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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

PROBATE - GUARDIANSHIP/CONSERVATORSHIP OF INCAPACITATED ADULTS 

  

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards: 

  98% within 90 days after filing petition 

 

Measurement:  Filing of petition through adjudication 

  

Arizona Probate - Guardianship/Conservatorship of Incapacitated Adults 
The Arizona Case Processing Standards Steering Committee recommends that Arizona adopt a 

different standard: 

80% within 90 days  

98% within 365 days 

 

 Excludes guardianship/conservatorship of a minor and elder abuse cases. 

 

Measurement: Filing of petition for appointment of guardian/conservator through denial of the 

petition or issuance of a court order appointing a fiduciary on a non-temporary basis. 

 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Petition Filed: 

Rule 4(A)(2)(a), ARPP
1
  

A.R.S.
2
 § 14-5303(A)  

 

 

A.R.S. § 14-5404  

 

 

 

 

 

A.R.S. § 14-5405(B) 

A.R.S. § 14-5309(B) 

 

 

Rule 17(C), ARPP  

A.R.S. § 14-5303(C) 

A.R.S. § 14-5407(B) 

 

 

Rule 19, ARPP  

A.R.S. § 14-5303(C) 

A.R.S. § 14-5407(B) 

 

 

(Measurement Starts Here) 

Petition to appoint guardian: The alleged incapacitated person or 

any person interested in that person’s affairs or welfare may petition 

for the appointment of a guardian or for any other protective order.  

 

Petition to appoint conservator: The person allegedly in need of 

protection, any person who is interested in that person’s estate or 

affairs, including that person’s parent, guardian or custodian may 

petition for the appointment of a conservator or for any other 

appropriate protective order.  

 

Service: At least 14 days before the hearing the person allegedly in 

need of protection shall be personally served and that person’s spouse 

and parents if they can be found. 

 

Hearing: Upon a filing of a petition, the petitioner shall obtain a 

hearing date and time. The petitioner shall serve all interested parties 

with a copy of petition and notice of hearing and shall file proof of 

service at or before the hearing. 

 

Appointment of attorney, medical professional and investigator: 

Attorney to be appointed if protected person does not have counsel. 

Court shall appoint an investigator to interview person to be protected 

and medical professional to evaluate the alleged incapacitated person. 

Written reports shall be submitted to the court before the hearing date.  

                                                 
1
 Arizona Rules of Probate Procedure 

2
 Arizona Revised Statutes 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Pretrial Procedures: 

Rule 28, ARPP  

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 28(B), ARPP 

 

Scheduling Conference: If a matter is contested, unless the parties 

agree otherwise, the court shall set a scheduling conference that shall 

occur promptly after the date of the initial hearing on the petition. The 

scheduling conference may be held at the time set for the initial 

hearing on the petition.   

 

Discovery and Disclosure: Rules 26 through 37(f) Arizona Rules of 

Civil Procedure shall apply to discovery and disclosure in contested 

probate cases. 

Adjudication: 

Rule 25, ARPP 

 

 

 

Rule 26, ARPP 

 

 

 

 

Order to Fiduciary: Letters of guardianship or conservatorship shall 

not be issued until the proposed conservator or guardian has signed 

and the court has entered an order to the guardian or conservator. 

 

Issuance of Letters: The clerk of court shall not issue letters of 

guardianship, conservatorship, personal representative or special 

administrator  until the fiduciary has filed the bond or other security, if 

a bond or other security is required by the court.  

(Measurement Stops Here) 

Rule 4(2)(a) ARPP 

 

 

 

Rule 4(2)(b) ARPP 

 

A probate case relating to a guardianship continues from the date the 

petition is filed until the court has entered an order terminating the 

guardianship, or, in accordance with A.R.S. § 14-5306, the 

guardianship is terminated by operation of law. 

 

A probate case relating to a conservatorship continues from the date 

the petition is filed until the court has entered an order terminating the 

conservatorship or, if the conservator is granted the powers of a 

personal representative, after the protected person’s death. The case 

continues until the court has entered an order closing the estate or 1 

year after the conservator has filed a closing statement in accordance 

with statute.  

 


