Arizona Judicial Branch

Passing of the Gavel


On Friday June 27th, the Arizona Supreme Court will convene for a special court ceremony at which time current Chief Justice Rebecca White Berch will “pass the gavel” to Vice Chief Justice Scott Bales who will be sworn in as the new Chief Justice, effective July 1, 2014.  He will serve a five-year term as Chief Justice.

The ceremony will take place at the closing of the 2014 Judicial Conference.  

Justice John Pelander will be sworn in as the new Vice Chief Justice and serve a five-year term.

Chief Justice Berch will continue serving the people of Arizona and the judiciary as a justice on the Arizona Supreme Court.

More information on the Arizona Supreme Court Justices is available at Meet the Justices.