IN THE COURT OF APPEALS
STATE OF ARIZONA
DIVISION ONE

KELLY LOUISE BLAKE, 1 CA-SA 01-0168

Petitioner, DEPARTMENT C
V.
OPINTION
THE HONORABLE JONATHAN H. SCHWARTZ,
Judge of the SUPERIOR COURT OF THE
STATE OF ARIZONA, in and for the County
of Maricopa,

Filed 2-5-02

Respondent Judge,

STATE OF ARIZONA; ARIZONA PSYCHIATRIC
SECURITY REVIEW BOARD,

Real Parties in Interest.

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

Petition for Special Action
from the Maricopa County Superior Court

Cause No. CR 99-006023
The Honorable Jonathan H. Schwartz, Judge

AFFIRMED

James J. Haas, Maricopa County Public Defender Phoenix
By Lawrence S. Matthew, Deputy Public Defender
Attorneys for Petitioner

Richard M. Romley, Maricopa County Attorney Phoenix
By E. Catherine Leisch, Deputy County Attorney
Attorneys for Real Parties in Interest

Janet Napolitano, Arizona Attorney General Phoenix
By Randall M. Howe, Chief Counsel,
Criminal Appeals Section
and Toni Valadez Kozub, Assistant Attorney General
Attorneys for Real Parties in Interest




B ARKER, Judge
11 Kelly Louise Blake was found guilty except insane (“GEI”)
of murder, attempted murder, kidnapping, and arson of an occupied
structure. The trial court committed Blake to the jurisdiction of
the Psychiatric Security Review Board (“PSRB”) pursuant to Arizona
Revised Statutes ("MA.R.S.") section 13-3994 (2001) . Blake
petitioned for review of the superior court’s decision, arguing
that A.R.S. § 13-3994(A), (F), and (G) are unconstitutional. The
issues are as follows: (1) whether A.R.S. § 13-3994(A), (F), and
(G) require a mandatory 120-day period of confinement, and (2) if
so, whether a 120-day confinement period is constitutional.
92 We conclude that the statute allows the medical director
to request a release hearing within the 120-day period referenced.
The statute is constitutional on that basis. Accordingly, we do
not reach the issue of whether an initial 120-day period without
the prospect of release, for a GEI defendant guilty of a crime
involving death or serious physical injury, would or would not be
constitutional.

For the reasons that follow, we accept jurisdiction of this
special action and deny relief.

Factual and Procedural History

q3 In March 1998, Blake lured her three children into a

shed. She then poured gasoline on them and set fire to her



children and herself.'! The fire killed two of her children. On
June 19, 2001, the trial court, in a trial by submission, found
Blake guilty except insane of murder, attempted murder and the
other charges referenced. The trial court placed Blake under the
jurisdiction of the PSRB, pursuant to A.R.S. § 13-3994 (D), for the
duration of her natural life.

T4 Prior to commitment to the PSRB, an attorney sought to
intervene on Blake’s behalf and have portions of A.R.S. § 13-3994
declared unconstitutional. The trial judge denied the motion to
intervene, but allowed Blake’s defense lawyer to assert the same
arguments. The trial judge then denied the motion on its merits;
he held that the statute was constitutional. This special action
followed.

15 The state’s initial response to the special action was
limited solely to the issue of jurisdiction. In reply, Blake
asserted that PSRB had no administrative procedure allowing for a
release hearing until 120 days after commitment. By subsequent
order, we accepted jurisdiction and directed PSRB to brief this
matter on its merits.

96 Special action jurisdiction is highly discretionary. See

E Susan H. Baumann, M.D. worked with Blake starting in

April 1999. She states in a letter dated April 10, 2000 that Blake
“believed ‘the devil’ was controlling her and her children .
[and] that they were ‘dead lost souls.’” The letter also states
that Blake described to Baumann that when Blake was on fire she
felt “relief from the warmth” and that Blake believed that her
children would also feel relief from emotional pain.
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State ex rel. McDougall v. Superior Court, 186 Ariz. 218, 219, 920
P.2d 784, 785 (App. 1996). Special action Jjurisdiction is
appropriate “where an issue is one of first impression of a purely
legal question, is of statewide importance, and is likely to arise
again.” Vo v. Superior Court, 172 Ariz. 195, 198, 836 P.2d 408,
411 (App. 1992). Additionally, special action jurisdiction may be
considered when there is no adequate remedy by way of appeal. Luis
A. v. Bayham-Lesselyong ex rel. County of Maricopa, 197 Ariz. 451,
453, 4 P.3d 994, 996 (App. 2000).

q7 Special action jurisdiction is appropriate here because
this case raises an issue of statewide importance, is likely to
recur, and turns solely on legal principles. Additionally, because
the relief requested applies to the first 120 days after judgment,

there is no adequate remedy by way of appeal.

