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ARIZONA CODE OF JUDICIAL
ADMINISTRATION § 7-206:
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i Ny

The above captioned provision having come before the Arizona Judicial Council on March
15. 2001 and having been approved and recommended for adoption,

Now, therefore, pursuant to Article VI. Section 3. of the Arizona Constitution and Arizona
Revised Statutes § 32-4005(A).

IT IS ORDERED that the above captioned provision, including the Code of Conduct,
Certification Fee Schedule and Arizona Transcript Format Guidelines in the appendices, as attached
hereto. is adopted as a section of the Arizona Code of Judicial Administration.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the above captioned provision is effective on April 2,
2001.

Dated this 29th dayof  March . 2001,

&
THOMAS A. ZLAXET/
Chief Justice




ARIZONA CODE OF JUDICIAL ADMINISTRATION
Part 7: Administrative Office of the Courts
Chapter 2: Certification and Licensing Programs
Section 7-206: Court Reporter Standard Certification

A. Definitions.

“Board” means the same as provided by A.R.S. § 32-4002(1), that is: “Board” means the board
of certified court reporters.”

“Certify” means the same as provided by A.R.S. § 32-4002(4), that is: “Certify” means board
authorization to engage in activities regulated by the board.”

“Certification” means the same as provided by A.R.S. § 32-4002(2), that 1s: “Certification”
means a standard certificate that is issued by the board to a person who meets the requirements
of sections 32-4021 and 32-4022 and does not include a temporary certificate.”

“Certified court reporter” means the same as provided by A.R.S. § 32-4002(3), that is: “Certified
court reporter” means a person who is certified by the board and who records and transcribes a
verbatim record in any sworn proceeding by means of written symbols or abbreviations in
shorthand or machine writing.”

“Chapter” means Title 32, Chapter 40, Board of Certified Court Reporters, Arizona Revised
Statutes.

“Code section” means the referenced provision of the Arizona Code of Judicial Administration.
“Days” means the same as provided by Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure, that is: the
computation of days is as follows: if *“. .. less than 11 days, intermediate Saturdays, Sundays
and legal holidays shall not be included in the computation . . .” and if “. . . 11 days or more,
intermediate Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays shall be included in the computation.”

“Director” means the director of the administrative office, Arizona Supreme Court, or the
director’s designee.

“Program coordinator” means the staff appointed by the administrative director to administer the
program.

“Report” means the same as provided by A.R.S. § 32-4002(5), that is: “Report” means to
stenographically record and transcribe sworn proceedings.”

“Rules of court” means the Arizona Rules of Court.

“Section” means the referenced provisions of the Arizona Revised Statutes.
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“Supreme Court” means the Arizona Supreme Court.

. Applicability. This code section applies to the standard certification of court reporters pursuant
to Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 32, Chapter 40 and addresses all components of the
certification process including application, fees, criteria for approval or denial of certification,
resolution of complaints concerning certified court reporters and the discipline and
administrative hearing process. A.R.S. § 32-4001 provides: “This chapter does not apply to
persons, entities or courts that use nonstenographic means of recording. This chapter does not
limit the contempt powers of the court or the authority of the court to discipline court
employees.” Reference Code Section 7-207: Court Reporter Temporary Certification for
provisions regarding temporary certification of court reporters.

. Purpose. A.R.S. § 32-4003(A) provides: “Beginning July 1, 2000, a person shall not engage in
the stenographic reporting of proceedings in any court in this state and shall not take
stenographic depositions in this state for use in any court in this state unless the person is
certified pursuant to this chapter.” A.R.S. § 32-4003(D) provides: “Beginning July 1, 2000, it
is unlawful for any person who is not certified pursuant to this chapter to represent oneself as a
certified court reporter.” For eligibility to stenographically record and transcribe a verbatim
record in any sworn proceeding in this state for use in any court in this state, all persons must
hold a valid certificate and comply with the requirements of this code section, unless exempt
pursuant to subsection E(3)(c) of this code section. The reporter’s transcript is an important
document before, during and after a trial. The paper transcript and its electronic version are used
for trial preparation, briefs, impeachment purposes and appellate review. Property, freedom and
life all can depend on a clear and accurate record. Court reporting is integrally related to the
prompt, effective and impartial operation of the judicial system.

. Administration.

1. A.R.S.§ 32-4005(A) provides:
“The supreme court shall:
1. Administer the court reporter certification program.
2. Adopt rules.

3. Establish and collect fees, costs and fines that are necessary for the implementation and
enforcement of the program.”

2. A.R.S. § 32-4008 provides: “The supreme court shall set and collect the following fees to
carry out this chapter:

1. Examination fees.

2. Certificate application fees.
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3. Certificate renewal fees . . ..

6. Any other fees that are necessary and appropriate to carry out this chapter.”

A.R.S. § 32-4007(A) and (C) establishes the Court Reporters Fund and specifies . . . The
supreme court shall administer the fund ... .” and *. . . The supreme court may receive and
expend monies from the fund . .. .” The administrative director has the authority to approve
or disapprove matters of administration of the Court Reporter Certification Program that

involve the expenditure of program funds.

. The administrative director shall designate a program coordinator. The program coordinator
shall administer the Court Reporter Certification Program, provide updates to the board,
make recommendations regarding matters pertaining to certification, complaints and

investigations, and all other matters relevant to certified court reporters.

AR.S. § 32-4004 establishes the board and authorizes the chief justice to appoint members

for specified terms.

a. A.R.S. § 32-4005(B) provides:

B. The board shall:

1.

Make recommendations to the supreme court regarding rules, policies
and procedures, to implement and enforce this chapter, including the
following:

(a) Applicant testing.

(b) Fees.

(c) A code of conduct.

(d) Continuing education.

(e) Any other matter pertaining to certified court reporters.

