later participation. 
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REGISTRATION The candidate must report to the registration area and present 
photographic identification (e.g., state-issued driver’s license, 
military-issued identification or government-issued passport). The 
candidate will not be permitted to take the examination if they 
have not pre-registered and/or if they do not have the required 
photographic identification.   
 
At the time of the examination, all candidates will be required to 
sign an acknowledgement of the examination security policies and 
a non-disclosure agreement.     
 

NO SHOW POLICY  If a candidate fails to show up for the examination, the candidate 
must re-register for the examination and pay the applicable fees. 
 

MATERIALS TO 
BRING  

Other than photographic identification, the candidate will be 
provided with all material necessary to participate in the 
examination process. 
 

PROHIBITED 
MATERIALS 

Candidates cannot bring communication devices, reference 
materials, photographic equipment or electronic devices into the 
examination room.  The following items are examples of prohibited 
materials: 
 

 Cellular phones and pagers 

 Candidate handbooks, technical reference books and 
dictionaries 

 Cameras and videographic recorders 

 Radios and tape recorders 

 Laptop computers 

 Programmable electronic organizers, personal digital 
assistants (PDAs) 

 Drinks and food 
 

PERSONAL 
BELONGINGS  

Candidates may keep keys, wallets and purses on the floor near 
their seat during the examination.  Larger items (e.g., backpacks, 
briefcases, duffel bags, handbags, tote bags) and outerwear (e. g. 
coats, hats) CANNOT be brought into the examination.   
 
Examination staff will not be responsible for monitoring 
candidates’ personal items during the examination.  If a candidate 
reports with prohibited materials or belongings the candidate will 
be asked to make alternative arrangements before starting the 
examination.   
 
If securing belongings results in the candidate being late for the 
examination, the candidate will not be permitted to take the 
examination and will need to reschedule and submit any 
applicable fees.   
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CHECK-OUT 
PROCEDURE  

All examination materials including test booklets, answer sheets, 
pencils and any notes taken during the examination must be 
returned to the examination staff.  Failure to do so will void the 
candidate’s examination.  
 

DISRUPTIVE 
BEHAVIOR  

Candidates who engage in behavior that is disruptive to other 
candidates will be disqualified from the examination process. 
 
Examples of disruptive behavior during the examination include: 
 

 Eating and drinking during the examination;  

 Allowing the alarm features of programmable wristwatches or 
other timepieces to emit sound; or 

 Talking, whispering, or otherwise attempting to communicate 
with other candidates for any reason. 

 
LEAVING THE ROOM 
DURING THE 
EXAMINATION 

Candidates will not be permitted to leave the examination room for 
any purpose unless accompanied by a member of the 
examination staff.  Candidates will NOT receive extra time to 
complete the examination.  Failure to follow this rule will result in 
the candidate’s examination being voided.  
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7. EXAMINATION RESULTS 
 

NOTIFICATION OF 
RESULTS 

 

Examination results will be sent to each candidate by mail at the 
address on file with the program within thirty (30) days of 
completion of the examination.  Do NOT call the Certification and 
Licensing Division or make inquiries by email or in person 
requesting examination results.   Examination results will NOT be 
released to third parties. 

 
RE-EXAMINATION 

 
A candidate who fails to pass the written examination may retake 
the examination two times under the following conditions: 
 

 The candidate is not disqualified from retaking the 
examination for fraud, dishonesty, or corruption while taking 
the examination, 

 The candidate sends a written request to retake the 
examination within 30 days of the date of receipt of the 
examination results,  

 The candidate takes the reexamination within 90 days of 
the date of the notice of the examination results. 

  
Pursuant to ACJA § 7-201, a candidate who has taken and failed 
the examination three times shall not be allowed to take a further 
examination unless the Confidential Intermediary Board grants 
special permission for the candidate to take another examination.  
The candidate must submit a written request stating the additional 
study and preparation the candidate has completed to qualify for 
an additional examination. 
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8. REFERENCES 
 
 

The following list of references provides a complete and comprehensive list of the 
references related to the examination questions. There are no references listed that are 
not reflected in the questions which may be present on the examination.  All cited 
references refer to the version of the reference as of January 2007.  Any amendments 
adopted to the references after January 2007 will not be included in the examination.  
Every reference you will need to be familiar with for the purpose of the examination is 
contained in Section 9 of this study guide. 
 

1. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201 (D) 
2. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201 (E) 
3. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201 (F) 
4. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201 (G)(2) 
5. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201 (G)(4) 
6. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201 (H) 
7. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203(E) 
8. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203(F) 
9. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203(G) 
10. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203(J) 
11. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203 (L) 
12. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203 (M) 
13. Arizona Revised Statute § 8-106(E) 
14. Arizona Revised Statute § 8-121  
15. Arizona Revised Statute § 8-134 
16. United States Code, Title 25, Chapter 21, § 1901 
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9.  APPLICABLE ACJA SECTIONS, RULES, ORDERS 
AND STATUTES 

  
 

1. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201 (D) – Administration 

 
D. Administration. 

 
1. Role and Responsibilities of the Supreme Court.  Pursuant to A.R.S. § 8-134(I), § 

14-5651(A),  § 28-3395(B), § 32-4005(A) and Rule 31(a)(23), Rules of the Supreme 
Court, the supreme court is responsible for administering the confidential 
intermediary program, fiduciary program, defensive driving program, certified 
reporter program and legal document preparer program.  The supreme court 
shall: 

 
a. Adopt rules for the implementation and administration of all certification 

programs including minimum qualifications, certification and disciplinary 
processes and a code of conduct. 

 
b. Establish and collect fees, costs and fines necessary for the implementation 

and enforcement of all certification programs. 
 

2. Role and Responsibilities of the Director.  The director as designated by the Az. 
Const. Art. 6 § 7: 
 
a. Shall: 

 
(1) Develop policies and procedures in conformity with this section and the 

applicable sections of ACJA including §§ 7-202, -203, -205, -206 and -
208; 

(2) Appoint and supervise all division staff; 
(3) Approve or disapprove all budgetary matters;  
(4) Ensure implementation of the applicable laws, this section and the 

applicable sections of the ACJA;   
(5) Develop policies and procedures regarding review of credit reports;  
(6) Develop policies and procedures governing any complaint initiated by the 

director; and 
(7) Develop time frames for the processing of certification applications by 

division staff. 
 
b. May:  

 
(1) Appoint and develop administrative guidelines for ethics advisory 

committees to issue nonbinding ethical advisory opinions;  
(2) Direct division staff to conduct an investigation into alleged acts of 

misconduct or violations by a certificate holder pursuant to subsection 
(H)(1)(b); 
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(3) Initiate a complaint pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(b)(4)(b); and 
(4) Pursuant to the applicable sections of the ACJA, administrative 

orders and A.R.S. §§ 28-3399 and 41-2401(D)(8), initiate a 
compliance audit of a certificate holder to determine if the certificate 
holder is in compliance with statutes, court rules, administrative orders, 
court orders, local rules, the ACJA and any other legal or ethical 
requirement relating to the certificate holder’s profession or occupation.  
The following provisions apply to audits: 

 
(a) Timeframes.  The director shall develop timeframes and procedures 

for division staff conducting compliance audits. 
(b) Confidentiality. 

(i) Working papers associated with the compliance audit maintained 
by division staff are not public records and are not subject to 
disclosure, except to court staff in connection with their official 
duties, the attorney general, county attorney, public regulatory 
entities or law enforcement agencies. 

(ii) Upon completion of an audit the final report issued to the affected 
party is a public record subject to public inspection. 

(c) Subpoena.  The director may subpoena witnesses or documentary 
evidence, administer oaths and examine under oath any individual 
relative to the audit.  

(d) Referral.  The director may refer the audited certificate holder to an 
applicable agency or division staff for investigation of alleged acts of 
misconduct or violations of the statutes, court rules, this section or the 
applicable sections of the ACJA.  If the director refers the audited 
certificate holder to division staff for investigation of allegations of acts 
of misconduct or violations, the division staff shall process the 
complaint pursuant to subsection (H). 

(e) Violations or Noncompliance.  Willful violation of or willful 
noncompliance with an order of the director regarding the audit, or 
willful noncompliance with a corrective action plan resulting from an 
audit, may result in an order directing the certificate holder to comply.  
The director may forward a copy of the order or report to the superior 
court and request the superior court issue an order to require the 
appearance of a person or business, compliance with the director’s 
order, or both.  The superior court may treat the failure to obey the 
order as contempt of court and may impose penalties as though the 
certificate holder had disobeyed an order issued by the superior court. 

 
3. Role and Responsibilities of the Deputy Director.  The deputy director shall:  

 
a. Serve as the probable cause evaluator, pursuant to subsection (H)(5)(a); 
 
b. Review the investigation summary of a complaint prepared by division staff; 

and 
 
c. Determine if there is probable cause to believe a certificate holder has 

committed acts of misconduct or violations of the statutes, court rules, or the 
applicable sections of the ACJA. 
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4. Role and Responsibilities of Division Staff.  The director shall designate the 

division director and other division staff to assist in the administration of all 
certification programs pursuant to the Az. Const. Art 6, § 7.  Division staff shall 
administer all certification programs.   

 
a. Role and Responsibilities of the Division Director.  The division director may: 

 
(1) Issue subpoenas in the investigation process pursuant to subsection 

(H)(1)(h); 
(2) Dismiss complaints where the supreme court has no jurisdiction pursuant 

to subsection (H)(2)(b)(2); 
(3) Dismiss clearly insufficient complaints pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(b)(3); 

and 
(4) Refer complaints to another state agency or entity with jurisdiction, if 

appropriate, pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(b)(4). 
 

b. Division staff shall: 
 

(1) Submit completed applicant fingerprint cards and applicable fees to the 
Arizona Department of Public Safety, in accordance with A.R.S. § 41-
1750 and Public Law 92-544, pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(d)(3);  

(2) Make recommendations to the board on all matters of applications and 
certification and any other matters regarding applicants and certificate 
holders; 

(3) Provide updates to the board on program activities; 
(4) Maintain a list of certificate holders and post the list on the applicable Website 

and make the list available to the public; 
(5) Conduct investigations of allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of 

the statutes, court rules, or the applicable sections of the ACJA by 
applicants, certificate holders or non-certificate holders and report the 
findings to the board; and 

(6) Conduct compliance audits and monitoring as required by this section or 
the applicable sections of the ACJA. 

 
5. Role and Responsibilities of Professional and Occupational Boards. 

 
a. Establishment.  The supreme court shall establish a board for each profession or 

occupation regulated by the supreme court pursuant to this section and the 
applicable ACJA section. 

 
b. Appointment of members.  Upon establishment of a board, the chief justice shall 

appoint members to initial varying terms of one, two and three years to 
encourage continuity of the board.  Thereafter, all terms are for three years, 
unless otherwise noted in the applicable ACJA section.  The chief justice shall 
appoint the chair of each board who shall serve as chair no longer than three 
years, unless otherwise specified in the applicable ACJA section.  If a vacancy 
occurs in a board member position, the chief justice shall fill the vacancy 
expeditiously in the manner provided for in the original appointment.  The 
appointments shall provide geographical, gender and ethnic diversity and consist 
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of members of the regulated profession or occupation, court staff, the public and 
other professionals pursuant to the applicable ACJA section.  The chief justice 
may appoint members to serve successive terms.  The members shall assist 
division staff in the recruitment of board members and in the recommendation to 
the chief justice regarding appointment of candidates to the board. 

 
c. Duties of the Board.   
 

(1) The board shall: 
(a) Make recommendations to the supreme court regarding rules, policies 

and procedures for regulation of the profession or occupation, 
including: 
(i) applicant qualifications;  
(ii) applicant testing; 
(iii) fees; 
(iv) a code of conduct; 
(v) continuing education; and 
(vi) any other matter pertaining to the regulated profession. 

 (b) Establish a passing score on any examination used for certification 
purposes, other than a national validated examination; 

 (c) Make all decisions regarding requests for special consideration to sit 
for subsequent examinations pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(f)(2)(d)(ii) 
and (iii); 

(d) Make all decisions regarding whether to certify applicants for initial or 
renewal of certification; 

 (e) Review the division director’s dismissal of a complaint, pursuant to 
subsection (H)(2)(d); 

 (f) Review the probable cause evaluator’s finding pursuant to subsection 
(H)(5)(a) and make a decision to: 
(i) Request division staff to conduct further investigation; 
(ii) Refer the complaint to another entity with jurisdiction; 
(iii) Determine no violation exists and dismiss the complaint with or 

without       prejudice, pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a)(3);  
(iv) Order the preparation of documents necessary for informal or 

formal disciplinary actions pursuant to subsection (H)(7)(b), 
(H)(8)(b) or (H)(9)(b); or 

(v) Order an immediate emergency suspension of a certificate and set 
a date for an expedited hearing, if the public health, safety or 
welfare are at risk, pursuant to subsection (H)(9)(d)(1); and 

(g) Make all final decisions regarding alleged acts of misconduct or 
violations of the statutes, court rules, or applicable sections of the 
ACJA by applicants, certificate holders or noncertificate holders 
pursuant to subsections (H)(24) and (H)(25).  The board has the 
final decision on the disposition of a complaint and may take any 
action pursuant to subsection (H)(24), regardless of the 
recommendations of the division director or hearing officer. 

(2) The board may: 
(a) Hold informal interviews of applicants regarding initial certification 

and issue subpoenas for witnesses and documentary evidence, 
pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(a)(10); 
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 (b) Hold informal interviews of certificate holders regarding renewal of 
certification and issue subpoenas for witnesses and documentary 
evidence, pursuant to subsection (G)(1)(b); 

(c) Request additional investigation of a complaint dismissed by the 
division director, pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(d)(2); 

 (d) Hold formal interviews of certificate holders regarding disciplinary 
matters, whether any discipline is eventually imposed or not, and 
issue subpoenas for witnesses and documentary evidence, 
pursuant to subsection (H)(8); and 

(e) Make procedural determinations to consolidate or sever any discipline 
matter. 

 
d. The board shall follow the policies and procedures in subsection (I).  
 
e. Persons appointed by the supreme court to serve on boards are immune 

from civil liability for good faith conduct relating to their official duties.  
 

6.   Computation of Time.  For the purposes of this section and the ACJA specific 
section, the computation of days pursuant to Rule 6(a), Rules of Civil Procedure 
is calculated as follows: 

 
[T]he day of the act, event or default from which the designated period of 
time begins to run shall not be included . . . if less than 11 days, 
intermediate Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays shall not be included 
in the computation. When that period of time is 11 days or more, 
intermediate Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays shall be included in 
the computation. The last day of the period so computed shall be 
included, unless it is a Saturday, a Sunday or a legal holiday, in which 
event the period runs until the end of the next day which is not a Saturday, 
a Sunday or a legal holiday. 
 

2. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201 (E) – Initial Certification 
 
E. Initial Certification. 
 

1. Application for Initial Certification. 
 

a. Forms.  An applicant shall apply for certification on approved forms and file 
them with division staff.  

 
(1) Division staff shall conduct a preliminary review of the submitted 

application and determine if the application is deficient, the required 
supporting documents are deficient, fees are deficient, or a combination of 
these requirements are deficient. 

(2) Division staff shall advise the applicant in writing of the deficiencies. 
(3) The applicant shall provide the information and a written response to 

correct or explain the deficiencies, or otherwise remedy the defects in the 
application, supporting documents or fees. 

(4) Division staff may require the applicant to provide additional information or an 
explanation reasonably necessary to determine if the applicant meets the 
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required qualifications specified in this section or the applicable sections of the 
ACJA. 

(5) Upon receipt of a complete application, division staff may conduct a 
personal credit review and review records regarding an application for initial 
certification, consistent with the policies and procedures developed by the 
director pursuant to subsection (D)(2)(a)(5). 

(6) The applicant shall notify division staff of any changes relevant to the 
application for certification within five days of the change. 

(7) Upon a final review of the application, division staff shall prepare and 
forward to the board a written recommendation regarding the applicant’s 
qualifications and eligibility for certification. 

(8) Division staff shall advise the board in any written recommendation 
regarding certification of an applicant, of any complaints alleging acts of 
misconduct or violations of statute, court rules or order, this section, or the 
applicable sections of the ACJA, if the allegations occurred during the 
time the applicant held an active certificate and were received after the 
applicant’s certificate expired. 