Discussion
q8 As noted, the issue is whether A.R.S. § 13-3994(A), (F),
and (G) require a mandatory 120-day period of confinement. The

constitutional argument is that if the 120-day period is mandatory,
it may deprive a defendant of his or her due process rights. See
Jones v. United States, 463 U.S. 354, 356-57 (1983) (determining
that a 50-day confinement period was constitutional, but not
defining the outer limit).

1. Standard of Review.

q9 If possible, this court has a duty to construe a statute



so that it will be constitutional. State v. McDonald, 191 Ariz.
118, 120, 9 11, 952 P.2d 1188, 1190 (App. 1998). Our supreme court
has held:
It is a cardinal rule of statutory
construction that every intendment is in favor
of the constitutionality of legislation, and
unless its invalidity is established beyond a
reasonable doubt it will be declared
constitutional.
Roberts v. Spray, 71 Ariz. 60, 69, 223 ©P.2d 808, 813-14
(1950) (internal citation omitted).

q10 When a constitutional construction of a statute is

available, we are to prefer that construction:

It is well settled that this Court will not
pass on the constitutionality of an Act of
Congress 1f a construction of the statute is
fairly possible by which the question may be
avoided.

United States v. Clark, 445 U.S. 23, 27 (1980).
11 The instruction from Edward J. DeBartolo Corp. v. Florida
Gulf Coast Bldg. & Const. Trades Council, 485 U.S. 568, 575 (1988),
is applicable here:
[Wlhere an otherwise acceptable construction
of a statute would raise serious
constitutional problems, the Court will
construe the statute to avoid such problems
unless such construction is plainly contrary
to the intent of Congress.
112 A selected history of the prior versions of A.R.S. § 13-

3994, and the pertinent case law, 1s essential to properly

considering the issues raised here.



2. History of A.R.S. § 13-3994.

113 In 1984, A.R.S. § 13-3994 (D) provided that persons found
insane at the time they committed a crime resulting in physical
injury to another, or substantial risk of physical injury to
another, were “not eligible for conditional release . . . until at
least two hundred thirty days ha[d] elapse[d] from the date of the
initial commitment.” 1984 Ariz. Sess. Laws, ch. 287, § 3. The
Arizona Supreme Court, in State ex rel. Collins v. Superior Court
(Mittenthal), held that this provision was unconstitutional. 150
Ariz. 295, 723 P.2d 644 (1986). The court found the mandatory 230-
day provision violated due process because the statute provided no
possibility of a release hearing, before the 230 days passed, to
determine if the person was still insane. 150 Ariz. at 299, 723
P.2d at 648. The court reasoned that treatment and confinement are

not required when a person no longer suffers from a mental disease.

Id. Under those circumstances, the government’s reason for
confining the person — treatment — was no longer a legitimate
governmental interest. Id. “Punishment . . . is not a legitimate

interest with regard to persons acquitted by reason of insanity.
The person has not been convicted of a crime and cannot be
punished.” Id. Thus, the constitutional impairment was a
mandatory 230-day commitment without the prospect of release.

q14 After Mittenthal, the Arizona legislature amended § 13-

3994 to address the constitutional issue. 1987 Ariz. Sess. Laws,



ch. 144, § 1 (%1987 wversion”). The legislature shortened the
length of time a defendant had to wait for a hearing to 120 days.
Id. The 1987 version also provided that “the person committed may

not seek a new release hearing less than six months after any prior

release hearing unless on a petition filed by the . . . treatment
agency . . . the court orders a hearing.” Id. (emphasis added).
q15 In 1992, this court found the 1987 version of the statute

to be constitutional. State v. Helffrich, 174 Ariz. 1, 846 P.2d
151 (App. 1992). Helffrich construed the statute to allow the
treatment agency to seek a release at any time, even though
defendants had to wait 120 days to request a release hearing for
themselves. This interpretation was of critical importance: the
statute met the requirements of due process because it reduced the
time for a hearing from 230 days to 120 days and because it was
construed to allow an opportunity for release prior to 120 days.
The court stated:

