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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

JUVENILE - NEGLECT AND ABUSE 

 

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards: 

 Adjudication Hearing: 98% within 90 days of removal  

  

Permanency Hearing:  75% within 270 days of removal 

     98% within 360 days of removal 

 

Measurement:  Date of removal through adjudication. 

 

  

Arizona Juvenile – Neglect and Abuse Adjudication Hearings  
The following standards have been adopted for Juvenile Neglect and Abuse Adjudication Hearings: 

98% within 100 days of filing  

 

Measurement: Date of filing through a finding of dependency. 

 

Excluded Time:  No excluded time.  

 

 

Arizona Juvenile – Neglect and Abuse Permanency Hearings  
The following standards have been adopted for Juvenile Neglect and Abuse Permanency Hearings: 

98% of children under 3 years of age within 180 days of removal 

98% of all other cases within 365 days of removal  

 

Measurement: Date of removal through permanent plan determination. 

 

Excluded Time:  No excluded time.  

 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Petition Filed: 

ARS1 § 823(B)(6)  

 

 

 

 

 

ARS § 824(A)  

Rule 50, ARJP2  

 

 

 

ARS § 8-842(A) 

Rule 52, ARJP 

 

 

(Measurement Starts Here) 

Petition filed 72 hours from removal: If a child is taken into 

temporary custody, a written notice must be provided within 6 hours 

to the parent or guardian that the child must be returned within 72 

hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, unless a 

dependency petition is filed. 

 

Preliminary Protective Hearing: The court shall hold a preliminary 

protective hearing to review the taking into temporary custody of a 

child pursuant to section 8-821 5 - 7 days after the child is taken into 

custody, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays. 

 

Initial Dependency Hearing: At the initial dependency hearing, the 

court shall determine whether service has been completed and whether 

the parent, guardian, or Indian custodian admits, denies or does not 

contest the allegations contained in the dependency petition. The court 

                                                 
1 Arizona Revised Statutes 
2 Arizona Rules of Procedure for the Juvenile Court 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

 

 

 

ARS § 8-844(A)  

Rule 53 and 54, ARJP  

shall set the initial dependency hearing within 21 days after the 

petition is filed. 

 

Settlement or Pretrial Conference or Mediation: A settlement 

conference may be held for the purpose of identifying and resolving 

issues in a non-adversarial manner.  At least 5 days prior to the 

settlement conference, each party shall provide the court with a 

confidential settlement conference memorandum.  If settlement is not 

reached, a pretrial conference may be held prior to the dependency 

adjudication hearing to determine whether the parties are prepared and 

intend to proceed to trial or whether resolution of remaining issues in 

a non-adversarial manner is possible and to address any issues raised 

by the parties. 

Adjudication Hearing: 

ARS § 8-842(C) 

Rule 55(B), ARJP  

 

 

 

 

 

 

ARS § 8-845 

Rule 56(B) ARJP  

 

 

Adjudication Hearing: The court may continue the initial 

dependency hearing for good cause, but, unless the court has ordered 

in-home intervention, the dependency adjudication hearing shall be 

completed within 90 days after service of the dependency petition. 

The time limit for completing the dependency adjudication hearing 

may be extended for up to 30 days if the court finds good cause or in 

extraordinary cases as prescribed by the supreme court by rule. 

 

Disposition Hearing: The disposition hearing shall be held within 30 

days of the dependency adjudication or in conjunction with the 

preliminary protective hearing, initial dependency hearing, mediation, 

settlement or pretrial conference or dependency adjudication hearing. 

(Measurement Stops Here for Adjudication Hearing) 

Permanency Hearing: 
ARS § 8-862(A) 

Rule 60(C), ARJP  

 

Permanency Hearing: The court shall hold a permanency hearing to 

determine the future permanent legal status of the child: 

1. Within 30 days after the disposition hearing if the court does not 

order reunification services. 

2. Within 6 months after a child who is under three years of age is 

removed from the child's home. The court shall not continue that 

permanency hearing beyond 6 months after the child who is under 

three years of age is removed from the child's home unless the party 

who is seeking the continuance shows that the determination 

prescribed in section 8-829(A)(6) has been made or will be made 

within the time prescribed in that paragraph. 

3. In all other cases, within 12 months after the child is removed from 

the child's home. The court shall not continue the permanency hearing 

beyond 12 months after the child is removed from the child's home 

unless the party who is seeking the continuance shows that the 

determination prescribed in section 8-829(A)(5) has been made or will 

be made within the time prescribed in that paragraph. 

(Measurement Stops Here for Permanency Hearing) 

 