(9) The division staff’s written recommendation to the board shall note any 
deficiencies in the application.  A deficient application for initial certification is 
lacking one or more of the following requirements: 
(a) An explanation or correction of any deficiencies, pursuant to subsection 

(E)(1)(a)(4);  
(b) Payment of all appropriate fees, pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(b); 
(c) A photograph, pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(c); or 
(d) A readable fingerprint card or affidavit in lieu of a fingerprint card, pursuant 

to subsection (E)(1)(d). 
(10) The board, upon review of the division staff recommendation, may request 

an informal interview with an applicant for certification, pursuant to 
subsection (D)(5)(c)(2)(a), to establish if: 
(a) Additional information is needed to determine if the applicant meets all 

qualifications for certification in this section and the applicable section 
of the ACJA;  

(b) An explanation of the information provided by the applicant is needed 
to determine if the applicant meets all qualifications for certification in 
this section and the applicable section of the ACJA; or 

(c) Any complaints, regarding allegations of misconduct or violations of 
the statutes, court rules or applicable sections of the ACJA, received 
after the applicant’s original certificate expired, require investigation by 
division staff pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(a)(4). 

 
b. Fees.  The applicant shall submit, with the application, any applicable 

certification, examination and training fees specified in the applicable 
sections of the ACJA.  Fees are not refundable or waivable.  An applicant 
shall make the payment for any fee payable to the Arizona Supreme Court.  
An application submitted without fees is deficient. 

 
c. Photograph.  The applicant for certification shall provide with the application, 

one color passport-size photograph, two inches by two inches of the 
applicant’s head, neck and shoulders only.  The applicant shall ensure the 
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photograph was taken within the last two years and clearly identifies the 
applicant.  An application submitted without a photograph is deficient. 

 
d. Fingerprinting.  If required pursuant to law, the applicant shall submit with the 

application, a full set of fingerprints, with the fee established by law, for the 
purpose of obtaining a state and federal criminal records check.  An 
application submitted without a fingerprint card, if required by law, is deficient. 

 
(1) The applicant shall provide a readable and complete fingerprint card.  The 

applicant shall pay any costs attributable to the original fingerprinting or 
subsequent re-fingerprinting due to unreadable fingerprints and any fees 
required for the submission or resubmission of fingerprints. 

(2) If after two attempts, the FBI determines the fingerprints provided are not 
readable, the applicant shall submit a written statement, under oath, the 
applicant has not been arrested, charged, indicted, convicted of or pled 
guilty to any felony or misdemeanor, other than as disclosed on the 
application.   

(3) Division staff shall submit completed applicant fingerprint cards and the 
applicable fees to the Arizona Department of Public Safety, pursuant to 
A.R.S. § 41-1750, Public Law 92-544 and subsection (D)(4)(b)(1). 

 
e. Initial Training.  If required by the applicable section of the ACJA, an applicant 

shall attend and complete the initial training session.  Division staff shall 
provide the applicant with a document signifying the applicant completed the 
training.  If required by the applicable section of the ACJA, an applicant shall 
attend the entire training session for eligibility to sit for a certification 
examination. 

 
f. Examination.  If required by the applicable section of the ACJA, an applicant 

shall take and pass the examination for initial certification.  Specific 
examination requirements are located in subsection (E) of the applicable 
ACJA section.  National examinations shall be at the time and place 
scheduled by the administering entity. 

 
(1) Administration of the Initial Examination.  In administering the 

examination, division staff shall: 
(a) Offer the examination on dates in conjunction with the initial training for 

certification, if initial training is required by the applicable section of the 
ACJA; 

(b) Set a date and place for the examination; 
(c) Promptly notify qualified applicants in writing they are permitted to sit 

for the examination, specifying the time and place of such 
examination; 

(d) Publish in advance of the examination, content specifications for the 
examination and a study guide, as approved by the applicable board 
and make the specifications and study guide available to applicants;  

(e) Announce, in advance of the examination, the passing score for the 
examination, as established by the applicable board.  The passing 
score shall be consistent with the job analysis conducted at the 
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direction of the board.  An applicant shall pass with a final score on the 
examination meeting the guidelines established by the board; 

(f)  Use multiple versions of the examination and ensure no copies of the 
examination are released to applicants or the public; 

(g) Inform each applicant in writing as to whether the applicant passed or 
failed the examination and if the grade is failing, a reexamination is 
required to meet all qualifications for certification; and 

(h)  Make and keep an accurate record of each examination used at each 
administration of the examination and the score of each person taking the 
examination. 

(2) Administration of Reexaminations.  Division staff shall allow an applicant 
who fails the first examination to: 
(a) Review the answer sheet and grade of the applicant, upon written 

request.  The applicant shall conduct the review during business hours 
in the presence of division staff and the applicant shall not copy 
materials provided for review. 

(b) Retake the examination two times under the following conditions: 
(i) The applicant is not otherwise disqualified from retaking the 

examination; 
(ii) The applicant sent a written request to retake the examination to 

division staff within 30 days of the date of the notice of the 
examination results;  

(iii) The applicant files a new application and pays the applicable 
examination fee each time;  

(iv) The applicant takes the second or third reexamination within 90 
days of the date of the notice of the examination results indicating 
the applicant failed either the first or second examination; and 

(v) An applicant who does not submit a written request to retake the 
examination within the 30 day time frame specified in subsection 
(E)(1)(f)(2)(b)(ii), may request an extension of time from the board 
upon a showing of good cause. 

(c) An applicant taking and failing the examination three times, unless 
otherwise noted in the applicable ACJA section, shall not be permitted 
to take any subsequent examination unless granted permission by the 
board. 

(d) Subsequent Examinations.  
(i) Any applicant who was unsuccessful on the third attempt to pass 

the examination may request the board for permission to sit for a 
fourth examination.  The applicant shall submit a written request to 
the board to sit for a fourth examination under the following 
conditions: 
a) The applicant has filed a new application with division staff and 

paid the appropriate examination fee; 
b) The applicant is not otherwise disqualified from taking the 

subsequent examination; 
c) The applicant has provided documentation attached to the new 

application stating the additional study and preparation the applicant 
has made to qualify for a fourth examination; and 

d) The applicant has provided documentation attached to the new 
application demonstrating the circumstances and reasons for 
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believing the applicant now possesses the knowledge of the 
minimum competencies of the profession or occupation to pass the 
fourth examination. 

(ii)   If the board finds the applicant demonstrates additional study and 
preparation and the circumstances and reasons to believe the 
applicant now possesses the knowledge of the minimum 
competencies of the profession or occupation, the board may, 
pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(c ), approve the applicant’s 
request to sit for the fourth examination.  Division staff shall inform 
the applicant of the board’s decision to allow the applicant to sit for 
the fourth examination within ten days of the board’s decision.  
The notice shall state the earliest date for which the applicant may 
sit for the fourth examination. 

(iii) If the board finds the applicant does not demonstrate additional 
study and preparation and the circumstances and reasons to 
believe the applicant now possesses the knowledge of the minimum 
competencies of the profession or occupation, the board shall, 
pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(c), deny the applicant’s request 
to sit for the fourth examination.  Division staff shall inform the 
applicant of the board’s decision to deny the applicant’s request to 
sit for the fourth examination within ten days of the board’s decision.  
The notice shall state the reasons for the board’s denial.  The 
decision by the board to deny the request is final and there is no 
right to a hearing.   

(iv) If the applicant’s request to sit for the fourth examination is denied, 
the applicant may file a new application twelve months after the 
board’s decision to deny. 

(v) An applicant who was unsuccessful on the fourth or any 
subsequent examinations may request permission from the board 
to sit for a subsequent examination pursuant to subsection 
(E)(1)(f)(2)(d). 

 
g.   An applicant is disqualified from taking any future examination if the board 

determines the applicant engaged in fraud, dishonesty or corruption while 
taking the examination or any subsequent examination.  

 
h.  Updating of Examinations.  Division staff shall update examinations as 

needed and may ask representatives from the court community, regulated 
profession or occupation, the public, or any other knowledgeable resource to 
assist in the development and validation of examinations for the applicable 
sections of the ACJA.  

 
 2.  Decision Regarding Certification. 
 

a. Notification of Certification.  Upon the board’s decision to issue a certificate, 
division staff shall promptly notify qualified applicants of certification in writing, 
pursuant to this section and the applicable section of the ACJA.  Each 
qualified applicant shall receive a document, badge or card evidencing 
certification, stating the applicant’s name, date of certification, certificate 
number and expiration date of the certification.  Each certificate shall expire 
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as provided in the applicable section of the ACJA.  In addition, unless 
previously provided, each applicant granted certification shall receive a copy 
of this section and the applicable section of the ACJA, detailing the 
responsibilities of the certificate holder. 

 
b. Certificate Status.  All certificates are valid until expired, surrendered, suspended 

or revoked. 
 

c. Denial of Initial Certification. 
 

(1) The board shall deny certification of the applicant if the applicant does not 
meet the qualifications or eligibility requirements at the time of the 
application described in this section or the applicable section of the ACJA; 
or has not submitted a complete application with all deficiencies corrected, 
the applicable documents and fees. 

(2) The board may deny certification of any applicant if one or more of the 
following is found: 
(a) Material misrepresentation, omission, fraud, dishonesty, or corruption 

on the part of the applicant in the examination for certification;  
(b) The applicant or an officer, director, partner, member, trustee, or 

manager of the applicant: 
(i) Has committed material misrepresentation, omission, fraud, 

dishonesty, or corruption in the application form; 
(ii) Has committed any act constituting material misrepresentation, 

omission, fraud, dishonesty or corruption in business or financial 
matters; 

(iii) Has conduct showing the applicant or an officer, director, partner, 
member, trustee, or manager of the applicant is incompetent or a 
source of injury and loss to the public;  

(iv) Has a conviction by final judgment of a felony, regardless of 
whether civil rights have been restored;  

(v) Has a conviction by final judgment of a misdemeanor if the crime 
has a reasonable relationship to the practice of the certified 
profession or occupation, regardless of whether civil rights have 
been restored; 

(vi) Has a denial, revocation, suspension or any disciplinary action of 
any professional or occupational license or certificate;   

(vii) Has a censure, probation or any other disciplinary action of any 
professional or occupational license or certificate by other licensing 
or regulatory entities if the underlying conduct is relevant to the 
certification sought; 

(viii) Has a termination, suspension, probation or any other disciplinary 
action regarding past employment if the underlying conduct is 
relevant to the certification sought; 

(ix) Has been found civilly liable in an action involving misrepresentation, 
material omission, fraud, misappropriation, theft or conversion;  

(x) Is currently on probation or parole; 
(xi) Has violated any decision, order, or rule issued by a 

professional regulatory entity;   
(xii) Has violated any order of a court, judicial officer, administrative 
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tribunal, or the board; 
(xiii) Has made a false or misleading statement or verification in support 

of an application for a certificate filed by another person;  
(xiv) Has made a false or misleading oral or written statement to division 

staff or the board; 
(xv) Failed to disclose information on the certification application 

subsequently revealed through the background check; 
(xvi) Failed to respond or furnish information to division staff or the board 

when the information is legally requested and is in the applicant’s 
control or is reasonably available to the applicant and pertains to 
certification or investigative inquiries; or 

(xvii) If the applicant is a business, a record of conduct constituting 
dishonesty or fraud on the part of an employee, board member, or 
the business.  

(3) The board may consider any or all of the following criteria when reviewing 
the application for certification of an applicant with a misdemeanor or 
felony conviction, pursuant to subsection (E)(2)(c)(2)(b)(iv) and (v): 
(a) The applicant’s age at the time of the conviction; 
(b) The applicant’s experience and general level of sophistication at the 

time of the pertinent conduct and conviction; 
(c) The degree of violence, injury or property damage and the cumulative 

effect of the conduct; 
(d) The applicant’s level of disregard of ethical or professional obligations; 
(e) The reliability of the information regarding the conduct; 
(f) If the offenses involved fraud, deceit or dishonesty on the part of the 

applicant resulting in harm to others;  
(g) The recency of the conviction; 
(h) Any evidence of rehabilitation or positive social contributions since the 

conviction occurred as offered by the applicant; 
(i) The relationship of the conviction to the purpose of certification; 
(j) The relationship of the conviction to the applicant’s field of certification; 
(k) The applicant’s candor during the application process; 
(l) The significance of any omissions or misrepresentation during the 

application process; and 
(m) The applicant’s overall qualifications for certification separate from the 

conviction. 
(4) Upon the board’s decision to deny certification, division staff shall, notify 

each applicant denied certification of the reasons for the denial and the 
right of the applicant to a hearing, pursuant to subsection (E)(2)(c)(5).  
Division staff shall provide the notice in writing and shall send the notice 
within ten days after the board’s decision. 

(5) An applicant is entitled to a hearing on the decision to deny certification, if 
the disciplinary clerk receives a written request for a hearing within fifteen 
days after division staff mails the notice of the denial.  The applicant is the 
moving party at the hearing and has the burden of proof.  The provisions 
of subsections (H)(12) through (H)(23) and (H)(25) through (H)(27) apply 
regarding procedures for the hearing and appeal. 

(6) An applicant denied certification by a final decision of the board, whether 
or not a hearing was requested and held, may reapply for certification, 
pursuant to subsection (E), under the following circumstances: 
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(a) It has been twelve months since the final decision by the board; 
(b) If the initial reasons for denial were failure to meet the education and 

experience requirements, the applicant shall attach to the new 
application written documentation demonstrating how the 
circumstances have changed to meet these requirements: 
(i) Division staff shall review the new application and supporting 

documentation and consider if the applicant now meets the 
education and experience requirements; 

(ii) Division staff shall notify the applicant in writing within ten days if 
the applicant has now provided sufficient documentation to 
demonstrate the applicant meets the education and experience 
requirements pursuant to this section and the applicable ACJA 
sections or has not provided sufficient documentation to 
demonstrate the applicant now meets the education and 
experience requirements; 

(iii) If the applicant has met the education and experience requirements 
necessary for certification, division staff shall forward the 
application to the board pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(a)(7); 

(iv) If the applicant has not met the education and experience 
requirements necessary for certification, division staff shall forward 
the application to the board noting the deficiencies and a 
recommendation for denial pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(a)(9) and 
provide written notice to the applicant of the deficiencies and 
recommendation; and 

(v) The applicant may request an informal interview with the board to 
review the recommendation of division staff for denial of 
certification because of the deficiencies, if the request is submitted 
to the board in writing within ten days of the date of the notification. 

(c) If the board denied certification for reasons other than failure to meet 
the education or experience requirements, the applicant shall present 
new documentation to address the original issues resulting in denial 
including all of the following: 
(i) Demonstration of acceptance of responsibility for the conduct 

leading to the denial by the board; and 
(ii) Establishment of good moral character. 

(d) In determining whether the applicant has established good moral 
character, the board shall conduct an informal interview with the 
applicant, no later than 60 days after the applicant has submitted a 
completed application. 

(e) Upon a showing of good cause, the applicant may apply for 
certification sooner than twelve months if denied solely for lack of 
education or experience necessary for certification, if those 
circumstances have changed. 

(f) The applicant may not reapply for certification if there are statutory 
provisions prohibiting certification as specified in the applicable ACJA 
section. 

 
3. Time Frames for Certification. 

 
a. The director shall develop time frames for the processing of certification 
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applications by division staff, pursuant to subsection (D)(2)(a)(7). 
 
b. An applicant shall respond timely to requests for information from division staff 

pertaining to the applicant’s application.  Unless the applicant can show good 
cause as to why the board should grant additional time, the board shall not 
approve any applicant for certification unless the applicant successfully 
completes all requirements within 90 days from the date division staff received 
the original initial application for certification or within 90 days of the applicant 
passing the examination for certification if required by the applicable section of 
the ACJA.    

 
c.  If an applicant needs additional time to comply with division staff requests or to 

complete the application process within the time frames specified in this 
subsection, the applicant shall file a written request for an extension with 
division staff.  The request shall state the reasons for additional time to comply 
with time frames and certification requirements.  The applicant shall file the 
request for additional time to complete the initial application at a minimum, ten 
days prior to the 90 day deadline, unless the applicant makes a showing of 
good cause.  Failure to complete the certification process or file a written 
request for an extension of time within this time period shall nullify and void the 
original application and supporting documents, including fingerprints, fees and 
the applicable examination scores. 

 
d.  Division staff shall forward the written request for an extension of time to the 

board at the next scheduled board meeting. 
 
e.   If the applicant fails to meet the 90 day deadline or is not granted additional 

time by the board to complete the initial certification process, the applicant is 
considered a new applicant.  The applicant shall submit a new application 
including a fingerprint card and fee if applicable and certification and training 
fees.  The applicant is not required to sit for the examination if the applicant 
submits the new application within one year of having successfully passed 
the required examination. 
 

4. Records of Applicants for Certification and Certificate Holders.  Unless otherwise 
provided by law, the following applies to applicant and certificate holder records:  

 
a. Applicant and certificate holder’s certification records are open to the public, 

after home addresses, home or cellular telephone numbers, social security 
numbers and all other personally identifying information, except for the name 
of the certificate holder, have been redacted. 

 
b. Division staff shall retain applicant and certificate holder records for a period 

of five years from the last activity in the record.  Division staff shall take 
appropriate methods to ensure the confidentiality of any destroyed records. 

 
c.  If an applicant or certificate holder needs to have personally identifying 

information contained in their files released to an employer or potential 
employer, the applicant or certificate holder shall sign a release of information 
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form.  Division staff shall provide the applicant or certificate holder with an 
approved form for this purpose.  

