## FILED JUL 3 1 1991

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ARIZONA

IN THE MATTER OF THE CREATION OF THE ) POST CONVICTION RELIEF STUDY ) COMMITTEE OF THE SUPREME COURT ) AND THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS )

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 91-22

A Post Conviction Relief Committee is hereby established comprised of the individuals listed below. In cooperation with the Executive and Legislative departments and the State Bar of Arizona, it is the understanding of the Supreme Court that all or the majority of the members of this committee shall subsequently be appointed to the committee required pursuant to HB 2412. It is the intent that this body develop and coordinate recommendations for any legislation and court rule changes that might be needed.

The purpose of the judicial Post Conviction Relief Study Committee is to review the current post conviction relief rules, any petition(s) pending before the Supreme Court to modify such rules, relevant state and federal law, and any other relevant material concerning post conviction relief. The committee is to make recommendations to the Supreme Court regarding any changes that should be made. Recommendations from the committee for rule changes should be made by December 1, 1991. The committee may hear testimony from interested parties if desired or needed.

The members are directed to elect a chairman from the membership at their first meeting.

Subject to the availability of funds, travel and per diem expenses of the committee members may be paid by the Administrative Office of the Courts pursuant to travel policies and procedures approved by the Supreme Court.

IT IS ORDERED that the following persons are appointed as members of the Post Conviction Relief Study Committee:

Senator Chuck Blanchard Senator John Greene Representative Catherine Eden Representative Patricia Noland Paul McMurdie from the Office of the Attorney General Chick Hastings, Yavapai County Attorney Jessica Funkhauser of the Office of the Maricopa County Attorney Charles Krull from Maricopa County Public Defender's Office Allen Gerhart from Pinal County Public Defender's Office Judge Ronald Reinstein of Maricopa County Superior Court Page Two of Two

Judge James Sult of Yavapai County Superior Court Denise Young, representative of the State Bar Bruce Griffen, representative of the State Bar Nancy Kroger, victims' rights representative Natasha Wagner, victims' rights representative

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the term of membership for this study committee shall expire on January 1, 1992.

DATED AND ENTERED this <u>31st</u> day of July, 1991.

Frank X. Gordon, Jr. Chief Justice