This statute meets the requirements of due
process because it reduces the maximum amount
of time an acquittee must wait for a
conditional release hearing to 120 days and
also allows for an expedited hearing based
upon a petition filed by the evaluating or
treating agency stating that the acgquittee is
no longer suffering from a mental disorder.
This law is flexible and responsive to an
acquittee’s improved mental condition, thereby
overcoming the c¢riticism of the earlier
statute by the court in [Mittenthall].

Helffrich, 174 Ariz. at 6, 846 P.2d at 156 (emphasis added). The



complete language of the applicable 1987 version provided:

A person committed or the physician or
psychologist treating the person committed may
not seek a new release hearing less than six
months after any prior release hearing -
unless, on a petition filed by the secure
mental health evaluation or treatment agency
alleging the person 1is no longer suffering
from a mental disorder or 1is no longer a
danger to himself or others, the court orders
a hearing.

1987 Ariz. Sess. Laws, ch. 144, § 1 (emphasis indicating
legislative change). Thus, it is important to note that Helffrich
rejected the interpretation that the right of a treatment agency to
request an “expedited hearing” was limited to requests after a
prior release hearing. The treatment agency was determined to have
the right to request a hearing at any time, even though the
statutory language referred to a “new release hearing . . . after
any prior release hearing.” 1987 Ariz. Sess. Laws, ch. 144, § 1.
q1le6 Since Helffrich, and the 1987 statutory version, the
statute has been modified five times.? The 1996 version of the
statute (and subsequent versions) expressly referred to the right
of the treatment agency (or medical director) that Helffrich

identified as applying “at any time.” 1996 Ariz. Sess. Laws, ch.

2 See A.R.S. § 13-3994, Historical and Statutory Notes:
1993 Ariz. Sess. Laws, ch. 256, § 12;
1996 Ariz. Sess. Laws, ch. 142, § 1; ch. 173, § 2;
1997 Ariz. Sess. Laws, ch. 149;
1999 Ariz. Sess. Laws, ch. 110;
2001 Ariz. Sess. Laws, ch. 244 (effective July 1, 2002).



142,
and
3.

117

(F),

s 1.

(G),

The Current Version of A.R.S. § 13-3994(a),

and

We now turn to the version of A.R.S. § 13-3994 (A

at issue here.

) s

(F) & (G).

With key provisions emphasized, A.R.S. § 13-3994

(G) presently provide as follows:

A. A person who 1is found guilty except
insane pursuant to § 13-502 shall be committed
to a secure state mental health facility under
the department of health services for a period
of treatment.

F. A  person who is placed under the
jurisdiction of the psychiatric security
review board pursuant to subsection D of this
section is not entitled to a hearing before
the board earlier than one hundred twenty days
after the person’s initial commitment. A
request for a subsequent release hearing may
be made pursuant to subsection G of this
section.

G. A person who is placed under the
jurisdiction of the psychiatric security
review board pursuant to subsection D of this
section may not seek a new release hearing
earlier than twenty months after a prior
release hearing, except that the medical
director of the state mental health facility
may request a new release hearing for a person
under the Jjurisdiction of the psychiatric
security review board at any time. The person
shall not be held in confinement for more than
two years without a hearing before the board
to determine if the person should be released
or conditionally released.