 
5. Unlawful Use of Designation or Abbreviation.  A person who has received a certificate 

to practice in a specific profession or occupation from the board is authorized to utilize 
the designation of “Arizona certified” in connection with their title or name and may use 
any appropriate abbreviation connected with this certification.  No other person or 
business shall assume or use the title, designation or abbreviation or any other title, 
designation, sign or card, the use of which is reasonably likely to induce others to 
believe the person or business holds valid certification issued by the Arizona Supreme 
Court in the specified profession or occupation.  The certificate holder shall not sell, 
transfer or assign its certification to any other entity. 

 
6. Cease and Desist Order.  The board, upon completion of an investigation or 

disciplinary proceeding, may issue a cease and desist order pursuant to subsection 
(H)(24)(a)(6)(g).  A hearing officer or a superior court judge, upon petition by the board, 
may enter an order for an individual or business entity to immediately cease and desist 
conduct constituting engagement in the practice of the profession or occupation 

without the required certification. 

 
7. Voluntary Surrender.  A certificate holder in good standing may surrender their 

certificate to the board.  However, the surrender of the certificate is not valid until 
accepted by the board.  The board or division staff may require additional 
information reasonably necessary to determine if the certificate holder has violated 
any provision of the statutes, court rules and this section or the applicable section 
of the ACJA.  The surrender does not prevent the commencement of subsequent 
discipline proceedings for any conduct of the surrendered certificate holder 
occurring prior to the surrender. 

 
a. Division staff shall present the surrendered certificate to the board at the next 

available board meeting after receiving the surrender.  Upon the board’s 
acceptance of the voluntary surrender division staff shall designate the 
certificate of the certificate holder as a “surrendered certificate holder in good 
standing”.  Division staff shall notify the certificate holder in writing within ten 
days after the board’s acceptance of the surrender. 

 
b. The board shall not accept the surrender if there is a complaint pending 

against the certificate holder.  However, this does not preclude the board 
from entering into a consent agreement to resolve the pending complaint 
pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a)(6)(c) by terms including the voluntary 
surrender of the certificate. 

 
c. The board shall, within 120 days of the receipt of the surrendered certificate 

by division staff either accept the surrender or, based upon the 
recommendations of division staff, institute disciplinary proceedings pursuant 
to subsection (H).  If the board subsequently imposes a sanction pursuant to 
subsections (H)(24) and (H)(25) upon the certificate of the surrendered 
certificate holder, division staff shall change the status of the certificate holder 
from “surrendered certificate holder in good standing” to that of a person so 
disciplined.   
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8. Inactive Status.   
 

a. A certificate holder may transfer to inactive status, upon written request to the 
board.  Upon recommendation of division staff the board may accept the 
transfer of the certificate holder to inactive status and division staff shall note in 
the certification database the certificate holder is on inactive status, in good 
standing.  The inactive certificate holder shall not engage in the practice of the 
profession or occupation of certification pro bono or for a fee or other 
compensation while on inactive status and shall not present themselves as a 
certificate holder. 

 
b. Upon application and payment of any applicable fee for reactivation of 

certification, required by the applicable section of the ACJA, the board may 
require the applicant to comply with the following: 

 
(1) Submit proof of compliance with the requirements for continuing 

education;  
(2) Submit other proof required by the board to: 

(a) Demonstrate the applicant possesses the skills necessary to practice in 
the profession or occupation; 

(b) Demonstrate the applicant remains in compliance with the applicable 
ACJA sections; and 

(c) Demonstrate compliance with other requirements for certification. 
(3) If the applicant for reinstatement engaged in the profession or 

occupation in another jurisdiction during the time the certificate 
holder’s certificate was inactive, the applicant shall submit all of the 
following: 
(a) Proof of practice in the profession or occupation in the other 

jurisdiction; 
(b) An affidavit affirming the applicant has not been disciplined in another 

jurisdiction; and 
(c) An affidavit affirming the applicant is not subject to discipline or being 

investigated in another jurisdiction. 
(4) If the applicant has been inactive for more than one year the board may 

require the applicant to sit for and pass the applicable examination. 
 

c. If the applicant meets the requirements of this subsection to the satisfaction 
of the board, the board shall return the inactive certificate holder to active 
status.  Division staff shall change the status of the certificate holder from 
“inactive” to “active” and notify the certificate holder of the board’s decision 
within ten days.  

 
d. A certificate holder shall only remain in an inactive status as specified by the 

applicable ACJA section. 
 

9. Reinstatement after Suspension or Revocation. A certificate holder whose 
certificate was suspended or revoked by a final order of the board may apply for 
reinstatement under the following conditions: 
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a. An applicant for reinstatement shall file a written application for reinstatement 
with division staff, accompanied by the appropriate fees and the following 
documents: 

 
(1) The reinstatement form and a copy of the final order of suspension or 

revocation; 
(2) A detailed description of the applicant’s occupation and sources of income 

or earnings derived during the period between the filing of the final order 
by the disciplinary clerk and the date of application for reinstatement after 
suspension or an initial application for recertification; 

(3) A statement of every civil or criminal action and a copy of the action, 
where the applicant was either plaintiff or defendant, since the submission 
of the last renewal application or, if no renewal application has been 
submitted, then since the initial application was submitted; 

(4) A list of all criminal or civil final judgments since the submission of the last 
renewal application, or if no renewal application has been submitted, then 
since the initial application was submitted; 

(5) A list of all residences and business addresses since the submission of 
the last renewal application, or if no renewal application has been 
submitted, then since the initial application for certification and the date 
division staff receive the application for reinstatement; 

(6) A statement of concise facts of how the applicant for reinstatement has 
maintained the minimum competencies and knowledge during the period 
of time from the date of the suspension order until the date division staff 
receives the reinstatement application; 

(7) A statement of concise facts of how the applicant for recertification has 
maintained the minimum competencies and knowledge during the period 
of time from the date of the order revoking the applicant’s certificate until 
the date division staff receive the application for certification; 

(8) A statement of facts supporting reinstatement to the profession or 
occupation after suspension; or a statement of facts supporting 
certification again to the profession or occupation; and  

(9) A statement of all facts demonstrating the applicant’s rehabilitation during the 
period of time from the date of the board’s order revoking the applicant’s 
certificate or suspending the applicant’s certificate, until the date division 
staff receive the application for reinstatement or initial certification. 

 
b. Division staff or the board may require additional information demonstrating 

the applicant meets the minimum competencies of the profession or 
occupation.  The board may require the applicant sit for and pass the 
applicable examination in order to process the application or determine if the 
applicant meets the minimum competencies of the profession or occupation.  
The applicant has the burden of proof to demonstrate by clear and convincing 
evidence the applicant’s rehabilitation, compliance with all discipline orders 
and rules and, the applicant meets the minimum competencies of the 
profession or occupation.  An applicant denied reinstatement by the board 
has the right to a hearing pursuant to subsection (H)(12), except if the 
applicant fails to provide the information within the requested time frame.  
Failure to provide the information shall result in automatic denial of 
reinstatement without the right to a hearing. 
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c. Upon submission of all requirements of subsection (E)(9)(a), the applicant 

shall meet all requirements of initial certification pursuant to subsection 
(E)(1).  The applicant, for reinstatement after a suspension or revocation, 
shall pay the fee for reinstatement, pursuant to subsection (K) in the 
applicable section of the ACJA.  

 
d. The board shall not issue any certification under this section to any person or 

business entity whose certification has been suspended until: 
 
 (1) The person or business entity seeking reinstatement of a suspended 

certificate has demonstrated all the requirements of the suspension order 
have been met; and 

 (2) The person or business entity qualifies in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of this section or other sections of the ACJA. 

 
e. The board shall not issue any certification under this section to any person or 

business entity whose certification has been revoked until: 
 

(1) One year has passed from the date of the board’s final order of 
revocation; 

(2) The person or business entity seeking certification provides proof of 
satisfaction of any and all requirements in the order of revocation; and 

(3) The person or business entity again qualifies in accordance with the 

provisions of subsection (E)(1) and the applicable sections of the ACJA. 
 

3. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201 (F) - Role and Responsibilities 

of Certificate Holders 

 
F. Role and Responsibilities of Certificate Holders. 

 
1. Code of Conduct.  Each individual certificate holder shall adhere to the code of 

conduct or standards of conduct, subsection (J) in the applicable section of the 
ACJA.   

 
2. Identification.  Upon request by any judicial officer, court employee or 

member of the public, a certificate holder shall provide proof of certification.  
 

3. Assumed Business Name.  A certificate holder shall not transact business in this 
state under an assumed name or under any designation, name or style, 
corporate or otherwise, other than the legal name of the individual or business 
entity unless the person or business entity files with division staff a statement 
indicating the name for transaction of the business and the legal full name of the 
certificate holder. 

 
4. Response.  A certificate holder shall respond by the specific time stated in any 

request for information from, and shall provide documents to the director, deputy 
director, division staff, or board pertaining to certification, renewal of certification, 
complaints alleging acts of misconduct or violations by the certificate holder, 
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investigative inquiries and compliance audits or defensive driving course monitorings 
of the practice of the certificate holder.  A certificate holder shall respond to any 
subpoenas or orders issued by the director, division director, board, or any judicial 
officer.  Failure to comply with this subsection by a certificate holder constitutes 
grounds for discipline pursuant to subsection (H)(6)(c) or denial of renewal of 
certification pursuant to subsection (G)(3) and (G)(4).  Failure to comply with this 
subsection by a certificate holder in completion of a corrective action plan or 
defensive driving course monitoring may constitute grounds for discipline, pursuant 
to subsection (H)(6)(b). 

 
5. Candor. 

 
a.   A certificate holder shall not knowingly: 
 

(1) Make a false statement of material fact or law to a tribunal; or 
(2) Fail to disclose a material fact to a tribunal, except as required by 

applicable law. 
 

b.  A certificate holder shall notify division staff within ten days of a misdemeanor 
or felony conviction. 

 
6.   Change of Name or Address.  A certificate holder shall notify division staff of any 

change in name or business, directory, mailing or home address, telephone 
number or email address within 30 days of any change, pursuant to the 
applicable sections of the ACJA.  The certificate holder shall make this notice in 
writing by U.S. Post, facsimile or email. 

 

4. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201 (G)(2) – Renewal of 

Certification.  Application 

 
G. Renewal of Certification. 

 
2. Application.  A certificate holder is responsible for applying for a renewal 

certificate.  The certificate holder shall apply for renewal of certification on the 
form provided by division staff.  The board shall set a deadline renewal 
application date, in advance of the expiration date, to allow a reasonable time 
frame for processing the renewal application. 

 

5.  Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201 (G)(4) – Decision Regarding 

Renewal 

 
4.  Decision Regarding Renewal. 

 
a. The board may renew a certification if the certificate holder:  
 

(1) Meets all requirements for renewal as specified in this section and the 
applicable section of the ACJA; 

(2) Submits a completed renewal application; and  
(3) Pays the renewal fees on or before the expiration date as specified by the 
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applicable section of the ACJA.  
 

b. Division staff shall promptly notify the applicant in writing of the board’s 
decision to renew the applicant’s certificate in accordance with this section 
and the applicable section of the ACJA. Each renewed applicant shall receive 
a document, badge or card evidencing renewal of certification, stating the 
applicant’s name, date of certification, certification number and expiration 
date.  

 
c. The board may deny renewal of certification for any of the reasons stated in 

subsection (E)(2)(c).  Division staff shall promptly notify the applicant, in 
writing, within ten days of the board’s decision to deny renewal of 
certification.  The notice shall include the board’s reasons for the denial of 
renewal of certification and the right of the applicant to a hearing, pursuant to 
subsection (G)(4)(d). 

 
d. An applicant is entitled to a hearing, on the decision to deny renewal of 

certification if the disciplinary clerk receives a written request for a hearing  
within fifteen days after the date of the notice of denial.  The applicant is the 
moving party at the hearing and has the burden of proof.  The provisions of 
subsections (H)(12) through (H)(23) and (H)(25) through (H)(27) apply 
regarding procedures for hearing and appeal. 

 

 

6. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201 (H) - Complaints, 

Investigations, Disciplinary Actions, Proceedings and Certification and 

Disciplinary Hearings 
 

H. Complaints, Investigations, Disciplinary Actions, Proceedings and Certification 
and Disciplinary Hearings. 
 
1. Complaints.  Filing and General Provisions. 

 
a. Filing of complaint.  All judicial officers, court employees and certificate 

holders shall, and any person may, notify division staff if it appears a 
certificate holder has violated statutes, court rules, this section or the 
applicable section of the ACJA.  The complainant shall provide the complaint 
in writing with sufficient specificity to warrant further investigation.  The 
complaint form shall provide the name, telephone number and address of the 
complainant.   

 
b.  Director initiated complaints.  In accordance with the policies and procedures 

developed pursuant to subsections (D)(2)(a)(6) and (D)(2)(b)(2), the director may 
direct division staff to investigate allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of 
statutes, court rules, or the ACJA, which may result in a complaint, if such 
investigation protects and serves the best interest of the public.  This shall 
include an investigation where the complainant does not wish to have their 
identity disclosed to the certificate holder.  
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(1) Review of allegations.  Division staff shall: 
(a) Review the allegations and determine if the supreme court has 

jurisdiction; 
 (b) Determine if there is sufficient information to permit investigation; 

(c) Verify details in the allegations including the certificate holder’s status and, 
if available, any addresses, phone numbers or other relevant factors; 

(d) Corroborate, by independent observations and information, the 
allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of statutes, court rules or 
the ACJA, to determine if the allegations are credible and reliable; and 

(e) Meet with the division director to confirm jurisdiction and relevant factors 
contained in the allegations. 

(2) Division staff shall, upon completion of the review, prepare a written report of 
the allegations and include the following: 
(a) Confirmation of supreme court jurisdiction; 

 (b) Determination, if the allegations are true, they would warrant discipline; 
 (c) Verification of details in the allegations; and 
 (d) Corroboration of relevant facts by independent observations. 
(3) Division staff shall forward the written report to the director for review and 

schedule a meeting with the director and division director. 
(4) The director shall review the written report and direct staff to: 

(a) Conduct further review of the allegations; 
 (b) Initiate a complaint naming the director as the complainant, pursuant to 

subsection (D)(2)(b)(3); or 
(c) Determine the allegations do not warrant the filing of a director initiated 

complaint.  
 
c. Anonymous complaints.  Division staff shall not accept anonymous 

complaints. 
 
d. Authority after expiration.  If a complaint or investigation is pending prior to 

the expiration date of a certificate, the provisions of subsection (G)(1) and the 
applicable sections of the ACJA do not affect the authority of: 

 
(1) The director to initiate a complaint, pursuant to subsection (D)(2)(b)(3); 
(2) Division staff to investigate a complaint, pursuant to subsection 

(D)(4)(b)(5); or  
(3) The board to take disciplinary action regarding the certification of a 

certificate holder, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(g).  
 
e.  Standing of Complainant.  A complainant does not have standing regarding any 

proceedings and is not a party to any proceedings.  The complainant may, upon 
request to division staff, receive notice of any public proceeding concerning the 
complaint or any consent agreements.  The complainant submits to the jurisdiction 
of the supreme court’s certification and licensing division for all purposes relating to 
the proceedings. 

 
(1) The complainant shall keep division staff informed of any changes of mailing 

address, telephone number or email address during the investigation and any 
disciplinary proceedings. 

(2) Division staff shall forward any correspondence or notice to the 
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complainant by United States mail to the last address of record with 
division staff. 

(3) Division staff shall provide the complainant with the following information: 
(a) A written acknowledgement of the receipt of the complaint; 
(b) A copy of the letter sent to the certificate holder requiring a response 

to the alleged acts of misconduct or violations and the initial response 
by the certificate holder, within twenty days of receipt of the certificate 
holder’s initial response; 

(c)  Notice, if the complainant has requested notice of any public 
proceeding concerning the complaint or any consent agreement; 

(d) Notice of the final disposition of each allegation; and 
(e)  Notice of the dismissal of the complaint within ten days of the 

determination by the division director, if applicable, pursuant to 
subsection (H)(2)(b). 

(4)  Failure by division staff to provide the complainant with information as 
required by this subsection shall not affect the ultimate disposition of any 
allegations of acts of misconduct or violations by the certificate holder. 

