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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

FAMILY LAW – DISSOLUTION AND ALLOCATION OF PARENTAL RESPONSIBILITY  

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards for Dissolution/Divorce/Allocation of 

Parental Responsibility Cases: 

 75% within 120 days   

 90% within 180 days   

 98% within 365 days   

  

Measurement:  Measurement is the date of filing to the date of disposition by dismissal or entry of 

judgment or order.  

  

Arizona Family Law – Dissolution and Allocation of Parental Responsibility Cases 
The following standards have been adopted for Dissolution and Allocation of Parental Responsibility 

cases: 

75% within 180 days   

90% within 270 days   

98% within 365 days   

 

 Includes legal separation and annulment cases. 

 Excludes adoption cases. 

 

Measurement:   The date of filing to the date of disposition by entry of judgment/decree or order. 

 

Excluded Time:  The following may result in a stay of proceedings, and the time elapsed will be 

excluded from measurement: special actions/appeals, bankruptcy, conciliation 

court, pending juvenile cases, and stays granted pursuant to the Servicemembers 

Civil Relief Act. 

 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Petition Filed: (Measurement Starts Here) 

Service of Process: 

Rule 40(I), ARFLP1  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 40(F), ARFLP 

 

 

Summons; Time Limit for Service: If service of the summons and 

petition is not made upon a respondent within 120 days after the filing of 

the petition, the court, upon motion or on its own initiative after notice to 

the petitioner, shall dismiss the action without prejudice as to that 

respondent or direct that service be effected within a specified time; 

provided that if the petitioner shows good cause for the failure, the court 

shall extend the time for service for an appropriate period. This 

subdivision does not apply to service in a foreign country pursuant to 

Rules 42(F), (G), (H), and (I), or to service of a paternity action described 

in paragraph (J) of this Rule.  

 

Service; Acceptance or Waiver; Voluntary Appearance: The person to 

whom a summons or other process is directed may accept service, or 

                                                 
1 Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure 
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waive issuance or service thereof in writing, dated and signed by that 

person, and subscribed and sworn to (or affirmed to) before a notary 

public, and the acceptance or waiver shall be filed with the clerk. Instead 

of notarization, the person may sign the acceptance or waiver in the 

presence of the clerk after verification of the person's identity by the clerk. 

If the person is represented by counsel, counsel may sign the acceptance 

or waiver. Such waiver, acceptance or appearance shall have the same 

force and effect as if a summons had been issued and served. 

Response: 

Rule 32(A), ARFLP 

 

 

 

Rule 42(K), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rules 41(M), (N), and 42(E), 

ARFLP 

 

Service in Arizona: A respondent shall serve and file a response within 

20 days after the service of the summons and petition upon the 

respondent, except as otherwise provided in Rule 42(J). 
 

Out of State Service: Where service of the summons and copy of a 

pleading and other documents required to be served is made outside the 

state by any means authorized by this rule, the person served shall appear 

and answer within 30 days after completion thereof in the same manner 

and under the same penalties as if that person had been personally served 

with a summons within the county in which the action is pending. 

 

Service by Publication: Answer is due 50 days from date of first 

publication if within Arizona or 60 days if out of state.  NOTE: Service 

by publication is not sufficient to confer jurisdiction upon the court to 

determine issues of paternity, child support, spousal maintenance, division 

of marital property, or any other issue requiring personal jurisdiction over 

a party. 

Motions Filed Prior to 

Answer: 

Rule 35(A), ARFLP 

 

 

 

Rule 32(A)(2), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 44(A)(2) and (3), 

ARFLP 

 

 

 

Response and Reply:  Any party opposing a motion shall have 10 days 

after service to file any answering memorandum. The moving party has 5 

days to file a reply. 

 

Extension of Time for Filing Answer:  For motions made under Rule 

32, unless a different time is fixed by court order, if the court denies the 

motion or postpones its disposition until the trial on the merits, the 

responsive pleading shall be served within ten (10) days after notice of the 

court's action.,  

 

Application For Entry of Default: The acceptance by the clerk of the 

filing of the application for entry of default constitutes the entry of 

default. A default entered by the clerk shall be effective 10 days after the 

filing of the application for entry of default. 

Servicemembers 

protections: 

Sec. 201 [50 U.S.C. App. 

521] 

 

 

 

Protection of servicemembers against default judgments: This 

provision applies to any civil action or proceeding in which the defendant 

(respondent) does not make an appearance. The court must grant a stay of 

proceedings for a minimum period of 90 days upon application of 

counsel, or on the court’s own motion, if the court determines that: 1) 
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Sec. 202 [50 U.S.C. App. 