(F),

(A),



A.R.S. § 13-3994(A), (F), (G) (emphasis added).® Blake claims that
A.R.S. § 13-3994 violates her due process rights because it does
not allow her or anyone else to seek a release hearing on her
behalf prior to the expiration of the initial 120-day confinement
period. The state argues otherwise.
A. The State’s Interpretation of A.R.S. § 13-3994.

q18 The state contends that the plain language of § 13-3994
does not reflect an intent to prohibit the medical director from
requesting a release hearing within the first 120 days of
commitment. It maintains that subsection F, which contains the
prohibitive language, refers to the “person who is placed under the
jurisdiction” of the PSRB. Subsection F, 1in fact, makes no
reference to the medical director. Subsection F, the state argues,
prescribes what the defendant can and cannot do, not what the
medical director can and cannot do.

q19 The state argues that although the legislature chose to
prohibit the defendant from requesting a release hearing within the
first 120 days, it did not intend to limit the medical director’s
ability to request a hearing. The state reasons that if the

legislature had intended to prohibit the medical director from

3 The subsections of § 13-3994 at issue in this decision

were changed by amendment in 1999. See 1999 Ariz. Sess. Laws, ch.
110. Section 13-3994 was amended again in 2001. However, these
changes are not effective until July 1, 2002. More importantly,
the 2001 amendment does not affect the subsections at issue. See
2001 Ariz. Sess. Laws, ch. 244, S§§ 1-2.
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requesting a release hearing within the first 120 days it would
have so stated.
B. Defendant’s Interpretation of § 13-3994.
120 Blake asserts that subsection F provides that there may
be no hearing at anyone’s request until 120 days have passed. She
does not find, as the state argues, that the medical director may
request, or the PSRB hold, a hearing within that time period. She
argues that subsection G specifically refers to the medical
director’s authority to request a hearing. The medical director,
Blake asserts, only has authority to request a new hearing, one
following the 120-day time period after a prior release hearing.
21 Blake attacks the state’s assertion that the statute does
not expressly prohibit the medical director from requesting a
hearing. She argues that to follow such reasoning would mean that
anything not expressly prohibited by the statute is authorized.
C. A.R.S. § 13-3994 can be Constitutionally Construed.

122 We determine that the language of A.R.S. § 13-3994 does
not reflect an intent to prohibit the medical director from
requesting a release hearing within 120 days of a defendant’s
commitment. We agree with the state in finding that subsection F
refers to the rights that defendant is entitled to exercise. We
also determine that Helffrich has previously construed a comparable
statute (the 1987 version) and found it to allow for a hearing upon

the treatment agency’s request within the 120-day period. As

11



described below, we find A.R.S. § 13-3994 to be constitutional.
(i) . The Current Statute Incorporates Helffrich.

923 The amendments the legislature made to § 13-3994 in 1999,
which establish the current statute at issue, did not meaningfully
change the procedure for the medical director to request a hearing
within 120 days. The current version of § 13-3994, in this regard,
is substantially the same as the statute that the court in
Helffrich found constitutional.

124 Helffrich considered the 1987 version of the statute. As
noted earlier, the 1987 version of the statute granted the right to
the treatment agency (the equivalent of the reference to medical
director in the current version) to request a hearing in the
context of a statute referencing a “new release hearing less than
six months after any prior release hearing.” 1987 Ariz. Sess.
Laws, ch. 144, § 1 (emphasis added). Helffrich did not limit the
right to request a hearing to any time after a prior release
hearing; rather, Helffrich held that the provision allowed the
treatment agency to request a hearing at any time. 174 Ariz. at 6,
846 P.2d at 156. This was one of the key reasons that Helffrich
found the 1987 version of the statute to be constitutional. Id.
q25 Our case law provides that when the legislature retains
statutory language that has been previously construed by the
courts, the legislature is deemed to incorporate those holdings:

It is presumed the legislature is aware of

12



existing case law when it passes a statute,

and that it 1is aware of court decisions

interpreting the language of the statute; and

when it retains the language upon which those

decisions are based, it approves the

interpretations.
State v. Pennington, 149 Ariz. 167, 168, 717 P.2d 471, 472 (App.
1985) (internal citation omitted); State v. Superior Court, 104
Ariz. 440, 442, 454 P.2d 982, 984 (1969); State v. Jones, 94 Ariz.
334, 336, 385 P.2d 213, 215 (1963). Here, the current version of
the statute retains the same reference to a “new release hearing”
in the same context of “any prior release hearing” that Helffrich
construed to allow the treatment agency to request a hearing at any
time. We believe Helffrich was well-reasoned and see no reason to
depart from its holding. We consider the legislature to have
adopted the construction Helffrich gave to the present version of
§ 13-3994.
926 Given Helffrich and our duty to construe a statute so as
to render it constitutional if reasonably possible, McDonald, 191
Ariz. at 120, 9 12, 952 P.2d at 1190, and to avoid an “otherwise
acceptable construction of a statute [that may] raise serious
constitutional problems,” DeBartolo, 485 U.S. 575, we reject
petitioner’s argument that a “new release hearing” means one after
an 1initial release hearing. We reject as well petitioner’s
argument that the ability of the medical director to request a
hearing at any time opens the door to other unnamed persons to so
request.

