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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

PROTECTION ORDER CASES 

 

 National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards:  

 Ex parte Hearing 

 100% to be held and orders issued in compliance with state law  

  

 Contested Hearing 

 90% within 10 days 

 98% within 30 days 

  

 Measurement:  Filing of initial petition through disposition (entry of judgment). 

 

  

Arizona Protection Order Cases 
The Arizona Case Processing Standards Steering Committee recommends that Arizona adopt  

a different standard:  

  Ex parte Hearing: 

  99% within 24 hours 

 

 Injunctions Against Harassment and Injunctions Against Workplace Harassment are included.  

  

 Measurement:  The date the petition for protective order is filed to the date the protective  

order is issued or denied. 

 

 Excluded Time:  No excluded time.  

 

 

  Contested Hearing: 

  90% within 10 days 

  98% within 30 days 

  

Measurement:  The date the request for hearing is filed to the date the protective order is 

affirmed, modified, or quashed. 

 

 Excluded Time:  No excluded time. 

 

 

 

Arizona Rules and Statutes  Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Ex Parte Hearing: 
Rule 17, ARPOP1 

(Measurement Starts Here for Ex Parte Hearing) 

Priority for Protective Orders:  A judicial officer must expeditiously 

schedule an ex parte hearing for a protective order involving a threat to 

personal safety even if previously scheduled matters are interrupted. 

Pre-Issuance Hearing: 

ARS2 §§ 12-1809(E), 12-

1810(E), 13-3602(F) 

 

 

Denial of Petition or Setting of Pre-Issuance Hearing: If after the ex 

parte hearing the judicial officer has insufficient information on which 

to issue an order, the judicial officer may either deny the request or set a 

                                                 
1 Arizona Rules of Protective Order Procedure 
2 Arizona Revised Statutes 



2 
             1/17/2017 

Arizona Rules and Statutes  Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Rule 23(k), ARPOP 

Rule 25(h), ARPOP  

Rule 26(g), ARPOP 

hearing within 10 days and provide reasonable notice to the defendant. 

The judicial officer must document denial of any request.  

(Measurement Stops Here for Ex Parte Hearing) 

Service of Process:  

ARS §§ 12-1809(J), (L), 12-

1810(I), (K), 13-3602(K), (M) 

 

Rule 31, ARPOP 

 

 

Service:  A protective order expires if it is not served on the defendant, 

together with a copy of the petition, within one year from the date the 

judicial officer signs the protective order. An initial protective order 

takes effect when the defendant is served with a copy of the order and 

the petition, and it expires one year from the date it is served. A 

modified order takes effect upon service but expires one year after 

service of the initial order. 

 

Return of Service:  Server (private process or law enforcement) has 7 

business days to return proof of service to the court. 

 

Notice to Sheriff:  Court has 24 hours to forward proof of service to 

the sheriff.  

Contested Hearing: 

ARS §§ 12-1809(H), 12-

1810(G), 13-3602(I) 

 

Rule 38, ARPOP 

(Measurement Starts Here for Contested Hearing) 

Contested Hearing:  A judicial officer must hold the hearing at the 

earliest possible time.  If an Order of Protection grants exclusive use of 

the residence, a judicial officer must hold a hearing within 5 court 

business days of the request.  For all other protective orders, a judicial 

officer must hold a hearing within 10 court business days of the 

request unless the judicial officer finds good cause to continue the 

hearing for a longer period of time. 

(Measurement Stops Here for Contested Hearing) 

Motion to Dismiss: 

Rule 41, ARPOP 

Rule 32, ARPOP 

 

A plaintiff may request the dismissal of a protective order at any time 

during the term of the order. When a plaintiff files a motion to dismiss, 

court personnel must verify the plaintiff's identity. The judicial officer 

must personally interview the plaintiff and make sufficient inquiry of 

the plaintiff to determine that the plaintiff is not making the request 

under duress or coercion. If the plaintiff and the defendant appear 

jointly on a motion to dismiss, the judicial officer may interview the 

plaintiff separately only if the defendant has been served but has not 

requested a hearing. If the plaintiff requests dismissal of an order and 

the defendant is not present, the judicial officer may act without notice 

to the defendant.  Within 24 hours after entry, the court must send 

notice of dismissal of a protective order to the sheriff in the county 

where the original protective order is registered. The dismissal order 

must be in writing and sent electronically via facsimile or e-mail, not by 

telephone, to the sheriff. 
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Arizona Rules and Statutes  Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Motion to Modify: 

Rule 40, ARPOP 

Rule 32, ARPOP 

 

A plaintiff may ask for modification of a protective order at any time 

during the term of the order. When a plaintiff files a motion to modify, 

court personnel must verify the plaintiff's identity. If a contested hearing 

has not yet been requested or held, the judicial officer must personally 

interview the plaintiff and make sufficient inquiry of the plaintiff to 

determine that the plaintiff is not making the request under duress or 

coercion. If a contested hearing has been requested or has occurred, the 

motion to modify must be set for hearing with notice to the defendant. 

The service and registration requirements applicable to the original 

protective order also apply to a modified protective order. Within 24 

hours after entry, the court must send notice of modification of a 

protective order to the sheriff in the county where the original protective 

order is registered. The modification order must be in writing and sent 

electronically via facsimile or e-mail, not by telephone, to the sheriff. 

Orders  
Rule 28, ARPOP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 34, ARPOP 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 33, ARPOP 

 

 

 

 

 

Conflicting Orders:  If two judicial officers have issued protective 

orders that involve the same parties and grant conflicting relief, the 

orders must be set for hearing within five court business days after 

discovery of the conflict. The judicial officers who issued the 

conflicting orders must consult with each other and assign the cases to 

one jurisdiction to resolve the parts that conflict. Between two limited 

jurisdiction orders, it is presumed that the court where the first petition 

was filed will conduct the hearings to resolve the conflicting orders. In 

all other cases, the conflicting orders must be heard in superior court. 

 

Transferred to Superior Court:  If, after issuance of a protective 

order, a limited jurisdiction court is notified in writing or verifies that a 

family law action is pending, the court must promptly transfer all 

documents relating to the protective order to the superior court within 

24 hours. 

 

Notification of Transferred Protective Order:  A court that transfers 

a protective order to another court must, within 24 hours, notify its 

sheriff's office in writing of the transfer and update information in its 

case management system. 

 

 

 

 

 


