
 

 

 

 

                            SUPREME COURT OF ARIZONA            

                                                                
In the Matter of:                 )  Arizona Supreme Court      

                                  )  No. R-08-0031              

PETITION TO AMEND RULES 74, 76,   ) 

79, 97, and FORMS 2, 4, 5, 7      ) 

and 8; and ADD FORM 16,           ) 

ARIZONA RULES OF FAMILY LAW       ) 

PROCEDURE                         )                             

                                  )                             

                                  )                             

                                  )                             

__________________________________)                             

 

 

ORDER 

AMENDING RULES 74, 76, 79, 97, AND FORMS 2, 4, 5, 7 AND 8; AND ADOPTING 

NEW FORM 16, ARIZONA RULES OF FAMILY LAW PROCEDURE 

 

 A petition having been filed proposing to amend Rules 74, 76, 79, 97, 

and Forms 2, 4, 5, 7 and 8; and add Form 16, Arizona Rules of Family Law 

Procedure, and the comment period having expired, upon consideration, 

 IT IS ORDERED that Rules 74, 76, 79, 97, and Forms 2, 4, 5, 7 and 8, 

Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure, be amended, and that new Form 16 of 

the same set of rules be adopted, all in accordance with the attachment 

hereto, effective January 1, 2010. 

 

  
 DATED this _______ day of September, 2009. 

 

 

       _______________________________ 

       REBECCA WHITE BERCH 

       Chief Justice 

 

TO: 

Rule 28 Distribution 

 

mwa 
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ATTACHMENT1 

 

Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure 

Rule 74.  Parenting Coordinator 

A.-I. [No change in text.]  

J. Court Action. The court, upon receipt of a report and recommendation from a Parenting Coordinator, 

may: (1) approve the recommendation and adopt it as an interim order of the court, subject to either party 

objecting or requesting a hearing within ten (10) days from the date the report and recommendation is submitted 

to the court not later than 10 days after the date of filing of the court’s order; (2) modify the recommendation 

and adopt the modified recommendation as an interim order of the court, subject to either party objecting or 

requesting a hearing within ten (10) days from the date the report and recommendation is submitted to the court 

not later than 10 days after the date of filing of the court’s order; (3) reject the recommendation report in whole 

or in part and affirm the current order, subject to either party objecting or requesting a hearing within ten (10) 

days from the date the report and recommendation is submitted to the court not later than 10 days after the date 

of filing of the court’s order; or (4) set a hearing on the assigned judicial officer’s calendar. The court may use 

Form 10, Order Regarding Parenting Coordinator’s Report and Recommendations, for purposes of this 

paragraph. 

K.-L. [No change in text.]   

COMMITTEE COMMENT 

This rule is based on Maricopa County Local Rule 6.12, Pima County Local Rule 8.11 and Coconino 

County Local Rule 20. The term “Parenting Coordinator” replaces the terms “special master” and “family court 

advisor” previously used in Arizona based on a national trend. Further, the Association of Family and 

Conciliation Courts (AFCC) has promulgated guidelines for the appointment of Parenting Coordinators. The 

appointment of a Parenting Coordinator is appropriate when parents have ongoing conflicts related to 

enforcement of custody and parenting time orders, which without a Parenting Coordinator would result in 

protracted litigation. The appointment of such persons to assist the court is authorized pursuant to A.R.S. § 25-

405, and shall also comply with the requirements of A.R.S. § 25-406. Parenting Coordinators are used 

throughout the country to assist in the effective resolution of the ongoing conflicts surrounding custody and 

parenting time issues. This rule is not intended to transfer the authority and jurisdiction of the superior court to 

make custody decisions or substantially modify parenting time. 

For purposes of example only, and not by limitation, short-term, emerging, and time-sensitive situations 

governed by paragraph G might be: 1) temporarily changing exchange day, time, or place due to an immediate 

need; 2) attendance at or participation in an unexpected special event or occasion by the child or a parent; 3) 

responsibility for care of a sick child or accompaniment to medical treatment; or 4) another unpredictable and 

significant need of the child or a parent. 

                                                           
1
 Changes or additions in rule text are indicated by underscoring and deletions from text are indicated by strikeouts. 



 

 

Additional parent information regarding the use of Parenting Coordinators may be found in Form 11, 

Parent Information Regarding the Use of Parenting Coordinators. 

The 2009 amendment of paragraph J does not preclude a party from filing an objection to the 

recommendation of the parenting coordinator prior to the court acting on the recommendation. 

 

Rule 76.  Pretrial Procedures 

       A.-B. [No change in text.]  

C. Pretrial Statement, Inventory of Property, and Financial Affidavits; Preparation; Final Pretrial 

Conference. 

       1.-5. [No change in text.]  

6.  The parties may comply with this paragraph by using the form of pretrial statement provided in Form 

16. 

D. [No change in text.]  

 

Rule 79.  Summary Judgment 

       A.-B. [No change in text.] 