13



127 As we next discuss, the legislative history to the
current version of A.R.S. § 13-3994(A), (F) and (G) similarly
supports our determination that the legislature intended that the
medical director be able to request a release hearing at any time.

(ii). The Legislative History of A.R.S. § 13-3994
Supports a Constitutional Interpretation.

128 Although the statute’s language “is the best and most
reliable index of the statute’s meaning, . . . uncertainty about
the meaning or interpretation of the statute’s terms requires the
appellate court to apply methods of statutory interpretation that
go beyond the statute’s literal language . . . . These methods
include consideration of the statute’s context, language, subject
matter, historical background, effects and consequences, and spirit
and purpose.” Estancia Dev. Assoc., L.L.C. v. City of Scottsdale,
196 Ariz. 87, 90, 993 P.2d 1051, 1054 (App. 1999) (internal
citations omitted).

129 The legislative history of A.R.S. § 13-3994 indicates
that changes made to A.R.S. § 13-3994 in 1999 were meant to lessen
the burden on victims, not to modify the medical director’s ability
to request a hearing at any time. The amendments extended the
length of time defendants must wait before requesting a “new
release hearing after a prior release hearing before the PSRB, and
required the court to state the specific dates of the PSRB’s
jurisdiction over certain GEI individuals.” H.B. 2022, Ariz. St.

S. Fact Sheet, 1st Sess., Mar. 12, 1999, at 1. Extending the

14



length of time a defendant must wait before requesting a new
release hearing from six months to twenty months was done to lessen
the burden on the PSRB and the victims who chose to attend the
hearings. Id. at 2. As an example, the legislature was advised of
one family of wvictims that was faced with appearing at a release
hearing every six months, for twenty-five years. Senate Judiciary
Comm. Minutes for Mar. 16, 1999, 44th Leg., 1lst Sess. (Ariz.).* The
new amendments lengthen the period between hearings to twenty
months. Thus, under the new amendment these particular wvictims
would only need appear up to fifteen times over the course of the
twenty-five year commitment as opposed to fifty times.

130 The legislative history supports the medical director’s
ability to request a hearing at any time. During the Senate
Judiciary Committee’s discussion of the amendments, George Weisz,
executive assistant to Governor Hull, noted that a GEI inmate

receives an 1initial hearing immediately after being put in the

‘ The Senate Judiciary Committee Minutes for H.B. 2022
referenced a real-life example of the hardships wvictims and the
families affected by GEI defendants suffer in having hearings every
six months. Senate Judiciary Comm. Minutes for Mar. 16, 1999, 44th
Leg., 1lst Sess. (Ariz.). One victim told how the GEI defendant had
murdered the family’s father and threatened the lives of other
family members. Id. The GEI defendant apparently requested a
hearing every six months. Family members felt they had to attend
the hearings to express their fears about the GEI defendant and to
insure that the GEI defendant was not released. Id. The victim
testified that the family was required to recount the pain of the
murder every six months in revisiting the issue at the release
hearing. Id. Thus, the legislature had notice of wvictims’
practical, as well as emotional hardships, due to release hearings
held every six months.

15



PSRB’s jurisdiction. Senate Judiciary Comm. Minutes for Mar. 16,
1999, 44th Leg., 1lst Sess (Ariz.). Also, Representative Verkamp
noted the proposed bill’s provision that allows the medical
director to request a hearing at any time. House Judiciary Comm.
Minutes for Jan. 27, 1999, 44th Leg., 1lst Sess. (Ariz.).

