Arizona Judicial Branch

Newest Justice Honored

Arizona Supreme Court's newest Justice, Ann A. Scott Timmer, was recently honored by the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law during the Arizona State Law Journal Banquet. 

Justice Timmer was given the John S. Lancy Distinguished Alumni Award during the banquet.

The John S. Lancy Award is named for a member of the first entering class at the Arizona State University College of Law in 1967, and the first editor of the Arizona State Law Journal. In 2001, Lancy died at the age of 56 after a battle with cancer. 

Since then, the Arizona State Law Journal implemented an annual alumni award in his honor that recognizes other influential alumni and contributors to the Law Journal. 

Past award winners include Chief Justice Rebecca Berch and former Phoenix Mayor Phil Gordon.

Justice Timmer was named to the Arizona Court of Appeals in 2000. She has served as Chief Judge (2008-2011) and Vice Chief Judge (2006-2008). When necessary, due to an absence, she has occasionally acted as a substitute Justice for the Arizona Supreme Court.  She was appointed to the Arizona Supreme Court in 2012.

Earlier this year, Justice Timmer was honored by the State Bar of Arizona with its Award of Special Merit, presented by the Board of Governors to members of the State Bar of Arizona who have made significant contributions to the furtherance of public understanding of the legal system, the administration of justice, and confidence in the legal profession.

Learn more about Justice Timmer.