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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

CIVIL - SUPERIOR COURT CASES 

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards: 

 75% within 180 days 

 90% within 365 days 

 98% within 540 days 

 

Measurement:  Filing of initial complaint through disposition (e.g., dismissal, judgment). 

  

Arizona Civil - Superior Court Cases 

The following standards have been adopted for Superior Court Civil cases: 

60% within 180 days  

90% within 365 days  

96% within 540 days  

 

 Complex cases, such as medical malpractice, will be included as part of the 4% of cases disposed 

after 540 days. 

 

Measurement:   Filing of initial complaint through disposition (e.g., dismissal, judgment).  

 

Excluded Time:  The following may result in a stay of proceedings and the time elapsed will be 

excluded from measurement: special actions, appeals, bankruptcy, and stays 

granted pursuant to the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act. 

 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Initial Complaint Filed: (Measurement Starts Here) 

Service of Process: 

 

Rule 4(i), ARCP1 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 12(a)(1)(B), ARCP  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 12(a), ARCP 

 

 

 

 

No Service-Dismissal: If a defendant is not served with process 

within 90 days after the complaint is filed, the court—on motion, or 

on its own after notice to the plaintiff—must dismiss the action 

without prejudice against that defendant or order that service be made 

within a specified time. 

 

Waiver of Service: A defendant or third-party defendant must serve 

an answer or other responsive pleading if it has timely waived service 

under Rule 4(f), within 60 days after the request for a waiver was 

sent, or within 90 days after it was sent to the defendant or third-party 

defendant outside any judicial district of the United States. 

 

 

Service in Arizona: A defendant or third-party defendant must serve 

an answer or other responsive pleading within 20 days after being 

served with the summons and complaint, unless the person waived 

                                                 
1 Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

 

 

Rule 4.2 (m), ARCP  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 4.1(l), Rule 12(a), Rule 

4.2(f), ARCP 

service. 
 

Out-of-State Service: Unless Rule 4.2(d)(3) applies, or the parties 

agree or the court orders otherwise, a person served outside Arizona 

under Rule 4.2 must serve a responsive pleading within 30 days after 

the completion of service. Service of a responsive pleading must be 

made in the same manner, and the served person is subject to the same 

consequences, as if the person had been personally served with a 

summons in the county in which the action is pending. 

 

Service by Publication: Answer is due 50 days from date of first 

publication if served in Arizona or 60 days if served out of state.  

Motions Filed Prior to 

Answer: 

Rule 7.1(a), ARCP 

 

 

 

Rule 55(a), ARCP  

 

 

Response and Reply: A party opposing a motion shall have 10 days 

after service to file a response.  The moving party has 5 days to file a 

reply. 

 

Default Judgment: The filing of the application for default 

constitutes the entry of default. A default is effective 10 days after the 

application for entry of default is filed. 

(Measurement Stops Here) 

OR 

Discovery and Disclosure: 

Rule 26.1(d), ARCP 

 

 

Rule 26.1(d)(2), ARCP 

 

 

Rule 33(a), Rule 34(b), Rule 

36(a), ARCP 

 

 

 

Rule 26(b)(5), ARCP 

 

 

 

 

 

Amending Pleadings: 

Rule 15(a), ARCP 

 

 

 

 

 

Disclosure Statements: Parties must serve initial disclosure 

statements within 40 days of the filing of the first responsive pleading. 

 

Parties have a continuing duty to disclose but not within 60 days of 

trial date without leave of the court. 

 

Interrogatories, Request for Production of Documents, and 

Requests for Admissions: Responses to discovery must be served 

within 30 days of service of the request for discovery, or within 60 

days of service of the summons and complaint. 

 

Non- Parties at Fault: No later than 150 days after filing its answer, 

a party must serve on all other parties—and should file with the 

court—a notice disclosing any person: (A) not currently or formerly 

named as a party in the action; and (B) whom the party alleges was 

wholly or partly at fault under ARS § 12-2506(B). 

 

 

Amendment to Pleadings: A party may amend its pleading once as a 

matter of course: (A) no later than 21 days after serving it if the 

pleading is one to which no responsive pleading is permitted; or (B) 

no later than 21 days after a responsive pleading is served if the 

pleading is one to which a responsive pleading is required or, if a 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

 

 

 

Summary Judgment: 

Rule 56(a), (b), and (c), ARCP 

 

motion under Rule 12(b), (e), or (f) is served, on or before the date on 

which a response to the motion is due, whichever is earlier. 

