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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

SUMMARY CIVIL MATTERS – SMALL CLAIMS  

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards for Summary Civil Matters: 

 75% within 60 days 

 90% within 90 days 

 98% within 180 Days 

 

Measurement:  Filing of initial complaint through disposition (e.g., dismissal, judgment). 

  

Arizona Civil - Small Claims Cases Only 
The following standards have been adopted for Small Claims cases:  

 75% within 100 days 

 90% within 150 days 

 98% within 180 Days 

 

Measurement:  Filing of initial complaint through disposition (e.g., dismissal, judgment)  

 

Excluded Time: The following may result in a stay of proceedings, and the time elapsed will be 

excluded from the measurement: bankruptcy and stays granted pursuant to the Servicemembers  

Civil Relief Act. 

 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Petition Filed: 

 
(Measurement Starts Here) 

Small claims petition filed. 

Answer: 

ARS1 § 22-514  

 

The defendant must file an answer within 20 days of the date of 

service. 

Continuances and Trial 

Procedure: 

ARS § 22-515 

 

 

ARS § 22-516 

 

 

 

 

Continuances:  Continuances of hearings shall be granted only for 

good cause. 

 

Discovery: Parties are not bound by formal rules of procedure, 

pleading, or evidence, except for statutory provisions relating to 

privileged communications. Any evidence deemed material, relevant, 

and competent may be admitted.  Additionally, discovery proceedings 

may not be used in the small claims procedure. 

Trial: 

ARS § 22-515(A) 

 

 

 

 

ARS § 22-520(A) 

 

Hearing date: On the filing of an answer by the defendant, the clerk 

shall set the action for hearing.  The hearing shall be set for a date 

within 60 days of the filing of the defendant's answer.  The clerk shall 

notify the parties of the time and place of the hearing. 

 

The judgment by the justice of the peace or hearing officer must be 

                                                 
1 Arizona Revised Statutes 
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rendered no later than 10 days from the close of the trial.  

 (Measurement Stops Here) 

 