Determine through testing and other means an applicant’s ability to make
a verbatim record of proceedings that may be used in any court by means
of written symbols or abbreviations in shorthand or machine writing.

Issue certificates to qualified applicants.

Investigate and take disciplinary action pursuant to section 32-4006.
Require each applicant to submit a full set of fingerprints to the supreme
court for the purpose of obtaining a state and federal criminal records
check pursuant to section 41-1750 and Public Law 92-544. The

department of public safety may exchange this fingerprint data with the
federal bureau of investigation.
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b. A.R.S. § 32-4004(E) provides: “The board shall assure that a record of its meetings and
. all official actions, a register of all applicants for certification and a roster of all certified
court reporters is maintained. The board shall designate the location where it maintains

the register and roster.”

E. Initial Certification.
1. Qualifications for Application. A.R.S. § 32-4021(A) provides:
A. An applicant for standard certification . . . at a minimum, shall:
1. Be at least eighteen years of age.
2. Beacitizen or legal resident of the United States.
3. Satisfy the requirements of section 32-4022.
4. Be of good moral character.

5. Possess a high school diploma or a general equivalency diploma or a similar
document or certificate.

6. Pursuant to rules adopted by the supreme court demonstrate reasonable
proficiency in making verbatim records of trial or judicial or related

. proceedings.

7. Comply with the laws and rules and orders adopted by the supreme court
governing court reporters in this state . . . .

2. Procedures for Application.

a. Applicants shall file a completed application with the board. The applicant shall sign the
application and duly verify the application under oath.

b. In addition, A.R.S. § 32-4021(A)(8) provides the applicant shall pay: “ . . . the fees
established pursuant to section 32-4008.” The program coordinator shall collect in
advance the fees specified in the fee schedule, which are not refundable. The program
coordinator shall forward the fees to the state treasurer for deposit in the Court Reporters
Fund, pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-4007.

c. AR.S. § 32-4021(A)(9) provides the applicant shall: “Submit a full set of fingerprints
with the fee prescribed in section 41-1750 to the supreme court for the purpose of
obtaining a state and federal criminal records check pursuant to section 41-1750 and
Public Law 92-544.”
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d. The applicant is responsible for providing the supreme court with a readable fingerprint
card. The applicant shall pay any costs attributable to the original fingerprinting or
subsequent fingerprinting due to unreadable fingerprints and any fees required for the
submission or resubmission of fingerprints. The applicant shall only use the fingerprint
card issued in the application packet and shall have the fingerprints taken by a law
enforcement agency.

e. The board may require the applicant, if definitive fingerprints are not obtainable, make
a written statement, under oath, that the applicant has not been arrested, charged, indicted,
convicted of or pled guilty to any felony or misdemeanor, other than as disclosed on the
application. If the applicant is unable to provide the statement, the board may refuse to
accept the application.

f. The board may waive the requirement for a fingerprint card if the applicant has previously
provided a fingerprint card to the supreme court.

g. The supreme court shall submit completed applicant fingerprint cards and the fees to the
Arizona Department of Public Safety. The Arizona Department of Public Safety shall
conduct applicant criminal history record checks pursuant to applicable state laws. The
Arizona Department of Public Safety, on behalf of the board, shall exchange registration
applicant fingerprint card information with the Federal Bureau of Investigation for
national criminal history record checks.

h. Applicants for standard certification must also meet the examination requirements
specified in subsection E(3) of this code section.

Examination.
a. Admittance to Examination.
(1) A.R.S. §32-4022(A) provides:

A. A person shall not be admitted to an examination without presenting
satisfactory evidence to the board that before the date on which the
application for examination was filed the person has done at least one of
the following:

1. Obtained one year of experience in making verbatim records of meetings,
conferences, hearings or judicial or related proceedings by means of
written symbols or abbreviations in shorthand or machine writing and in
transcribing these records.

2. Obtained a verified certificate of the satisfactory completion of a
prescribed course of study from a court reporting school or a certificate
from a school that evidences the equivalent proficiency and the ability to
make a verbatim record of material that is dictated pursuant to rules
adopted by the supreme court.

Page S of 27



3. Obtained a national court reporters association’s registered professional
reporter or registered merit reporter certificate.

4. Obtained a valid certificate to practice court reporting that is issued by
another state other than this state if the other state’s requirements and
certifying examination are substantially similar to or more stringent than
those in this state.

5. Demonstrated reasonable proficiency in making verbatim records of trial
or judicial or other related proceedings by passing an approved
examination for certification pursuant to rules adopted by the supreme
court.

(2) An applicant who applies for certification based on graduation from a court reporting
school pursuant to subsection E(3)(a)(1) of this code section shall provide a statement
of satisfactory completion demonstrating the applicant’s ability to pass or complete
all of the following:

(a) 3 testimony tests (question and answer) at 225 words per minute with 95%
accuracy;

(b) 3 jury charge tests at 200 words per minute with 95% accuracy;

(c) 3 literary tests at 180 words per minute with 95% accuracy;

(d) 2, 5 minute keyboarding tests at net 60 words per minute;

(e) 40 hours of internship verified by a working certified court reporter;

(f) Production of a 40 page salable transcript; and

(g) Course work that includes introduction to law, court procedures, business
English, word processing, computer-aided transcription and medical vocabulary.

b. Procedures for Examination.
(1) AR.S. § 32-4022(B) provides:
B. The examination for certification consists of the following two parts:
1. A national court reporters association’s registered professional
reporter examination or an alternative demonstration of proficiency

approved by the supreme court.

2. A written knowledge test of rules of the supreme court of Arizona and
statutes of this state relating to court reporters.

(2) The National Court Reporters Association (NCRA) Registered Professional Reporter

(RPR) skills test (SKT), is the approved proficiency examination to meet the
proficiency examination requirements of A.R.S. § 32-4022(B)(1).
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(3) The board shall administer the Arizona written knowledge test. An applicant shall
pass with a final score on this test that meets the guidelines established by the board.