522] 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sec. 204 [50 U.S.C. App. 

524] 

there may be a defense to the action and a defense cannot be presented 

without the presence of the defendant (respondent), and 2) after due 

diligence, counsel has been unable to contact the defendant (respondent) 

or otherwise determine if a meritorious defense exists. 

 

Stay of proceedings when servicemember has notice: This provision 

applies to any civil action or proceeding in which the plaintiff or 

defendant (respondent) at the time of filing is in the military or is within 

90 days after termination of or release from military service and has 

received notice of the action or proceeding. The court may on its own 

motion and shall, upon application by the servicemember, stay the action 

for a period of not less than 90 days, if conditions are met. Conditions 

include a letter or other communication setting forth facts stating the 

manner in which current military duty requirements materially affect the 

servicemember’s ability to appear and stating a date when the 

servicemember will be available to appear, as well as a letter or other 

communication from the servicemember’s commanding officer stating 

that the servicemember’s current military duty prevents appearance and 

that military leave is not authorized for the servicemember at the time of 

the letter. The servicemember may also apply for an additional stay based 

on continuing material affect of military duty on the servicemember’s 

ability to appear. 

 

Stay or vacation of execution of judgments, attachments, and 

garnishments: If a servicemember, in the opinion of the court, is 

materially affected by reason of military service in complying with a court 

judgment or order, the court may on its own motion and shall, on 

application by the servicemember: (1) stay the execution of any judgment 

or order entered against servicemember; and (2) vacate or stay an 

attachment or garnishment of property, money, or debts in the possession 

of the servicemember or a third party, whether before or after judgment. 

Discovery and Disclosure: 

Rule 49(A), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 49(I), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 57(A), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

Resolution Statement: Each party shall file a Resolution Statement 

substantially similar to Form 4 or 5, as applicable, within 40 days after 

the filing of a response to an initial petition, setting forth any agreements 

and a specific, detailed position the party proposes to resolve all issues in 

the case, without argument in support of the position. 

 

Continuing Duty to Disclose: The duty described in this rule shall be a 

continuing duty, and each party shall make additional or amended 

disclosures whenever new or different information is discovered or 

revealed. Such additional or amended disclosures shall be made not more 

than 30 days after the information is revealed to or discovered by the 

disclosing party. 

 

Depositions upon Oral Examination: If the petitioner or other party 

seeks to take a deposition prior to the expiration of 30 days after personal 

service or completion of service under Rule 42 of the summons and 

petition upon any respondent or other party, leave of court, granted with 
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Rule 57(B), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

Rules 4(D), 60(A), 62(B) and 

64(A)  

 

 

 

Rule 51(D), ARFLP 

 

 

 

Rule 34(A), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 46(B), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 79(A) and (C), ARFLP 

 

 

or without notice, is required, except that leave is not required: (1) if a 

respondent or other party has served a notice of taking deposition or 

otherwise sought discovery, or (2) if special notice is given as provided in 

subdivision (B)(2).   
 

Notice of Examination: Absent a stipulation of all parties to the action or 

an order of the court authorizing a briefer notice, a party desiring to take 

the deposition of any person upon oral examination shall give notice in 

writing to every other party to the action at least 10 days prior to the date 

of the deposition. 

 

Interrogatories, Request for Production of Documents, and Request 

for Admissions: Answers and objections to discovery must be served 

within 40 days of service, or within 60 days of service of the summons 

and complaint.  Add 5 days if served by mail. 

 

Supplementation of Responses: A party is under a duty to supplement 

any response to a request for discovery, and in any event not later than 30 

days prior to trial. 

 

Amendment to Pleadings: A party may amend the party's pleading once 

as a matter of course at any time before a responsive pleading is served or, 

if the pleading is one to which no responsive pleading is permitted and the 

action has not been placed upon the trial calendar, the party may so amend 

it at any time within 20 days after it is served. Otherwise a party may 

amend the party's pleading only by leave of court or by written consent of 

the adverse party. If a motion for leave to amend is granted, the moving 

party shall file and serve the amended pleading within 10 days of the 

order granting the motion, unless the court otherwise orders. 

 

A party shall plead in response to an amended pleading within the time 

remaining for response to the original pleading or within 10 days after 

service of the amended pleading, whichever period may be the longer, 

unless the court otherwise orders.  

