
1 
01/08/2013 

CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

JUVENILE - NEGLECT AND ABUSE 

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards: 

 Adjudication Hearing: 98% within 90 days of removal  

 Permanency Hearing:  75% within 270 days of removal 

     98% within 360 days of removal 

 

Measurement:  Date of removal through adjudication 

  

Arizona Juvenile – Neglect and Abuse  
The Arizona Case Processing Standards Steering Committee recommends that Arizona adopt a  

faster standard: 

 Adjudication Hearing: 

  98% within 90 days of service  

 

Measurement:  Date of service on a parent or guardian through a finding of dependency. 

 

 Permanency Hearing: 

 98% of children under 3 years of age within 180 days/6 months of removal 

 98% of all other cases within 360 days of removal 

 

Measurement: Date of removal through permanent plan determination. 

 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Petition Filed: 

A.R.S.
1
 § 823(B)(6)  

 

 

 

 

A.R.S. § 824(A)  

Rule 50, ARJP
2
  

 

A.R.S. § 8-842(A) 

Rule 52, ARJP 

 

A.R.S. § 8-844(A)  

Rule 53 and 54, ARJP  

(Measurement Starts Here) 

Petition filed 72 hours from removal: If a child is taken into 

temporary custody, a written statement must be provided to the 

parents that the child will be returned within 72 hours unless a 

dependency petition is filed. 

 

Preliminary Protective Hearing: Held within 5-7 days of removal.  

 

Initial Dependency Hearing: Only held if parents fail to appear at 

the preliminary protective hearing. Must be held 21 days from service 

of petition. 

 

Settlement or Pretrial Conference or Mediation: A settlement 

conference may be held for the purpose of identifying and resolving 

issues in a non-adversarial manner. If settlement is not reached, a 

pretrial conference may be held prior to the dependency adjudication 

hearing. 

Adjudication Hearing: 

A.R.S. § 8-842(C) 

Rule 55(B), ARJP  

 

 

Adjudication Hearing:  The dependency adjudication hearing shall 

be completed within 90 days of service of the petition. Hearing may 

be extended 30 days for good cause shown.  

                                                 
1
 Arizona Revised Statutes 

2
 Arizona Rules of Juvenile Procedure 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

 

 

 

A.R.S. § 8-845 

Rule 56(B) ARJP  

 

 

 

 

Disposition Hearing: Shall be held within 30 days of the dependency 

adjudication or in conjunction with the hearings above.  

(Measurement Stops Here for Adjudication Hearing.) 

 

Permanency Hearing: 
A.R.S. § 8-862(A) 

Rule 60(C), ARJP  

 

Permanency Hearing:  

 Within 30 days of disposition if no reunification services 

ordered. 

 Within 6 months of removal if child is under 3 years of age 

 Within 12 months of removal on all other cases 

(Measurement Stops Here for Permanency Hearing.) 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CPS Receives Report 

Removal of Child 
 

Petition Filing 
72 hours from removal 

Pre-Hearing 
Conference/ 
Preliminary 

Protective Hearing 
Placement, visitation, and 

services 
5-7 days from removal 

Initial Dependency 
Hearing 

Only if parents fail to appear 
at the Preliminary Protective 

Hearing. 
21 days from service of 

petition. 

Arizona Dependency Process 
 Child not 

removed 
In Home 

Intervention Filed 

 

 Parent 
shows no 
progress 

In Home 
Intervention Filed 

 

Settlement 
Conference or 

Mediation 
30 days from Preliminary 

Protective Hearing 

Trial / Adjudication 
30 days from Settlement 
Conference / Mediation 

No later than 90 days from 
service of petition 

 

Disposition 
30 days from adjudication or 

at the same time as 
adjudication 

Review Hearing 
Every 6 months at a minimum 

Pre-Trial Conference 
 

Permanency Hearing** 
12 months from removal for all 
children 6 months from removal 

for children under  age 3 

Motion for Termination 
of Parental Rights or 

Guardianship Hearing 
10 days after Permanency 

Hearing 

Initial Guardianship 
Hearing 

30 days from 
Permanency Hearing 

Initial Severance 
Hearing 

30 days from 
Permanency Hearing 

Guardianship 
Hearing 

Within 90 days of 
Permanency Hearing 

Severance Hearing 
Within 90 days of 

Permanency Hearing 

Adoption Hearing 

= ASFA Timeline begins here  
 
** = Permanency alternatives include Long Term Foster Care and 
Independent Living  
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