(4) ARS. § 32-4022 provides:
“D. The supreme court shall specify a date and place for the examinations . . . .”

“F. An applicant who fails to pass the written examination prescribed by subsection
B, paragraph 2 may apply for reexamination at any time.

G. Anapplicant shall be disqualified from taking any future examination if the board
determines that the applicant engaged in fraud, dishonesty or corruption while
taking the examination.”

(5) A.R.S. § 32-4022(C) provides: “The board shall review the content and subject matter
of the examination and shall make changes as deemed necessary.”

c. Exemption from the Proficiency Examination.
(1) A.R.S. § 32-4022(E) provides:

E. An applicant who has passed a national court reporters association’s
registered professional reporter examination or a national court reporters
association’s registered merit reporter examination and the test prescribed
by subsection B, paragraph 2 may apply for certification without taking
and passing the examination prescribed by subsection B, paragraph 1 if the
applicant submits all of the following:

1. Proof that the applicant currently holds a current national court reporters
association’s registered professional reporter or registered merit reporter
designation.

2. A copy of the applicant’s national court reporters association’s registered
professional reporter or registered merit reporter certificate.

(2) Pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-4022(B)(1), an applicant may request and the board may
grant, an exemption from the proficiency examination requirements of subsection
E(3)(b)(1) of this code section if the applicant:

(a) Previously passed the Registered Professional Reporter or Certificate of
Proficiency examination and holds a valid Arizona temporary certificate at the
time of application, or previously passed the Registered Professional Reporter or
Certificate of Proficiency examination and can provide documentation, to the
satisfaction of the board, of sufficient experience as a court reporter and
continuing education credits to maintain proficiency as a court reporter; and
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(b) Meets all other provisions of this code section, including passing the Arizona
written test requirement of subsection E(3)(b)(1) of this code section.

(3) In addition to the provisions of subsection E(3)(c)(2) of this code section, and
pursuant to A.R.S. §32-4022(B)(1), an applicant may request and the board may grant
a provisional standard certificate to an applicant if the applicant meets all of the
following conditions:

(a) The applicant:

1) Holds a valid Arizona temporary certificate or can provide documentation,
to the satisfaction of the board, of sufficient experience as a court reporter
and continuing education credits to maintain proficiency as a court reporter;

ii) Haspassed 2 of the 3 required skill components and the written knowledge
test of the Registered Professional Reporter examination; and

ii1) Meets all other requirements for certification.

(b) An applicant granted a provisional certificate shall take and complete the third
and final skills component of the Registered Professional Reporter examination
within 12 months.

(¢c) An applicant who does not complete the third skills component within this time
frame shall not be granted any form of standard certification until all
requirements are met.

(4) In addition to the provisions of subsection E(3)(c)(2) and E(3)(c)(3) of this code
section and pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-4022(B)(1), an applicant may request and the
board may grant a provisional standard certificate to an applicant if the applicant
meets all of the following conditions:

(a) The applicant:

1) Has practiced as a court reporter for the 3 year period immediately preceding
application for standard certification;

1) Has passed at least 1 of the 3 required skill components and the written
knowledge test of the Registered Professional Reporter examination by June
30, 2002 and provides documentation of this to the board by the application
date established by the board for renewal of certificates expiring on
December 31, 2002; and

1i1) Meets all other requirements for certification.
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(b) The applicant shall pass the remaining 2 skill components of the Registered
Professional Reporter examination by June 30, 2004 and provide documentation
of this to the board by the application date established by the board for renewal
of certificates expiring on December 31, 2004.

(c) Anapplicant who does not complete the final skill components of the Registered
Professional Reporter examination by June 30, 2004 shall not be granted any
form of standard certification until all requirements are met.

4. Decision Regarding Certification.

a. A.R.S. § 32-4021(B) provides: “If the board is satisfied that an applicant meets the
requirements of this section and section 32-4022, the supreme court shall issue a
certificate to the applicant . . . .”

b. The board shall promptly notify qualified applicants of certification in accordance with
this code section. Each certified applicant shall receive a document evidencing
certification, in a form determined by the board, stating the applicant’s name, date of
certification, and certificate number.

c¢. Denial of certification.
(1) AR.S. § 32-4024(B) provides: “Pursuant to rules adopted by the supreme court, the
board may refuse to issue . . . a certificate for cause.” Further, AR.S. § 32-4024(A)

provides:

A. The board may refuse to issue a certificate . . . if the board finds that any
of the following applies:

1. The applicant does not meet to the board’s satisfaction the requirements
under sections § 32-4021 and § 32-4022.

2. The applicant has not been fingerprinted and the supreme court has not
received and reviewed the criminal records check analysis.

3. The applicant has not submitted the applicable documents and fees.
4. The applicant committed fraud, dishonesty, corruption or material
misrepresentation in applying for a certificate or on a certificate

examination in this state or another state.

5. The applicant has a record of a conviction by final judgment of a felony or
any other offense involving moral turpitude.

6. The applicant 1s currently on probation, parole or community supervision
for a felony offense or 1s named in an outstanding warrant.
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7. The court has ordered treatment for the applicant pursuant to Title 36 or
has found the applicant to be incapacitated pursuant to Title 14.

8. The applicant is subject to revocation or suspension of a certificate
pursuant to section 32-4041 or has had any occupational or professional
license denied, revoked or suspended.

9. The applicant has been found civilly liable in an action involving fraud,
misrepresentation, material omission, misappropriation, theft or conversion.

(2) Anapplicant’s failure to disclose information on the application that is subsequently
revealed through the fingerprint background check may constitute good cause, and
the board may automatically deny certification.

(3) The board shall promptly notify applicants denied certification, in accordance with
this code section, of the reasons for the denial, and of the applicant’s right to a
hearing.

