## SUPREME COURT OF ARIZONA

IMAY 31 1989

NOEL K DESSAINT
CLERK SUPREME COURT
REFERENCE COURT

COUNCIL ON JUDICIAL ADMINISTRATION BY
COMMITTEE ON DUI/CRIMINAL CASE PROCESSING DELAY

Administrative Order No. 89-11

In accordance with Administrative Order 87-17, the Chief Justice may establish advisory committees to the Council on Judicial Administration to assist the Council in carrying out its responsibilities. Now, therefore,

## IT IS ORDERED THAT:

- 1. An advisory committee on criminal case processing is hereby established as a committee to the Council on Judicial Administration and shall be known as the Committee on DUI/Criminal Case Processing Delay.
- 2. The purpose of the Committee is to review the status of DUI and other criminal cases in the Superior Court and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction to determine whether there are backlogs of certain categories of criminal cases that require special attention. For those categories where backlogs exist, the Committee shall identify the major reasons for the backlogs and develop recommendations for the Council on Judicial Administration to reduce any identified backlogs. A preliminary report shall be completed and presented to COJA by its December 1989 meeting.
- 3. The following persons are appointed to the Committee on DUI/Criminal Case Processing Delay beginning June 1, 1989, to serve until completion of the Committee's work:

Tim McNeel Coconino County Attorney

Kerry Wangberg City Prosecutor City of Phoenix

Lt. Bob Halliday
Department of Public Safety

Judge Howard Nordeck Green Valley Justice Court

Judge Margaret Trujillo Tempe Justice Court

Judge Robert Carrillo Yuma Municipal Court Pat Jacobs Court Administrator Pima Justice Courts

Gordon Allison Court Administrator Maricopa Justice Courts

Toni Stevenson Judicial Administrator Peoria Municipal Court

Ron Zimmerman Court Administrator Tucson Municipal Court

Gordon Griller Court Administrator Maricopa Superior Court Judge Louraine Crawford Phoenix Municipal Court

Judge John Sticht Maricopa Superior Court

LaVon McGlinn Chief Clerk Prescott Justice Court

Mark Weinberg Judicial Administrator Maricopa Superior Court Jack DeBolske League of Cities and Towns

Jim Shipman County Supervisors Association

Mark S. Williams Phoenix Attorney

Bruce Griffen Flagstaff Attorney

Jim Scorza Court Administrator Phoenix Municipal Court

4. Pat Jacobs is appointed as chairperson, and Mark Williams is appointed as vice chairperson, to serve until the Committee completes its work.

DATED AND ENTERED this 31 day of May, 1989, at the State Capitol, Phoenix, Arizona.

FRANK X. GORDON, JR. Chief Justice