#### IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ARIZONA

In the Matter of:	)	
	)	
APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS	)	
TO LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES,	)	Administrative Order
COMMISSIONS OR COUNCILS	)	No. 2002 - 76
	)	

Pursuant to laws established during the 2002 Legislature Second Regular Session, the Chief Justice is responsible for appointing certain members of the following legislative committees, commissions or councils:

Laws 2002, Chapter 311, created the **Sentencing Commission** for the purpose of reviewing this state's existing sentencing structure, including its laws, policies and practices. The Chief Justice is responsible for appointing two superior court judges, one of whom is from a county with a population of 750,000 persons or more, and one of whom is from a county with a population less than 750,000 persons; one director of an adult probation program; and one municipal court judge.

Laws 2002, Chapter 319, created the **State Council for Interstate Adult Offender Supervision** for the purpose of exercising oversight and advocacy concerning Arizona's participation in Interstate Commission activities and other duties as determined by the Council's members. The Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts with the advice and consent of the Chief Justice will appoint a deputy compact administrator of the Administrative Office of the Courts. The Chief Justice shall appoint one judge to serve as a member of the Council.

Laws 2002, Chapter 223, created the **Sex Offender Probation Study Committee** for the purpose of evaluating the effectiveness of sex offender probation in Arizona. The Chief Justice shall appoint two county adult probation officers or their designees, one of whom represents a county with a population of more than 400,000 according to the most recent United States decennial census and one of whom represents a county with a population of 400,000 persons or less according to the most recent United States decennial census.

Laws 2002, Chapter 291, created the **Joint Study Committee on State Funding of the Court System** for the purpose of reviewing the state funding of the Arizona court system and to recommend a plan for the state funding of the judicial system. Members of the Committee will include the Chief Justice of the Arizona Supreme Court or designee; the Administrative Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts or designee, and one member who is a presiding judge and who is appointed by the Chief Justice of the Arizona Supreme Court.

Therefore, after due consideration and pursuant the above named Chapter Laws 2002,

IT IS ORDERED that the individuals listed below are appointed to the designated legislative committees, commissions or councils for a term of service as designated below:

## **Sentencing Commission**

(Two superior court judges; one municipal court judge; one director of adult probation) Term of service begins upon entry of this Order and ending December 31, 2003.

Honorable Thomas A. O' Toole Honorable H. Jeffrey Coker

Superior Court Judge
Maricopa County
Superior Court Judge
Coconino County

Diane McGinnis, Director

Adult Probation Department

Municipal Court Judge

Pima County Tucson City Court

# **State Council for Interstate Adult Offender Supervision**

(A deputy compact administrator and one judge)

Term of service begins upon entry of this Order and ending December 31, 2003.

Dora Lee Littler Honorable Robert Budoff

Deputy Compact Administrator Superior Court Judge, Maricopa County

### **Sex Offender Probation Study Committee**

(Two county adult probation officers or designee)

Term of service begins upon entry of this Order and ending December 31, 2002.

Barbara Broderick Rod Marquadt, Chief Probation Officer

Chief Adult Probation Officer Chief Probation Officer

Maricopa County Mohave County

### Joint Study Committee on State Funding of the Court System

(Chief Justice of the Arizona Supreme Court or designee; the AOC Administrative Director and one presiding judge)

Term of service begins upon entry of this Order and ending December 31, 2003.

Honorable Ruth V. McGregor David K. Byers, Director

Vice Chief Justice Administrative Office of the Courts

Honorable William J. O'Neil

Presiding Judge, Superior Court in Pinal County

Dated this 17 th day of July , 2002.

CHARLES E. JONES

Chief Justice