131 Thus, the legislative history does not support any
legislative intent to modify the ability of the medical director to
request a hearing at any time. Clearly, legislators were primarily
concerned with the hardship for victims and their families that the
six-month provision created. The legislative history supports the
constitutional view of the statute set forth above.

(iii) . Summary as to Constitutionality.

32 Based on the foregoing, we determine that A.R.S. § 13-

> Blake argues that other portions of the minutes reflect

that the medical director has no authority to seek a hearing prior
to 120 days. She relies on comments to the committee by Mr.
Peterson. The minutes state:

Mr. Peterson said H.B. 2022 changes the
ability of the medical director of the state
mental health facility to request a release
hearing on behalf of a GEI patient from any
time after six months following a prior
release hearing to any time after an initial
hearing.

Senate Judiciary Comm. Minutes for Mar. 16, 1999, 44th Leg., 1lst
Sess (Ariz.). We are unpersuaded that this statement from Mr.
Peterson was intended to address the medical director’s ability to
request a hearing within the initial 120 day commitment period.

Mr. Peterson was a Senate intern. He was apparently unfamiliar
with Helffrich, which made clear that the medical director could
request a hearing at any time. Mr. Weisz and Rep. Verkamp

interpreted the amendments consistent with Helffrich.
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3994 (A), (F), and (G) do not contain a mandatory 120-day time
period before the medical director may request a release hearing.
Except for the change from six months to twenty months, we find the
current statutory language comparable to the statutory language
that this court found constitutional in Helffrich. Moreover, the
legislative history of the statute expressly supports our view that
the legislature did not intend to preclude the medical director
from requesting a release hearing at any time. Hence, we find

A.R.S. § 13-39%4(A), (F), and (G) to be constitutional.

4. The Medical Director’s Ability to Request a Hearing is
Enforceable.

933 We now address Blake’s contention that she has not been

given a release hearing within 120 days of her commitment. As

explained above, although defendant is not entitled to a release
hearing within 120 days as a matter of right, the medical director
has discretion to request a release hearing within 120 days.

134 While the medical director may request a release hearing
within 120 days of a defendant’s commitment, the medical director
is not obligated to do so; nor is the PSRB obligated to hold a
hearing, if so requested. For instance, there may be no sufficient
basis to support requesting or providing a hearing within 120 days.
However, that the statute allows the medical director to request a
hearing within 120 days means that the director has to exercise
discretion, which means that the director has the duty to not abuse
his or her discretion. The medical director is obligated to have

17



procedures in place to evaluate those committed to the PSRB in
order to determine whether a release hearing within 120 days of
commitment should be requested. The PSRB is likewise obligated to
have procedures in place to conduct a hearing within 120 days if
requested by the medical director and found to be appropriate.

135 If either the medical director or the PSRB fails to
implement appropriate procedures, or otherwise abuses the
discretion they each possess, a party may seek special action
relief to (1) compel the medical director to determine whether a
release hearing should be requested on a GEI defendant’s behalf,
and (2) compel the PSRB to determine whether to grant a release
hearing if the medical director so requests.® The right to such
a determination makes § 13-3994(A), (F), and (G) constitutional.’

Conclusion

36 We find that A.R.S. § 13-3994(7A), (F), and (G) are

6 If a public official does not undertake steps to fulfill

his or her duty, “[a] writ of mandamus will issue to compel a
public official to perform a duty which he has no discretion but to
perform.” Krucker v. Goddard, 99 Ariz. 227, 232, 408 P.2d 20, 23
(1965) . Writs of mandamus have now been replaced with special
actions. Home Builders Ass’n v. City of Apache Junction, 198 Ariz.
493, 503, {1 32, 11 P.3d 1032, 1042 (App. 2000). Those rules
provide for the court to determine whether a “defendant has failed
to exercise discretion which he has a duty to exercise . . . or
[wlhether a determination was arbitrary or capricious.” Ariz. R.P.
Spec. Act. 3(a), (c).

! As noted earlier, we do not reach the issue of whether a
mandatory 120-day confinement period wunder this statute is
constitutionally enforceable without this right.
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constitutional. Accordingly, we deny the requested relief.

DANIEL A. BARKER, Judge

CONCURRING:

E. G. NOYES, JR., Presiding Judge

PHILIP HALL, Judge
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