 

Involuntary Dismissal: One hundred twenty (120) days after filing of a 

petition, if no Motion to Set has been filed by either party, or if the court 

has not set the matter for trial, hearing, or conference, the court may issue 

a notice that the matter will be dismissed by the court in not less than 60 

days without further notice, unless prior to the expiration of the 60 days a 

proper Motion to Set or a request for hearing or conference is filed. No 

case shall be dismissed, however, while there is pending before the court a 

motion for summary judgment, motion for judgment on the pleadings, or a 

motion related to genetic testing in a paternity matter. These periods may 

be extended by the court for good cause shown.  

 

Summary Judgment: A party seeking to recover upon a claim, 

counterclaim, or to obtain a declaratory judgment may move for a 

summary judgment in the party's favor upon all or any part thereof. Said 
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Rule 79(C), ARFLP 

motion may be made with or without supporting affidavits at any time 

after the expiration of 20 days from the service of process upon the 

adverse party, but no sooner than the date on which the response is due, or 

after service of a motion for summary judgment by the adverse party.  All 

motions for summary judgment shall be filed not later than 60 days prior 

to trial. 

 

A party opposing the motion must file affidavits, memoranda, or both 

within 30 days after service of the motion. The moving party shall have 

15 days thereafter in which to serve reply memoranda and affidavits. The 

foregoing time periods may be shortened or enlarged by the court or by 

agreement of the parties.     

Settlement and Alternative 

Dispute Resolution (ADR): 

Rule 66(D), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 66(E), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 67(B)(7), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Duty to Consider ADR: No later than 90 days following the first 

appearance of a respondent, the parties shall confer, either in person or by 

telephone, about the possibilities for a prompt settlement or resolution of 

the case, and whether they might benefit from participating in some 

alternative dispute resolution process, the type of process that would be 

most appropriate in their case, the selection of an ADR service provider, 

and the scheduling of the proceedings. 

 

Duty to Attempt Settlement, Agree on ADR and Report to Court: The 

attorneys of record and all unrepresented parties who have appeared in the 

case are jointly responsible for attempting in good faith to settle the case 

or agree on an ADR process and for reporting the outcome of their 

conference to the court within 30 days of their conference, or at the 

Resolution Management Conference, whichever is earlier. 

 

Reports to the Court: If the court refers or orders a case to mediation, 

the parties shall notify the court that the mediation has concluded and 

advise the court of any agreements reached within 10 days after the 

conclusion of the mediation and not later than 10 days prior to the date set 

for trial or hearing. 

Pre-Trial and Trial 

Procedures: 

Rule 76(A), ARFLP 

 

 

Resolution Management Conference (RMC): Upon written request of 

any party, the court shall, or upon its own motion the court may, schedule 

one or more Resolution Management Conferences that shall be held 

within 60 days of receipt of written request by the court, unless extended 

for good cause shown. Not less than 5 judicial days prior to the date of the 

Resolution Management Conference, each party shall personally meet and 

confer with the opposing party or parties and their counsel to resolve as 

many issues as possible  

 

The court may, among other things, enter temporary orders; order 

evaluations or special procedures needed to properly manage the case; 

schedule an evidentiary hearing, a trial date and other hearings or 
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conferences; refer a matter for settlement conference; order other ADR 

processes, and set a date for filing the joint pretrial statement. 

Conciliation Court Services: 

ARS2 § 25-381.09 

Rule 68(A), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ARS § 25-381.14 

  

 

 

 

 

Rule 68(A)(2)(b) 

 

 

 

ARS § 25-381.18(B) 

 

Petition invoking jurisdiction or for transfer of action to conciliation 

court: Prior to filing for annulment, dissolution, or legal separation, either 

spouse, or both spouses, may file in conciliation court a petition invoking 

the jurisdiction of the court. Where an action for annulment, dissolution, 

or legal separation has been filed, either party may by petition filed 

therein have the cause transferred to conciliation court for proceedings as 

though action had been instituted in conciliation court in the first instance. 

 

Hearing Time and Place: The judge of conciliation court shall fix a 

reasonable time and place for a hearing on the petition, to be held within 

30 days of the date of the filing of the petition, unless the court for good 

cause orders the hearing to be held within 45 days from the date of filing 

the petition. 

 

Period of Jurisdiction; Stay of Proceedings; Temporary Orders; 

Extension: There shall be no more than one stay during any 12 month 

period in any case. 

 

Extension of Stay: If either party wishes to extend the stay prescribed 

pursuant to subsection A, that party must file a petition with the court that 

states the basis for the extension and includes a plan for reconciliation or a 

counseling schedule. The court may grant a reasonable extension of up to 

120 days if the moving party establishes good cause for the extension. 

The court shall not grant an extension if the other party objects with good 

cause. 

Legal Decision-Making and 

Parenting Time 

ARS § 25-407 

 

 

Legal Decision-Making and Parenting Time; Priority: Legal decision-

making and parenting time proceedings shall receive priority in being set 

for hearing. 

