State of Arizona COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

	Disposition of Complaint 07-127		
Complainant:		No.	1310110695A
Judge:		No.	1310110695B

ORDER

The commission reviewed the complaint filed in this matter as well as the recording of the court proceeding and found no ethical misconduct on the part of the judge. Although the prosecutor indicated that she thought no complaint would be filed, there was no definitive ruling and no motion to dismiss. The judge was within her authority to set a bond in the case.

The complaint is dismissed pursuant to Rules 16(a) and 23(a).

Dated: June 26, 2007.

FOR THE COMMISSION

/s/ Keith Stott
Executive Director

Copies of this order were mailed to the complainant and the judge on June 26, 2007.

This order may not be used as a basis for disqualification of a judge.

State of Arizona Commission on Judicial Conduct 1501 W. Washington Street, Suite 229 Phoenix, Arizona 85007 FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

CJC-07-127

COMPLAINT AGAINST A JUDGE

Instructions: Describe in your own words what the judge of constitutes misconduct. Please provide all of the important in related to your complaint. You can use this form or plain payour complaint, and you may attach additional pages. Do not write back of any page. You may attach copies of any documents understand your complaint.	ames, dates, times and places per of the same size to explain te on the
On I appeared in Justice Court rep	oresenting at a
hearing pursuant to ARS §13-3961.A.5. The State, per	moved to vacate
the hearing due to the fact that was charged un	nder ARS §13-1303.A. which is only a
class six felony at most, and §13-3961.A.5 requires a class	1, 2,3, or 4 felony. The motion was
allowed without objection. The court then proceeded to a	address release conditions. I noted that
the probable cause statement and police reports did not sup	pport a felony charge, but at most a
misdementor, due to no physical injury to the victim, and t	he absence of any facts showing that
the victim was detained by at the time of his ar	rrest. On that basis I moved to
withdraw from the case, as appointment of counsel is only	mandated where confinement is
contemplated. The court noted that the 48 hour time limit	for filing of complaint had not yet run,
and asked the State if a complaint filing was contemplated.	The State indicated that a complaint
would not be filed. The victim addressed the court saying	that did not detain her at
any time, and that she did wish him released to return home	with her. I requested that he be
released on his own recognizance. The State did not oppos	se his release on his own recognizance

CJC-07-127

Despite uncontested testimony that	was innocent of the charge, and an avowal that
the State would not be filing charges (at lea	ast not within the 48 hour time limit), Judge
ordered that be held as	nd set a secured bond in the amount of
I have filed herewith relevant documents from	om the court file, and email between
myself and the State's attorney.	

(Attach additional sheets as needed)