(4) An applicant is entitled to a hearing, pursuant to this code section, on the decision to
deny certification or renewal if a written request is received within 15 days after
receipt of notice of the denial. The applicant is the moving party at the hearing and
has the burden of proof.

F. Role and Responsibilities of Certificate Holders.

1.

I

Code of Conduct. Each certified court reporter shall adhere to the code of conduct
incorporated in this code section and adopted by the supreme court, pursuant to this code
section and A.R.S. § 32-4005.

Identification. A.R.S. § 32-4003(C) provides: “Beginning July 1, 2000, a certified court
reporter shall include the title “certified court reporter” and the reporter’s certificate number
on the title or cover page of any transcript, on any business card, advertisement or letterhead
and on the certificate of any transcript.”

Certification of Transcripts. A.R.S. § 32-4003(B) provides: “Beginning July 1, 2000, a
certified court reporter shall sign and certify each transcript that the certified court reporter
prepares before the transcript may be used in court, except for transcripts that the court
reporter prepares for proceedings that occurred before July 1, 2000.”

Oaths and Affirmations. A.R.S. § 32-4025 provides: “A certified court reporter may
administer oaths and affirmations.”

Change of Name or Address. A.R.S. § 32-4023(C) provides: “A certificate holder shall

inform the supreme court of any change in name or address within thirty days after the
change occurs.” The certificate holder shall send this notice to the program coordinator.
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G. Renewal of Certification.

1.

Expiration Date. A.R.S. § 32-4023(A) provides: “A certificate i1ssued pursuant to this
article is subject to renewal each year and expires unless renewed by December 31.”
Certificates expire at midnight on December 31 of each year. All certifications shall
continue in force until expired, suspended, revoked or terminated. If the board receives the
request for renewal and prescribed fees after the established deadline, the board shall
determine the certificate expired as of December 31. The board shall treat any renewal
application postmarked after the established deadline as a new application.

Voluntary Surrender. An applicant may voluntarily surrender a certificate, however, this
surrender is not valid until accepted by the board. The board may require additional
information which is reasonably necessary to determine if the certificate holder has violated
this code section. The board shall, within 120 days of the voluntary surrender of the
certification, either file a notice of hearing regarding a complaint and disciplinary action, or
accept the surrender.

Application. A.R.S. § 32-4023(B) provides: “The certificate holder is responsible for
applying for a renewal certificate.” A certified court reporter must annually submit a
completed renewal application, applicable fees and documentation by the renewal
application deadline established by the board to remain eligible to serve as a court reporter
in Arizona.

Continuing Education. A.R.S. § 32-4023(D) provides: “A certificate holder shall include
with the application for renewal documentation satisfactory to the board that the certificate
holder has successfully completed at least ten hours of approved continuing education each
year.”

The board may, before granting a renewal of certification, require additional information
which is reasonably necessary to determine if the applicant continues to meet the
qualifications specified in this code section. This may include background information,
fingerprinting or a signed affidavit.

. Decision Regarding Renewal.

(1) A.R.S. § 32-4023(B) provides: “. . . On receipt of the renewal application and the
renewal fee, the board shall issue the applicant a new certificate for one year unless the
board finds that the applicant does not meet the requirements for renewal or that section
32-4024 applies.”

(2) Pursuantto A.R.S. § 32-4024, the board may deny renewal of a certificate for any of the
reasons specified in subsection E(4)(c) of this code section.

(3) The board shall promptly notify qualified applicants of the renewal of their certification
in accordance with this code section. Each certified applicant shall receive a document
evidencing certification, in a form determined by the board, stating the applicant’s
name, date of certification, and certificate number.
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(4) The board shall promptly notify applicants denied renewal of certification, in
accordance with this code section, of the reasons for the denial, and of the applicant’s
right to a hearing.

(5) An applicant is entitled to a hearing, pursuant to this code section, on the decision to
deny renewal if a written request is received within 15 days after receipt of notice of the
denial. The applicant is the moving party at the hearing and has the burden of proof.
The provisions of subsections H(9) through H(20) and H(23) of this code section apply
regarding the procedures for the hearing and appeal.

H. Complaints, Investigation, Hearings and Disciplinary Action.

1. Complaint.

a. A.R.S. § 32-4006(A) provides: “On its own motion or on receipt of a complaint, the board
shall investigate, prosecute and adjudicate alleged violations of this chapter, as appropriate,
and may conduct any investigation that would aid in the enforcement of this chapter.”

b. All judicial officers or their designee shall, and any person may, notify the board if it
appears a certificate holder has violated this code section. A complainant shall make the
complaint in writing with sufficient specificity to warrant further investigation. The
complaint shall include the name and telephone number of the complainant.

c. A certificate holder is subject to disciplinary action if the board finds 1 or more of the
following applies to the certificate holder:

(1) Wilful violation of or wilful noncompliance with applicable laws or a court order or
an order of the board, or any provision of Arizona Rules of Court or this code section;

(2) Failure to perform any duty to discharge any obligation required by this code section;

(3) Any of the reasons cited in A.R.S. § 32-4041(A) that grant the board authority to
revoke or suspend a certificate as follows:

1. Unprofessional conduct.

2. Violations of this chapter.

3. Gross negligence or incompetence in the performance of duties.
4. Fraud, dishonesty or corruption.

5. Inability to perform the duties of a court reporter at a level of skill that
1s required by the board.

6. Aiding or assisting another person to engage in the verbatim reporting

of any judicial proceeding if the other person is not a certified court
reporter.
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7. Conviction by final judgment of a felony offense or any other offense
involving moral turpitude.

8. The court has ordered treatment for a certified court reporter pursuant
to Title 36 or has found a certified court reporter to be incapacitated
pursuant to Title 14.

d. The expiration provisions described in subsection G of this code section do not affect the
right of the board to investigate and take disciplinary action regarding the certification of
a certificate holder if a complaint or investigation is pending prior to the expiration date.
Non-renewal of the certification by the certificate holder does not affect this provision.

e. A board shall dispose of a complaint by dismissal or imposition of 1 or more informal or
formal sanctions, as provided in this code section.