C. Motion and Proceedings Thereon. 

1. Unless otherwise ordered by the court, all motions for summary judgment shall be filed not later 

than sixty (60) days prior to trial. Upon timely request by any party, the court shall set a time for 

hearing of the motion. If no request is made, the court may, in its discretion, set a time for such 

hearing. A party opposing the motion must file affidavits, memoranda, or both within fifteen (15) 30 

days after service of the motion. The moving party shall have five (5) 15 days thereafter in which to 

serve reply memoranda and affidavits. The foregoing time periods may be shortened or enlarged by the 

court or by agreement of the parties. The judgment sought shall be rendered forthwith if the pleadings, 

deposition, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show 

that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment 

as a matter of law. 

2. [No change in text.]  

       D.-G. [No change in text.] 
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Rule 97.  Forms  

INDEX OF FORMS 

 

Form 1. Notice of Limited Scope Representation 

Form 2. Affidavit of Financial Information 

Form 3. Confidential Sensitive Data Form  

Form 4. Proposed Dissolution Resolution Statement  

Form 5.  Proposed Paternity Resolution Statement 

Form 6. Joint Alternative Dispute Resolution Statement to the Court 

Form 7. Uniform Family Law Interrogatories  

Form 8. Consent Decree of Dissolution of Marriage (Divorce) With Children 

Form 9. Parenting Coordinator’s Report and Recommendations 

Form 10. Order Regarding Parenting Coordinator’s Report and Recommendations 

Form 11. Parent Information Regarding the Use Of Parenting Coordinators 

Form 12. Inventory of Property and Debts 

Form 13. Order to Appear Temporary Orders 

Form 14. Order to Appear Post-Judgment/Decree 

Form 15. Request for Protected Address and Order for Protected Address 

      Form 16.   Pretrial Statement 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

Form 2.  Affidavit of Financial Information 

1.-5. [No change in text.] 

6. SCHEDULE OF ALL MONTHLY EXPENSES FOR CHILDREN:   

 DO NOT LIST any expenses for the other party, or child(ren) who live(s) with the other party, unless 

you are paying those expenses.   

 Use a monthly average for items that vary from month to month.   

 If you are listing anticipated expenses, indicate this by putting an asterisk (*) next to the estimated 

amount.  

A. HEALTH INSURANCE: 

Do you have health insurance available? (Y/N)   Are you enrolled? (Y/N) 

1. Total monthly cost      $     

2. Premium cost to insure you alone     $     

3. Premium cost to insure child(ren) common to the parties $     

4. List all people covered by your insurance coverage:  

          

          

 5. Name of insurance company and policy/group number: 

       B.-H. [No change in text.]  

7.-8. [No change in text.]  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

Form 4.  Proposed Dissolution Resolution Statement 

1.-2. [No change in text.] 

3. Child Support:  (If there are no minor or disabled children common to the parties and were no minor or 

disabled children from the date the parties separated, skip to paragraph 5.)  The financial factors 

necessary to calculate child support under the Arizona Child Support Guidelines are as follows 

(complete in full):  

 Father’s gross monthly income:             $     

 Mother’s gross monthly income:             $     

[  ] Father has   other child(ren) not listed above who he is supporting who live(s) in his 

household. 

[  ] Father has   other child(ren) not listed above for whom he pays court-ordered child support in 

the amount of $_______________ per month. 

[  ] Mother has   other child(ren) not listed above who she is supporting live(s) in her household. 

[  ] Mother has   other child(ren) not listed above for whom she pays court-ordered child support 

in the amount of $     per month. 

[  ] Medical insurance should be paid by [  ] Mother [  ] Father.  Monthly cost for the child(ren) in 

this case is $    

[  ] Dental insurance should be paid by [  ] Mother [  ] Father.  Monthly cost for the child(ren) in this 

case is $    

[  ] Vision insurance should be paid by [  ] Mother [  ] Father.  Monthly cost for the child(ren) in this 

case is $    

[  ] Neither parent has insurance which is accessible and available at a reasonable cost. 

[  ] Mother [  ] Father  should pay cash medical support in the amount of $______ per month. 

[  ] Monthly child care costs for  _ child(ren) in this case are $   . 

[  ] Extra education expenses or extraordinary child adjustments - I believe the court should add the 

following to the child support calculation (leave blank if none claimed): 

  Description of expense     Monthly Amount 

              

              

 [  ] Uninsured medical/dental/vision expenses should be paid: 

  [  ] Pro rata based upon each party’s income, as provided in the Guidelines; or 

  [  ] Other:    % paid d by Father and    % paid by Mother. 



 

 

 [  ] Tax exemptions for the child(ren) should be divided: 

  [  ] Pro rata based upon each party’s income, as provided in the Guidelines; or 

  [  ] Other:            

4.-14. [No change in text.] 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

Form 5.  Proposed Paternity Resolution Statement 

1.-2. [No change in text.]  

3. Child Support:  The financial factors necessary to calculate child support under the Arizona Child 

Support Guidelines are as follows (complete in full): 

 Father’s gross monthly income: $________________ 

 Mother’s gross monthly income: $________________ 

 [  ] Father has   other child(ren) not listed above who live(s) in his household. 

[  ] Father has   other child(ren) not listed above for whom he pays court-ordered child support in 

the amount of $    per month. 

