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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

CRIMINAL-FELONY 

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards: 

 75% within 90 days 

 90% within 180 days 

 98% within 365 days 

 

Measurement:  Filing of initial complaint through disposition (e.g., dismissal, acquittal, sentencing) 

  

Arizona Criminal-Felony 
The Arizona Case Processing Standards Steering Committee recommends that Arizona adopt  

a different standard:  

65% within 90 days  

85% within 180 days 

96% within 365 days 

 

 Death Penalty cases will be included as part of the 4% disposed after 365 days. 

 

Measurement:  Filing of first charging document (e.g. information, indictment or complaint) in 

superior court through disposition (e.g. dismissal, acquittal or judgment and 

sentencing.)  

The following time will be excluded from measurement: warrant time, Rule 11 

competency issues, diversion and special action/appeals. 

 

Arizona Rules and Statutes  Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Complaint Filed  

Rule 3.1(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P.
1
  

 

 

 

 

Rule 3.2, Ariz.R.Crim.P 

 

 

Indictment:  

Rule 12.7, Ariz.R.Crim.P and 

Rule 3.1(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P 

 

 

 

Information Filed 

Rule 13.1(c), Ariz.R.Crim.P 

 

(Measurement Starts Here in AJACS ) 
Arrest warrant or summons issued: Upon presentment of a 

complaint signed by a prosecutor, the court shall promptly issue a 

summons or notice of supervening indictment under rule 12.7(c) or, 

after a finding of probable cause, issue a warrant. 

 

Summons:  The defendant will be summoned to appear within 30 

days after the filing of an indictment, information or complaint. 

 

The indictment shall be returned in open court by the foreman in the 

presence of the grand jury and the prosecutor. If defendant has 

previously had an initial appearance under Rule 4.2, the court shall 

prepare and send to the defendant and defendant’s counsel a notice of 

supervening indictment in lieu of issuing a warrant or summons. 

 

An information shall be filed in Superior Court within 10 days after 

determination of probable cause or the defendant’s waiver of a 

preliminary hearing. 

 

Initial Appearance: 

Rule 4.1(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P.  

 

 

 

Initial Appearance held within 24 hours of arrest. 

 

 

                                                 
1
 Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure 
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Arizona Rules and Statutes  Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Rule 4.1(b), Ariz.R.Crim.P. Arrest without a warrant: If complaint has not already been filed, a 

complaint shall be promptly prepared and filed. If a complaint is not 

filed within 48 hours from the time of the initial appearance before 

the magistrate, the defendant shall be released from jail, and the 

preliminary hearing date, if any, shall be vacated.  

(Measurement Starts Here in AJACS ) 

Preliminary Hearing: 

Rule 5.1(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 5.1(c), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

Defendant in custody:  When a complaint is filed, a preliminary 

hearing shall be held within 10 days following defendant’s initial 

appearance. 

Defendant not in custody:  When a complaint is filed, a preliminary 

hearing shall be held within 20 days following defendant’s initial 

appearance. 

 

Postponement: Upon a finding of extraordinary circumstances, the 

preliminary hearing may be postponed beyond the 20-day limit.  

 

Arraignment: 

Rule 14.1, Ariz.R.Crim.P.  
(Measurement Starts Here for Speedy Trial Rules) 

Defendant in custody:  Arraignment held within 10 days after filing 

of indictment, information, or complaint. 

 

Defendant not in custody:  Arraignment held within 30 days after 

filing of indictment, information, or complaint. 

 

Discovery: 

Rule 15.1 (b), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

Rule 15.1(d), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

Rule 15.1(e), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

Rule 15.2(d), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

Supplemental Disclosure of evidence by the Prosecutor must occur:  

 In Superior Court:  30 days after arraignment. 

 In Limited Jurisdiction Courts:  at the first pre-trial conference. 

 

Prior Felony Convictions:  At least 30 days prior to trial or 30 days 

after request from defendant.  

 

Additional disclosure upon request: Prosecutor shall provide within 

30 days upon written request. 

 

Time for disclosure by defendant: 

 In Superior Court:  40 days after arraignment or within 10 

days after prosecutor’s disclosure pursuant to Rule 15.1(b), 

whichever occurs first. 

 In Limited Jurisdiction Courts:  20 days after prosecutor’s 

disclosure pursuant to Rule 15.1(b). 

  

Trial: 

Rule 8.2 Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

[Excluded time, such as a 

competency determination, are 

specified in Rule 8.4] 

Defendant in custody:  Within 150 days from arraignment. 

Defendant not in custody:  Within 180 days from arraignment. 

Complex cases:  Within 270 days from arraignment. 

Capital cases:  Within 24 months from filing of a notice of intent to 

seek the death penalty. 
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Arizona Rules and Statutes  Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Sentencing: 

Rule 26.3(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 26.3(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 26.3(b), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

In Superior Court: Upon determination of guilt, the court shall set a 

date for sentencing. Sentence shall be pronounced not less than 15 

nor more than 30 days after determination of guilt unless the court, 

after advising the defendant of the right to a pre-sentence report, 

grants the request that sentence be pronounced earlier. 

 

In Limited Jurisdiction Courts: Sentence may be pronounced 

immediately upon determination of guilt unless the court on its own 

motion or upon request of the party or victim, orders that sentence 

should be pronounced at a later date, not more than 30 days after 

determination of guilt. 

 

If a pre-sentencing hearing is requested under Rule 26.7 or if good 

cause is shown, the trial court may reset the date of the sentencing 

within 60 days after determination of guilt. 

(Measurement Stops Here) 

 



Complaint filed
(Measurement Starts Here)

Defendant’s Disclosure
40 days after arraignment

OR
within 10 day’s of prosecutor’s disclosure

Trial
Defendant in custody:

Within 150 days from arraignment
Defendant not in custody:

Within 180 days from arraignment

Sentencing
30 days after determination of guilt

(Measurement Ends Here)

Additional Disclosure and Prior Felony 
Convictions

30 days after written request

Arraignment Held
After Complaint Filed

Disclosure by Prosecutor
30 days after arraignment

10 Days

In Custody Out of Custody

30 Days

Initial Appearance

NCSC Model Time Standards
75% within 90 days - 90% within 180 days - 98% within 365 days

40 Days 60 Days

70 Days 90 Days

80 Days 100 Days

110 Days 130 Days

SUPERIOR COURT
FELONY TIMELINE

+30 +30

+30 +30

+10 +10

+30 +30
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