. Initial Screening. The board shall determine if a complaint warrants further investigation and
evaluation. If the board determines the complaint is outside the jurisdiction of Title 32,
Chapter 40, Arizona Revised Statutes and this code section, the board shall dismiss the
complaint. The board may refer the complaint to another state agency or entity with
jurisdiction, if appropriate.

. Preliminary Investigation. The program coordinator, at the direction of the board, shall
conduct a prompt, discreet and confidential investigation of the complaint and timely report
the findings to the board.

. Request for Response from Certificate Holder. The board shall deliver the complaint to the
certificate holder within a reasonable period of time after commencement of the investigation
and shall request the certificate holder provide a written response. The board shall not
proceed with disciplinary action under this code section without providing this notice and the
opportunity to respond.

. Review of Complaint and Investigation. Upon completion of the investigation, the board
may:

a. Determine no violation exists and dismiss the complaint;
b. Order further investigation,;

c. Determine the complaint is appropriate for resolution without proceeding to formal
proceedings; or

d. Determine the alleged violations constitute formal charges, and request staff prepare the
notice of hearing and proceed as provided in subsection (H)(8) of this code section.
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6. Emergency Suspension. A.R.S. § 32-4041(B) provides: ... if the board finds that the public

health, safety or welfare requires emergency action and incorporates a finding to that effect
in the order, the board may order the summary suspension of a certificate pending a
proceeding for certificate revocation or other action.” The board shall ensure these
proceedings are promptly instituted within 30 days. The program coordinator shall
immediately notify all presiding judges of the superior court of any summary suspension.

. Confidentiality. The board, program staff and court employees shall keep information or

documents obtained or generated by the board, program staff or court employees in the course
of an open investigation or received in an initial report of misconduct confidential except as
mandated by public record rules adopted by the supreme court or by this code section. Upon
determination by the board the alleged violations are sufficiently serious to warrant filing of
formal charges, the complaint, all records of proceedings and actions by the board pertaining
to the complaint are open to the public. Any complaint dismissed by the board pursuant to
subsections H(2) or H(5)(a) of this code section is confidential and not subject to public
inspection. The following actions by the board, whether imposed as the result of informal or
formal proceedings, are open to the public:

a. A cease and desist order;

b. Restrictions on a certificate;

¢. A mandate for additional training;
d. Imposition of a cost or fine;

e. Suspension of a certificate; and

f. Revocation of a certificate.

. Formal Proceedings.

a. Commencement. The board may commence formal proceedings if the board finds
reasonable cause to believe the certificate holder has committed misconduct under this
code section and the complaint is not appropriate for resolution by informal discipline.
The board may, upon commencement of formal proceedings, select a presiding hearing
officer, pursuant to subsection H(10) of this code section.

b. Notice to Certificate Holder. The board shall serve the formal statement of charges on the
certificate holder with a notice advising the certificate holder of the certificate holder’s
rights pursuant to this code section. This notice shall comply with the provisions of
subsection H(12) of this code section.
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9. Request for Hearing. All demands for hearing must specify:
a. The section of this code section that entitles the person to a hearing;
b. The factual basis supporting the request for hearing; and
c. The relief demanded.

10. Appointment of Presiding Hearing Officer. At the direction of the board, the board chair
or the program coordinator may select a presiding hearing officer, knowledgeable in
conducting hearings, to hold a hearing regarding the initial or renewal certification of an
applicant or alleged misconduct by a certificate holder, pursuant to this code section, or
upon written demand by a person entitled to a hearing, pursuant to this code section. The
board may request the presiding judge of the superior court in the county in which the
alleged violation took place, if applicable, supply the appointed presiding hearing officer,
a hearing room and any other necessary resources.

11. Time line for Hearing. The presiding hearing officer shall ensure the hearing is held within
45 days of receipt of the request if the request is made by an applicant, unless postponed by
mutual consent for good cause. If the request is from the board, the presiding hearing
officer shall ensure the hearing is held as soon as practical at the discretion of the presiding
hearing officer but no less than 15 days after notice, as required by section H(12) of this
code section.

12. Notice of Hearing. The board shall prepare and give the parties notice of the hearing at least
15 days prior to the date set for hearing. The notice shall include the following information:

a. A statement of the time, place and nature of the hearing;
b. A statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction for conduct of the hearing;

c. A reference to the particular sections of the statutes, this code section and policies
involved; and

d. A short and plain statement of the allegations or factual basis supporting the relief
requested, which may be amended as necessary.

e. If the notice is for a violation or denial of certification and if the hearing date has not
previously been set, a statement indicating the certificate holder or applicant has the right
to a hearing upon request, if a request is made in writing within 15 days of receipt of the
notice.

f. The board shall ensure service of the notice is accomplished by personal service or by
certified mail, return receipt requested to the last business address of record with the
board. Proof of service is made by filing with the presiding hearing officer a verified
statement that service was made. Service by mail is complete upon deposit in the United
States mail.
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g.

If a party 1s represented by an attorney, the board shall make service upon the attorney.

13. Filings, Answers and Pleadings.

14.

a.

Parties shall file answers to the notices within 10 days after the date the notice is served,
unless otherwise ordered by the presiding hearing officer. Answers shall comply with
Rule 8 of the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure. If a party fails to file an answer within
the time provided, the person is in default and the presiding hearing officer may determine
the proceeding against the party and admit 1 or more of the assertions contained in the
notice. The presiding hearing officer shall determine that any defenses not raised in the
answer are waived.

. Parties shall file motions at least 5 days prior to the scheduled hearing date, unless

otherwise ordered by the presiding hearing officer.
Parties shall file responses to motions within 5 days of the filing of the motion.

