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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

PROBATE - ADMINISTRATION OF ESTATES 

  

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards: 

 75% within 360 days 

 90% within 540 days 

 98% within 720 days 

 

Measurement:  Filing of petition through closing of estate. 

 

Arizona Probate - Administration of Estates 
The Arizona Case Processing Standards Steering Committee recommends that Arizona adopt a 

different standard: 

50% within 360 days 

75% within 540 days 

95% within 720 days 

 

 Formal and informal probate cases are included. 

 

Measurement: Filing of application/petition for appointment of personal representative or probate  

of a will through closing of the decedent’s estate (e.g. filing of closing statement, 

complete settlement or order approving final distribution or accounting.)  

The following time will be excluded from measurement: stay for special actions, 

appeals and bankruptcy. 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Petition/Application Filed: 

Rule 4(A)(1)(b), ARPP
1
 

 

 

 

A.R.S.
2
 § 14-3301 

A.R.S. § 14-3402 

 

(Measurement Starts Here) 

A probate proceeding is commenced by filing a petition or, in the case 

of an informal probate of a will or informal appointment of a personal 

representative, by filing an application. 

 

Application for informal probate and appointment proceedings. 

 

Petition for formal probate of a will or for adjudication of intestacy 

with or without request for appointment of a personal representative. 

Notice: 

A.R.S. § 14-3306 

 

 

 

A.R.S. § 14-3306(B) 

 

 

On issuance of a statement of informal probate, the applicant must 

within 30 days give written information to all heirs and devisees of 

the admission of the will to probate, together with a copy of the will. 

 

Heir has 4 months from receipt of information within which to 

commence a formal testacy proceeding if the heir wishes to contest 

the probate. 

 

 

 

                                                 
1
 Arizona Rules of Probate Procedure 

2
 Arizona Revised Statutes 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Hearing: 

A.R.S. § 14-3403 

 

 

Upon commencement of a formal testacy proceeding, the clerk shall 

fix a time and place of hearing. Notice shall be given in the manner 

prescribed by § 14-1401 by the petitioner to the persons specified in 

this section and to any additional person who has filed a demand for 

notice under § 14-3204. Notice shall be given to the following 

persons: The surviving spouse, children and other heirs of the 

decedent, the devisees and executors named in any will that is being, 

or has been, probated, or offered for informal or formal probate. In 

addition the petitioner shall give notice by publication one time at 

least 14 days before the hearing. 

Creditor’s Claim: 

A.R.S. § 14-3801(A) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A.R.S. § 14-3801(B) 

 

 

A.R.S. § 14-3807 

 

 

Unless notice has already been given under this section, at the time of 

appointment a personal representative shall publish a notice to 

creditors once a week for 3 consecutive weeks in a newspaper of 

general circulation. The notice shall state that creditors of the estate 

must present their claims within 4 months after the date of first 

publication of the notice or be forever barred. If a known creditor is 

mailed or delivered the notice, the creditor’s claim must be presented 

within 60 days after the mailing or other delivery or 4 months after 

the date of first publication or be forever barred. 

 

Payment of Claims. On the expiration of the earlier of the time 

limitations prescribed in §14-3803 for the presentation of claims, the 

personal representative shall proceed to pay the claims allowed 

against the estate in order of priority.  

Closing of Estate: 

A.R.S. § 14-3933 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 4(A)(1)(b), ARPP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 15.2, ARPP 

 

 

Unless prohibited by order of the court and except for estates being 

administered in supervised administration proceedings, a personal 

representative may close an estate by filing a verified statement with 

the court no earlier than 4 months after the date of original 

appointment of a general personal representative for the estate.  

 

A decedent’s estate case continues from the date the petition or 

application is filed until either the court has entered an order closing 

the estate or 1 year after the personal representative has filed a closing 

statement in accordance with statute.  

 

If there has been no action on a case after 2 years after initiation of the 

case, the court will issue a notice to the parties of pending dismissal 

and then proceed to close/dismiss the case. 

(Measurement Stops Here) 

 


