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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

CIVIL - JUSTICE COURT CASES 

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards for General Civil Cases: 

 75% within 180 days  

 90% within 365 days  

 98% within 540 days  

 

Measurement:  Filing of initial complaint through disposition (e.g., dismissal, judgment). 

  

Arizona Civil - Justice Court Cases 
The following standards have been adopted for Justice Court Civil cases:  

 75% within 180 days 

90% within 270 days 

98% within 365 days 

 

 Justice Court civil cases under $10,000.00 will be included. 

 Superior Court civil cases will be excluded and have a different standard. 

 

Measurement: Filing of initial complaint through disposition (e.g., dismissal, judgment).  

 

Excluded Time:  The following may result in a stay of proceedings and the time elapsed will be 

excluded from the measurement: pre-adjudication special action/appeals, 

bankruptcy, and stays granted pursuant to the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act. 

 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Initial Complaint Filed: (Measurement Starts Here) 

Service of Process: 

Rule 113(i), JCRCP1 

 

No Service-Dismissal: The court may dismiss the action if the 

summons and complaint have not been served upon the defendant 

within 120 days of the filing of the complaint.  

 

Response: 

Rule 128(e), JCRCP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 140, JCRCP  

 

Response and Reply:  a defendant who is served with a summons and 

complaint within the State of Arizona must file a written answer or 

response with the court within 20 days after the date of service. A 

defendant who is served with a summons and complaint outside the 

State of Arizona must file a written answer or response with the court 

within 30 days after the date of service. 

 

Default Judgment: A default judgment may be entered against a 

party who was served with a complaint, counterclaim, cross-claim, or 

third-party complaint, and who failed to file an answer or otherwise 

respond within the time allowed by the Justice Court Rules of Civil 

Procedure. A party seeking a default judgment must first file an 

application requesting that the court enter a default against the party 

who failed to answer. The opposing party has 10 days to answer the 

                                                 
1 Justice Court Rules of  Civil Procedure 



2 
1/16/2017 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

application, otherwise, the court may enter a default judgment. 

(Measurement Stops Here) 

OR 

Discovery and Disclosure: 

Rule 123(b), JCRCP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 121(a), JCRCP 

 

 

 

Rule 121(b), JCRCP 

 

 

Rule 124(b), Rule 125(c), and 

Rule 126(b), JCRCP 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 126(c), JCRCP 

 

 

 

Rule 122(f)(5), JCRCP 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 119(a),JCRCP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 129(b), JCRCP 

 

 

Depositions: A party may take a deposition of another party 30 days 

after the party being deposed was served under Rule 113.  A party 

may take a deposition of a witness 60 days after an opposing party has 

appeared in the lawsuit pursuant to Rule 114(e). 

 

Disclosure Statements: Within 40 days after the defendant has filed 

an answer, or at a time set by the court, each party must provide to the 

other parties a written disclosure statement. 

 

The duty to make the disclosures required by Rule 121, JCRCP, is a 

duty that continues until the lawsuit is over.  

 

Interrogatories, Request for Production of Documents, and 

Request for Admissions: 

Responses to discovery are due 40 days after service, except that a 

defendant has 60 days after the date of service, unless otherwise 

ordered by the court, if the discovery request was served with a 

summons and complaint. 

 

A second notice that provides an additional 15 day grace period for a 

response on a request for admissions is required if the party has not 

responded. 

 

Non-Parties at Fault: A party alleging that a person or entity not 

currently or formerly named as a party was wholly or partially at fault 

in causing any personal injury or property damage for which damages 

are sought in the lawsuit must identify the non-party within 60 days 

from the filing of the answer.  

 

Amendment to Pleadings: A party may amend a pleading one time 

within 21 days after service of a responsive pleading.  If no response 

is required, a party may amend a pleading within 21 days after the 

pleading was filed. 

 

Summary Judgment: A party may file a motion for summary 

judgment no sooner than the date that the answer is filed or is due, and 

no later than 90 days before the date set for trial.  A party's response to 

the motion must be filed within 30 days after the motion has been 

served.  The moving party may file a reply to the response within 15 

days after the response is served, but a reply is not required. 

(Measurement Stops Here) 

OR 

Optional Mediation  

Rule 130, JCRCP 

 

Optional Mediation: Each precinct individually or in cooperation 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

 

 

 

Rule 130(f), JCRCP 

 

 

 

 

 

with the presiding judge or justice of the peace for the county may 

establish a mediation program. 

 

Settlement at Mediation Conference: If the court was notified by the 

mediator that a lawsuit was settled, the court may dismiss the lawsuit, 

with notice to the parties, 30 days after the date of the mediation 

conference.  If during that 30 day period a party notifies the court that 

the terms of the settlement agreement have not been fulfilled, the court 

may set the lawsuit for a pretrial conference or a trial. 

Trial: 

Rule 133(a), JCRCP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 144(e), JCRCP 

 

 

 

Setting a Lawsuit for Trial: The court may set a date for trial once 

an answer has been filed, or a party may request the court set a trial 

date after the parties have had an adequate opportunity to serve 

disclosure statements.  Unless the parties agree or the court has good 

reasons, a trial may not be set to begin less than 120 days after an 

answer was filed. 

 

Inactive Calendar:  If a final judgment has not been entered within 

10 months from the date a lawsuit is filed, or if a party has not filed a 

written motion to extend the time for entry of judgment to a particular 

date, the court will mail a notice to the plaintiff and to any defendant 

who has appeared in the lawsuit informing them that unless this 

requirement is met within 2 months from the date of mailing, the 

court will dismiss the lawsuit for failure to have judgment timely 

entered.  If the requirement has not been met within 2 months from 

the mailing of the court's notice, the court may dismiss the lawsuit 

without further notice to the parties. 

(Measurement Stops Here) 

 


