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N O R R I S, Judge 

¶1 Under Arizona Revised Statutes (“A.R.S.”) section 25-

408(B) (2007), a parent granted joint custody or parenting time 

is entitled to at least 60 days advance written notice before 

the other parent may “[r]elocate the child more than one hundred 

miles within the state.”  This appeal requires us to discuss how 

the 100 miles of A.R.S. § 25-408(B) should be measured.  We hold 

that, under A.R.S. § 25-408(E), if a parent awarded joint 
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custody or parenting time relocates the child with court 

permission, the miles of that court approved relocation may not 

be considered when determining whether a subsequent relocation 

is more than 100 miles within the state.  We also hold the 100 

mile condition should be measured from the relocating parent’s 

physical location with the child as of the date of the court 

order or written agreement granting custody or parenting time to 

both parents.   

FACTUAL BACKGROUND AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY 

¶2 In September 2004, Petitioner/Appellant Roger Thompson 

(“Father”) petitioned for a legal separation and 

Respondent/Appellee Tanya F. Thompson (“Mother”) responded by 

asking for a dissolution of marriage.  Mother, who then lived in 

Alpine, Arizona, petitioned the court for temporary care, 

custody, and control of the couple’s three children and asked 

that Father, who lived approximately 27 miles away in Eagar, 

Arizona, be awarded temporary visitation.  Mother also requested 

“[t]hat no clause would hinder [her] from moving beyond 25 

miles” because she wished to move to Show Low, Arizona, which is 

approximately 48 miles from Eagar.  Father petitioned the court 

for a temporary order granting him custody of the children, and 

at the hearing on temporary orders, objected to Mother’s request 

to move to Show Low.  In October 2004, the court denied Father’s 
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custody request and entered a temporary order granting custody 

of the children to Mother with visitation to Father.  It further 

ordered “the visitation situation will remain intact until the 

divorce is final and that does not preclude [Mother] from moving 

to Show Low.”   

¶3 As authorized by the court in its temporary order, 

Mother moved from Alpine to Show Low (“first move”), a distance 

of approximately 73 miles.  Although the record does not reveal 

when Mother made the first move, she did so at some point before 

May 2005, when the court entered a decree dissolving the 

parties’ marriage.  The dissolution decree awarded legal custody 

of the children to Mother and gave Father “liberal” parenting 

time.  More than a year later, Mother notified the court she 

intended to move from Show Low to Payson, Arizona (“second 

move”), a distance of approximately 90 miles, to start a new 

full-time job.  Father objected and argued Mother’s move to 

Payson exceeded 100 miles because Payson is approximately 138 

miles from Eagar.  Accordingly, he asked the court to enjoin 

Mother from moving to Payson.  A.R.S. § 25-408(D) (“Within 

thirty days after notice is made [under A.R.S. § 25-408(B)] the 

nonmoving parent may petition the court to prevent relocation of 

the child.”).  The court refused to enjoin Mother’s relocation, 
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finding A.R.S. § 25-408 inapplicable because Mother “[wa]s only 

moving 90 miles away.”     

¶4 Father then moved for a new trial and argued A.R.S. § 

25-408(B) required the court to calculate the mileage of 

Mother’s relocation by adding the miles of her first move to 

those of her second move.  He also argued the statute required 

the court to calculate the 100 miles from his residence in Eagar 

to her new location in Payson, a distance of approximately 138 

miles, not from Mother’s location in Show Low.  

¶5 The court denied the motion.  It ruled “[t]he 

[s]tatute which [Father] seeks to invoke is not triggered by a 

prospective move of less than 100 miles” because “[a]t the time 

of the decree, the parties’ children resided in Show Low . . . . 

[and Mother] thereafter relocated to Payson . . . 90 miles 

away.”  The court also ruled the second move “was separate and 

distinct from that associated with the parties’ separation in 

2004.”   

¶6 Father timely appealed the superior court’s rulings.  

