CASE PROCESSING STANDARDS ANALYSIS
PROBATE - MENTAL HEALTH CASES

National Center for State Courts Model Time Standards:

98% within 15 days after filing petition

Measurement: Filing of petition through disposition (e.g., patient released or issuance of a

court

order.)

Krizona Probate - Mental Health Cases \

Measurement:

%cluded Time:

The following standard has been adopted for the Superior Courts:
98% within 15 days

v Petitions for court-
v Petitions for court-

ordered treatment are included.
ordered evaluation are excluded.

Filing of petition through disposition (e.g., patient released or issuance of a
court order for treatment).

No excluded time. )

Arizona Rules and
Statutes

Timelines under Statute and Rule

Petition Filed:
ARS! 8§ 36-535(A)

ARS § 36-535(B)

(Measurement Starts Here)

Detention of Patient: If the patient is not already detained in an
agency when the petition for court-ordered treatment is filed, the court
shall order the detention of the patient in the agency that conducted
the evaluation. This determination is based on whether the patient is
likely to present a danger to self or others before conclusion of the
hearing or is not likely to appear at the hearing on the petition if not
detained.

Hearing: The court shall order the hearing to be held within 6
business days after the petition is filed. For good cause shown, the
hearing can be continued for a maximum of 30 days by the patient.
The hearing may be continued a maximum of 3 business days at the
request of the petitioner.

Service:
ARS § 36-536(A)

At least 72 hours before the court conducts the hearing on the petition
for court-ordered treatment, a copy of the petition, affidavits in
support of the petition, and the notice of hearing shall be served on the
patient. The patient shall be informed of the purpose of the hearing
and the right to consult counsel.

If counsel has not been employed, counsel shall be appointed by the
court at least 3 days before the hearing.

L Arizona Revised Statutes
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Arizona Rules and
Statutes

Timelines under Statute and Rule

Duties of Counsel:
ARS § 36-537(B)(1)

ARS § 36-537(B)(2)

ARS 8§ 36-537(B)(3) and (4)

Within 24 hours of appointment, the patient’s attorney shall conduct
an interview with the patient and explain the patient’s rights.

At least 24 hours before the hearing the patient’s attorney shall
review the petition for evaluation, pre-petition screening report,
evaluation report, petition for treatment, the patient’s medical records,
and the list of alternatives to court-ordered treatment.

At least 24 hours before the hearing, the patient’s attorney shall
interview the petitioner, if available, and the petitioner’s supporting
witnesses, if known and available, interview the physicians or the
psychiatric and mental health nurse practitioner who will testify at the
hearing, and investigate the possibility of alternatives to court-ordered
treatment.

ARS 8 36-538 The patient has a right to an independent evaluator for an analysis of
his or her mental condition.

Disposition:

ARS 8 36-540 Entry of Order: The court shall order the patient to undergo

treatment if it finds that by clear and convincing evidence that the
proposed patient, as a result of a mental disorder, is a danger to self, is
a danger to others, is acutely disabled or is gravely disabled and in
need of treatment and is either unwilling or unable to accept voluntary
treatment.

(Measurement Stops Here)
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