(5) The complainant may file a request for review by the board of the division 
director’s dismissal of the complaint, within ten days of the date of the 
notice of dismissal pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(e). 
 

f. Non-abatement.  Unwillingness, failure of the complainant to cooperate with 
division staff or the board, withdrawal of the complaint or a specific allegation 
of misconduct or violation contained in the complaint, settlement or 
compromise between the complainant and the certificate holder, or restitution 
by the certificate holder shall not abate the processing of any complaint or 
disciplinary proceeding. 

 
g. Confidentiality of Complaints.  The director, deputy director, division staff, 

board and court employees shall keep information or documents obtained or 
generated by the director, deputy director, division staff, board or court 
employees in the course of an open investigation or received in an initial 
report of misconduct confidential, except as mandated by court rules or this 
section.  

 
(1) Confidential information may also be disclosed during the course of an open 

investigation: 
(a) To court staff, the attorney general, county attorney, law enforcement 

and other regulatory officials;  
(b)  If the director makes a finding the disclosure is in the best interest of the 

public and the interest is not outweighed by any other interests; or 
(c)  Is not contrary to law. 

(2) Once a finding of probable cause has been entered all information and 
documents are open for public inspection unless: 
(a) Confidential by law or public record rules adopted by the supreme 

court; or 
(b) If the deputy director, as probable cause evaluator, determines further 

investigation is necessary, the information or documents and those 
compiled in the further investigation shall remain confidential until 
probable cause is determined. 
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(3) Complaints dismissed by the division director, pursuant to subsection 
(H)(2)(b) for lack of jurisdiction or clear insufficiency are confidential and 
not a matter of public record for inspection.  

(4) Complaints dismissed by the board, pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a)(3) 
are a matter of public record for inspection. 

 
h. Investigative Subpoenas.  Upon the recommendation of division staff and a 

demonstration of good cause, the division director, pursuant to subsection 
(D)(4)(a)(1), may issue an investigative subpoena to any person or entity: 

 
(1) For the purpose of securing documents or information from any person or 

entity, if the documents or information are related to a pending 
investigation of alleged acts of misconduct or violations regarding 
statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the ACJA.  

(2) Subpoenas issued by the division director shall be issued and served in the 
same manner as provided by the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure.  An 
employee of the court or any other person as designated by the Arizona 
Rules of Civil Procedure may serve the subpoena. 
 

i. Processing Time Frames.  Division staff shall: 
 

(1) Prepare any complaint the division director has dismissed pursuant to 
subsections (H)(2)(b) and (c) and forward the complaint to the board for 
review, pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(d), at the next regularly scheduled 
board meeting. 

(2) Prepare and forward to the board for review at the next regularly 
scheduled board meeting, any investigated complaint the deputy director 
has reviewed and entered a finding regarding probable cause, pursuant to 
subsection (H)(5)(c). 

(3) Prepare the documents for informal discipline no later than 30 days 
following the order of the board, pursuant to subsections (H)(7)(b) and 
(H)(25), unless the board extends the time for good cause. 

(4) Prepare the documents for formal discipline no later than 30 days 
following the order of the board pursuant to subsections (H)(9)(b) and 
(H)(25), unless the board extends the time for good cause. 

(5) File the formal statement of charges with the disciplinary clerk and 
arrange for service no later than 30 days following the order of the board, 
pursuant to subsection (H)(10), unless the board extends the time for 
good cause.  

(6) Serve the board’s order of emergency summary suspension and 
expedited hearing immediately on the certificate holder, pursuant to 
subsection (H)(9)(d)(2).  

(7) Except as provided in subsections (H)(1)(i)(6) and (8), deposit in the 
United States mail addressed to the last known address on file with 
division staff, written notice of the board’s final decision and order, 
regarding a complaint matter, to the certificate holder and complainant 
within ten days after the board’s decision, pursuant to subsection 
(H)(26)(b) and (c).  Notice by mail is complete upon deposit in the United 
States mail. 

(8) Mail the board’s final order of suspension or revocation of the certificate, 
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pursuant to subsection (H)(26)(b) to the certificate holder, by certified mail 
return receipt requested, within two days, after the board’s decision, 
addressed to the last known address on file with division staff; and 

(9) Process complaints timely, with the goal of processing 98 percent of all 
complaints within 22 months from date of receipt to final decision by the 
board. 

 
2. Initial Screening of a Complaint.  Upon receipt of a complaint:  

 
a. Division staff shall:  
 

(1) Consider if a complaint:   
(a) Falls outside the supreme court’s jurisdiction; 
(b) Does not provide the name of a certificate holder; 
(c) Does not contain sufficient information to permit an investigation; 
(d) Does not provide specific allegations of acts of misconduct or 

violations of the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable 
section of the ACJA; 

(e) Contains allegations of acts of misconduct or violations, that if true, 
would not constitute a violation of the statutes, court rule, this section 
or the applicable section of the ACJA, the certificate holder is required 
to comply with;  

(f) Does not provide the name of the complainant; or 
(g) Does warrant further investigation and evaluation. 

(2) Recommend the division director dismiss the complaint if the complaint: 
(a) Falls outside the jurisdiction of the supreme court, court rules, this 

section, the applicable section of the ACJA, or the laws applicable to 
the certificate holder; 

(b) Does not provide the name of a certificate holder; 
(c) Does not contain sufficient information to permit an investigation; 
(d) Does not provide specific allegations of acts of misconduct or 

violations of the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable 
section of the ACJA; 

(e) Contains allegations of acts of misconduct or violations that if true, 
would not constitute a violation of the statutes, court rules, this section 
or the applicable section the certificate holder is required to comply 
with; or 

(f) Does not provide the name of the complainant. 
(3) Report all complaints dismissed by the division director to the board at the 

next regularly scheduled board meeting following the determination by the 
division director; and 

(4) Provide written notice to the complainant and the certificate holder of the 
division director’s decision to dismiss the complaint for the reasons in 
subsection (H)(2)(b) and (c), within ten days of the division director’s 
decision. 

 
b. The division director may: 
 

(1) Direct division staff to return an incomplete complaint to the complainant 
for additional information; 
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(2) Dismiss a complaint, pursuant to subsection (D)(4)(a)(2), with or without 
prejudice, if the complaint falls outside the jurisdiction of the supreme 
court, the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the 
ACJA; 

(3) Dismiss a complaint, pursuant to subsection (D)(4)(a)(3), with or without 
prejudice, if the complaint meets any of the criteria of subsection 
(H)(2)(a)(2)(b) through (f); or 

(4) Refer the complaint to another state agency or entity with jurisdiction, if 
appropriate, pursuant to subsection (D)(4)(a)(4). 

 
c. The division director shall dismiss the complaint, if the complainant does not 

supply documents or other information to remedy an insufficient complaint or 
demonstrate the alleged acts of misconduct or violations are within the 
certificate holder’s responsibilities as required by statutes, court rules, this 
section or the applicable section of ACJA. 

 
d. The board shall review, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(e), the division 

director’s dismissal of a complaint and do one of the following: 
 

(1) Affirm the division director’s dismissal; or 
 (2) Request additional investigation of the dismissed complaint; pursuant to 

subsection (D)(5)(c)(2)(c). 
 
e. The complainant may request the board review the division director’s dismissal 

of the complaint pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(b) or (c) by submitting a written 
request for review, specifying the requested reasons for the board’s review.  
The complainant shall submit the request for review to division staff within ten 
days of the written notice of the division director’s dismissal of the complaint.  

 
3. Investigation.  Division staff shall investigate the complaint, after completion of 

the initial screening of the complaint and the determination a complaint is within 
the jurisdiction of the supreme court and warrants further investigation pursuant 
to subsection (H)(2)(a)(1)(g). 

 
a. Preliminary Investigation.  Division staff shall conduct an investigation of all 

complaints not dismissed by the division director to determine if a certificate 
holder has violated statutes, court rules, this section, or the applicable section 
of the ACJA; or for the purpose of securing information useful in the lawful 
administration of the law, this section, or the applicable sections of the ACJA.   

 
b. Notification to Certificate Holder of Complaint.  Division staff shall send the 

complaint to the certificate holder within fifteen days of receiving the 
complaint or the date the director initiates a complaint pursuant to 
subsections (D)(2)(b)(3) and (H)(1)(b)(4)(b).   

 
c. Certificate Holder’s Response to Notification of Complaint.  The certificate 

holder shall provide a written response to the complaint within thirty days of 
the notification of the complaint.  The board shall not proceed with 
disciplinary action without providing the certificate holder the complaint and 
an opportunity to respond to the complaint, except in a matter regarding an 
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emergency suspension pursuant to subsection (H)(9)(d).  Failure by the 
certificate holder to accept notification of a complaint or failure to respond to 
the complaint shall not prevent division staff from proceeding with an 
investigation and the board from taking any disciplinary action. 

 
(1) If the certificate holder is unable to respond to a complaint within the time 

frame established by subsection (H)(3)(c), the certificate holder may 
submit a written request to the division director for an extension of time to 
respond.  The request for an extension of time to respond shall 
demonstrate good cause exists for an extension and shall provide a 
proposed date for fulfillment of the response requirement.  The certificate 
holder shall file the written request for an extension of time to respond to 
the complaint, no later than five days prior to the date the response is 
due. 

(2) The division director shall determine if good cause exists for an extension.  
Division staff shall notify the certificate holder of the division director’s 
decision on the request for an extension of time for providing a written 
response, within five days of the request for extension from the certificate 
holder.   

 
4. Preparation of Investigation Summary.  Upon completion of the investigation, 

division staff shall prepare a written investigation summary for review by the 
probable cause evaluator.  The investigation summary shall include an analysis 
of the allegations of misconduct and violations and a recommendation as to 
whether probable cause exists demonstrating the certificate holder committed 
any of the alleged acts of misconduct or violations. 

 
5. Probable Cause Review.  Pursuant to subsection (H)(4) division staff shall 

forward the investigation summary to the probable cause evaluator for review 
and determination as to whether probable cause exists misconduct or violations 
occurred and are demonstrated in the investigation summary. 
 
a. The deputy director, serving in the capacity of probable cause evaluator 

pursuant to subsection (D)(3)(a), shall review the written investigation 
summary of the allegations of acts of misconduct or violations.  The deputy 
director may agree or disagree with the recommendations contained in the 
summary and may do one or more of the following: 
(1) Direct division staff to investigate further; 
(2) Determine probable cause does not exist demonstrating the certificate 

holder has committed any acts of misconduct or violations of the statutes, 
court rules, this section, or the applicable section of the ACJA and enter a 
written finding to that effect; or  

(3) Determine probable cause exists demonstrating the certificate holder has 
committed one or more acts of misconduct or violations of the statutes, 
court rules, this section, or the applicable section of the ACJA and enter a 
written finding to that effect.  

 
b. If the probable cause evaluator directs division staff to investigate the 

complaint further, pursuant to subsection (H)(5)(a)(1), division staff shall do 
so immediately. 
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c. Upon review of the finding by the probable cause evaluator, pursuant to 

subsection (H)(5)(a)(2) and (3), division staff shall forward to the board, 
pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(i)(2), the investigation summary, finding by the 
probable cause evaluator and a written recommendation by the division 
director for the appropriate disposition of the complaint.  The written 
recommendation by the division director shall include any sanctions if 
applicable, pursuant to subsections (H)(7), (H)(9), (H)(24)(a)(6) and 
(H)(24)(b).  The board shall review these documents at the next regularly 
scheduled board meeting and do one of the following: 

 
(1) Determine the certificate holder did not commit any acts of misconduct or 

violations and dismiss the complaint pursuant to subsections 
(D)(5)(c)(1)(g) and (H)(24)(a)(3); 

(2) Determine the allegations of acts of misconduct or violations do not 
warrant discipline pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(g), but the certificate 
holder’s actions need modification or elimination and send an advisory 
letter to the certificate holder pursuant to subsections (H)(24)(a)(4) and 
(H)(24)(b)(1);  

(3) Determine the allegations of acts of misconduct or violations may be 
resolved through informal discipline proceedings pursuant to subsection 
(H)(7); 

(4) Determine the acts of misconduct or violations may be resolved through a 
formal interview, pursuant to subsection (H)(8); 

(5) Determine the acts of misconduct or violations may be resolved through a 
formal discipline proceeding, pursuant to subsection (H)(9); or 

(6) Determine the acts of misconduct or violations pose harm or a risk to the 
public health, safety or welfare and require resolution through an 
emergency summary suspension, pursuant to subsection (H)(9)(d).  An 
emergency summary suspension is a formal discipline proceeding. 

 
6. Grounds for Discipline.  A certificate holder is subject to disciplinary action if the 

board finds the certificate holder has engaged in one of more of the following: 
 

a. Failed to perform any duty to discharge any obligation in the course of the 
certificate holder’s responsibilities as required by law, court rules, this section 
or the applicable section of the ACJA; 

 
b. Failed to comply with or complete a corrective action plan resulting from an 

audit or course monitoring; 
 
c. Failed to cooperate with or supply information to the director, deputy director, 

division staff or board by the specific time stated in any request; 
 
d. Aided or assisted another person or business entity to provide services 

requiring certification if the other person or entity does not hold the required 
certification; 

 
e. Conviction of a criminal offense while certified by final judgment of a felony 

relevant to certification; 
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f. Failed to provide information regarding a criminal conviction; 
 
g. Exhibited gross negligence; 
 
h. Exhibited incompetence in the performance of duties; 
 
i. Evaded service of a subpoena or notice of the director, division director or 

board;  
 

j. The existence of any cause for which original certification or renewal of 
certification could have been denied pursuant to subsections (E)(2)(c) or 
(G)(4)(c) and the applicable section of the ACJA; 

 
k. Engaged in unprofessional conduct, including: 
 

(1) Assisted an applicant or certificate holder in the use of deception, 
dishonesty or fraud to secure an initial certificate or renewal of a 
certificate; 

(2) Failed to comply with any court order, board order or other regulatory 
agency order relevant to the profession or occupation; 

(3) Failed to comply with any federal, state or local law or rule governing the 
practice of the profession or occupation; 

(4) Failed to comply with any terms of a consent agreement, restriction of a 
certificate or corrective action plan; 

(5) Failed to retain client or customer records for a period of three years 
unless law or rule allows for a different retention period; 

(6) Failed to practice competently by use of unsafe or unacceptable practices; 
(7) Failed during the performance of any responsibility or duty of the 

profession or occupation to use the degree of care, skill and proficiency 
commonly exercised by the ordinary skillful, careful and prudent 
professional certificate holder engaged in similar practice under the same 
or similar conditions regardless of any level of harm or injury to the client 
or customer; 

(8) Failed to practice competently by reason of any cause on a single 
occasion or on multiple occasions by performing unsafe or unacceptable 
client or customer care or failed to conform to the essential standards of 
acceptable and prevailing practice;  

(9) Used advertising intended to or having a tendency to deceive the public; 
(10) Used a supreme court certification to deceive the public in level of skills or 

abilities; 
(11) Willfully made or filed false reports or records in the practice of the 

profession or occupation;  
(12) Failed to file required reports, records or pleadings in the practice of the 

profession or occupation; 
(13) Delegated professional or occupational responsibilities or duties to an 

employee or person who the certificate holder knows does not possess the 
necessary level of education, experience, skills or credentials to perform the 
duties of the profession or occupation unless authorized to do so by the 
applicable section of the ACJA; 
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(14) Performed the responsibilities or duties of the profession or occupation 
when medically or psychologically unfit to do so; 

(15) Engaged in habitual substance abuse; 
(16) Engaged in undue influence over a client or customer to the benefit, 

financial or otherwise, of the certificate holder or a third party; or 
(17) Violated any statutory, court rule, or the applicable ACJA section 

regarding a confidentiality requirement. 
 
7. Informal Disciplinary Proceedings. 

 
a. Commencement.  Following entry of a finding of probable cause by the 

probable cause evaluator and review of the recommendation of the division 
director pursuant to subsections (H)(5)(a) and (c), the board may commence 
informal disciplinary proceedings if the board finds the complaint is 
appropriate for resolution through informal disciplinary proceedings.   

 
b. Decision of the Board.  The board may resolve the complaint through 

informal disciplinary proceedings and impose an informal sanction pursuant 
to subsection (H)(24)(a)(6)(a) or may take other action pursuant to this 
section.  The board, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(f)(iv), shall order the 
preparation of documents necessary to commence informal disciplinary 
proceedings.  The board may make procedural determinations to consolidate 
or sever any informal discipline matter pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(2)(e).  
The provisions of subsections (H)(24) and (H)(25) apply to the decision and 
order of the board.  Informal disciplinary proceedings: 

 
(1) Do not provide the certificate holder the right to a hearing; 
(2) May result in the informal sanction of a letter of concern;   
(3) Are not subject to special action proceedings pursuant to subsection 

(H)(27); and 
(4) Are not confidential. 

