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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

CIVIL - JUSTICE COURT CASES 

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards for General Civil Cases: 

 75% within 180 days/6 months 

 90% within 365 days/12 months 

 98% within 540 days/18 months 

 

Measurement:  Filing of initial complaint through disposition (e.g., dismissal, judgment) 

  

Arizona Civil - Justice Court Cases 
The Arizona Case Processing Standards Steering Committee recommends that Arizona adopt a faster 

standard than the national standards:  

 75% within 120 days 

90% within 180 days 

98% within 270 days 

 

 Justice Court civil cases under $10,000.00 will be included 

 Superior Court civil cases will be excluded and have a different standard 

 

Measurement:  Filing of initial complaint through disposition (e.g., dismissal, judgment)  

The following stay of proceedings will be excluded from the measurement: special 

action/appeals, bankruptcy and Servicemembers Civil Relief Act. 

. 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Initial Complaint Filed: (Measurement Starts Here) 

Motions Filed Prior to 

Answer: 

Rule 128(e), JCRCP 

 

 

Rule 140(d), JCRCP  

 

 

Response and Reply:  Party opposing a motion shall have 10 days 

after service to file a response. Moving party has 5 days to file a reply. 

 

Default Judgment: Default entered by the clerk effective 10 days 

after filing of application for entry of default 

Discovery and Disclosure: 

Rule 123(b), JCRCP 

 

 

 

Rule 121(a), JCRCP 

 

 

Rule 121(b), JCRCP 

 

Rule 124(b), Rule 125(c), and 

Rule 126(b), JCRCP 

 

 

 

Rule 126(c), JCRCP 

 

Depositions: Depositions can be taken 30 days after the party being 

deposed was served. A witness can be deposed 60 days after an 

opposing party has appeared in a lawsuit. 

 

Disclosure Statements: Must serve disclosure statements within 40 

days after defendant has filed an answer or at a time set by the court. 

 

Continuing duty to disclose until the lawsuit is over. 

 

Interrogatories, Request for Production of Documents and 

Request for Admissions: 

Responses to discovery must be served within 40 days of service 

except that a defendant has 60 days if discovery request is served with 

complaint. 

A second notice that provides an additional 15 day grace period for a 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

 

 

Rule 122(f)(5), JCRCP 

 

 

Rule 119(a),JCRCP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 129(b), JCRCP 

 

response on a request for admissions is required. 

 

Non-Parties at Fault: Must identify non-parties at fault within 60 

days from the filing of the answer.  

 

Amendment to Pleadings: A party may amend a pleading one time 

before a response has been provided. If no response is required, a 

party may amend a pleading within 20 days after the pleading was 

filed. 

 

Summary Judgment: A party may file a motion for summary 

judgment no sooner than the date that the answer is filed or is due and 

no later than 90 days before the date set for trial. 

 

Response to motion for summary judgment is due within 30 days after 

service of motion. Reply is due within 15 days of service of the 

response. 

Optional Mediation  

Rule 130, JCRCP 

 

 

Rule 130(f), JCRCP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Optional Mediation: Justice courts may establish a mediation 

program. 

 

Settlement at Mediation Conference: If court notified by mediator 

that lawsuit was settled, the court may dismiss the lawsuit, with notice 

to the parties, 30 days after the date of the mediation conference. If 

during that 30 day period, a party notifies the court that the terms of 

the settlement agreement have not been fulfilled, the court may set the 

lawsuit for a pretrial conference or a trial. 

Trial: 

Rule 133(a), JCRCP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 144(e), JCRCP 

 

 

 

Setting a Lawsuit for Trial: Court may set a trial date once an 

answer is filed, or a party may request that the court set a trial date 

after the parties have had an adequate time to serve disclosure 

statements. Unless the parties agree or the court has good reasons, a 

trial may not be set to begin less than 120 days after an answer was 

filed. 

 

Inactive Calendar: If a final judgment has not been entered within 10 

months from the filing date, or if a party has not filed a written 

motion to extend the time for entry of judgment, the court will mail a 

notice to the plaintiff and any defendant who has appeared in the 

lawsuit. The notice will inform the parties that unless this requirement 

is met within 2 months from date of mailing, the court will dismiss the 

lawsuit for failure to have judgment timely entered. If the requirement 

has not been met within 2 months from the mailing of the court’s 

notice, the court may dismiss the lawsuit without further notice to the 

parties. 

(Measurement Stops Here) 

 



JUSTICE COURT
CIVIL TIMELINE

NCSC Model Time Standards
75% with in 180 days – 90% within 365 days – 98% within 540 days

In-State Out-of-State Complaint Filed
(Measurement Starts Here)

Defendant Served
If no service within 120 days, case dismissal

Response Filed
If no Response filed, Default Judgment taken

(Measurement Ends Here)

Disclosure Statements
40 days after filing of Responsive pleading

Interrogatories, Request for Production and 
Request for Admissions

Response to discovery must be served within 40 
days of service or 60 days if served with Complaint

100 Days 110 Days

40 Days 50 Days

20 Days 20 Days

+20 +20

+20 +30

+60 +60

Trial/Settlement
(Measurement Ends Here)

Estimate

+20 +20

120 Days 130 Days
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