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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

FAMILY LAW - DISSOLUTION/DIVORCE/ALLOCATION OF PARENTAL 

RESPONSIBILITY CASES 

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards for Dissolution/Divorce/Allocation of 

Parental Responsibility Cases: 

 75% within 120 days (4 months) 

 90% within 180 days (6 months) 

 98% within 365 days (12 months) 

  

Measurement:  Measurement is the date of filing to the date of disposition by dismissal or  

 entry of judgment or order.  

  

Arizona Family Law – Dissolution/Divorce/Allocation of Parental Responsibility Cases 
The Arizona Case Processing Standards Steering Committee recommends that Arizona adopt a 

different standard: 

75% within 180 days (6 months) 

90% within 270 days (9 months) 

98% within 365 days (12 months) 

 

 Includes legal separation and annulment cases. 

 Excludes adoption cases. 

 

Measurement:  The date of filing to the date of disposition by entry of judgment/decree or order. 

The following stay of proceedings will be excluded from the measurement: special 

actions, bankruptcy, conciliation court, pending juvenile cases and Servicemembers 

Civil Relief Act. 

 

 

INTERMEDIATE GOAL 

 

National Center for State Courts Intermediate Time Standards for Temporary Orders: 

 98% temporary orders should be issued within 60 days 

  

Measurement: Measurement is the receipt of filing a verified motion for temporary orders with the  

court to the date of disposition by entry of temporary orders. 

 

Arizona Intermediate Case Processing Goal for Temporary Orders 

The Arizona Case Processing Standards Steering Committee recommends that Arizona adopt a 

different standard: 

90% of temporary orders should be issued within 60 days 

98% of temporary orders should be issued within 120 days 

 

 Only Pre-decree temporary orders are included. 

 

Measurement: The date the motion for temporary order is filed to the date of disposition by entry of a 

 temporary order. 

 

 

Temporary Order Time Goals: The NCSC Model Time Standards offer additional time standards for 

key intermediate points in the process that should establish timely goals against the delivery of judicial 



2 
  01/10/2013 

services by the courts that should be measured. Arizona agrees that the most important pre-trial step is 

the issuance of a temporary order to stabilize the financial and parenting situation pending final 

judgment. It is important for the safety, security and well-being of the spouses and children that an 

order be established early on to address child support, spousal maintenance, legal decision-making 

(custody) and parenting time. There are other matters that may need to be resolved early, such as use of 

the dwelling and, if not resolved through a domestic violence proceeding, orders to protect the safety 

of either spouse. 

 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Petition Filed: (Measurement Starts Here) 

Service of Process: 

Rule 40(I), ARFLP
1
  

 

 

 

Rule 40(F), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 32(A), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 42(C) and (J), ARFLP 

 

 

 

Rules 41(M) and 42(D), 

ARFLP 

 

No Service- Dismissal: Action dismissed without prejudice if summons 

and complaint not served upon defendant within 120 days of filing of 

complaint.  

 

Service; Acceptance or Waiver; Voluntary Appearance: Waiver, 

acceptance or appearance has the same force and effect as if a summons 

had been issued and served. Filing of a responsive pleading constitutes an 

appearance. 

 

Service in Arizona: If defendant served in Arizona the answer must be 

filed within 20 days from date of service. Personal service is required for 

issues requiring personal jurisdiction over the parties i.e., paternity, child 

support, spousal maintenance, division of marital property. 

 

Out of State Service: If defendant personally served outside of state, 

must file answer within 30 days from completion of service. If by 

registered mail 30 days after date on return receipt. 

 

Service by Publication: Answer is due 50 days from date of first 

publication if within Arizona or 60 days if out of state.  

Motions Filed Prior to 

Answer: 

Rule 35(A), ARFLP 

 

 

 

Rule 32(A)(2), ARFLP 

 

 

 

Rule 44(A)(2), ARFLP 

 

 

 

Response and Reply:  Party opposing a motion shall have 10 days after 

service to file any answering memorandum. Moving party has 5 days to 

file a reply. 

 

Extension of Time for Filing Answer:  If the court denies the motion or 

postpones its decision until trial, the responsive pleading shall be served 

within 10 days after notice of the court’s action.  

