Arizona Judicial Branch

Judicial Branch Awards

Twice each year, the Arizona Supreme Court honors those who have made extraordinary contributions to the administration of justice.Chief Justice Scott Bales

The first group of awards are the Distinguished Service Awards, which are presented at the annual Judicial Conference in June. 

2015 Distinguished Service Awards (June)
View the winners here 2015 Award Winners Brochure.

The Arizona Judicial Branch Distinguished Service Awards honor Individuals, projects, and teams who have made outstanding contributions to improving public trust and confidence in the Arizona courts system and in meeting the goals of Advancing Justice Together: Courts and Communities.

Winners are selected by the Chief Justice, Arizona Supreme Court Justices, and the Administrative Director.  One award will be presented in each of the following categories:

  • Chief Justice Award
  • Judge of the Year
  • Administration of Justice
  • Pro Bono Service
The second group, the Strategic Agenda Awards are presented at the October Court Leadership Conference with each award presented to an individual or group that has advanced one of the five goals within the strategic agenda, Advancing Justice Together: Courts & Communities.
Nominations are accepted for these awards.

The nomination period for the Strategic Agenda Awards is now closed.

2014 Strategic Agenda Awards (October)
View the winners here 2014 Award Winners Brochure.

Nominations are being accepted for individuals, teams, or projects that support one of the following goals:

  • Promoting Access to Justice
  • Protecting Children, Families, and Communities
  • Improving Court Processes to Better Serve the Public
  • Enhancing Professionalism within Arizona's Courts
  • Improving Communications and Community Participation

It may be helpful to review each section of the Strategic Agenda while you contemplate which goal is most appropriate for your nomination.  You can view the agenda by clicking here Advancing Justice Together: Courts & Communities.

An Administrative Order naming the selection committee may be found here 2014-78.  The Committee hopes to see a well-rounded list of entries representing probation, general jurisdiction courts, limited jurisdiction courts, and individual achievements. The Committee will make every effort to ensure that the award winners selected represent the hard work and dedication of all who work in Arizona's judiciary.