Tuesday, August 7, 2012
Judicial Performance Review Commission Announces Official Performance Ratings for Judges

The Arizona Judicial Performance Review (JPR) Commission has released its official findings on judicial performance for each judge whose name will appear on the General Election Ballot. Voters can find detailed information in the Secretary of State’s Publicity Pamphlet, which is mailed to each voting household, or by visiting www.azjudges.info.

How to Use the Website:

Voters may visit www.azjudges.info and then choose their county by clicking on the map or drop-down list to see all the judges on their ballot and the Commission's finding. 

By visiting the website www.azjudges.info, voters can see detailed reports on each judge's performance. Under each judge’s name, there are additional links that show voters extensive detail on important qualities such as a judge’s legal ability, integrity, judicial temperament, and other issues. For example, if a voter wants to see how jurors rated a judge on the question of “integrity,” that information is available on the website.

How the Arizona Judicial Performance Review Commission Works

In every General Election, voters decide how to vote for judges in their community. When voters review the ballot, they might see a long list of judges and wonder how to find information to help them decide how to vote on each judge. The Arizona Commission on Judicial Performance Review, a constitutionally created commission comprised of public members, attorneys, and judges, evaluates each of these judges and provides information so voters can make informed decisions. 

This Commission asks attorneys, jurors, litigants, witnesses, and other people who have appeared before these judges to complete a survey on the judge’s legal ability, integrity, judicial temperament, and other attributes. The Commission reviews this data and other public input, and then votes on whether a judge “meets” or “does not meet” judicial performance standards. 

The Commission publishes its findings in the Secretary of State’s Publicity Pamphlet, which is mailed to each voter household. You can also obtain this detailed information on the web at www.azjudges.info.

The following justices and judges will appear on the 2012 general election ballot:

Arizona Supreme Court:
A. John Pelander III

Court of Appeals, Division I:
Margaret H. Downie
Donn G. Kessler
Patricia Norris
Maurice Portley
Peter Swann

Court of Appeals, Division II:
Peter J. Eckerstrom

Philip G. Espinosa
Joseph W. Howard
Virginia Kelly

Superior Court in Maricopa County:
Helene F. Abrams
Eddward P. Ballinger
James P. Beene
A. Craig Blakey, II
Susan M. Brnovich
John A. Buttrick
Bruce R. Cohen
Connie Contes
Christopher A. Coury
Glenn Davis
John R. Ditsworth
Lisa Daniel Flores
Jeanne M. Garcia
David B. Gass
Pamela Gates
Jo Lynn Gentry-Lewis
Douglas Gerlach
Michael D. Gordon
John R. Hannah, Jr.
Cari A. Harrison
Kristin Hoffman
Michael W. Kemp
Daniel J. Kiley
Andrew G. Klein
Thomas L. LeClaire
Margaret R. Mahoney
Crane McClennen
M. Scott McCoy
Paul J. McMurdie
Colleen A. McNally
Michael R. McVey
Linda H. Miles
Robert E. Miles
Robert H. Oberbillig
Jose S. Padilla
David J. Palmer
Karen A. Potts
Timothy J. Ryan
Teresa A. Sanders
Roland J. Steinle, III
Sherry K. Stephens
Peter A. Thompson
David K. Udall
Christopher T. Whitten

Superior Court in Pima County:

Karen S. Adam
Gus Aragón
Deborah Bernini
Kyle A. Bryson
Carmine Cornelio
Jane L. Eikleberry
Richard S. Fields                                  
Richard Gordon
Howard Hantman
Jan E. Kearney
Kenneth Lee
Leslie B. Miller
Michael Miller
Scott H. Rash
Sarah R. Simmons
Christopher P. Staring
Paul E. Tang
Stephen C. Villarreal

Superior Court in Pinal County:
J. Rudy Georgini
Boyd T. Johnson
Robert Carter Olson
Stephen F. McCarville

Follow us on Facebook at Judicial Performance Review