 

Default Decree: Default entered by the clerk is effective 10 days after 

filing of application for entry of default. 

                                                 
1
 Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Servicemembers 

protections: 

Sec. 201 [50 U.S.C. App. 

521] 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sec. 202 [50 U.S.C. App. 

522] 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sec. 204 [50 U.S.C. App. 

524] 

Servicemembers Civil Relief Act
2
 

 

Protection of servicemembers against default judgments: This 

provision applies to any civil action or proceeding in which the defendant 

(respondent) does not make an appearance. The court must grant a stay of 

proceedings for a minimum period of 90 days upon application of 

counsel, or on the court’s own motion if the court determines that: 1) there 

may be a defense to the action and a defense cannot be presented without 

the presence of the defendant (respondent), and 2) after due diligence, 

counsel has been unable to contact the defendant (respondent) or 

otherwise determine if a meritorious defense exists.  

Stay of proceedings when servicemember has notice: This provision 

applies to any civil action or proceeding in which the plaintiff or 

defendant (respondent) at the time of filing is in the military or is within 

90 days after termination of or release from military service; and has 

received notice of the action or proceeding. The court may on its own 

motion and shall, upon application by the servicemember, stay the action 

for a period of not less than 90 days, if conditions are met. (Conditions 

include a letter from servicemember and commanding officer indicating 

military duty requirements materially affecting the servicemember’s 

ability to appear, date when available to appear and that military leave is 

not authorized for the servicemember at the time of the letter.)  The 

servicemember may also apply for an additional stay based on continuing 

material affect of military duty on the servicemember’s ability to appear. 

 

Stay or vacation of execution of judgments, attachments, and 

garnishments: If servicemember is materially affected by reason of 

military service in complying with a court judgment or order, the court 

may on its own motion and shall on application by the servicemember 1) 

stay the execution of any judgment or order entered against 

servicemember; and 2) vacate or stay an attachment or garnishment of 

property, money, or debts in possession of the servicemember whether 

before or after judgment. 

 (Measurement for Intermediate Goal Starts Here) 

Temporary Orders: 

Rule 47(A) and (B), ARFLP 

 

 

 

Rule 47(D), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 47(E), ARFLP 

 

Motions for Pre-Decree or Pre-Judgment Temporary Orders: A party 

seeking temporary orders shall do so by filing a separate verified motion 

with the court after or concurrently with the initial petition. 

 

Order to Appear: Upon receipt of Motion for Temporary Orders, court 

shall issue an Order to Appear for a pretrial conference, RMC or 

evidentiary hearing to be set not later than 30 days from receipt of motion. 

If court holds a pretrial conference or RMC, an evidentiary hearing on 

remaining issues shall occur not later than 30 days thereafter.  

 

Service: The moving party must serve the Motion for Temporary Orders, 

                                                 
2
 SCRA (As amended through February 1, 2006)  Public Law 108-189 (enacted December 19, 2003: 117 Stat.2835) 

restated, clarified, and revised this Act as then in existence. 50 U.S.C. App. §§ 521, 522 and 524 



4 
  01/10/2013 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

 

 

Rule 47(F), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 47(G), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 47(I), ARFLP 

Order to Appear and required documents at least 10 judicial days prior to 

the date of the scheduled conference or hearing.  

Response: A party served with a Motion for Temporary Orders generally 

not required to respond unless child support is at issue and if so, must file 

and serve completed Child Support Worksheet not later than 3 days prior 

to hearing or conference.  

 

Requirements Prior to Conference or Hearing: If court has set the 

motion for a conference, RMC or hearing, the parties  are required to 

comply with disclosure rules and to meet and discuss issues not less than 5 

days prior to the date set for the conference, RMC or hearing. At least 3 

judicial days prior to hearing, parties must exchange list of witnesses and 

exhibits. 

 

Simplified Child Support Order: If Simplified Child Support Order 

petition is filed, opposing party must file response and child support 

worksheet with 20 days of in-state service, or 30 days if out-of-state 

service. Court may enter temporary child support order if no response, 

without prejudice. 