Copies of all filings shall be delivered to the presiding hearing officer, the board and all
parties to the proceeding.

Discovery.

a.

No discovery is permitted, except as provided in this code section, unless mutually agreed
to by the parties or permitted by the presiding hearing officer.

. The presiding hearing officer, upon written request, shall order a party to allow the

requesting party to have a reasonable opportunity to inspect and copy, at the requesting
party's expense, admissible documentary evidence or documents reasonably calculated
to lead to admissible evidence prior to a hearing, provided the evidence is not privileged.

The presiding hearing officer, on the presiding hearing officer’s motion or upon request,
may require, prior to the hearing, the disclosure of documentary evidence intended for use
at the hearing, provided the evidence is not privileged.

. Parties may take depositions for use as evidence of witnesses who cannot be subpoenaed

or are otherwise unable to attend the hearing. In order to take a deposition, a party shall
file with the presiding hearing officer a written motion, with copies to all parties, setting
forth the name and address of the witness, subject matter of the deposition, documents,
if any, the parties are seeking for production, time and place proposed for the deposition,
and justification for the deposition.

Parties shall file responses to requests for depositions, including motions to quash, within
5 days after the filing of the request for deposition.

If a deposition is permitted, a subpoena and a written order shall be issued. The subpoena

and order shall identify the person to be deposed, scope of testimony to be taken,
documents, if any, to be produced, and time and place of the deposition. The party
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requesting the deposition shall arrange for service of the subpoena and order, with service
on all parties 5 days before the time fixed for taking the deposition unless, for good cause
shown, the time is shortened by the presiding hearing officer.

15. Subpoenas.

16.

a.

A.R.S. § 32-4006 provides: . . .

B. For the purposes of investigations or hearings under this chapter, the board
may administer oaths and affirmations, subpoena witnesses, take evidence and
require the production of documents, records or information, either kept in
original form or electronically stored or recorded, or other items that are
relevant or material to the inquiry.

C. If a person fails to obey a subpoena issued pursuant to this section, the board
may request the superior court to issue an order that requires the appearance
by a person or the production of documents or other items, or both. The court
may treat the failure to obey the order as contempt of court and may punish
the contempt.

. Subpoenas shall be issued in the same manner as provided by the Arizona Rules of Civil

Procedure. An employee of the court or any other person as designated by the Arizona
Rules of Civil Procedure may serve the subpoena.

. Subpoenas shall be served as prescribed by the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure.

The presiding hearing officer may, if a person fails to obey a subpoena lawfully served,
request the superior court issue an order that requires the appearance of the person or the
production of documents or other items, or both. The court may treat the failure to obey
the order as contempt of court and may punish the contempt.

Prehearing Conference. The presiding hearing officer may order a prehearing conference at
the request of any party or on the presiding hearing officer’s own initiative. The purpose
of the conference is to consider any or all of the following actions:

a.

b.

To reduce or simplify the issues for adjudication;
To dispose of preliminary legal issues, including ruling on prehearing motions;

To stipulate to the admission of evidence, facts and legal conclusions that are not
contested;

. To identify witnesses;

To consider any other matters that will aid in the expeditious conduct of the hearing.
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17. Procedure at Hearings.

a. The presiding hearing officer shall preside over the hearing. The presiding hearing officer

has the authority to decide all motions, conduct prehearing conferences, determine the
order of proof and manner of presentation of other evidence, issue subpoenas, place
witnesses under oath, question witnesses, recess or adjourn the hearing and prescribe and
enforce general rules of conduct and decorum. Informal disposition may be made of any
case by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent order or default.

. Rights of Parties. At a hearing:

(1) A party is entitled to enter an appearance, introduce evidence, examine and cross-
examine witnesses, make arguments, and generally participate in the conduct of the
proceeding.

(2) Any person may represent themselves or appear through counsel. An attorney who
intends to appear on behalf of a party shall promptly notify the presiding hearing
officer and the board providing the name, address and telephone number of the party
represented and the name, address and telephone number of the attorney. A corporate
officer may represent a business entity in any proceeding under this code section.

(3) All persons appearing before a board or presiding hearing officer in any proceeding
shall conform to the conduct expected in the Arizona Superior Court.

. Conduct of Hearing.

(1) The presiding hearing officer may conduct the hearing in an informal manner and
without adherence to the rules of pleading or evidence. The presiding hearing officer
shall require that evidence supporting a decision is substantial, reliable and probative
and shall exclude irrelevant, immaterial or unduly repetitious evidence. There is no
right to a jury. All hearings are open to the public.

(2) The presiding hearing officer shall require that all testimony considered is under oath
or affirmation, except matters of which judicial notice is taken or entered by
stipulation. The presiding hearing officer may administer oaths and affirmations.

(3) In all matters brought at the request of the board, evidence in support of the board's
action is presented first and has the burden of proof. In matters brought at the request
of someone other than the board, including requests for hearing on the denial of
certification or renewal of certification, the person seeking the hearing shall present
first and carries the burden of proof.
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18.

19.

20.

21.

d. Record of Hearing.

(1) The presiding hearing officer shall ensure the oral proceedings or any part of the oral
proceedings are electronically recorded and transcribed on request of any party. The
party making the request shall pay the cost of the transcript.

(2) A competent court reporter shall make a full stenographic record of the proceedings
if requested by a party within 5 days prior to a hearing. The cost of the transcript is
the responsibility of the requesting party. The presiding hearing officer may require
prepayment or a monetary deposit to cover the cost of the transcript. If transcribed,
the record is a part of the court's record of the hearing and any other party with a
direct interest shall receive a copy of the stenographic record, at the request and
expense of the party. If no request is made for a stenographic record, the presiding
hearing officer shall ensure the proceedings are recorded as described in subsection
H(17)(d)(1) of this code section. :

Recommendations of Presiding Hearing Officer. If applicable, the presiding hearing
officer shall within 30 days of the closing of the record of a hearing, prepare written
recommendations and deliver the recommendations to the board. The recommendations
shall include findings of fact, based on a preponderance of evidence and conclusions of
law, separately stated.

