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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

JUVENILE - DELINQUENCY AND STATUS OFFENSE 

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards: 

 

Youth in detention:     Youth not in detention: 

 75% w/in 30 days     75% w/in 60 days 

 90% w/in 45 days      90% w/in 90 days  

 98% w/in 90 days     98% w/in 150 days 

  

Measurement:  Filing of petition through adjudication  

  

Arizona Juvenile – Delinquency and Status Offense 
The Arizona Case Processing Standards Steering Committee recommends that Arizona adopt a  

faster standard: 

Youth in detention: Youth not in detention:  

98% within 45 days 98% within 60 days 

 

Measurement: Filing of petition through adjudication of delinquency or incorrigibility.  

The following time will be excluded from measurement:  diversion, warrant time and 

competency proceedings. 

 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Petition to be filed: 

Rule 25(B)(1), ARJP
1
  

 

Rule 25(B)(2), ARJP 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 25(C), ARJP 

 

 

Detained Youth: Petition filed within 24 hours of detention. 

 

Non-Detained Youth: Petition filed within 45 days of submission of the 

referral to the prosecutor. The time for filing a petition is extended for an 

additional 30 days pending further investigation by the prosecutor. Only 

one 30-day extension is granted unless good cause shown. 

 

Diversion: The time limit for filing the petition is tolled during the term 

required to comply with diversion. A petition shall be filed not later than 

30 days after the matter is resubmitted to the prosecutor for action. 

  

Advisory Hearing: 

Rule 28(B)(1), ARJP 

 

 

Rule 28(B)(2), ARJP 

 

 

Rule 28(E), ARJP 

 

(Measurement Starts When Petition Filed) 

Detained Youth: Advisory hearing shall be held within 24 hours of 

filing petition 

 

Non-Detained Youth: Advisory hearing shall be held within 30 days of 

filing petition 

 

Disposition Hearing: Following an admission, the court shall adjudicate 

the juvenile delinquent or incorrigible and proceed with disposition 

                                                 
1
 Arizona Rules of Juvenile Procedure 



2 
01/08/2013 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

hearing or set a disposition hearing. 

 

 

Adjudication Hearing: 

Rule 29(B)(1), ARJP  

 

Rule 29(B)(2), ARJP  

 

  

Detained Youth: Adjudication hearing held within 45 days. 

 

Non-Detained Youth: Adjudication hearing held within 60 days. 

(Measurement Stops Here) 

Disposition Hearing: 
Rule 30(B)(1)(a), ARJP  

 

 

Rule 30(B)(1)(a), ARJP  

 

 

 

Detained Youth: Disposition hearing held within 30 days of adjudication 

of delinquency or incorrigibility 

 

Non-Detained Youth: Disposition hearing held within 45 days of 

adjudication of delinquency or incorrigibility 

 