 
8. Request for Formal Interview.  Upon entry of a finding of probable cause by the 

probable cause evaluator and review of the recommendation of the division 
director pursuant to subsections (H)(5)(a) and (c), and a board determination 
formal discipline is warranted, but before the filing of the formal statement of 
charges, the board may request a formal interview with a certificate holder, 
pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(2)(d).  The request for a formal interview is to 
determine if the facts of the complaint may be capable of resolution outside of a 
formal disciplinary process by consent agreement or other negotiated settlement, 
pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a)(6)(c) between the board and certificate holder. 
The board shall hold the formal interview at the next regularly scheduled board 
meeting, unless the board determines good cause to expedite the interview.   

 
a. Once the board determines a formal interview is necessary, division staff 

shall provide the certificate holder a copy of the investigation summary, 
finding by the probable cause evaluator and the written recommendation by 
the division director for the appropriate disposition of the complaint.  Division 
staff shall also provide written notice of the day and time of the scheduled 
interview.  If the certificate holder declines the board’s request for an 
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interview, the certificate holder does not forfeit the right to request a hearing 
pursuant to subsection (H)(12). 

 
b. If the certificate holder declines the board’s request for a formal interview, or 

if the division director’s recommended sanctions for future found violations 
include a suspension of more than twelve months or revocation, the board 
shall order the preparation of documents necessary for a filing of a formal 
statement of charges pursuant to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(f)(iv) and (H)(9)(b).  
The board may consolidate or sever any discipline matter pursuant to 
subsection (D)(5)(c)(2)(e). 

 
c. Upon the completion of the formal interview, if the board enters a finding the 

evidence obtained during the investigation or provided by the certificate 
holder merits a suspension of more than twelve months or revocation of the 
certificate, the board shall order the preparation of documents for filing a 
formal statement of charges, pursuant to subsections D(5)(c)(1)(f)(iv) and 
H(9)(b). 

 
d. Upon the completion of the formal interview, if the board enters a finding the 

evidence obtained during the investigation or provided by the certificate 
holder demonstrates the public’s health, safety, or welfare requires 
emergency action, the board shall issue an emergency summary suspension 
order pursuant to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(f)(v) and H(9)(d). 

 
e. Upon completion of the formal interview, if the board determines the evidence 

obtained during the investigation or provided by the certificate holder does 
not merit a suspension of more than twelve months, revocation, or an 
emergency summary suspension, the board may take one or more of the 
following actions: 
(1) Determine the certificate holder did not commit any acts of misconduct or 

violations of statutes, court rules, this section, or the applicable section of 
the ACJA and dismiss the complaint pursuant to subsections 
(D)(5)(c)(1)(g) and (H)(24)(a)(3); 

(2) Determine the allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of statutes, 
court rules, this section, or the applicable section of the ACJA, do not 
warrant discipline, but the certificate holder’s actions need modification or 
elimination and send an advisory letter to the certificate holder, pursuant 
to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(g), (H)(24)(a)(4) and (H)(24)(b)(1); 

(3) Determine the certificate holder committed one or more acts of 
misconduct or violations of the statutes, court rules, this section or the 
applicable section of the ACJA, and the complaint is appropriate for 
resolution through informal discipline proceedings pursuant to subsections 
(D)(5)(c)(1)(g) and (H)(7); 

(4) Determine the certificate holder committed one or more acts of 
misconduct or violations of the statutes, court rules, this section or the 
applicable section of the ACJA, and the complaint is appropriate for 
resolution through a consent agreement as part of formal disciplinary 
proceedings, pursuant to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(g) and (H)(24)(a)(6)(c); 
or 

(5) Determine the certificate holder committed one of more acts of 
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misconduct or violations of the statutes, court rules, this section or the 
applicable section of the ACJA and the complaint is appropriate for 
resolution only through formal discipline proceedings, pursuant to 
subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(g) and (H)(9). 

 
f. If the board, after the formal interview is concluded, determines the acts of 

misconduct or violations warrant an emergency summary suspension, the 
board shall make an order for an expedited hearing, pursuant to subsections 
(H)(9)(d)(1) and (H)(12)(d). 

 
9. Formal Disciplinary Proceedings. 

 
a. Commencement.  Upon entry of a finding of probable cause by the probable 

cause evaluator and review of the recommendation of the division director 
pursuant to subsection (H)(5)(c), the board may commence formal 
disciplinary proceedings.  

 
b. Decision of the Board.  On review of the recommendation of the division 

director, the board may resolve the complaint through formal disciplinary 
proceedings and impose informal and formal sanctions pursuant to 
subsection (H)(24)(a) and (b) or may take other actions pursuant to this 
section.  The board, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(f)(iv) shall order the 
preparation of the documents necessary to commence formal disciplinary 
proceedings.  The board may make procedural determinations to consolidate 
or sever any formal disciplinary matter pursuant to (D)(5)(c)(2)(e).  The 
provisions of subsections (H)(24) and (H)(25) apply to the decision and order 
of the board.  Formal disciplinary proceedings: 

 
(1) Provide the certificate holder the right to a hearing, pursuant to subsection 

(H)(12)(c); 
(2) May result in informal and formal sanctions, including an emergency 

summary suspension pursuant to subsections (H)(24)(5) and (6); 
(3) May result in costs and civil penalties pursuant to subsections (H)(24)(6)(j) 

and (k); 
(4) Are subject to special action proceedings pursuant to subsection (H)(27); 

and 
(5) Are not confidential. 

 
c. Notice to Certificate Holder.  Upon commencement of formal disciplinary 

proceedings by a board order, division staff shall notify the certificate holder 
of the board’s order and provide the certificate holder with a copy of the 
investigation summary, the division director’s recommendations and the 
deputy director’s finding of probable cause.   

 
d. Emergency Summary Suspension.   

 
(1) Upon entry of a finding of probable cause by the probable cause evaluator 

and review of the recommendation of the division director pursuant to 
subsection (H)(5)(c), if the board finds the public health, safety or welfare 
is at risk and requires emergency action, the board shall order an 
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immediate emergency summary suspension of a certificate and set a date 
for an expedited hearing while formal disciplinary proceedings are 
pending.  

(2) Division staff shall ensure the order of emergency summary suspension is 
immediately served on the certificate holder with the notice of the 
emergency summary suspension and the expedited hearing as ordered 
by the board, pursuant to this subsection and subsection (H)(12)(d).   

(3) The hearing shall be held within ten days of the board’s order of summary 
suspension. 

(4) The hearing officer shall only grant an extension of the ten day time period 
for holding the expedited hearing under extraordinary circumstances at 
the request of either party.  The certificate holder may consent to a longer 
time period for the extension and the reasons for the extension shall be 
part of the record. 

(5) Division staff shall notify all applicable courts including superior court 
presiding judges, clerks of the superior court and superior court 
administrators of the emergency summary suspension.  

 
10. Notice of Formal Statement of Charges and Proceedings; and Right to Hearing.  

Upon motion and order of the board, division staff shall: 
 
a. Prepare the formal statement of charges pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(i)(4) 

and include in the statement all of the following: 
 

(1) A short and plain statement of the allegations; 
(2) A reference to statutes, court rules, this section and the applicable ACJA 

section; 
(3) A statement indicating the certificate holder has the right to a hearing, 

pursuant to subsection (H)(12)(c); 
(4) A statement indicating the request for hearing shall be in writing and made 

within fifteen days of receipt of the notice, pursuant to subsection (H)(13); 
and 

(5) A statement of the requirements for filing an answer pursuant to 
subsections (H)(11) and (17).  

 
b. Present the formal statement of charges to the board chair or designee for 

review and signature; 
 
c. File the signed formal statement of charges with the disciplinary clerk; 
 
d. Arrange for service of the notice of formal statement of charges to the 

certificate holder pursuant to Rule 4, Rules of Civil Procedure; and 
 
e. Amendments to the formal statement of charges are permissible upon motion 

and order of the board. 
 

11. Answer to Formal Statement of Charges or Default.  The certificate holder shall 
file an answer to the formal statement of charges within fifteen days after the 
date the statement is served, unless otherwise ordered by the board for good 
cause.  Answers shall comply with Rule 8, Rules of Civil Procedure.  Any 
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defenses not raised in the answer are waived.  If a certificate holder fails to file 
an answer within the time provided, the certificate holder is in default and the 
factual allegations in the formal statement of charges are deemed admitted.  The 
board may enter a finding or findings against the certificate holder of one or more 
of the assertions contained in the notice. 

 
12. Right to Hearing. 
 

a. Except as provided in subsection (E)(1)(f)(2)(d)(iii), an applicant denied initial 
or renewal certification pursuant to subsections (E)(2)(c) or (G)(4) may 
request a hearing. 

 
b. Pursuant to subsection (E)(9)(b), an applicant denied reinstatement of 

certification may request a hearing, except if the applicant fails to provide 
required information within the requested time frame.   

 
c. A certificate holder served with a formal statement of charges pursuant to 

subsection (H)(9) may request a hearing.  
 
d. A certificate holder issued an emergency summary suspension pursuant to 

subsection (H)(9)(d)(1) shall have an expedited hearing. 
 

13.Request for Hearing.  The applicant or certificate holder shall request the hearing 
within fifteen days of the notice of denial of initial or renewal certification; or the 
notice of a formal statement of charges.  The request shall include the ACJA 
subsection entitling a person or business to a hearing, the factual basis 
supporting the request for hearing and the relief demanded. 

 
14. Selection of Hearing Officer for Certification or Discipline Hearing.  Upon written 

request by an applicant or certificate holder entitled to a hearing pursuant to 
subsection (H)(12), the disciplinary clerk shall select a hearing officer. 

 
a. The disciplinary clerk shall select a hearing officer from the list of hearing 

officers appointed by the supreme court.  The hearing officer shall have the 
following qualifications: 

 
(1) Admitted to the practice of law in Arizona; and 

(a) An active member in good standing for at least seven years with the 
State Bar of Arizona; or 

(b) An active or retired judicial officer. 
(2) Have knowledge in the procedure for conducting administrative hearings 

regarding the denial of initial or renewal of certification or alleged acts of 
misconduct or violations by a certificate holder pursuant to this section or 
the applicable ACJA section. 

 
b. The disciplinary clerk may request the presiding judge of the superior court in 

the county where the alleged acts of misconduct or violations occurred to 
supply a hearing room and any other necessary resources. 

 
15. Time Line for Hearing.  The disciplinary clerk or hearing officer shall: 
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a.  Ensure the hearing is held within 60 days of receipt of the request for hearing.  

The hearing officer may continue the hearing date upon request or stipulation 
of the parties, or upon the hearing officer’s own motion, for good cause 
shown.  The hearing officer shall grant continuances no more than 30 days at 
a time and may not extend the hearing on the merits beyond 120 days from 
the filing of the formal statement of charges. 

 
b.  If the request to continue the hearing is filed by division staff, the hearing 

officer shall ensure the hearing is held as soon as practical at the discretion 
of the hearing officer but no less than fifteen days after notice, as required by 
subsection (H)(16).  

 
16. Notice of Hearing.  The disciplinary clerk shall prepare and give notice of the 

hearing to the applicant or certificate holder and division staff, at least fifteen 
days prior to the date set for hearing.   

 
a. The notice shall include the following information: 

 
(1) A statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction for conduct of the 

hearing; 
(2) A statement of the date, time, place and nature of the hearing; and 
(3) A reference to the particular sections of the statutes, rules and ACJA 

sections involved. 
 

b. The disciplinary clerk shall accomplish service of the notice of hearing by 
United States mail to the last address of record on file with division staff.  
Service is accomplished in accordance with Rule 5, Rules of Civil Procedure 
by deposit in the United States mail. 

 
c. If an attorney represents an applicant, certificate holder or division staff, the 

disciplinary clerk shall make service to the attorney of record.  
 

17. Filings of Pleadings, Motions and Other Documents. 
 

a. The applicant or certificate holder and division staff shall file all pleadings, 
motions or other documents with the disciplinary clerk at least fifteen days 
prior to the scheduled hearing date, unless otherwise ordered by the hearing 
officer. 

 
b. The applicant or certificate holder and division staff shall file responses to all 

pleadings, motions, or other documents with the disciplinary clerk within ten 
days of the filing of the pleading, motion, or other document. 

 
c. The party filing the pleading, motion, or other document may reply within five 

days of the filing of the response to the motion. 
 
d. Copies of all filings shall be delivered to the disciplinary clerk, the hearing 

officer and all parties to the proceeding. 
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18. Discovery. 
 

a. There is no discovery, except as provided in this section, unless mutually agreed 
to by the parties or ordered by the hearing officer. 

 
b. The hearing officer, upon written request, shall order a party to allow the 

requesting party to have a reasonable opportunity to inspect and copy, at the 
requesting party’s expense, admissible documentary evidence or documents 
reasonably calculated to lead to admissible evidence prior to a hearing, 
provided the evidence is not privileged. 

 
c. Upon the hearing officer’s own motion or request by a party, the hearing 

officer shall order the disclosure of documentary evidence intended for use at 
the hearing provided the evidence is not privileged.  The hearing officer shall 
order the disclosure at least ten days prior to the hearing. 

 
 
d. A hearing officer shall review and rule upon any claims of privilege challenged 

by a party with respect to subsections (H)(18)(b) and (c). 
 

e. Within fifteen days of receipt of the notice of hearing, the parties shall exchange 
a list of witnesses containing the names, addresses and telephone numbers of 
all persons known to have knowledge of the relevant facts.  The list of witnesses 
shall designate those persons the parties intend to call at the hearing and 
summarize the anticipated testimony of each witness. 

 
f.  Parties may submit a motion to the hearing officer to take depositions of 

witnesses who cannot be subpoenaed or are otherwise unable to attend the 
hearing, for use as evidence at the hearing.  The hearing officer may order 
the deposition of any other witness upon motion and for good cause shown.  
In either circumstance, the requesting party shall file a written motion for 
deposition with the hearing officer within ten days of the filing of the list of 
witnesses.  The requesting party shall provide copies to all parties, setting 
forth the name and address of the witness, subject matter of the deposition, 
documents, if any, the parties are seeking for production, time and place 
proposed for the deposition and justification for the deposition.  

 
g.  Parties shall file responses to requests for depositions, including motions to 

quash, within five days after the filing of the request for deposition.  The 
hearing officer shall enter a final order regarding any motions for depositions. 

 
h. If a deposition is permitted and ordered by the hearing officer, the hearing 

officer shall issue a subpoena and written order.  The subpoena and order 
shall identify the person to be deposed, scope of testimony to be taken, 
documents, if any, to be produced and the time and place of the deposition.  
The party requesting the deposition shall arrange for service of the subpoena 
and order with service on all parties five days before the time fixed for taking 
the deposition unless, for good cause shown, the time is shortened by the 
hearing officer. 
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19. Subpoena. 
 

a. For the purpose of the hearing, a hearing officer may subpoena witnesses or 
documentary evidence, administer oaths and examine under oath any 
individual relative to the subject of any hearing.  

 
b.  Subpoenas shall be issued by a hearing officer and served in the same manner 

as provided by Rule 45, Rules of Civil Procedure.  An employee of  the court or 
any other person as provided by Rule 45, Rules of Civil Procedure may serve the 
subpoena. 

 
c. If a person fails to obey a subpoena served in accordance with the provisions of 

this section, the board or hearing officer may forward a report of the 
disobedience, together with a copy of the subpoena and proof of service, to the 
superior court and request the superior court judge issue an order requiring the 
appearance by a person or the production of documents, or both.  The superior 
court may treat the failure to obey the subpoena as contempt of court and may 
impose penalties as though the person had disobeyed a subpoena issued by the 
court. 

 
20. Prehearing Conference.  The hearing officer may order and conduct a pre-

hearing conference at the request of any party or on the hearing officer’s own 
initiative.  The purpose of the conference is to consider imposing limitations to 
promote simplicity in procedures, fairness in administration, elimination of 
unnecessary expense and protection of the public while preserving the rights of 
the certificate holder.  The hearing officer may take any of the following actions: 

 
a. Establish a hearing schedule to ensure early and continuing control so the 

matter shall not be protracted because of lack of management; 
 
b. Dispose of outstanding procedural matters; 
 
c. Narrow the issues for adjudication; 
 
d. Dispose of preliminary legal issues, including ruling on pre-hearing motions; 
 
e.  Obtain stipulations from the parties to the admission of evidence, facts and 

legal conclusions not contested; 
 
f. Identify witnesses and coordinate testimony; and 
 
g. Consider any other matters to aid in the expeditious conduct of the hearing. 

 
21. Procedure at Hearings. 

 
a. Hearing Officer.  The hearing officer shall preside over the hearing and decide all 

requests for a continuance, motions, determine the order of proof and manner of 
presentation of other evidence, issue subpoenas, place witnesses under oath, 
recess or adjourn the hearing and prescribe and enforce general rules of conduct 
and decorum.  Informal disposition may be made of any case by stipulation, 
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agreed settlement, consent order or default. 
 
b. Rights of Parties and Other Persons at a Hearing.  At a hearing:   

 
(1) A party is entitled to enter an appearance, introduce evidence, examine 

and cross-examine witnesses, make arguments and generally participate 
in the conduct of the proceeding. 

