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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

JUVENILE - DELINQUENCY AND STATUS OFFENSE 

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards: 

 

Youth in detention:     Youth not in detention: 

 75% w/in 30 days     75% w/in 60 days 

 90% w/in 45 days      90% w/in 90 days  

 98% w/in 90 days     98% w/in 150 days 

  

Measurement:  Filing of petition through disposition.  

  

Arizona Juvenile – Delinquency and Status Offense 
The following standards have been adopted for Juvenile Delinquency and Status Offense cases: 

 75% within 60 days 

 90% within 90 days  

 98% within 135 days 

 

 Cases with warrants will be excluded. 

 Cases with mental competency proceedings will be excluded. 

 Cases with diversion will be excluded.  

 

Measurement:  Filing of petition through disposition.  

 

Excluded Time:  No excluded time. 

 

 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

 

Petition to be filed: 

Rule 25(B)(1), ARJP1  

 

 

Rule 25(B)(2), ARJP 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 25(C), ARJP 

 

(Measurement Starts When Petition Filed) 

 

Detained Youth: If the juvenile is detained, the petition shall be filed 

within 24 hours of the initial detention. 

 

Non-Detained Youth: If the juvenile is not detained, the petition shall be 

filed within 45 days of submission of the referral to the prosecutor. The 

time for filing a petition is extended for an additional 30 days pending 

further investigation by the prosecutor.  No more than one 30 day extension 

of time for further investigation shall be allowed except upon order of the 

court for good cause shown. 

 

Diversion: If a referral is sent to a diversion program administered by the 

juvenile court or prosecutor or to a community based alternative program, 

the time limit for filing a petition shall be tolled during the period required 

to comply with the terms of diversion. If the juvenile is deemed ineligible 

                                                 
1 Arizona Rules of Procedure for the Juvenile Court 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

for diversion, a petition shall be filed not later than 30 days after the matter 

is resubmitted to the prosecutor for action. 

Advisory Hearing: 

Rule 28(B)(1), ARJP 

 

 

Rule 28(B)(2), ARJP 

 

 

Rule 28(E), ARJP 

 

 

Detained Youth: If the juvenile is detained, the advisory hearing shall be 

held within 24 hours of the filing of the petition. 

 

Non-Detained Youth: If the juvenile is not detained, the hearing shall take 

place within 30 days of the filing of the petition. 
 

Disposition Hearing: Following an admission, the court shall adjudicate 

the juvenile delinquent or incorrigible and proceed with a disposition 

hearing or may set a disposition hearing. 

Adjudication Hearing: 

Rule 29(B)(1), ARJP  

 

 

 

Rule 29(B)(2), ARJP  

 

  

Detained Youth: An adjudication hearing for a detained juvenile shall take 

place within 45 days of the date of the advisory hearing unless a motion for 

transfer or petition to revoke probation has been filed. 

 

Non-Detained Youth: If the juvenile is not detained, an adjudication 

hearing shall take place within 60 days of the date of the advisory hearing 

unless a motion for transfer or petition to revoke probation has been filed. 

Disposition Hearing: 
Rule 30(B)(1)(a), ARJP  

 

 

Rule 30(B)(1)(b), ARJP  

 

 

 

Detained Youth: If the juvenile is detained, the hearing shall be held within 

30 days of adjudication of delinquency or incorrigibility. 

 

Non-Detained Youth: If the juvenile is not detained, the hearing shall be 

held within 45 days of adjudication of delinquency or incorrigibility. 

(Measurement Stops When Case is Closed With a Disposition) 

 


