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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

CRIMINAL - POST CONVICTION RELIEF 

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards: 

 98% within 180 days 

Measurement:  Filing of Petition for Post Conviction Relief through disposition. 

Arizona Criminal - Post Conviction Relief 
The Arizona Case Processing Standards Steering Committee recommends that Arizona adopt  

a different standard:  

94% within 180 days 
 Capital cases will be included as part of the 6% disposed after 180 days. 

  

Measurement: Filing of Petition for Post Conviction Relief through disposition  

(e.g., dismissed/denied or relief granted)  

 

Arizona Rules and Statutes  Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Notice Filed: 

Rule 32.4(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P.
1
  

A.R.S.
2
 § 13-4234  

 

Rule 32.4(c)(2), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

A.R.S. § 13-4234(F)  

 

 

Notice Filed:  Notice of post conviction relief proceeding must be filed 

within 90 days after entry of judgment or sentence or 30 days after final 

order or mandate by court of appeals. 

Appointment of Counsel: If defendant is determined to be indigent, 

counsel will be appointed within 15 days if requested. Defendant shall have 

60 days from the appointment of counsel to file the petition for post 

conviction relief. 

Defendant’s Extension: Defendant may get a 30-day extension on a 

showing of “good cause.” Additional extensions are allowed on a showing of 

“extraordinary circumstances.” 

Petition for Post Conviction 

Relief Filed:  
Rule 32.5, Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

A.R.S. § 13-4235 

(Measurement Starts Here) 

 

Defendant shall include every ground known to him or her for vacating, 

reducing or correcting the judgment or sentence imposed.  

Response and Reply: 

Rule 32.6(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P.  

A.R.S. § 13-4236(A) 

 

 

Rule 32.6(b), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

See also: A.R.S. § 13-4236(B)  

 

Response:  State is to file a response 45 days after petition is filed.  

State Extension: State may get a 30-day extension on a showing of “good 

cause.” Additional extensions are allowed on a showing of “extraordinary 

circumstances.” 

Defendant’s Reply:  Defendant may file a reply within 15 days of receipt 

of response. 

Adjudication: 

Rule 32.6(c), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

A.R.S. § 13-4236(C) 

 

Rule 32.8(d), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

A.R.S. § 13-4238(D) 

Summary Disposition:  The court shall review the petition within 20 days 

after defendant’s reply was due. If petition is not dismissed, the court will set 

a hearing within 30 days on those claims that present a material issue of fact 

or law. 

Evidentiary Hearing Decision: The court shall rule within 10 days after 

the hearing except in extraordinary circumstances where the volume of the 

evidence or the complexity of the issues require additional time. 

(Measurement Stops Here) 

 

                                                 
1
 Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure 

2
 Arizona Revised Statutes 


