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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

SUMMARY CIVIL CASES – 

 SMALL CLAIMS  

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards for Summary Civil Cases: 

 75% within 60 days 

 90% within 90 days 

 98% within 180 Days 

 

Measurement:  Filing of initial complaint through disposition (e.g., dismissal, judgment) 

  

Arizona Civil - Small Claims Cases Only 
The Arizona Case Processing Standards Steering Committee recommends that Arizona adopt a 

different standard:  

 75% within 90 days 

 90% within 120 days 

 98% within 180 Days 

 

Measurement:  Filing of initial complaint through disposition (e.g., dismissal, judgment)  

The following stay of proceedings will be excluded from the measurement: 

bankruptcy and Servicemembers Civil Relief Act. 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Petition Filed: 

 
(Measurement Starts Here) 

Small Claims Petition filed 

Service of Process: 

A.R.S.
1
 § 22-514  

 

Small Claims: Defendant to file an answer within 20 days 

Discovery and Continuances: 

A.R.S. § 22-515 

 

 

A.R.S. § 22-516 

 

 

Small Claims 

Continuances:  In small claims cases continuances granted only for 

most serious reasons. 

 

Discovery: Parties are not bound by formal rules of procedure, 

pleading or evidence. Discovery proceedings shall not be used in the 

small claims procedures. 

Trial: 

A.R.S. § 22-515(A) 

 

 

A.R.S. § 22-520(A) 

 

A.R.S. § 22-520(D) 

 

Small Claims:  
Hearing date: Upon the filing of an answer by the defendant, a 

hearing date shall be set for a date within 60 days. 

 

Judgment rendered 10 days from close of trial. 

 

Judgment is due and payable after the judgment is rendered by the 

justice of the peace. 

(Measurement Stops Here) 

 

                                                 
1
 Arizona Revised Statutes 



JUSTICE COURT
SMALL CLAIMS TIMELINE

Arizona Case Processing Time Standards
75% with in 90 days – 90% within 120 days – 98% within 180 days

In-State Out-of-State Complaint Filed
(Measurement Starts Here)

If No Return of Service – Defendant Personally 
Served

Response Filed
If no Response filed, Default Judgment taken

(Measurement Ends Here)

Hearing Date
Upon filing of an Answer, the hearing date shall be 

within 60 days.
144 Days 154 Days

54 Days 64 Days

34 Days 34 Days

+20 +20

+20 +30

+60 +60

Trial/Settlement
Judgment rendered 10 days from close of trial.

(Measurement Ends Here)

Estimate

+10 +10

154 Days 164 Days

Defendant Served by Certified Mail14 Days 14 Days

Mediation
(If available)84 Days 94 Days

+30 +30

+14 +14

Estimate
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