  

 

Summary Judgment: A party may move for summary judgment, 

identifying each claim or defense—or the part of each claim or 

defense—on which summary judgment is sought. A claimant may 

move for summary judgment only after the date when a responsive 

pleading is due from the party against whom summary judgment is 

sought; or the filing of a Rule 12(b)(6) motion to dismiss or a 

summary judgment motion by the party against whom summary 

judgment is sought. A summary judgment motion may not be filed 

later than the dispositive motion deadline set by the court or local rule, 

or absent such a deadline, 90 days before the date set for trial. 
 

An opposing party must file its response and any supporting materials 

within 30 days after the motion is served. The moving party must 

serve any reply memorandum and supporting materials 15 days after 

the response is served. 

(Measurement Stops Here if Summary Judgment Is Granted On 

All Claims ) 

OR 

Arbitration: 

ARS2 § 12-133 

Rule 72, ARCP 

 

 

Rule 73(d), ARCP 

 

 

 

Rule 74(b), ARCP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 76(a), ARCP 

 

 

 

 

Arbitration of Claims: Jurisdictional amount for arbitration is set by 

Superior Court, not to exceed $65,000. (See local court rules for 

jurisdictional amount of each county.) 

 

Timing of Assignment: The clerk or court administrator must appoint 

an arbitrator to an action no later than 120 days after an answer is 

filed. 

 

Hearing Date: The arbitrator must set a hearing date not earlier than 

60 days nor later than 120 days after the arbitrator's appointment. If 

good cause exists, an arbitrator may set a hearing date that is before or 

after this time period, or reschedule a noticed hearing date for a date 

later than 120 days after the arbitrator is appointed. The arbitrator 

must provide at least 30 days' written notice of the hearing's time and 

place, unless waived by the parties. Unless the parties agree otherwise, 

no hearings may be held on Saturdays, Sundays, legal holidays, or 

evenings. 

 

Notice of Decision: Within 10 days of completion of the hearing, the 

arbitrator shall notify the parties of the decision and file a notice of 

decision with the court. 

(Measurement Stops After Arbitration Award Entered) 

                                                 
2 Arizona Revised Statutes 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

 

 

Rule 76(b), ARCP 

 

 

 

Rule 76(e), ARCP 

 

 

 

 

ARS § 12-3023 

OR 
 

If an award or stipulation for entry of another form of relief is not filed 

with the court within 50 days after the notice of decision is filed, the 

notice of decision will constitute the arbitrator's award.  

 

Referral to Judge: If the arbitrator does not file an award with the 

clerk within the later of 145 days after the arbitrator's appointment or 

30 days after a noticed hearing, the clerk or the court administrator 

must refer the matter to the assigned judge for appropriate action. 

 

Vacating Arbitration Award: The motion must be filed within 90 

days of receiving notice of the award. 

Trial: 

Rule 38.1(b), ARCP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 38.1(d) ARCP 

 

 

 

Motion to Set and Certificate of Readiness:  A party seeking 

postponement of a trial must file a motion setting forth the basis for 

the request and any supporting evidence. The party must attach a 

separate statement certifying that the requested postponement is not 

being sought solely for the purpose of delay and will serve the 

interests of justice. 

 

Inactive Calendar: The clerk or court administrator must place a civil 

action on the Dismissal Calendar if 270 days have passed since the 

action was commenced, and: (A) in an action other than a medical 

malpractice action or an action assigned to arbitration, the parties have 

not filed a Joint Report and a Proposed Scheduling Order under Rule 

16(b) or a joint report under Rule 16.3(b); (B) in a medical 

malpractice action, the court has not set a date for a Comprehensive 

Pretrial Conference under Rule 16(e) and the parties have not filed a 

proposed scheduling order; or (C) in actions assigned to arbitration, 

the arbitrator has not filed a notice of decision under Rule 76. 

 

If an action remains on the Dismissal Calendar for 60 days, the court 

must dismiss it without prejudice and enter an appropriate order 

regarding any bond or other posted security, unless, before the 60-day 

period expires: (A) the parties file a Joint Report and a Proposed 

Scheduling Order under Rule 16(b) or a joint report under Rule 

16.3(b); (B) in a medical malpractice action, the court sets a date for a 

Comprehensive Pretrial Conference under Rule 16(e) or the parties 

file a proposed scheduling order; (C) in an action assigned to 

arbitration, the arbitrator files a notice of decision under Rule 76; or 

(D) the court, on motion showing good cause, orders the action to be 

continued on the Dismissal Calendar for a specified period of time 

without being dismissed. 

(Measurement Stops Here) 

 


