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CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS 

PROBATE - GUARDIANSHIP/CONSERVATORSHIP OF ADULTS 

  

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards: 

  98% within 90 days after filing petition 

 

Measurement:  Filing of petition through adjudication. 

  

Arizona Probate - Guardianship/Conservatorship of Adults 
The following standards have been adopted for the Superior Courts: 

80% within 90 days  

98% within 365 days 

 

 Excludes guardianship/conservatorship of a minor. 

 Excludes the appointment of temporary guardian/conservators.  

 Excludes appointment of guardians ad litem. 

 Excludes elder abuse cases. 

 Includes orders appointing limited guardians. 

 

Measurement:  Filing of petition for appointment of guardian/conservator through denial of the 

petition or issuance of a court order appointing a fiduciary on a non-temporary 

basis. 

 

Excluded Time: No excluded time. 

 

 

Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Petition Filed: 

Rule 4(A)(2)(a), ARPP1  

ARS2 § 14-5303(A)  

 

 

 

ARS § 14-5404  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ARS § 14-5405(B) 

ARS § 14-5309(B) 

 

 

 

(Measurement Starts Here) 

Petition to appoint guardian: The alleged incapacitated person or 

any person interested in that person’s affairs or welfare may petition 

for the appointment of a guardian or for any other appropriate 

protective order.  

 

Petition to appoint conservator: The person allegedly in need of 

protection, any person who is interested in that person’s estate or 

affairs, including that person’s parent, guardian or custodian, or any 

other person who would be adversely affected by the lack of effective 

management of that person’s estate and affairs may petition for the 

appointment of a conservator or for any other appropriate protective 

order.  

 

Service: At least 14 days before the hearing, notice shall be served on 

the ward or protected person, or the person allegedly incapacitated or 

in need of protection and that person’s spouse and parents if they can 

be found within the state. 

 

                                                 
1 Arizona Rules of Probate Procedure 
2 Arizona Revised Statutes 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

Rule 17(C), ARPP  

ARS § 14-5303(C) 

ARS § 14-5407(B) 

 

 

Rule 19, ARPP  

ARS § 14-5303(C) 

ARS § 14-5407(B) 

 

 

Hearing: Upon a filing of a petition, the petitioner shall obtain a 

hearing date and time. The petitioner shall serve all interested parties 

with a copy of the petition and notice of hearing and shall file proof of 

service at or before the hearing. 

 

Appointment of attorney, medical professional, and investigator: 

In conservatorship cases, unless the person to be protected has counsel 

of that person’s own choice, the court shall appoint an attorney to 

represent that person. If the alleged disability is mental illness, mental 

deficiency, mental disorder, physical illness or disability, chronic use 

of drugs, or chronic intoxication, the court shall appoint an 

investigator to interview the person to be protected. On petition by an 

interested person or on the court's own motion, the court may direct 

that an appropriate medical or psychological evaluation of the person 

be conducted. The investigator and the person conducting the medical 

or psychological evaluation shall submit written reports to the court 

before the hearing date. 

 

In guardianship cases, unless the incapacitated person is represented 

by independent counsel, the court shall appoint counsel to represent 

that person in the proceeding. The alleged incapacitated person shall 

be interviewed by an investigator appointed by the court and shall be 

examined by a physician, psychologist or registered nurse appointed 

by the court. If the alleged incapacitated person has an established 

relationship with a physician, psychologist, or registered nurse who is 

determined by the court to be qualified to evaluate the capacity of the 

alleged incapacitated person, the court may appoint the alleged 

incapacitated person's physician, psychologist, or registered nurse 

pursuant to this subsection. The investigator and the person 

conducting the examination shall submit their reports in writing to the 

court. 

Pretrial Procedures: 

Rule 28(A), ARPP  

 

 

 

 

 

Rule 28(B), ARPP 

 

Scheduling Conference: If a matter is contested, unless the parties 

agree otherwise, the court shall set a scheduling conference that shall 

occur promptly after the date of the initial hearing on the petition. The 

scheduling conference may be held at the time set for the initial 

hearing on the petition.   

 

Discovery and Disclosure: Rules 26 through 37(f), Arizona Rules of 

Civil Procedure, shall apply to discovery and disclosure in contested 

probate proceedings. 

Adjudication: 

Rule 25, ARPP 

 

 

 

 

 

Order to Fiduciary: Letters of guardianship or conservatorship shall 

not be issued until the proposed conservator or guardian has signed, 

and the court has entered an order to the guardian or conservator. 

 

(Measurement Stops Here) 
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Arizona Rules and 

Statutes  

Timelines under Statute and Rule 

 

Rule 26, ARPP 

 

 

 

 

Issuance of Letters: The clerk of court shall not issue letters of 

guardianship or conservatorship until the fiduciary has filed the bond 

or other security, if a bond or other security is required by the court.  

Rule 4(A)(2)(a), ARPP 

 

 

 

 

Rule 4(A)(2)(b) ARPP 

 

A probate case relating to a guardianship continues from the date the 

petition is filed until the court has entered an order terminating the 

guardianship, or, in accordance with ARS § 14-5306, the guardianship 

is terminated by operation of law. 

 

A probate case relating to a conservatorship continues from the date 

the petition is filed until the court has entered an order terminating the 

conservatorship, or, if the conservator is granted the powers of a 

personal representative after the protected person’s death, the case 

continues until the court has entered an order closing the estate or 1 

year after the conservator has filed a closing statement in accordance 

with statute.  

 


