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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

JUVENILE - TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RIGHTS 

  

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards: 

 90% within 120 days after filing petition 

 98% within 180 days after filing petition 

 

Measurement:  Filing of motion/petition through termination of parental rights. 

  

Arizona Juvenile – Termination of Parental Rights 
The following standard has been adopted for Termination of Parental Rights cases: 

 90% within 120 days  

 98% within 180 days  

 

 Adoption cases are excluded.  

 

Measurement:  Filing of Motion/Petition for Termination of Parental Rights through entry of  

    dismissal or order of termination. 

 

Excluded time:  No excluded time. 

 

 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Motion/Petition Filed: 

Rule 64(A), ARJP1 

ARS2 § 8-862(D)(1) 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 64(B), ARJP 

 

(Measurement Starts Here) 

Motion for Termination of Parental Rights: If the court determines 

that the termination of parental rights is clearly in the best interests of 

the child, the court shall order the department or the child's attorney or 

guardian ad litem to file within 10 days after the permanency hearing 

a motion alleging one or more of the grounds prescribed in section 8-

533 for termination of parental rights.  

Petition for Termination of Parental Rights: If the child at issue is 

not a dependent child or is a dependent child who was the subject of a 

dependency petition filed prior to July 1, 1998, the petitioner shall file 

a petition for termination of parental rights, pursuant to ARS 8-534 and 

shall state whether the child is an Indian child as defined by the Indian 

Child Welfare Act. Nothing in this rule shall preclude the filing of a 

petition in those cases where the child was the subject of a dependency 

petition filed after July 1, 1998. 

Adjudication: 

Rule 65(B), ARJP 

ARS § 8-862(D)(2) 

 

 

 

 

Initial Termination Hearing: If a motion for termination of parental 

rights is filed, the initial hearing shall be held within 30 days of the 

permanency hearing. If a petition for termination is filed, the hearing 

shall be held no sooner than 10 days from service. 

 

                                                 
1 Arizona Rules of Procedure for the Juvenile Court 
2 Arizona Revised Statutes 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

 

 

 

 

Rule 65(C)(6)(b), ARJP 

ARS § 8-862(D)(2) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 66(B), ARJP 

 

 

If the termination is contested at the initial hearing, the court shall set a 

date for the trial on termination of parental rights within 90 days after 

the permanency hearing. 

 

Denial of allegations: If a motion for termination of parental rights was 

filed and the parent, guardian or Indian custodian denies the allegations, 

the court shall set the matter for trial within 90 days of the permanency 

hearing. The court may schedule a settlement conference, a pretrial 

conference or mediation, if appropriate. If a petition for termination was 

filed, the court may schedule mediation and shall set a pretrial 

conference or status conference. 
 

Termination Adjudication Hearing: If a motion for termination of 

parental rights was filed, the termination adjudication hearing shall be 

held no later than 90 days after the permanency hearing. The court may 

continue the hearing beyond the 90 day time limit for a period of 30 

days if it finds that the continuance is necessary for the full, fair and 

proper presentation of evidence, and the best interests of the child 

would not be adversely affected.  Any continuance beyond 30 days shall 

only be granted upon a finding of extraordinary circumstances.  

(Measurement Stops Here) 

 