(2) An applicant or certificate holder may represent themselves or appear 
through counsel.  An attorney who intends to appear on behalf of a party 
shall promptly file a notice of appearance with the disciplinary clerk 
providing the name, address and telephone number of the party 
represented and the name, address and telephone number of the attorney.  
A corporate officer or principal may represent a business entity in any 
proceeding under this section, as permissible pursuant to Arizona Supreme 
Court Rule 31. 

(3) All persons appearing before a hearing officer in any proceeding shall 
conform to the conduct expected in the superior court.  

 
c. Conduct of Hearing. 

 
(1) All hearings are open to the public and shall conform to the provisions of 

ACJA § 1-202:  Public Meetings.  The hearing officer may close the 
hearing to the public, pursuant to ACJA § 1-202(C)(5). 

(2) The hearing officer may conduct a hearing in an informal manner and 
without adherence to the rules of pleading or evidence.  The hearing 
officer may question witnesses and shall require any evidence supporting 
a decision is substantial, reliable and probative and shall exclude 
irrelevant, immaterial or unduly repetitious evidence. There is no right to a 
jury.   

(3) The hearing officer shall require all testimony taken is under oath or 
affirmation, except matters of which judicial notice is taken or entered by 
stipulation.  The hearing officer may administer oaths and affirmations.  

(4) In all formal disciplinary matters brought as the result of an order by the 
board, evidence in support of the formal statement of disciplinary charges is 
presented first and carries the burden of proof by a preponderance of the 
evidence.  In matters brought at the request of any other person or entity, 
including requests for hearing on the denial of initial or renewal of 
certification, the person or entity seeking the hearing shall present first and 
carries the burden of proof, by a preponderance of the evidence. 

 
d. Record of Hearing. 

 
(1) The hearing officer shall ensure the oral proceedings, or any part of the oral 

proceedings, are recorded.  Upon the request of any party to the proceedings 
and payment of any costs, the record of the proceedings shall be transcribed. 

(2) A certified reporter shall make a full transcript of the proceedings if 
requested by a party within five days prior to a hearing and upon order of 
the hearing officer.  The requesting party shall pay the cost of the 
transcript.  The hearing officer may require prepayment or a monetary 
deposit to cover the cost of the transcript.  If transcribed, the record is part 
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of the court's record of the hearing and any other party with a direct 
interest shall receive a copy of the record, at the request and expense of 
the requesting party.   

 
22. Recommendation Report of Hearing Officer.   
 

a. The hearing officer shall, within 30 days of the closing of the record of a 
hearing, prepare a written recommendation report and file the report with the 
disciplinary clerk.  The recommendation report shall include findings of fact, 
based on a preponderance of the evidence and conclusions of law, 
separately stated.  

 
b. The hearing officer shall take testimony and receive evidence regarding alleged 

acts of misconduct or violations and possible sanctions.  If the hearing officer 
recommends the board enter a finding the certificate holder committed one or 
more acts of misconduct or violations, the hearing officer shall include in the 
recommendation report, in a separately stated section, an analysis of mitigating 
and aggravating factors and recommended imposition of permissible sanctions 
pursuant to subsection (H)(24).  The hearing officer shall base the 
recommendations exclusively on the matters officially noticed and the evidence 
presented. 
 
(1) Mitigating factors may include but are not limited to the following: 

(a) The absence of a prior disciplinary record; 
(b) The absence of a dishonest motive; 
(c) The absence of a selfish motive; 
(d) Personal or emotional problems; 
(e) A timely good faith effort to make restitution or to rectify consequences 

of misconduct; 
(f) Full and free disclosure to the division staff, the board or the hearing 

officer; 
(g) A cooperative attitude toward any proceedings; 
(h) Inexperience in the practice of the profession or occupation; 
(i) Character or reputation; 
(j) Physical or mental disability; 
(k) Physical or mental impairment; 
(l) Delays in the disciplinary proceedings; 

(m) Interim rehabilitation; 
(n) Imposition of other penalties or sanctions; 
(o) Remorse; or 
(p) The remoteness of prior offenses. 

(2) Aggravating factors may include but are not limited to the following: 
(a) A prior disciplinary record; 
(b) A dishonest motive; 
(c) A selfish motive; 
(d) Multiple offenses; 
(e) Bad faith obstruction of the disciplinary proceedings by intentionally 

failing to comply with this section, the applicable section of ACJA, court 
rules or orders of the hearing officer; 

(f) Submission of false evidence, false statements or other deceptive 
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practices during the discipline process; 
(g) Refusal to acknowledge wrongful nature of the conduct; 
(h) Vulnerability of the victim; 
(i) Substantial experience in the profession or occupation; or 
(j) Indifference to making restitution. 

 
c. The disciplinary clerk shall distribute the hearing officer recommendation 

report to all parties and the board by United States mail to the last address on 
file with the division staff.  Distribution is accomplished in accordance with 
Rule 5, Rules of Civil Procedure by deposit in the Untied States mail. 

 
d. The board may adopt or modify the hearing officer’s recommendation report 

in whole or in part. 
 
e. The board may remand the matter to the hearing officer in whole or in part, 

designating the issues remanded.  The board shall provide the hearing officer 
with an order identifying the issues remanded. 

 
23. Rehearing.  A party to the hearing may request a rehearing of the matters 

involved in the hearing.  The requesting party shall file the written request with 
the hearing officer and the disciplinary clerk within fifteen days after the 
disciplinary clerk has distributed the hearing officer’s recommendation report to 
the parties pursuant to subsection (H)(22)(c).  The requesting party shall base 
the request for rehearing on one or more of the grounds listed in Rule 59, Rules 
of Civil Procedure.  The hearing officer shall allow any party served with a 
request for rehearing to file a response within ten days of service.  The hearing 
officer may grant a rehearing of the matters involved in the hearing and shall 
make the decision to grant or deny the request within ten days of the date the 
response for rehearing is filed. 

 
24. Possible Actions for Resolution of a Complaint. 

 
a. Upon completion of an investigation concerning alleged acts of misconduct or 

violations by a certificate holder, which may or may not include a formal interview, 
informal or formal disciplinary proceedings, or a hearing, the board shall do one or 
more of the following: 

 
(1) Request division staff to conduct further investigation; 
(2) Refer the complaint to another entity with jurisdiction; 
(3) Determine no violation exists and dismiss the complaint with or without 

prejudice; 
(4) Determine no acts of misconduct or violation occurred and no discipline is 

warranted; however, the certificate holder’s actions need modification or 
elimination and issue an advisory letter pursuant to subsection 
(D)(5)(c)(1)(g);  

(5) Enter a finding the certificate holder has violated any of the provisions of 
the statutes, court rules, this section, or the applicable ACJA specific 
sections or subsection (H)(6) and order an emergency summary 
suspension, pursuant to subsection (H)(9)(d); 
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(6) Enter a finding the certificate holder has violated any of the provisions of 
the statutes, court rules, this section, the applicable ACJA sections or 
subsection (H)(6) and issue an order imposing any or a combination of the 
following informal or formal disciplinary sanctions: 
(a) Issue a letter of concern; 
(b) Issue a censure;  
(c) Resolve any found acts of misconduct or violations by consent order or 

other negotiated settlement; 
(d) Place specific restrictions on a certificate; 
(e) Place the certificate holder on probation for a set period of time under 

specified conditions; 
(f) Mandate additional training for the certificate holder; 
(g) Issue a cease and desist order pursuant to subsection (E)(6); 
(h) Order suspension of a certificate for a set period of time with specific 

conditions for reinstatement; 
(i) Order revocation of a certificate with specific conditions for 

reinstatement; 
(j) Assess costs associated with the investigation and disciplinary 

proceedings; or 
(k) Impose civil penalties associated with the investigation and disciplinary 

proceedings.  
 

b. The following provisions apply to the actions specified in subsection 
(H)(24)(a): 

 
(1) An advisory letter is not a discipline sanction and is confidential.  While 

the conduct does not warrant any disciplinary action, the board believes 
the certificate holder should modify or eliminate certain practices and 
continuation of the activities leading to the documentation regarding the 
conduct being submitted to the board may result in future board action 
against the certificate holder.  A certificate holder may file a response with 
the board no later than fifteen days after the date of the advisory letter. 
The certificate holder’s response is confidential and division staff shall file 
the response in the complaint file.  

(2) An informal disciplinary proceeding may result in a letter of concern but 
may not include a censure, restrictions on a certificate, probation, 
mandated additional training, suspension or revocation of the certificate, 
or imposition of civil penalties or costs.  A letter of concern is a written 
informal discipline sanction and is not confidential or appealable.  A 
certificate holder may file a response to the letter of concern no later than 
fifteen days after the date of the letter of concern.  The certificate holder’s 
response is public and division staff shall file the response in the 
complaint file. 

(3) The board may impose informal discipline in combination with formal 
discipline. 

  
25. Decisions and Orders.  The board shall make final decisions or orders in writing 

and shall include findings of fact and conclusions of law, separately stated.  The 
board shall make findings of fact by a preponderance of the evidence, based 
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exclusively on the evidence and on matters officially noticed and consider 
mitigating or aggravating factors pursuant to subsections (H)(22)(b)(1) and (2).   

 
26. Notice of Board’s Final Decision.  Upon final order of the board regarding a 

certification or complaint matter, division staff shall provide written notice of the 
board’s final decision and order: 

 
a. Regarding an initial or renewal certification matter, to the applicant or 

certificate holder within ten days, by deposit in the United States mail 
addressed to the last known address on file with division staff.  Notice by mail 
is complete upon deposit in the United States mail. 

 
b. Regarding suspension or revocation of certification to the certificate holder by 

certified mail, return receipt requested, within two days, addressed to the last 
known address on file with division staff pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(i)(8).  
Division staff shall ensure the order of emergency summary suspension is 
immediately served on the certificate holder pursuant to subsection 
(H)(9)(d)(2).  Division staff shall send any other disciplinary order by the 
board, not involving suspension or revocation of certification, to the certificate 
holder within ten days by deposit in the Unites States mail addressed to the 
last known address on file with division staff, pursuant to subsection 
(H)(1)(i)(7).  Notice by mail is complete upon deposit in the United States 
mail. 

 
c. Regarding a complaint matter, to the complainant within ten days, pursuant to 

subsection H(1)(i)(7), by deposit in the United States mail addressed to the 
last known address on file with division staff.  Notice by mail is complete upon 
deposit in the United States mail. 

 
27. Filing of Special Action.  Decisions of the board pursuant to this section and the 

applicable ACJA sections are final.  Parties may seek judicial review through a 
petition for a special action within 35 days after entry of the board’s final order.  
The petition for special action shall be pursuant to the Arizona Rules of 
Procedure for Special Actions.   

 

7. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203 (E) – Initial Certification 
 

E. Initial Certification.   

 
 1. Application for Initial Certification.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-

201(E), the applicant shall meet the following requirements: 
 
  a. Fingerprinting.  A.R.S. § 8-134(K) provides: “In carrying out the provisions of 

this section the supreme court shall require applicants for a confidential 
intermediary certificate to furnish fingerprints and the supreme court shall 
obtain criminal history record information pursuant to § 41-1750.” 

 
b. Initial Training.  The division staff shall provide initial training for confidential 

intermediary applicants no less than one time per year.  The training shall 
consist of a minimum of twelve hours of instruction.  All applicants for initial 
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certification shall attend the entire initial training session.   
 

c. Fees.  An applicant shall pay the fees for certification specified in subsection 
(K).  

 
2.  Qualifications for Initial Certification.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-

201, an applicant for certification as a confidential intermediary shall meet the 
following minimum qualifications and be: 

 
a. 21 years of age or more;  

 
b. A citizen of the United States or legal resident; and 
 
c. In compliance with all requirements for application for initial certification 

pursuant to ACJA § 7-201and subsection (E). 
 

3. Examination.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-201 (E), the division 
staff shall administer the examination no less than one time per year in 
conjunction with the initial training. 

 
4. Decision Regarding Certification.  These requirements are contained in ACJA § 

7-201 (E).   
 
5. Exemption from Certification.  No certification is required of any agency licensed 

by the state or the Arizona Department of Economic Security pursuant to A.R.S. 
§ 8-126 (1). 

  

8. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203 (F) – Role and Responsibilities  

of Certificate Holders 
 
F. Role and Responsibilities of Certificate Holders.  In addition to the requirements of 

ACJA § 7-201 (F), the following provisions apply to confidential intermediaries: 
 

1. Standards of Conduct.  Each confidential intermediary shall adhere to the standards 
of conduct in subsection (J) and A.R.S. § 8-134 (I).   

 
2. Identification.  When accessing files related to a search, a confidential intermediary 

shall provide the valid photo identification issued by the confidential intermediary 
program with the request for appointment form identifying the individual as the 
confidential intermediary appointed to the case.  

 
3. Parties.  A confidential intermediary shall provide services only to those parties 

who are eligible pursuant to A.R.S. § 8-134(A).   
 

a. A.R.S. § 8-134(A) provides: 
 

A. Any of the following persons may use the services of a 
confidential intermediary who is listed with the court: 
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1. The adoptive parents of an adoptee who is at least eighteen 
years of age or, if the adoptive parents are deceased, the 
adoptee’s guardian. 

 
2. An adoptee if the adoptee is at least eighteen years of age. 
 
3. If an adoptee is deceased, the adoptee’s spouse if the 

spouse is the legal parent or guardian of any child of the 
adoptee. 

 
4. If an adoptee is deceased, any progeny of the adoptee who 

is at least eighteen years of age. 
 
5. Either of the birth parents of an adoptee. 
 
6. If the birth parent of an adoptee is deceased, the parent of 

the birth parent. 
 
7. A biological sibling of the adoptee if the sibling is at least 

eighteen years of age. 
 

b. A.R.S. § 8-134 further provides: 
 

G. On receipt of a written statement from a physician that explains in 
detail how a health condition may seriously affect the health of the 
adoptee or a direct descendant of the adoptee, the court shall 
order the confidential intermediary program to appoint a 
confidential intermediary.  The confidential intermediary shall make 
a diligent effort to notify an adoptee who has attained eighteen 
years of age, an adoptive parent or guardian of an adoptee who 
has not attained eighteen years of age or a direct descendant of a 
deceased adoptee that the nonidentifying information is available 
and shall be provided on written request. 

 
H. On receipt of a written statement from a physician that explains in 

detail why a serious health condition of the adoptee or a direct 
descendent of the adoptee should be communicated to the birth 
parent or biological sibling to enable the birth parent or biological 
sibling to make an informed medical decision, the court shall order 
the confidential intermediary program to appoint a confidential 
intermediary.  The confidential intermediary shall make a diligent 
effort to notify those individuals that the nonidentifying information 
is available and shall be provided on written request. 

 
4. Sharing of Information.  A.R.S. § 8-134 provides:  

 
C.  [A] confidential intermediary may inspect documents compiled 

pursuant to this article.  Documents include the court records, 
division records, agency records and maternity home records.  The 
confidential intermediary shall keep confidential all information 
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obtained during the course of the investigation.  The intermediary 
shall use confidential information only to arrange a contact or share 
information between the person who initiates the search and the 
person who is the subject of the search.  A confidential intermediary 
shall review the court record before making any contact with an 
adoptee to determine if an affidavit has been filed pursuant to 
subsection E of this section.  Except as provided pursuant to 
subsection A, paragraphs 1, 2, 4 and 7 and subsection G of this 
section, a confidential intermediary shall not contact persons under 
twenty-one years of age. 

 
D.  The confidential intermediary shall obtain written consent from the 

person who initiated the search and the person who is the subject of 
the search before arranging for the sharing of identifying information 
or a contact between them.  If the confidential intermediary discovers 
the subject of the search is deceased or that the identity of the birth 
father was unknown to or not revealed by the birth mother, the 
confidential intermediary shall share this information with the person 
initiating the search.  If the confidential intermediary, after a diligent 
effort, is unable to locate the subject of the search to obtain written 
consent to share information, the confidential intermediary shall 
share this information with the person initiating the search and 
prepare and place with the compiled documents a written report 
describing search efforts.  If the person who initiated the search 
petitions the court to release identifying information, the court shall 
review the report prepared by the confidential intermediary and shall 
decide if the information may be released and in what manner the 
information may be released if the court determines there is good 
cause. 

 
E.  An adoptive parent who has not informed an adoptee that the 

adoptee was adopted may file an affidavit so stating with the court 
where the adoption took place.  The affidavit may be withdrawn at 
any time by the adoptive parent.  If an affidavit is a part of the court 
record, the confidential intermediary shall not make contact with the 
adoptee unless the adoptive parent withdraws the affidavit and 
grants permission in writing or the adoptee has filed an affidavit 
stating that the adoptee knows about the adoption and wishes to 
make contact with the birth parent. 

