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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

CIVIL - SUPERIOR COURT CASES 

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards: 

 75% within 180 days/6 months 

 90% within 365 days/12 months 

 98% within 540 days/18 months 

 

Measurement:  Filing of initial complaint through disposition (e.g., dismissal, judgment) 

  

Arizona Civil - Superior Court Cases 

The Arizona Case Processing Standards Steering Committee recommends that Arizona adopt a 

different standard: 

60% within 180 days/6 months 

90% within 365 days/12 months 

96% within 540 days/18 months 

 

 Complex cases such as medical malpractice will be included as part of the 4% of cases disposed 

after 540 days 

 

Measurement:  Filing of initial complaint through disposition (e.g., dismissal, judgment)  

The following time will be excluded from measurement: stay for special actions, 

appeals, bankruptcy and Servicemembers Civil Relief Act. 

 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Initial Complaint Filed: (Measurement Starts Here) 

Service of Process: 

 

Rule 4(i), ARCP
1
 

 

 

 

Rule 12(a)(1)(B), ARCP  

 

 

 

 

Rule 12(a), ARCP 

 

 

Rule 4.2(b), (c) and (m), 

ARCP  

 

 

Rule 4.1(n), Rule 12(a), Rule 

 

 

No Service-Dismissal: Action dismissed without prejudice if 

summons and complaint not served upon defendant within 120 days 

of filing of complaint.  

 

Waiver of Service: If service made pursuant to request to waive 

service of summons, must file and serve answer 60 days from date 

Request to Waive Service was sent, or 90 days if addressed to 

defendant outside of United States. 

 

Service in Arizona: If defendant served in Arizona by personal 

service, the answer must be filed within 20 days from date of service.  

 

Out-of-State Service: If defendant personally served outside of state, 

must file answer within 30 days from completion of service. If served 

by registered mail 30 days after date on return receipt. 

 

Service by Publication: Answer is due 50 days from date of first 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

4.2(f) and (m), ARCP publication if within Arizona or 60 days if out of state.  

Motions Filed Prior to 

Answer: 

Rule 7.1(a), ARCP 

 

 

Rule 55(a), ARCP  

 

 

Response and Reply:  Party opposing a motion shall have 10 days 

after service to file a response. Moving party has 5 days to file a reply. 

 

Default Judgment: Default entered by the clerk effective 10 days 

after filing of application for entry of default 

Discovery and Disclosure: 

Rule 26.1(b), ARCP 

 

 

Rule 26.1(b)(2), ARCP 

 

 

Rule 33(a), Rule 34 (b), Rule 

36(a) and (b), ARCP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 26(b)(5), ARCP 

 

 

 

Rule 15(a)(1), (2) and (3), 

ARCP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 56(a), (b), (c) and (f), 

ARCP 

 

 

Disclosure Statements: Must serve disclosure statements within 40 

days after filing of responsive pleading. 

 

Continuing duty to disclose but not within 60 days of trial date 

without leave of court. 

 

Interrogatories, Request for Production of Documents and 

Request for Admissions: 

Responses to discovery must be served within 40 days of service 

except that a defendant has 60 days if discovery request is served with 

complaint. 

 

Non- Parties at Fault: Must identify non-parties at fault at time of 

filing motion to set or controverting certificate, if applicable, or within 

150 days of filing answer, whichever is earlier.  

 

Amendment to Pleadings: Pleadings may be amended within 20 

days after pleading to be amended is served. If granted, must serve 

amended pleading within 10 days of order granting motion to amend. 

Response to amended pleading must be made within 10 days after 

service. 

 

Summary Judgment: Plaintiff may file a motion for summary 

judgment after the expiration of 20 days from the date of service, but 

no sooner than the date the answer is due. Neither party can file the 

motion later than 90 days before the date set for trial. 

 

Response to motion for summary judgment is due within 30 days after 

service of motion. Reply is due within 15 days of service of the 

response. 

Arbitration: 

A.R.S.
2
 § 12-133 

Rule 72, ARCP 

 

 

 

Arbitration of Claims: Jurisdictional amount set by Superior Court 

up to $65,000.00. (See local court rules for jurisdictional amount of 

each county.) 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Rule 73(c)(2), ARCP 

 

 

 

Rule 74(b), ARCP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 76(a), ARCP 

 

 

 

Rule 76(b), ARCP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 76(e), ARCP 

 

 

 

A.R.S. § 12-3023 

Timing of Assignment: Arbitration shall take place as soon as 

possible after answer and controverting certificate are filed and no 

later than 120 days. 

 

Hearing Date: Arbitrator shall commence the hearing not fewer than 

60 nor more than 120 days after appointment to the case. Arbitrator 

must give written notice to the parties at least 30 days before the 

hearing unless waived by parties.  

 

Notice of Decision: Within 10 days of completion of the hearing, the 

arbitrator shall notify the parties of the decision and file the notice of 

decision with the court. 

 

Unless formal award or stipulation for entry of another form of relief 

is filed with the court within 50 days from the filing of the notice of 

decision. The notice of decision will constitute the award of the 

arbitrator. 

 

Referral to Judge: If arbitrator does not file award with 145 days 

after first appointment, case is assigned to judge for appropriate 

action. 

 

Vacating Arbitration Award: Motion must be filed within 90 days 

of receiving notice of award. 

Trial: 

Rule 38.1(b), ARCP 

 

 

Rule 38.1(a)(3)(i), ARCP 

 

 

Rule 38.1(d) ARCP 

 

 

 

Motion to Set and Certificate of Readiness:  Must file controverting 

certificate within 10 days of filing motion to set. 

 

Completion of pre-trial discovery: In counties where rule applies, 

discovery must be completed 60 days from the date of filing the 

motion to set. 

 

Inactive Calendar: If a motion to set has not been filed within 9 

months, the case will be set on an inactive calendar by the clerk. If 

case remains on calendar for 2 months, case shall be dismissed 

without prejudice.  

(Measurement Stops Here) 

 



SUPERIOR COURT
CIVIL TIMELINE

NCSC Model Time Standards
75% with in 180 days – 90% within 365 days – 98% within 540 days

In-State Out-of-State Complaint Filed
(Measurement Starts Here)

Defendant Served
If no service within 120 days, case dismissal

Response Filed
If no Response filed, Default Judgment taken

(Measurement Ends Here)

Disclosure Statements
40 days after filing of Responsive pleading

Interrogatories, Request for Production and 
Request for Admissions

Response to discovery must be served within 40 
days of service or 60 days if served with Complaint

Arbitration Hearing
Held 60 to 120 days from appointment160 or 220 Days 170 or 230 Days

100 Days 110 Days

40 Days 50 Days

20 Days 20 Days

+20 +20

+20 +30

+60 +60

+60
+120

+60
+120

Trial/Settlement
(Measurement Ends Here)

Estimated

Notice of Decision
(Measurement Ends Here)

+10 +10

Motion to Set and Certificate of Readiness Filed
Case dismissal without prejudice if no Motion to 

Set filed within 9 months
No time limit No time limit

Controverting Certificate

+10 +10

180 to 240 Days 190 to 250 Days

170 to 230 Days 180 to 240 Days
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