We have jurisdiction pursuant to Article 6, Section 9 of the 

Arizona Constitution and A.R.S. §§ 12-120.21(A)(1) (2003) and 

12-2101(F)(1)-(2) (2003).1 

                     
1Mother did not file an answering brief.  Although we 

could regard this as a confession of error, see Arizona Rule of 
Civil Appellate Procedure 15(c), in our discretion, we decline 
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DISCUSSION 

A.  Total Mileage of Mother’s Moves 

¶7 On appeal, Father argues A.R.S. § 25-408(B) and (D) 

were applicable to Mother’s move to Payson.2  As he sees the 

situation, the court should have measured the 100 miles by 

adding the miles of Mother’s first move to the miles of her 

second move.  The issue Father presents – how the 100 miles 

should be calculated – raises a question of statutory 

interpretation, which we review de novo.  Thomas v. Thomas, 203 

Ariz. 34, 36, ¶ 7, 49 P.3d 306, 308 (App. 2002). 

¶8 When determining the meaning of a statute, we look 

first to its plain language.  In re Maricopa County Superior 

Court No. MH 2002-000767, 205 Ariz. 296, 298, ¶ 9, 69 P.3d 1017, 

1019 (App. 2003).  Section 25-408(B) provides: 

If by written agreement or court order both 
parents are entitled to custody or parenting 
time and both parents reside in the state, 
at least sixty days’ advance written notice 
shall be provided to the other parent before 
a parent may do either of the following: 
 

 
to do so.  Nydam v. Crawford, 181 Ariz. 101, 101, 887 P.2d 631, 
631 (App. 1994).  
 
  2If a parent is entitled to petition a court to prevent 
relocation of the child under A.R.S. § 25-408(D), the “court 
shall determine whether to allow the parent to relocate the 
child in accordance with the child’s best interests.”  A.R.S. § 
25-408(G).  “The burden of proving what is in the child’s best 
interests is on the parent who is seeking to relocate the 
child.”  Id. 
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 1. Relocate the child outside the 
 state. 

 
 2. Relocate the child more than one 
 hundred miles within the state. 
 

¶9 According to the plain language of the statute, 

subsection B is not triggered until a court order, or a written 

agreement, entitles the parents to joint custody or parenting 

time.  However, subsection B becomes inapplicable “if provision 

for relocation of a child has been made by a court order that is 

dated within one year of the proposed relocation of the child.”  

A.R.S. § 25-408(E).3     

¶10 In this case, the court approved the first move and 

Mother completed the first move within one year of the court’s 

approval.  Therefore, Mother’s first move met the criteria of 

subsection E and so subsection B did not apply to that move.  

When, as here, subsection E exempts a move from subsection B, 

the miles of the exempted move should not be included within 

subsection B’s 100 mile condition.  Including the miles from a 

move exempted by subsection E would permit the non-relocating 

 
3In full, A.R.S. § 25-408(E) states: 
 
Subsection B of this section does not apply 
if provision for relocation of a child has 
been made by a court order or written 
agreement of the parties that is dated 
within one year of the proposed relocation 
of the child.   
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parent to relitigate the merits of the court-approved exempted 

move, undermining the court’s approval of that move.  

¶11 Because it approved Mother’s first move and subsection 

E applied to that move, the superior court was not required to 

take into account the miles of that move in determining whether 

A.R.S. § 25-408(B) and (D) applied to Mother’s move to Payson.  

Subsection B was inapplicable to Mother’s move to Payson and 

Father was not entitled to petition the court under subsection D 

to prevent relocation of the children.4     

 B.  Miles from Father’s Residence 

¶12 Next, Father argues the superior court misinterpreted 

A.R.S. § 25-408(B) because it should have calculated the 100 

miles from his residence in Eager.5  This issue also raises a 

question of statutory interpretation. 