 
F.  A birth parent who has not informed the parent’s biological 

offspring of the existence of the adoptee may file an affidavit so 
stating with the court where the adoption took place.  The affidavit 
may be withdrawn at any time by the birth parent.  If an affidavit is 
a part of the court record, the confidential intermediary shall not 
make contact with the biological sibling unless the birth parent 
withdraws the affidavit and grants permission in writing or the 
biological sibling has filed an affidavit stating that the biological 
sibling knows about the adoptee and wishes to make contact with 
the adoptee. 
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5.   Notice of Withdrawal.  A confidential intermediary may withdraw from a search 
for any reason. 

 
a. If a confidential intermediary withdraws from a search, the confidential 

intermediary shall submit a notice of withdrawal form to division staff for that 
search.   

 
b. The confidential intermediary shall submit to division staff a finalization report 

for each case the confidential intermediary withdraws from, pursuant to 
subsection (F)(6). 

 
6.   Finalization Report.  A confidential intermediary shall file with division staff a 

finalization report on all completed searches or searches where the confidential 
intermediary has withdrawn within 45 days of the withdrawal.  These 
requirements also apply when a confidential intermediary voluntarily surrenders 
their certificate or their certificate is placed on inactive status.  

  
a. The finalization report shall include: 

 
 (1) A copy of the consent or refusal documents; 
 (2) Documentation of a consultation or mentoring agreement;  

(3) A copy of the file review statement;  
(4) Original appointment form issued by division staff; and 
(5) A summary report of the search process and outcome.  

 
b.  The confidential intermediary shall file a copy of the finalization report with the 

juvenile court in the county the adoption was finalized.  The finalization report 
shall include: 

 
(1) Original consent or refusal documents; 
(2) Documentation of a consultation or mentoring agreement; and 
(3) A summary report of the search process and outcome. 

 
7. Retention of Records.  A confidential intermediary shall maintain all search 

related documentation, including receipts for every search for no less than five 
years. 

 
8. Voluntary Surrender or Request for Inactive Status.  In addition to the 

requirements of ACJA § 7-201(E)(7) and (E)(8), when a confidential intermediary 
voluntarily surrenders their certificate or is placed on inactive status, the 
confidential intermediary shall:   

 
a.  Submit a notice of withdrawal form pursuant to subsection (F)(5) for each 

open search approved for the confidential intermediary;  
 
b. Provide notice of the withdrawal to each affected client; and 

 
c. Submit the finalization report pursuant to subsection (F)(6).  

 



 

 59 

9. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203 (G) – Renewal of Certification  

 
G. Renewal of Certification.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-201(G), the 

following requirements apply: 
 

1. Expiration Date.  All certificates expire at midnight on October 31, 2006 and 
every even-numbered year thereafter.     

 
2. Continuing Education.  All confidential intermediaries shall complete at least 

twelve hours of continuing education pursuant to subsection (L).    

 

10.  Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203 (J) – Standards of Conduct 

 
J. Standards of Conduct.  The following standards of conduct apply to all confidential 

intermediaries pursuant to A.R.S. § 8-134(I) to establish minimum standards for 
performance by confidential intermediaries and to ensure confidentiality of the 
search and consent process. 

 
1. Confidentiality. 

 
a. The confidential intermediary shall keep paramount in all actions the 

importance and significance of confidentiality.  The confidential intermediary 
shall exercise extreme care and diligence in respecting the privacy and 
confidentiality of all parties involved in the search. 

 
b. The confidential intermediary shall keep confidential all information obtained 

during the course of the search and shall use said confidential information 
only to arrange a contact or to share that information which is permitted by 
A.R.S. § 8-134 between the person who initiated the search and the person 
who is the subject of the search. 

 
c. The confidential intermediary shall review the court records to determine 

whether an affidavit has been filed by a party consenting to or blocking 
contact and act according to the wishes expressed by such an affidavit. 

  
d. The confidential intermediary shall perform duties and responsibilities 

pursuant to Arizona laws relating to adoption including limitations on the 
release of information. 

 
e. The confidential intermediary shall maintain required records in a professional 

manner while protecting the confidentiality of information contained in the 
records. 

 
f. The confidential intermediary, having located the sought-after party, shall 

divulge only that information necessary to allow the client and located party to 
make an informed decision whether or not to consent to the release of 
identifying information.  In order to meet the requirements of informed 
consent, the confidential intermediary shall share only the information 
necessary for the physical safety and protection of the parties and their 
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families. The confidential intermediary shall present such information in a 
nonjudgmental manner.  

 
g. On a case-by-case basis, the confidential intermediary may consult with 

another confidential intermediary sharing only that information on a case 
which is necessary for the specific purpose of soliciting ideas or information 
that would assist the confidential intermediary in carrying out the search to 
arrange a contact. The discharge summary shall clearly designate the 
consulting confidential intermediary.  All confidentiality restrictions apply to 
both confidential intermediaries. 

 
h. The confidential intermediary may act as a mentor to assist an inexperienced 

confidential intermediary.  The inexperienced confidential intermediary and the 
mentoring confidential intermediary may share confidential information for the 
purpose of instruction for the result of an increased skill level and a successful 
search.  The request for appointment form and the discharge summary shall 
clearly designate the mentoring confidential intermediary.  All confidentiality 
restrictions apply to both confidential intermediaries. 

 
2. Skills and Knowledge.    

 
a. The confidential intermediary shall demonstrate adequate skills and 

knowledge to perform the work of a confidential intermediary and shall fulfill 
ongoing continuing education requirements to maintain professional growth 
as specified by ACJA § 7-201 and subsection (L). 

 
b. The confidential intermediary has an obligation to have knowledge and keep 

informed of all current and applicable laws regarding adoption issues. 
 
c. The confidential intermediary shall inform the parties of the availability of resources 

for support.  
 
d. The confidential intermediary has a responsibility to maintain a working 

knowledge of documents and information customarily contained in court and 
agency files. 

 
e. The confidential intermediary shall possess the necessary verbal and written 

communication skills sufficient to perform the confidential intermediary role, 
including an aptitude for communicating in person, by telephone and by 
correspondence. 

 
f. The confidential intermediary shall manage each case proficiently.  Skills 

required include, but are not limited to, skills necessary to perform the search, 
make contact, maintain records and discharge the case in a timely fashion. 

 
g. The confidential intermediary shall keep the client reasonably informed about 

the status of the search and promptly comply with reasonable requests for 
information. 
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h. The confidential intermediary shall prepare complete, accurate and 
understandable reports and discharge summaries. 

 
i. The confidential intermediary shall conduct each search demonstrating 

efforts appropriate to the case. 
 
j. The confidential intermediary shall perform a diligent and expedient search if 

the search is a court-ordered medical search. 
 
k. The confidential intermediary shall otherwise perform a search using proper 

diligence pursuant to the agreement between the confidential intermediary 
and client. 

 
3. Fees and Expenses.   

 
a. The confidential intermediary shall charge only those fees and expenses that 

are reasonable in amounts and necessarily incurred in order to conduct the 
search and provide services pursuant to Arizona law, ACJA § 7-201, this 
section and administrative orders adopted by the supreme court.  

 
b. The confidential intermediary shall not charge more than the amounts 

permitted pursuant to subsection (M).  
 
c. The confidential intermediary shall return to the client all fees collected in 

advance but not earned. 
 

4. Sensitivity and Professionalism.   
 
a. The confidential intermediary shall exercise the highest degree of sensitivity 

and professionalism in all interactions with clients, the party located and 
others with whom they come in contact during the search. This includes the 
ability to empathize with others, be discreet in dealing with confidential 
information and recognize the emotions of adoption members. 

 
b. The confidential intermediary shall strive to develop professional objectivity 

regarding biases, attitudes and beliefs about adoption and reunion issues.  
 
c. The confidential intermediary shall demonstrate the ability to work with 

individuals regardless of differing culture, ethnicity or lifestyle. 
 
d. The confidential intermediary shall not remove adoption case records from 

agency or court files or falsify or alter records. 
 
e. The confidential intermediary shall not use materials or employ methods that are 

not consistent with the role of a confidential intermediary and shall not use 
materials or employ  
methods for personal benefit or in ways that conflict with the goals and role of a 
confidential intermediary. 
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f. The confidential intermediary shall not assume the role of a therapist or 
counselor when acting in the capacity of a confidential intermediary, even if 
otherwise qualified to do so, but may provide initial education and 
information.  A confidential intermediary shall demonstrate understanding of 
how the confidential intermediary role differs from that of a counselor or an 
advocate. 

 
g. The confidential intermediary shall not provide or offer to provide legal advice 

in the role of a confidential intermediary.  
 
h. The confidential intermediary shall not violate any rules or policies regarding 

the confidential intermediary program as established by the supreme court or 
conduct themselves in a manner that would reflect adversely on the judiciary, 
courts or other agencies involved in the administration of justice. 

 
5. Ethics.   

 
a. The search and reunion of adopted individuals, adoptive parents and birth 

parents are highly charged emotionally.  Because the primary sources of 
information about the unknown parties are confidential, the confidential 
intermediary is held to the highest standards of trust, impartiality and respect 
in the performance of services. 

 
b. The confidential intermediary shall perform services in a manner consistent 

with legal and ethical standards. 
 
c. The confidential intermediary shall not assume the role of an advocate or use 

coercion or undue influence to persuade any party to the search to take or 
not to take any action.  

 
d. The confidential intermediary shall be cognizant of personal limitations of 

knowledge and experience and may consult other experienced confidential 
intermediaries about a case if  ACJA §§ 7-201, -203, administrative orders, 
Arizona statutes, standards of conduct or training manuals do not provide the 
guidance necessary to address difficult ethical issues.  Nonetheless, the 
confidential intermediary is ultimately responsible for decisions made in 
regard to the case. 

 
e. The confidential intermediary shall avoid any conflict of interest or the 

appearance of a conflict of interest.  
 
(1) The confidential intermediary shall not accept appointment to a case or 

continue on a case involving a relative or business associate or a personal 
friend where the                                                                                                                                        
relationship is such that the relative, business associate or personal friend 
may exert undue pressure on the confidential intermediary. 

(2) The confidential intermediary shall not accept an appointment or continue 
on any case where the confidential intermediary cannot act in an objective 
manner or perform services as required. 
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(3) The confidential intermediary shall not accept an appointment or serve as 
a confidential intermediary for the purpose of taking advantage of any 
party to the search for personal or professional gain. 
 

f. The confidential intermediary shall avoid misrepresenting the purposes of the 
confidential intermediary program, the confidential intermediary’s 
qualifications, fees or any other information relating to the role of the 
confidential intermediary.  The confidential intermediary shall avoid 
misrepresenting to any client or any party located any circumstances or 
information specific to a case. 

 
g. The confidential intermediary shall avoid utilizing certification in any manner to 

gain access to information or services for purposes other than those of the 
confidential intermediary program. 

 
6.  Compliance.  The confidential intermediary shall perform all services and 

discharge all obligations in accordance with current Arizona and federal laws, 
ACJA §§ 7-201, -203 and administrative orders adopted by the supreme court 
governing the certification of confidential intermediaries. 

 

11. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203 (L) – Continuing Education       

Policy 

 
L. Continuing Education Policy. 

  
1. Purpose. 
 

a. Ongoing continuing education is one method to ensure confidential 
intermediaries maintain competence in the field after certification is obtained.  
Continuing education also provides opportunities for confidential 
intermediaries to keep abreast of changes in the profession and the Arizona 
judicial system. 
 

 b. Pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(D) the board shall make recommendations to the 
supreme court regarding rules, policies, and procedures to implement and 
enforce the requirements regarding confidential intermediaries, including 
continuing education.  This  
subsection is intended to provide direction to confidential intermediaries to 
ensure compliance with the continuing education requirements and to provide 
for equitable application and enforcement of the continuing education 
requirements. 

 
 2. Applicability.  Pursuant to subsection (G)(2): 
  
  a. All confidential intermediaries shall attend six hours of approved continuing 

education each year for a total of twelve hours of continuing education during 
each certificate period.  A confidential intermediary shall complete a minimum 
of one hour each year of the continuing education requirement in an ethics 
based curriculum.  The confidential intermediary shall submit documentation 
of completion of the continuing education requirement upon the request of 
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the board or division staff.  Hours of participation are not transferable to 
certification periods other than the one in which the participation occurred. 

 
  b. From and after November 1, 2006 and for every renewal of certification after 

that date, all confidential intermediaries shall comply with these adopted 
policies regarding continuing education. 

 
3. Responsibilities of Confidential Intermediaries. 

 
 a. It is the responsibility of each confidential intermediary to ensure compliance 

with the continuing education requirements, maintain documentation of 
completion of continuing education, and to submit the maintained 
documentation to division staff upon the request of the board or division staff. 

 
 b. Upon request, each confidential intermediary shall provide any additional 

information required by the board or division staff when reviewing renewal 
applications and continuing education documentation. 

 
 c. Continuing education not recognized for credit upon board review does not in any 

way relieve the confidential intermediary of the responsibility to complete the 
required hours of continuing education.  

 
4. Authorized Continuing Education Activities. 
 
 a. Continuing Education.  Continuing education activity shall address areas of 

proficiency, competency, and performance of a confidential intermediary, 
impart knowledge and understanding of the profession, search techniques, 
Arizona court jurisdiction and responsibilities, Arizona tribal court system, 
cultural issues, administrative matters and areas involving adoption and the 
adoption triad.   

 
a. Conferences.  A confidential intermediary may receive continuing education 

credit for attendance at a conference relevant to the profession.  A 
confidential intermediary may receive 100 percent of the continuing education 
credits for attendance at the conference, if the conference is directly related 
to the confidential intermediary profession.  Introductory remarks, breaks, 
meals, business meetings, and general sessions of the conference do not 
qualify as continuing education hours. 

 
b. University, College and Other Educational Institution Courses.  A confidential 

intermediary may receive continuing education credit for a course provided by 
a university, college or other institutionally accredited educational program if 
the confidential intermediary successfully completes the course with a grade 
of "C" or better or a "pass" in a pass/fail grading system.  A confidential 
intermediary may receive continuing education credit if the course is relevant 
to the confidential intermediary profession, adoption, adoption searches or a 
related field, up to two times the number of credit hours awarded by the 
educational institution.  The maximum hours of continuing education credits 
earned from educational course work shall not exceed 50 percent of the total 
number of continuing education hours required for renewal. 
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c. Authoring or Coauthoring Articles.  A confidential intermediary may receive 

continuing education credit for authoring or coauthoring an article directly 
related to areas of adoptions, adoption searches or triad issues, if the article 
is published in a state or nationally recognized professional journal and if the 
article is a minimum of 1,000  words in length.  A confidential intermediary 
may earn a maximum of one hour of continuing education credit each year 
for authoring of articles.  A confidential intermediary shall not receive credit 
for the same article published in more than one publication or republished in 
the same publication in later editions. 

 
d. Self Study.  A confidential intermediary may receive continuing education 

credit for self study activities, including correspondence courses, procedure 
manuals, video and audio tapes, online computer seminars, and other 
methods of independent learning.  The maximum hours of continuing 
education credits earned in a self study format shall not exceed 50 percent of 
the total number of continuing education hours required for renewal. 

 
e. Serving as Faculty. A confidential intermediary may receive continuing 

education credit for serving as an instructor, speaker, panel or faculty 
member of an instructional seminar directly related to the profession of 
confidential intermediary.  A confidential intermediary may receive continuing 
education credit for the presentation time and up to two hours of preparation 
time for each hour of presentation.  The maximum hours of continuing 
education credits earned as faculty credit shall not exceed 50 percent of the 
total number of continuing education hours required for renewal and a 
confidential intermediary shall not receive duplicate credit for repeating a 
presentation during the certificate period.   

 
5. Minimum Time.  Each continuing education activity shall consist of at least 30 

minutes of actual clock time spent by a confidential intermediary in actual 
attendance at and completion of a continuing education activity.  “Actual clock 
time” includes the total number of hours attended, minus the time spent for 
introductory remarks, breaks, meals, and business meetings.  After completion 
of the first 30 minutes of a continuing education activity, credit shall be 
recognized in fifteen minute increments.  

 
6. Maximum Credit. Unless the board otherwise determines a continuing education 

activity is directly related to the confidential intermediary profession, a confidential 
intermediary shall not receive more than 50 percent of the credit requirement for 
the certificate period through one activity.  