Child Support 

ARS § 25-502(B) 

 

Initiating Proceedings: A proceeding to establish support must originate 

in the county where the child resides or, if the child resides out of state, 

the county of this state where the party filing the petition to establish 

support resides, if either of the following applies: (1) An action does not 

exist under this title, or (2) Paternity was established without a court order 

pursuant to section 36-334. 

Paternity/Maternity: 

ARS § 25-806(A) 

 

 

 

 

 

Petition: Paternity proceedings are commenced by the filing of a verified 

petition that alleges that a woman is delivered of a child or children born 

out of lawful wedlock or pregnant with a child conceived out of wedlock 

and that the respondent is the father of the child or children.  Maternity 

proceedings are commenced by the filing of a verified petition that alleges 

                                                 
2 Arizona Revised Statutes 
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ARS § 25-806(D) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ARS § 25-807(A) 

 

 

 

 

ARS § 25-807(B) 

 

 

 

that a woman is delivered of a child or children born out of lawful 

wedlock and that the woman as respondent is the mother of the child or 

children. 

 

Response: If the respondent does not file a response or if the respondent 

files a written response admitting paternity or maternity, the court may 

immediately enter a judgment of paternity or maternity. If other relevant 

issues are raised in the petition or response or in a separate petition filed 

after entry of a paternity or maternity judgment, the court shall proceed to 

resolve all relevant issues in the case pursuant to the rules of procedure 

applicable to family law cases.  

 

Precedence of Maternity and Paternity Proceedings: Proceedings to 

establish maternity and paternity have precedence over other civil 

proceedings. The case shall be set for trial within 60 days from the filing 

of an answer by the respondent. 

 

Delay for Paternity Tests: A delay in determining paternity in an action 

commenced before the birth of the child shall be granted until after the 

birth of the child for purposes of paternity tests if any party to the 

proceedings requests. 

Consent Decree: 

Rule 45(A) 

Whenever the petitioner and respondent agree to the terms of a legal 

separation, annulment, dissolution, paternity, or maternity action, the 

parties may elect to proceed by Consent Decree, Order, or Judgment 

without hearing. 

(Measurement Stops Here) 

OR 

Default Decree: 

Rule 44(B), ARFLP 

 

By Motion Without a Hearing: When a petition for legal separation, 

dissolution, or annulment of marriage has been filed, a decree may be 

entered upon motion supported by the affidavit of either or both parties to 

the marriage, provided that: (1) there are no minor children of the 

relationship of the parties born before or during the marriage or adopted 

by the parties during the marriage, and the wife, to affiant's knowledge, is 

not pregnant; and (2) neither party requests spousal maintenance. A 

default decree under this rule is not available if the adverse party is a 

minor or incompetent person, or if the adverse party has otherwise 

appeared and default has not been entered for failure to appear unless the 

parties have agreed that the matter may proceed as if by default. 

 

By Hearing: In all other cases the party entitled to a judgment shall apply 

to the court therefore, but no judgment by default shall be entered against 

a minor or an incompetent person unless represented in the action by a 

guardian, or other such representative who has appeared therein. 

(Measurement Stops Here) 

OR 

Trial: 

ARS § 25-329  

 

Waiting Period: The court shall not consider a submission of a motion 
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Rule 77(A) and (B), ARFLP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 78, ARFLP 

 

supported by affidavit or hold a trial or hearing on an application for a 

decree of dissolution of marriage or legal separation until 60 days after 

the date of service of process or the date of acceptance of process. 

 

Setting of Cases for Trial:  A trial date may be secured by filing a 

Motion to Set or, a trial date may be set by the court at the RMC. Any 

party may request additional time by motion made no less than 45 days 

before the scheduled trial date. 

 

Judgment: “Judgment” as used in these rules includes a decree and an 

order from which an appeal lies. When more than one claim for relief is 

presented in an action, whether as a claim, counterclaim, or third-party 

claim, or when multiple parties are involved, the court may direct the 

entry of final judgment as to one or more but fewer than all of the claims 

or parties only upon an express determination that there is no just reason 

for delay and upon an express direction for the entry of judgment. In the 

absence of such determination and direction, any order or other form of 

decision, however designated, that adjudicates fewer than all the claims or 

the rights and liabilities of fewer than all the parties shall not terminate the 

action as to any of the claims or parties, and the order or other form of 

decision is subject to revision at any time before the entry of judgment 

adjudicating all the claims and the rights and liabilities of all the parties. 

 (Measurement Stops Here) 

 