Rehearing. The presiding officer may grant a rehearing or reargument of the matters
involved in the hearing, upon written request of a party to a hearing filing the request with
the presiding hearing officer. The party shall make the request within 15 days after any
order made pursuant to a hearing was mailed or delivered to the person entitled to receive
the order. The presiding hearing officer shall make the decision to grant or deny the
request within 30 days of the date of filing of the request. A party shall base a request for
rehearing or review on 1 or more of the grounds listed in Rule 59, Arizona Rules of Civil
Procedure, which materially affected the rights of a party and shall conform to the
requirements of Rule 59. The presiding hearing officer shall permit any party served with
a request for rehearing to file a response within 15 days of service.

Decisions and Orders. The board shall render the final decision. The board shall make
any final decision or order in writing and shall include findings of fact and conclusions
of law, separately stated. The board shall make findings of fact by a preponderance of the
evidence, based exclusively on the evidence and on matters officially noticed. The board
shall notify the parties either personally or by mail to their last known address of any
decision or order.

Possible Actions.

. Upon completion of an investigation concerning alleged misconduct by a certificate

holder, which may or may not include a hearing, the board shall do 1 or more of the
following:

(1) Determine no violation exists;
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(2) Resolve the violation by consent order or other negotiated settlement between the

. parties;

(3) Place restrictions on a certificate;
(4) Mandate additional training; or
(5) Impose a sanction as follows:

(a) Pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-4006(D) which provides: “D. The board shall impose
cease and desist orders, issue letters of concern or warnings or order revocation
or suspension of certification for violations of this article and assess costs and
fines associated with these activities. These costs and fines shall be deposited
in the court reporters fund established by section 32-4007.”

(b) The board may determine and impose a fine not to exceed $2,000 for each failure
or violation, and not to exceed an aggregate fine of $15,000. The certified court
reporter shall pay the fine to the board for remission to the state treasurer for
deposit in the Court Reporters Fund.

b. The board shall issue an order specifying in what manner and to what extent the failure
or violation is found and any sanctions pursuant to this code section.

22. Procedure after Suspension or Revocation.

a. Notice of Suspension or Revocation. Upon suspension or revocation of any certification
. the board shall promptly serve notice upon the certificate holder either in person or by
certified mail, return receipt requested, addressed to the last address of record with the

board. Notice by mail is complete upon deposit in the United States mail.

b. Reinstatement. A.R.S. § 32-4042 provides: “A court reporter whose certificate was
suspended or revoked may apply in writing for a reinstatement of the certificate on a
showing of good cause and paying the renewal fee. The board may grant or deny the
request, may require the applicant to take or retake the examination for certification and
may impose other conditions for reinstatement.”

23. Appeals. Decisions of the board pursuant to this code section are subject to judicial review

in the Arizona Superior Court in Maricopa County pursuant to the provisions of A.R.S. §
Title 12, Chapter 7, Article 6.
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Preamble.

Standard 1.

Standard 2.

Section 7-206: Court Reporter Standard Certification
Appendix A
Code of Conduct

The following code of conduct is adopted by the Arizona Supreme Court to apply to
all certified court reporters pursuant to Title 32, Chapter 40, Arizona Revised
Statutes. The purpose of this code of conduct is to establish minimum standards for
performance by certified court reporters.

Ethics.

a. A court reporter shall avoid impropriety and the appearance of impropriety in all
activities, shall respect and comply with the laws, and shall act at all times in a
manner that promotes public confidence in the integrity and impartiality of the
judicial system.

b. A court reporter shall exercise fairness and impartiality toward each participant in
all aspects of reported proceedings and always offer to provide comparable service
to all parties in a proceeding.

c. A court reporter shall have no personal or financial self-interest in the reporting of
a proceeding and shall exercise caution to avoid any appearance of self-interest.

d. A court reporter shall be alert to situations that are conflicts of interest, that may
give the appearance of a conflict of interest, or create an appearance of partiality.

e. A court reporter shall promptly make full disclosure to all parties or their
representatives of any relationships including contracts for court reporting services,
which may give the appearance of a conflict of interest or impartiality.

f. A courtreporter shall refrain from knowingly making misleading, deceptive, untrue
or fraudulent representations while in the practice of court reporting. A court
reporter shall not engage in unethical or unprofessional conduct that is harmful or
detrimental to the public in the practice of court reporting. Proof of actual injury
1s not required.

Professionalism.
a. A court reporter shall preserve the confidentiality and ensure the security of
information, verbal or written, entrusted to the court reporter by the court or any

of the parties in the proceeding.

b. A court reporter shall be truthful and accurate when advertising or representing the
court reporter’s qualifications, skills or abilities, or the services provided.
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Standard 3.

c. A court reporter shall maintain and observe the highest standards of integrity and
truthfulness in all professional dealings.

d. A courtreporter shall keep abreast of current literature, technological advances and
developments and shall fulfill ongoing training requirements to maintain
professionalism.

Fees and Services.

a. A court reporter shall charge all private parties or their attorneys in the same action
the same price for an original transcript and charge all private parties or their
attorneys the same price for a copy of a transcript for like services performed in an
action.

b. A court reporter shall, upon request at any time, disclose in writing an itemization
of all rates and charges to all parties or their attorneys.

c. A court reporter shall determine fees independently, except when established by
statute or court order, entering into no unlawful agreements with other reporters on
the fees to any user.

d. A court reporter shall at all times be aware of and avoid impropriety or the
appearance of impropriety, which may include, but is not limited to:

(1) Establishing contingent fees as a basis of compensation;

(2) Directly or indirectly receiving of any gift, incentive, reward, or anything of
value as a condition of the performance of professional services;

(3) Directly or indirectly offering to pay any commission or other consideration
in order to secure professional assignments;

(4) Directly or indirectly giving, for the benefit of employment, any gift,
incentive, reward or anything of value to attorneys, clients, witnesses,
insurance companies or any other persons or entities associated with the
litigation, or to the representatives or agents of any of the foregoing, except
for nominal items that do not exceed $ 25.00 per transaction and $ 100.00 in
the aggregate per recipient each year;

(5) Enteringinto any written or verbal financial relationship with counsel, parties
of interest or their intermediaries that:
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Standard 4.