 
7. Non-Qualifying Activities. 
 

a. The following activities shall not qualify for continuing education credit 
for confidential intermediaries: 

 
(1) Program training completed to qualify for certification; 

  (2) Mentoring.  A confidential intermediary shall not receive continuing education 
credit for mentoring activities; 



 

 66 

(3) Attendance or participation at professional or association business 
meetings, general sessions, elections, policymaking sessions or program 
orientation; 

(4) Serving on committees or councils or as officers in a professional 
organization; and  

(5) Activities completed as required by the board as part of a disciplinary 
action. 

 
 b. Repeat of an Activity. Continuing education activities repeated during a 

certificate period do not qualify for credited duplicate hours.  
 

 c. If a confidential intermediary attends part, but not all of a continuing 
education activity, the confidential intermediary is not eligible to claim partial 
credit completion. 

 
8. Documentation of Attendance or Completion.  When attending or completing a 

continuing education activity, each confidential intermediary shall obtain 
documentation of attendance or completion from the sponsoring entity.  At a 
minimum, this documentation shall include the: 

 
a. Name of the sponsor; 
 
b. Name of the participant; 

 
c. Topic of the subject matter; 

 
d. Number of hours actually attended or the number of credit hours awarded by 

the sponsoring entity; 
 

e. Date and place of the program; and 
 

f. Signature of the sponsor or an official document from the sponsoring entity.  

 
9. Compliance and Non-Compliance. 

 
a. Affidavit of Compliance.  A confidential intermediary shall submit an affidavit 

of continuing education compliance when applying for renewal of certification.  
The affidavit shall be in the format provided by the division staff.   

 
b. Proration of Continuing Education Requirement.  A confidential intermediary 

whose certificate expires less than one year from the effective date of 
certification shall complete no less than six hours of continuing education 
credit during the balance of the certification period.  In subsequent 
certification periods, the confidential intermediary shall complete the biennial 
twelve hour continuing education requirement.  Proration of the continuing 
education requirement does not apply to confidential intermediaries who 
previously held certification and allowed their certification to lapse. 

 

c. Extension or Waiver of Continuing Education Requirements.  A confidential 
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intermediary seeking renewal of certification who has not fully complied with 
the continuing education requirements may request an extension or waiver of 
the continuing education requirements under the following conditions: 

 
(1) The confidential intermediary submits a notarized written statement to the 

board, explaining the facts regarding non-compliance and requesting an 
extension or waiver of the requirements no later than the September 15

th
 

preceding the October 31
st
 expiration of the certificate.  Upon a showing 

of extenuating circumstances, the board may grant an extension of a 
maximum of 90 days for the confidential intermediary to complete the 
continuing education requirement. 

(2) The board shall determine whether extenuating circumstances exist.  In 
reviewing the request, the board shall consider if the confidential 
intermediary has been unable to devote sufficient hours to fulfill the 
requirements during the certificate period because of: 
(a) full-time service in the armed forces of the United States during a 

substantial part of the certificate period; 
(b) an incapacitating illness documented by a statement from a currently 

licensed physician; 
(c) a physical inability to travel to the sites of approved programs 

documented by a statement from a currently licensed physician; or 
(d) any other special circumstances the board deems appropriate. 

(3) A confidential intermediary whose certificate has been suspended or 
revoked by the board is not eligible to request a waiver or extension of the 
continuing education requirement. 

  (4) The board or division staff may request documentation or additional 
information from a confidential intermediary applying for renewal to verify 
compliance with the continuing education requirements.  If the confidential 
intermediary fails to provide the requested documentation or additional 
information, the board may deem the application for renewal incomplete 
and deny renewal of certification. 

 
 d. Random Audits of Continuing Education Compliance.  During each renewal 

review period, the board shall direct division staff to randomly select a 
specified number of confidential intermediaries to demonstrate continuing 
education requirement compliance through  submission of proof of continuing 
education participation.  Refusal or failure to respond to a request from the 
board or division staff for audit documentation of continuing education 
compliance may result in denial of renewal of certification or disciplinary 
action pursuant to ACJA § 7-201 and this section. 

 
 e. A confidential intermediary who fails to complete the continuing education 

requirement, completes any portion of the continuing education requirement 
late, falsifies documents, or misrepresents attendance or an activity is subject 
to any or all of the following actions of the board: 

 
(1) Assessment of the delinquent continuing education fee; 

 (2) Denial of renewal of certification; and 
 (3) Disciplinary action pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(H) and this section. 
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10. Board Decision Regarding Continuing Education Compliance. 
 

a. Upon a review of continuing education documentation and any applicable 
additional information requested, the board may: 

 
 (1) Recognize compliance by the confidential intermediary with the continuing 

education requirement; 
 (2) Require additional information from the confidential intermediary seeking 

renewal before making a decision; 
 (3) Recognize partial compliance with the requirement and order remedial 

measures; or 
 (4) Enter a finding of non-compliance. 

 
b. The division staff shall promptly notify the confidential intermediary, in writing, 

of the board’s decision. A confidential intermediary may appeal the decision 
by submitting a written request for review to the confidential intermediary 
program within fifteen days of receipt of notification of the board’s decision.  
The confidential intermediary requesting review may request to appear before 
the board at the next available regularly scheduled board meeting. 

 
 c. The certification of a confidential intermediary who timely appeals a decision by 

the board regarding continuing education shall continue in force until a final 
decision is made by the board. 

 
 d. The board shall make the decision on the appeal in writing.  The decision is final 

and binding. 
 

12. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203 (M) – Client Fee Schedule 
 
M. Client Fee Schedule.  Pursuant to A.R.S. § 8-134(I), the supreme court shall 

administer the confidential intermediary program.  The court shall adopt rules and 
procedures necessary to implement the program, including required and permissible 
fees.  A confidential intermediary may charge clients an amount not to exceed the 
fees listed in this subsection for adoption search related services. 

 
1. Initial Appointment Fee  $100.00 

 
(This is a one time fee the confidential intermediary may charge 
and collect for services that result in a search appointment.  These 
services include initial consultation related to services and 
processes and initial application with the confidential intermediary 
program to establish the search appointment.) 

 
2. Investigation/Research Hourly Rate   $100.00 
 

(Maximum rate allowable.) 
 
3. Bookkeeping/Travel Hourly Rate    $  50.00 
 

(Maximum rate allowable.) 
 
4. Direct Costs and Expenses Billable at Rates Incurred 
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(Current state of Arizona mileage allowance as posted on the 
Arizona government’s website.) 
 

 

13. Arizona Revised Statute § 8-106(E) –  Consent to adoption; waiver; consent to 

the release of information; notification to potential fathers 
 

E.  An agency, the division or an attorney participating or assisting in a direct placement 

adoption pursuant to section 8-130 shall obtain from a birth parent, at the time 

consent for adoption is obtained, a notarized statement granting permission or 

withholding permission for the child being adopted, when the child reaches eighteen 

years of age, to obtain identifying and nonidentifying information about the child and 

the consenting birth parent. The agency, division or attorney shall inform the birth 

parent at the time of obtaining the notarized statement that the decision to grant 

permission or withhold permission may be changed at any time by filing a notarized 

statement with the court. The most recent notarized statement shall operate as 

consent for the court to grant or withhold identifying and nonidentifying information. 
 

 

14.  Arizona Revised Statute § 8-121 – Confidentiality of information; exceptions 

 

A. It is unlawful, except for purposes for which files and records or social records or 

parts thereof or information therefrom have been released pursuant to subsection C 

of this section or section 8-120, 8-129 or 8-134, or except for purposes permitted by 

order of the court, for any person to disclose, receive or make use of, or authorize, 

knowingly permit, participate in or acquiesce in the use of, any information involved 

in any proceeding under this article directly or indirectly derived from the files, 

records, reports or other papers compiled pursuant to this article, or acquired in the 

course of the performance of official duties until one hundred years after the date of 

the order issued pursuant to section 8-116. After one hundred years has elapsed 

from the date of the order issued pursuant to section 8-116 the court shall transfer 

all files, records, reports and other documents in possession of the court relating to 

the adoption to the Arizona state library, archives and public records. The items 

transferred pursuant to this subsection shall be available for public inspection during 

business hours and may be made available in an alternative format. 

 

B. The provisions of this section shall not be construed to prohibit persons employed by 

the court, the division or an agency from conducting the investigations or performing 

other duties pursuant to this article within the normal course of their employment. 

 

C. This section does not prohibit persons employed by the court, the division, an 

attorney participating or assisting in a direct placement adoption pursuant to section 

8-130 or an agency from providing partial or complete identifying information 

between a birth parent and adoptive parent when the parties mutually agree to 

share specific identifying information and make a written request to the court, the 

division or the agency.  
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D. A person may petition the court to obtain information relating to an adoption in the 

possession of the court, the division or any agency or attorney involved in the 

adoption. Nonidentifying information may be released by the court pursuant to 

section 8-129. The court shall not release identifying information unless the person 

requesting the information has established a compelling need for disclosure of the 

information or consent has been obtained pursuant to subsection E of this section or 

from the birth parent pursuant to section 8-106. If a compelling need for disclosure 

of information is established, the court may decide what information, if any, should 

be disclosed and to whom and under what conditions disclosure may be made. 

 

E.  An adoptee who is eighteen years of age or older or a birth parent may file at any 

time with the court and the agency, division or attorney who participated in the 

adoption a notarized statement granting consent, withholding consent or 

withdrawing a consent previously given for the release of confidential information. If 

an adoptee who is eighteen years of age or older and the birth mother or birth father 

have filed a notarized statement granting consent to the release of confidential 

information, the court may disclose information, except identifying information 

relating to a birth parent who did not grant written consent, to the adoptee or birth 

parent. 

 

F.  This section does not prohibit a person from notifying a birth parent of the death of a 

child that the birth parent has placed for adoption. 

 

15. Arizona Revised Statute § 8-134 – Confidential Intermediary  

 

§ 8-134. Confidential intermediary 

 

A.  Any of the following persons may use the services of a confidential intermediary who 

is listed with the court: 

 

1.  The adoptive parents of an adoptee who is at least eighteen years of age or, if 

the adoptive parents are deceased, the adoptee's guardian. 

2.  An adoptee if the adoptee is at least eighteen years of age. 

3.  If an adoptee is deceased, the adoptee's spouse if the spouse is the legal parent 

or guardian of any child of the adoptee. 

4.  If an adoptee is deceased, any progeny of the adoptee who is at least eighteen 

years of age. 

5.  Either of the birth parents of an adoptee. 

6.  If the birth parent of an adoptee is deceased, the parent of the birth parent. 

7.  A biological sibling of the adoptee if the sibling is at least eighteen years of age. 

 

B. An adoption agency licensed by this state, the division or an individual who meets 

the requirements adopted pursuant to subsections F and G of this section may 

serve as a confidential intermediary. 
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C. Notwithstanding sections 8-120 and 8-121, a confidential intermediary may inspect 

documents compiled pursuant to this article. Documents include the court records, 

division records, agency records and maternity home records. The confidential 

intermediary shall keep confidential all information obtained during the course of the 

investigation. The intermediary shall use confidential information only to arrange a 

contact or share information between the person who initiates the search and the 

person who is the subject of the search. A confidential intermediary shall review the 

court record before making any contact with an adoptee to determine if an affidavit 

has been filed pursuant to subsection E of this section. Except as provided pursuant 

to subsection A, paragraphs 1, 2, 4 and 7 and subsection G of this section, a 

confidential intermediary shall not contact persons under twenty-one years of age. 

 

D. The confidential intermediary shall obtain written consent from the person who 

initiated the search and the person who is the subject of the search before arranging 

for the sharing of identifying information or a contact between them. If the 

confidential intermediary discovers the subject of the search is deceased or that the 

identity of the birth father was unknown to or not revealed by the birth mother, the 

confidential intermediary shall share this information with the person initiating the 

search. If the confidential intermediary, after a diligent effort, is unable to locate the 

subject of the search to obtain written consent to share information, the confidential 

intermediary shall share this information with the person initiating the search and 

prepare and place with the compiled documents a written report describing search 

efforts. If the person who initiated the search petitions the court to release identifying 

information, the court shall review the report prepared by the confidential 

intermediary and shall decide if the information may be released and in what 

manner the information may be released if the court determines there is good 

cause.  

 

E. An adoptive parent who has not informed an adoptee that the adoptee was adopted 

may file an affidavit so stating with the court where the adoption took place. The 

affidavit may be withdrawn at any time by the adoptive parent. If an affidavit is a part 

of the court record, the confidential intermediary shall not make contact with the 

adoptee unless the adoptive parent withdraws the affidavit and grants permission in 

writing or the adoptee has filed an affidavit stating that the adoptee knows about the 

adoption and wishes to make contact with the birth parent. 

 

F. A birth parent who has not informed the parent's biological offspring of the existence 

of the adoptee may file an affidavit so stating with the court where the adoption took 

place. The affidavit may be withdrawn at any time by the birth parent. If an affidavit 

is a part of the court record, the confidential intermediary shall not make contact with 

the biological sibling unless the birth parent withdraws the affidavit and grants 

permission in writing or the biological sibling has filed an affidavit stating that the 

biological sibling knows about the adoptee and wishes to make contact with the 

adoptee. 
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G. On receipt of a written statement from a physician that explains in detail how a 

health condition may seriously affect the health of the adoptee or a direct 

descendant of the adoptee, the court shall order the confidential intermediary 

program to appoint a confidential intermediary. The confidential intermediary shall 

make a diligent effort to notify an adoptee who has attained eighteen years of age, 

an adoptive parent or guardian of an adoptee who has not attained eighteen years 

of age or a direct descendant of a deceased adoptee that the nonidentifying 

information is available and shall be provided on written request. 

 

H. On receipt of a written statement from a physician that explains in detail why a 

serious health condition of the adoptee or a direct descendant of the adoptee should 

be communicated to the birth parent or biological sibling to enable the birth parent or 

biological sibling to make an informed medical decision, the court shall order the 

confidential intermediary program to appoint a confidential intermediary. The 

confidential intermediary shall make a diligent effort to notify those individuals that 

the nonidentifying information is available and shall be provided on written request.  

 

I. The Arizona supreme court shall administer the confidential intermediary program. 

The court shall adopt rules and procedures necessary to implement the program, 

including qualifications, required fees, minimum standards for certification, training 

and standards of conduct of confidential intermediaries, and shall establish the fees 

that may be charged by a confidential intermediary. 

 

J. A person shall not act as a confidential intermediary unless the person possesses a 

confidential intermediary certificate issued by the supreme court. In order to be 

certified as a confidential intermediary a person shall meet and maintain the 

minimum standards prescribed by this section and the rules adopted by the 

supreme court. 

 

K. In carrying out the provisions of this section the supreme court shall require 

applicants for a confidential intermediary certificate to furnish fingerprints and the 

supreme court shall obtain criminal history record information pursuant to section 

41-1750. The applicant for certification shall pay a fee to the department of public 

safety to reimburse the department of public safety for the cost of obtaining the 

applicant's criminal history record information required by this section. The fee shall 

not exceed the actual cost of obtaining the applicant's criminal history record 

information. 

 

L. The actual and reasonable cost to the agency, division or court of providing 

information pursuant to the confidential intermediary program shall be paid by the 

person requesting the services of a confidential intermediary. If the juvenile court of 

a county is supplying the information, the actual and reasonable costs shall be paid 

to the clerk of the court of that county who shall transmit the monies to the county 

treasurer of that county for deposit in the juvenile probation services fund to be 

utilized by the juvenile court of that county for reimbursing the court for costs 

associated with providing information pursuant to the confidential intermediary 
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program. If the division is supplying the information, the actual and reasonable costs 

shall be paid to the division. If an agency is supplying the information, the actual and 

reasonable costs shall be paid to the agency.  
 

22.  United States Code, Title 25, Chapter 21, § 1901 – Indian Child Welfare 

 
Sec. 1901. Congressional findings 
 

Recognizing the special relationship between the United States and the Indian 
tribes and their members and the Federal responsibility to Indian people, the 
Congress finds— 

 
(1) that clause 3, section 8, article I of the United States Constitution provides 

that ``The Congress shall have Power * * * To regulate Commerce * * * 
with Indian tribes and, through this and other constitutional authority, 
Congress has plenary power over Indian affairs; 

 
(2) that Congress, through statutes, treaties, and the general course of 

dealing with Indian tribes, has assumed the responsibility for the 
protection and preservation of Indian tribes and their resources; 

 
(3) that there is no resource that is more vital to the continued existence and 

integrity of Indian tribes than their children and that the United States has 
a direct interest, as trustee, in protecting Indian children who are members 
of or are eligible for membership in an Indian tribe; 

 
(4) that an alarmingly high percentage of Indian families are broken up by the 

removal, often unwarranted, of their children from them by nontribal public 
and private agencies and that an alarmingly high percentage of such 
children are placed in non-Indian foster and adoptive homes and 
institutions; and 

 
(5) that the States, exercising their recognized jurisdiction over Indian child 

custody proceedings through administrative and judicial bodies, have 
often failed to recognize the essential tribal relations of Indian people and 
the cultural and social standards prevailing in Indian communities and 
families. 

 