 
4Because A.R.S. § 25-408(E) rendered A.R.S. § 25-408(B) 

inapplicable to Mother’s first move, we need not decide whether 
subsection B applies when a parent makes serial non-court 
approved relocations that individually are less than 100 miles 
but, in the aggregate, total more than 100 miles. 

 
5Father cites an Arizona Supreme Court booklet titled 

Things You Should Know about Custody and Parenting Time as 
support for this argument.  This booklet states, “If both 
parents live in Arizona, the parent with physical custody 
desiring to move with the child must give 60 days’ notice to the 
other parent before the child may be moved more than 100 miles 
from the other parent or from the state.”  Arizona Supreme 
Court, Things You Should Know about Custody and Parenting Time 
10 (2006), http://www.supreme.state.az.us/dr/Pdf/custvis.pdf.  
Although we are bound by decisions of our supreme court, City of 
Phoenix v. Leroy’s Liquors, Inc., 177 Ariz. 375, 378, 868 P.2d 
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¶13 Section 25-408(B) does not identify the starting point 

for calculation of the 100 miles.  When a statute is silent 

regarding an issue “we must look beyond the statutory language 

and consider the statute’s effects and consequences, as well as 

its spirit and purpose.”  Calmat of Arizona v. State ex rel. 

Miller, 176 Ariz. 190, 193, 859 P.2d 1323, 1326 (1993).  

“Statutes must be given a sensible construction that 

accomplishes the legislative intent and which avoids absurd 

results.”  State v. Gonzales, 206 Ariz. 469, 471, ¶ 12, 80 P.3d 

276, 278 (App. 2003) (quoting Arizona Health Care Cost 

Containment Sys. v. Bentley, 187 Ariz. 229, 233, 928 P.2d 653, 

657 (App. 1996)) (internal quotation marks omitted).   

¶14 As discussed above, A.R.S. § 25-408(B) applies when 

there is a written agreement or court order entitling both 

parents to custody or parenting time.  In such a situation, the 

statute requires each parent to comply with the notice 

requirements before he or she attempts to relocate their child 

more than 100 miles within the state.  By imposing this 

obligation on each parent, the legislature was attempting to 

ensure that when both parents are granted custody or parenting 

time, neither parent will interfere with the custody or 

parenting time granted to the other parent by relocating with 

                                                                  
958, 961 (App. 1993), this booklet does not constitute such a 
decision and, therefore, we are not bound by it. 
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the child and making it more difficult and costly for the non-

relocating parent to have custody or parenting time with the 

child.  But, as is clear from other subsections of A.R.S. § 25-

408, the legislature also intended to give a parent granted 

joint custody or parenting time some unrestricted flexibility to 

decide where to live with his or her child.  See A.R.S. § 25-

408(D), (G).  Section 25-408, when read as a whole, thus 

reflects the legislature’s efforts to balance these competing 

interests.  Accordingly, we believe A.R.S. § 25-408(B) should be 

construed as allowing a parent granted joint custody or 

parenting time the right to move up to 100 miles from that 

parent’s physical location with the child as of the date of the 

written agreement or court order entitling both parents to 

custody or parenting time. 

¶15 When the court entered the decree of dissolution and 

established the custody and parenting time arrangement the 

children were living with Mother in Show Low.  Under the 

construction of A.R.S. § 25-408(B) we adopt in this opinion, 

Mother was entitled to relocate with the children as long as 

that relocation did not amount to “more than 100 miles within 

the state” from her physical location in Show Low.  Because Show 

Low is less than 100 miles from Payson, subsection B did not 

apply to Mother’s move to Payson. 
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CONCLUSION 

¶16 For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the superior 

court’s determination that A.R.S. § 25-408(B) was inapplicable 

to Mother’s relocation to Payson.   

  

 
        ________________________________           
            PATRICIA K. NORRIS, Judge 
 
 
CONCURRING: 
 
 
____________________________________ 
ANN A. SCOTT TIMMER, Presiding Judge 
 
 
 
____________________________________                       
MICHAEL J. BROWN, Judge 
 

 

 