(Measurement for Intermediate Goal Stops 

When Temporary Order Entered) 

Discovery and Disclosure: 

Rule 49, ARFLP 

 

 

 

Rule 49(I), ARFLP 

 

 

 

Rule 57, ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 57, ARFLP 

 

 

 

Rules 60(A), 62(B) and 64(A)  

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 51(D), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

Disclosure Statements/Resolution Statement: Must serve disclosure 

statements or Resolution Statement within 40 days after filing of 

responsive pleading. 

 

Continuing duty to disclose whenever new or different information is 

discovered. Additional or amended disclosures must be made not more 

than 30 days after information is discovered by disclosing party. 

 

Depositions upon Oral Examination 

Leave of court required if plaintiff wishes to take deposition prior to 

expiration of 30 days after service of complaint. 

 

 

Notice of Examination 
A party must provide a 10-day written notice of taking a deposition 

absent stipulation of all parties or court order authorizing shorter notice. 

 

Interrogatories, Request for Production of Documents and Request 

for Admissions: 

Answers and objections to discovery must be served within 40 days of 

service except that a defendant has 60 days if discovery request is served 

with complaint. Add 5 days if mailed. 

 

Supplementation of Responses 

Parties under a duty to supplement any response to a request for 

discovery, and in any event not later than 30 days prior to trial. 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Rule 34(A)(1), ARFLP 

 

Rule 34(A)(2), ARFLP 

 

 

Rule 34(A)(3), ARFLP 

 

 

Rule 46(B), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 79(A), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 79(C), ARFLP 

Amendment to Pleadings: Pleadings may be amended within 20 days 

after pleading to be amended is served.  

If granted, must serve amended pleading within 10 days of order granting 

motion to amend. 

 

Response to amended pleading must be made within 10 days after 

service. 

 

Involuntary Dismissal 

120 days after filing a petition the court may issue a notice that the matter 

will be dismissed by the court in not less than 60 days without further 

notice, unless a proper motion to set or request for hearing is filed.  

 

Summary Judgment: Plaintiff can move for summary judgment after the 

expiration of 20 days from the date of service, but no sooner than the date 

the response is due. All motions for summary judgment shall not be filed 

later than 60 days prior to trial. 

 

Response to Motion for Summary Judgment is due within 30 days after 

service of Motion. Reply is due within 15 days of service of the Response.     

 

Settlement and Alternative 

Dispute Resolution (ADR): 

Rule 66(D), ARFLP 

 

 

Rule 66(E), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 67(B)(7), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Duty to Consider ADR: No later than 90 days following the first 

appearance of a respondent, parties shall confer about settlement and 

resolution of the case. 

Duty to Attempt Settlement, Agree on ADR and Report to Court: 
Within 30 days after the attorneys or unrepresented parties met to confer 

or at the Resolution Management Conference, (RMC), whichever is 

earlier, the parties report to the court using a Joint ADR Statement form. 

 

Reports to the Court: The parties notify the court that the mediation has 

concluded and advise the court of any agreements reached with 10 days 

after the conclusion of the mediation and not later than 10 days prior to 

the date set for trial or hearing.  

 

Pre-Trial and Trial 

Procedures: 

Rule 76(A), ARFLP 

 

 

Resolution Management Conference (RMC): Upon written request of 

any party, the court shall, or upon its own motion the court may, schedule 

one or more RMCs that shall be held within 60 days of receipt of written 

request by the court, unless extended for good cause.  Not less than 5 

judicial days prior to the RMC, parties shall meet and confer to resolve as 

many issues as possible.  

 

The court may, among other things, enter temporary orders, order services 

or special procedures needed to properly manage the case; schedule an 

evidentiary hearing, a trial date and other hearings or conferences; refer a 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

matter for settlement conference; order other ADR processes, and set a 

date for filing the joint pretrial statement. 

 

Conciliation Court Services: 

A.R.S. § 25-381.09 

Rule 68(A), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A.R.S. § 25-381.14 

Rule 68(A)(2)(a) 

 

 

 

Rule 68(A)(2)(b) 

 

 

 

Rule 68(A)(2)(c) 

A.R.S. § 25-381.18(B) 

 

Petition invoking jurisdiction or for transfer of action to conciliation 

court: Prior to filing for annulment, dissolution, or legal separation, either 

spouse, or both spouses, may file in conciliation court a petition invoking 

the jurisdiction of the court. Where an action for annulment, dissolution, 

or legal separation has been filed, either party may by petition filed 

therein have the cause transferred to conciliation court for proceedings as 

though action had been instituted in conciliation court in the first instance. 

 

Hearing; time; place; notice; citation; witnesses: Judge of conciliation 

court to fix a time and place for hearing to be held within 30 days of the 

date of the filing of the petition, unless the court for good cause orders the 

hearing to be held within 45 days from the date of filing the petition. 

 

Period of Jurisdiction; Stay of Proceedings; Temporary Orders; 

Extension: No more than one stay during any twelve-month period in any 

case. 

 

A party may petition the court for an extension of the stay of proceedings. 

The court may grant a reasonable extension of up to 120 days if the 

moving party establishes good cause for the extension. The court shall not 

grant an extension if the other party objects with good cause. 

 

Custody: (Legal decision-

making) 

A.R.S. § 25-407 

 

Custody hearings; priority: Custody hearings shall receive priority in 

being set for hearing. 

 

Paternity/Maternity: 

A.R.S. § 25-806(A) 

 

 

A.R.S. § 25-806(D) 

 

 

 

 

A.R.S. § 25-807(A) 

 

 

 

A.R.S. § 25-807(B) 

 

 

 

 

Petition: Paternity proceedings are commenced by the filing of a verified 

petition.  

 

If the respondent does not file a response or if the respondent files a 

written response admitting paternity or maternity, the court may 

immediately enter a judgment of paternity or maternity. The court will 

resolve all relevant issues pursuant to ARFLP rules. 

 

Precedence of maternity and paternity proceedings delay for 

paternity tests: The case shall be set for trial within 60 days from the 

filing of an answer by the respondent.  

 

A delay in determining paternity in an action commenced before the birth 

of the child shall be granted until after the birth of the child for purposes 

of paternity tests if any party to the proceeding requests. 

 

Pre-Trial and Trial  
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Procedures: 

Rule 76(A), ARFLP 

 

Resolution Management Conference (RMC): Upon written request of 

any party, the court shall, or upon its own motion the court may, schedule 

one or more RMCs that shall be held within 60 days of receipt of written 

request by the court, unless extended for good cause.  Not less than 5 

judicial days prior to the RMC, parties shall meet and confer to resolve as 

many issues as possible.  

The court may, among other things, enter temporary orders, order services 

or special procedures needed to properly manage the case; schedule an 

evidentiary hearing, a trial date and other hearings or conferences; refer a 

matter for settlement conference; order other ADR processes, and set a 

date for filing the joint pretrial statement. 

 

Trial: 

A.R.S. § 25-329  

 

 

 

 

Rule 77(A) and (B), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

Local Rules, Maricopa 

County  6.8(a) 

 

 

 

Local Rules, Maricopa 

County Rule 6.8(g) 

 

Waiting Period: Court shall  not consider a submission of a motion 

supported by affidavit or hold a trial or hearing on an application for a 

decree of dissolution of marriage or legal separation until 60 days after the 

date of service of process or the date of acceptance of service of process.  

 

Setting of Cases for Trial:  A trial date may be secured by filing a 

Motion to Set or, a trial date may be set by the court at the RMC. Any 

party may request additional time by motion made no less than 45 days 

before the scheduled trial date. 

 

Completion of pre-trial discovery: Rule does not mention discovery 

deadlines in regard to Motion to Set. Maricopa County requires all 

discovery to be completed at the time of filing a Motion to set in family 

court cases. 

 

Inactive Calendar: If a motion to set has not been filed within 6 months 

the case will be set on an inactive calendar by the clerk. If case remains on 

calendar for 2 months case shall be dismissed without prejudice.  