[  ] Mother has   other child(ren) not listed above who live(s) in her household. 

[  ] Mother has   other child(ren) not listed above for whom she pays court-ordered child support 

in the amount of $    per month. 

[  ] Medical insurance should be paid by [  ] Mother [  ] Father.  Monthly cost for the child(ren) is $  

 . 

[  ] Dental insurance should be paid by [  ] Mother [  ] Father.  Monthly cost for the child(ren) is $  

 . 

[  ] Vision insurance should be paid by [  ] Mother [  ] Father.  Monthly cost for the child(ren) is $  

 . 

[  ] Neither parent has insurance which is accessible and available at a reasonable cost. 

[  ] Mother [  ] Father should pay cash medical support in the amount of $______ per month. 

 [  ] Monthly child care costs for  _ child[ren] is $   . 

[  ] Extra education expenses or extraordinary child adjustments:  I believe the court should add the 

following to the child support calculation (leave blank if none claimed): 

    Description of expense     Monthly Amount 

          $     

          $     

          $     

 [  ] Uninsured medical/dental/vision expenses should be paid: 

  [  ] Pro rata based upon each party’s income as provided in the Guidelines; or 

  [  ] Other:   % paid by Father and   % paid by Mother. 

 [  ] Tax Exemptions for the child(ren) should be divided (check one): 



 

 

  [  ] Pro rata based upon each party’s income as provided in the Guidelines; or 

[  ] Other:              

 [  ] Past support should be paid by [ ] Mother [ ] Father for the period of __________ 

                        through ___________  in the amount of $________. 

 [  ] Direct payments for support have been [  ] received by me [  ] paid by me for the period of 

________________through _____________ in the amount of $____________. 

 [  ] Past medical expenses have been incurred by me (and not reimbursed by insurance) for the 

period of     through     in the amount of $    and the other 

parent should be ordered to reimburse me for   % of those expenses. 

 [  ] Expenses for pregnancy, childbirth, and genetic testing have been incurred by me (and not 

reimbursed by insurance) in the amount of $     and the other parent should be ordered to 

reimburse me for  % of those expenses. 

4.-7. [No change in text.]  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

Form 7.  Uniform Family Law Interrogatories 

1.-4. [No change in text.]  

5.  HEALTH INSURANCE 

Do you have health insurance available through your present employer? (Y/N) ______. Are you and any of your 

dependents currently enrolled? (Y/N) ______.  If yes, indicate what conversion benefits are available to your 

spouse at the time of the dissolution of marriage, and indicate the persons presently covered and the cost for 

dependent coverage, if any.   

a. Attach a copy of your current health plan. 

b. Provide documentation from your employer that sets forth the following: 

1. Cost to insure yourself only, if there is a cost; 

2. Cost to insure your spouse; and 

3. Cost to insure your child(ren). 

4.   Is the insurance (geographically) accessible to the children? 

6.-26. [No change in text.]  

 



 

 

Form 8.   Consent Decree of Dissolution of Marriage (Divorce) With Children 

Court Findings 1.-13. [No change in text.] 

Court Orders 1.-3. [No change in text.] 

4. CHILD CUSTODY, PARENTING TIME, AND CHILD SUPPORT:   

 a.-d. [No change in text.]  

e. MEDICAL AND DENTAL INSURANCE, PAYMENTS, AND EXPENSES:  

(1) Insurance.  [  ] Petitioner, OR [  ] Respondent is ordered to provide medical and dental insurance 

for the minor child(ren).  Medical and dental insurance, payments and expenses are based on the 

information in the Parent’s Worksheet for Child Support Amount attached hereto and incorporated 

by reference. The party ordered to pay must keep the other party informed of the insurance company 

name, address and telephone number, and must give the other party the documents necessary to 

submit insurance claims. 

If [  ] Petitioner, OR [  ] Respondent does not obtain private insurance within 90 days, Obligor shall 

pay $_____ per month for cash medical support beginning _____. If private medical insurance stops 

[  ] Petitioner, OR [  ] Respondent shall pay $___ per month for cash medical support beginning the 

first day of the month after the coverage ceases. 

(2) Alternative Cash Medical Support [  ] Neither parent has insurance which is      accessible and 

available at a reasonable cost. [  ] Petitioner, OR [  ] Respondent shall pay cash medical support in the 

amount of $______ per month. 

[  ] Petitioner, OR [  ] Respondent shall provide private medical insurance when it becomes 

accessible to the children and available at a reasonable cost. Upon verification that the obligated 

parent has obtained private insurance, the cash medical support order will terminate on the first day 

of the month after the policy’s effective date.  

(3) Non-Covered Expenses. Petitioner is ordered to pay  __________ %, AND Respondent is ordered 

to pay  ________ % of all reasonable uncovered and/or uninsured medical, dental, prescription, and 

other health care charges for the minor child(ren), including co-payments in excess of the cash 

medical support amount.  

 

Court Orders 5.-12. [No change in text.]  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

NEW FORM 16, ARIZONA RULES OF FAMILY LAW PROCEDURE 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

  



 

  



 

  



 

  



 

  



 

  



 

  



 

  