Standard 5.

(a) Undermines the actual or perceived impartiality of the court reporter; or

(b) Does not provide or offer any private party of interest comparable court
reporting services in the same proceedings.

Skills and Practice.

a. A court reporter shall take full and accurate stenographic notes of any proceeding
and shall not wilfully alter the stenographic notes.

b. A court reporter shall accurately transcribe verbatim any stenographic notes taken
at any proceeding and shall not wilfully alter the transcript.

¢. A court reporter shall provide a transcript to a client or court in a timely manner.
The court reporter shall meet promised delivery dates and make timely delivery of
transcripts when no date is specified. A court reporter shall meet transcript
preparation deadlines in accordance with rules, statutes, court orders, or agreements
with the parties. A court reporter shall provide immediate notification of delays.

d. A court reporter shall not go “off the record” during a deposition or court
proceeding unless agreed to by all parties or their attorneys or ordered by the court.

e. A court reporter shall accept only those assignments for which the court reporter’s
level of competence will result in the preparation of an accurate transcript. The
court reporter shall decline an assignment when the court reporter’s abilities are
inadequate.

f. A court reporter shall prepare the record in accordance with applicable laws, rules
or court order.

g. A court reporter shall preserve the stenographic notes in accordance with Arizona
laws, federal laws and the Arizona Rules of Court.

Official Court Reporters.

a. An official court reporter may engage in freelance reporting duties only if the
following criteria are met:

(1) The presiding superior court judge or designee has given express
authorization; the reporter’s official work is up to date and there are no
transcripts the court reporter is preparing in which a court has granted an
extension of time; and

(2) The presiding superior court judge or designee has authorized the reporter
to take annual leave during the time the freelance work is scheduled unless:
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Standard 6.

(a) The freelance work is scheduled during hours the court is not open for
business; or

(b) The presiding superior court judge or designee has granted the reporter
time off in compensation for overtime previously worked.

b. A court reporter shall never purport to speak or act for a judge regarding judicial
matters.

c. A court reporter shall not express an opinion as to how a case should be decided
or what verdict a jury will return.

Performance in Accordance with Law.

a. The court reporter shall perform all duties and discharge all obligations in
accordance with applicable laws, rules or court orders.

b. Contracts covering court reporter services having a fixed period of time, minimum
or otherwise, between persons holding certificates under this code section or any
person for whom the reporters act as agents and any attorney at law or agent or any
insurance company or agent or any other person, are prohibited. This prohibition
does not prevent any person holding a certificate, upon request of an attorney or an
agent of an attorney or an insurance company, from quoting rates for both originals
and copies of depositions for a particular deposition to be taken, or for all
depositions in a case, provided that the same rate is charged to all other parties
obtaining copies and provided further that the charge for the original is no less than
60 per cent higher than the charge per copy.

c. A court reporter shall not take a deposition if the court reporter is:
(1) A party to the action;
(2) Arelative, employee, or attorney of 1 of the parties;
(3) Someone with a financial interest in the action or its outcome; or

(4) Arelative, employee, or attorney of someone with a financial interest in the
action or the outcome. For the purposes of this subparagraph, “employee” or
“relative” shall not include an employee or relative of the attorney or 1 of the
parties.

d. For the purposes of Standard 6(c) of this code section, “employee” includes a
person who has a continuing contractual relationship with a person or entity
interested in the outcome of the litigation, including anyone who may have ultimate
responsibility for payment to provide reporting or other court services, and a person
who is employed part-time or full-time under contract or otherwise by a person
who has a contractual relationship with a party to provide reporting or other court
services.
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Code Section 7-206: Court Reporter Standard Certification
Appendix B
Certification Fee Schedule

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-4008, the Arizona Supreme Court shall set and collect fees necessary to
carry out the provisions of Title 32, Chapter 40, Arizona Revised Statutes pertaining to the
certification of court reporters.
A. Initial Certification.

1. Imitial Certification Fee $200.00

2. Fingerprint Processing Fee $ 24.00
(Current rate set by Arizona law and subject to change)

B. Renewal Certification.

1. Annual Certification Renewal Fee $200.00
(All certificates expire on December 31°' of each year)
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Section 7-206: Court Reporter Standard Certification
Appendix C
Arizona Transcript Format Guidelines

Transcripts filed by certified court reporters in courts in the state of Arizona shall conform to the
following guidelines:

1.

2.

10.

No fewer than 25 typed lines on standard 8-1/2 x 11 inch paper;
No fewer than 9 or 10 characters to the typed inch;

Left-hand margin set at no more than 1-3/4 inches;

Right-hand margin set at no more than 3/8 inch;

Each question and answer to begin on a separate line;

'Each question and answer to begin no more than 5 spaces from the left-hand margin with no

more than 5 spaces from the g and a to the text;
Carry-over q and a lines to begin at the left-hand margin;

Colloquy material to begin no more than 15 spaces from the lefi-hand margin, with carryover
colloquy to the left-hand margin;

Quoted material to begin no more than 15 spaces from the left-hand margin, with carry-over
lines to begin no more than 10 spaces from the left-hand margin; and

Parentheticals and exhibit markings to begin no more than 15 spaces from the left-hand margin,
with carry-over lines to begin no more than 15 spaces from the left-hand margin.
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