(Measurement Stops Here) 

 



Serve documents on 
Respondent

DISSOLUTION WITHOUT CHILDREN
(Non-Covenant)

TIME LINE

90 days

File Petition, 
Summons

Must live in Arizona
90 days prior
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120 days

Must be served within 120
days of filing or case

dismissed

D
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e 
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 S
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ce

64 days

34 days

24 days

Response/Answer 
filed

24 days after date of service
if served in Arizona

34 days after date of service
if served outside Arizona

64 days after date of service
if served by publication

Motion to set for trial Obtain Hearing Date Attend trial

60 days

Earliest possible date, 60
days from date of service 

on Response

6 - 8 months

If hearing not set within 6 months
of filing, case placed on inactive

calendar

If hearing not set within 8 months
of filing, case dismissed

Decree signed

Note: Most of these days are mandated by statute;
some are discretionary with the courts so total process

time varies from county to county.

61 days

At least 61 days
after submission

Note:  Some procedures, i.e. DCM, Conciliation, found on 
the Dissolution With Children Timeline may be available to 

the parties.



DISSOLUTION WITH CHILDREN
Non-Covenant

TIME LINE

90 days

File Petition for 
Dissolution of 

Marriage

Must have live in Arizona
at least 90 days to file

C
as

e 
Fi

lin
g

120 days

Serve documents on 
Respondent

Must be done within 120
days of filing or case

dismissed

60 days

Places a hold of at least
60 days on time frame

if Petition for Conciliation
is filed

30 days

Conciliation Meeting

Conciliation meeting held within
30 days, but no later than 45 days

after Petition for Conciliation
is filed

Case Dismissed if 
parties reconcileYes

D
at

e 
of

 S
er

vi
ce

24 days

64 days

34 days

Response due from 
Respondent

24 days from date of service
if served in state

34 days from date of service
if service out of state

64 days from date of service
if served by publication

64 days from date Waiver of
Service filed

No

45 days

Parties attend PIP 
(Parent Education 

Class)

Must attend within 45 days
from date of service

Petition for 
Conciliation 

filed?

Pe
tit

io
n 

fo
r C
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ci
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n 
Fi

le
d

Note: Most of these days are mandated by statute;
some are discretionary with the courts so total process

time varies from county to county.



45 - 90 days

DCM Conference held 
(for cases without  

two attorneys)

45-90 days after Response
filed by Respondent

Case dismissed and 
Decree signed

150 days

Pre-Trial Conference 
held 

Usually held within 150
days after the DCM Conference
Must be completed before trial.

Referred to Mediation 
or outside source

Matter 
Settled?

Yes

No

120 days

Usually complete within 120
days after DCM Conference

held; must be completed prior
to trial

Matter 
Settled?

Yes

No

Decree prepared and 
signed

Sometimes

Trial set and held

No Settlement

61 days

No earlier than 61 days after
date of service or acceptance

of service

6 months - 1 year

Usually occurs 6 months to
1 year after filing

If not set within 6 months 
after filing, case goes on

the inactive calendar

If not set within 8 months 
after filing, case is dismissed

File Motion to Set

240 days

Within 240 days of filing
 or case dismissed

Two attorney cases



DEFAULT PROCEEDING
DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE

(Non-Covenant)
TIME LINE

Decree Signed

D
at

e 
of

 S
er

vi
ce

120 days

Respondent Served

Must be done within 120
days from filing date
or case dismissed

24 days

34 days

64 days

No Response or 
Answer filed by 
Responded after 

Service of Process

24 days if Respondent
served in Arizona

34 days if Respondent
served out of Arizona

64 days if served
by publication

File Default
After time elapsed 

above

45 days

Petitioner attends PIP
(Parent Education 

Class)
(mandatory, if 

children involved)

D
ef

au
lt 

Fi
lin

g 
D

at
e

Minimum 10  working days

Default effective; file 
Request for Hearing

10 days after default filed
and no Response filed by

Respondent
15 days if served by mail

61 days

Default Hearing

Earliest: 61 days from date
of service; usually 40 or 50

days after default hearing requested

Usually at the Default Hearing, 
but no later than 60 days from 

submission

Note: Most of these days are mandated by statute;
some are discretionary with the courts so total process

time varies from county to county.
Available in all dissolution proceedings

if no Response is filed
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