
1 
1/16/2017 

CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

CRIMINAL-FELONY 

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards: 

 75% within 90 days 

 90% within 180 days 

 98% within 365 days 

 

Measurement:  Filing of initial complaint through disposition (e.g., dismissal, acquittal, or judgment 

and sentencing). 

  

Arizona Criminal-Felony 
The following case processing time standards have been adopted for Felony cases in Superior Court:  

65% within 90 days  

85% within 180 days 

96% within 365 days 

 

 Death Penalty cases will be included as part of the 4% disposed after 365 days. 

 

Measurement: Filing of first charging document (e.g., information, indictment or complaint) in 

superior court through disposition (e.g., dismissal, acquittal, or judgment and 

sentencing).  

 

Excluded Time:  The following time will be excluded from measurement: pre-adjudication 

warrant time, Rule 11 competency issues, pre-adjudication diversions,  

  specialty courts/programs, and pre-adjudication special actions/appeals. 

 

 

Arizona Rules and Statutes  Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Charging Document Filed  

Rule 3.1(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P.1  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 3.2, Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

Indictment 

Rule 12.7, Ariz.R.Crim.P. and 

Rule 3.1(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

 

 

Information Filed 

Rule 13.1(c), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

(Measurement Starts Here) 
Arrest warrant or summons issued: Upon presentment of an 

indictment, or on a finding of probable cause made pursuant to Rule 

2.4(a), the court shall promptly issue a warrant or summons, or a 

notice of supervening indictment under Rule 12.7(c). Upon 

presentment of a complaint signed by a prosecutor, the court shall 

promptly issue a summons or notice of supervening indictment under 

Rule 12.7(c) or, after a finding of probable cause, issue a warrant. 

 

Summons:  The defendant must be summoned to appear within 30 

days after the filing of an indictment, information, or complaint. 

 

 

The indictment shall be returned in open court by the foreman in the 

presence of the grand jury and the prosecutor.  If the defendant has 

previously had an initial appearance under Rule 4.2, the court shall 

prepare and send to the defendant and defendant’s counsel a notice of 

supervening indictment in lieu of issuing a warrant or summons. 

 

 

An information shall be filed in Superior Court within 10 days after 

                                                 
1 Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure 
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Arizona Rules and Statutes  Timelines under Statute and Rule 

 the determination of probable cause or the defendant’s waiver of a 

preliminary hearing. 

Initial Appearance: 

Rule 4.1(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P.  

 

 

Rule 4.1(b), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

If the person is arrested, the initial appearance must held within 24 

hours of arrest. 

 

Arrest without a warrant: A person arrested without a warrant shall 

be taken before the nearest or most accessible magistrate in the county 

of arrest, whereupon a complaint, if one has not already been filed, 

shall promptly be prepared and filed. If a complaint is not filed within 

48 hours from the time of the initial appearance before the magistrate, 

the defendant shall be released from jail, and the preliminary hearing 

date, if any, shall be vacated. 

Preliminary Hearing: 

Rule 5.1(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 5.1(c), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

Defendant in custody:  A preliminary hearing shall commence before 

a magistrate not later than 10 days following the defendant's initial 

appearance if the defendant is in custody.  
 

Defendant not in custody:  A preliminary hearing shall commence 

before a magistrate not later than 20 days following the defendant's 

initial appearance if the defendant is in custody.  
 

Postponement: Upon motion of any party, or on his or her own 

initiative, the magistrate may postpone the preliminary hearing beyond 

the 20-day limit specified in Section (a), upon finding that 

extraordinary circumstances exist and that delay is indispensable to the 

interests of justice, entering a written order detailing the reasons for 

his or her finding and giving the parties prompt notice thereof. 

Arraignment: 

Rule 14.1(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P.  
  

Defendant in custody:  Arraignment shall be held within 10 days 

after filing of the indictment, information, or complaint. 

 

Defendant not in custody:  Arraignment shall be held within 30 days 

after filing of the indictment, information, or complaint. 

 

Disclosure: 

Rule 15.1(b), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

 

Rule 15.1(d), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 15.1(e), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

Time for Disclosure: The prosecutor shall disclose the materials and 

information listed in Rule 15.1(b) not later than 30 days after 

arraignment. 

 

Prior Felony Convictions of Witnesses:  At least 30 days prior to 

trial, or 30 days after a request from the defendant, whichever occurs 

first, the state shall make available to the defendant a list of the prior 

felony convictions of witnesses whom the prosecutor intends to call at 

trial or that the prosecutor intends to use to impeach a disclosed 

defense witness at trial. 

 

Additional Disclosure Upon Request: The prosecutor shall provide 

additional disclosure within 30 days of a written request. 
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Arizona Rules and Statutes  Timelines under Statute and Rule 

 

Rule 15.2(d), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

Time for Disclosure by Defendant: The defendant shall disclose the 

materials and information listed in Rules 15.2(b) and 15.2(c) 40 days 

after arraignment or within 10 days after the prosecutor's disclosure 

pursuant to Rule 15.1(b), whichever occurs first. 

Trial: 

Rule 8.2, Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

(Excluded periods from the 

timeframes set forth in Rule 

8.2 are specified in Rule 8.4) 

Defendant in custody:  Trial must take place 150 days from 

arraignment, except as specified in Rule 8.2(a)(3). 

 

Defendant not in custody:  Trial must take place 180 days from 

arraignment, except as specified in Rule 8.2(a)(3). 

 

Complex cases:  Trial must take place 270 days from arraignment. 

 

Capital cases:  Trial must take place 24 months from the date the 

state files a notice of intent to seek the death penalty pursuant to Rule 

15.1(i). 

Sentencing: 

Rule 26.3(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 26.3(b), Ariz.R.Crim.P. 

 

Upon a determination of guilt, the court shall set a date for sentencing. 

Sentence shall be pronounced not less than 15 days, nor more than 30 

days after the determination of guilt unless the court, after advising 

the defendant of his or her right to a pre-sentence report, grants his or 

her request that sentence be pronounced earlier. 

 

Pre-Sentence Hearing: If a pre-sentencing hearing is requested under 

Rule 26.7, or if good cause is shown, the trial court may reset the date 

of sentencing within 60 days after the determination of guilt. 

 (Measurement Stops Here) 

 


