Court of Appeals

Division One

History of the Court

History of the Arizona Court of Appeals, Division One

The Arizona Legislature created the Arizona Court of Appeals in 1964 to accommodate the increase in appeals presented to the Arizona Supreme Court as the state grew in population. The court began operations in 1965 and serves as an intermediate appellate court with two divisions: Division One, based in Phoenix, and Division Two, based in Tucson.

Division One of the court came into existence with three judges and was expanded to its current number of sixteen judges throughout the years as the state’s population increased. The court considers appeals emanating from eight of Arizona’s fifteen counties: Apache, Coconino, La Paz, Navajo, Maricopa, Mohave, Yavapai, and Yuma. To date, 54 men and women have served as judges on the court.

The following articles were published by the Arizona Attorney in its June 2005 edition and thoroughly recount the court’s initial 40 years, including personal reflections and memories. The court thanks the publishers of the Arizona Attorney for allowing the court to maintain links to the articles on this site.

The Court's Initial 40 years:

Then and Now:

The Building of the State Courts Building:

Judicial Memories: