## IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ARIZONA

)

)

In the Matter of

# THE SUPREME COURT COMMITTEE ON STATE FUNDING OF THE ARIZONA COURT SYSTEM

Administrative Order No. 94-47

In accordance with Administrative Order 90-13, the Chief Justice may establish advisory committees to the Arizona Judicial Council to assist the Council in carrying out its responsibilities.

The Arizona court system is currently funded through a combination of state, county, city, federal, and private funds. This fragmented approach has created problems including disparity in court resources, inadequate facilities, and the inability to allocate resources within the state to meet identified needs, operate an integrated state court system, and comply with legislative mandates.

Nationwide, a number of court systems have implemented state funding. States that have adopted this approach have found the advantages include greater uniformity and standardization of policies and procedures, improved equity in allocation of resources and provision of services, greater operational efficiency, economies of scale, and facilitation of longterm strategic planning. The Commission on the Courts, in its 1989 report, recommended Arizona adopt state funding of the court system. The Supreme Court subsequently approved the Commission's recommendation for state funding. The current fragmented funding method for the Arizona judicial system is also a concern to legislative and county leaders. The County Supervisors Association of Arizona has endorsed the concept of state funding and has made a commitment to working cooperatively with the judicial department to advance this approach.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the Committee on State Funding of the Arizona Court System is hereby established.

#### 1. PURPOSE

The Committee on State Funding shall examine examples of state funded systems and devise strategies for the implementation of state funding for the Arizona court system. This will include but is not limited to the following issues and responsibilities:

- a) the source and method of funding
- b) the scope of implementation, including responsibility for personnel, property, facilities, and services
- c) the transition method, to address the issue of an incremental or one-time implementation approach
- d) the time period for implementation
- e) building broad-based support among government, legislative, community, and private leaders to ensure successful implementation
- f) proposing legislative language to enact any necessary statutory changes

2

g) acting as a resource and state clearinghouse for information on state funding.

## 2. MEMBERSHIP

As chair of the Arizona Judicial Council, the Chief Justice shall appoint the Committee membership and leadership. The membership list is attached in Appendix A. The Chief Justice may appoint additional members as necessary.

#### **3. ADVISORY COMMITTEES**

The Chair may appoint members to advisory committees to help the Committee carry out its responsibilities.

## 4. **RESPONSIBILITIES OF MEMBERS**

Committee members shall actively participate in Committee meetings, the administration of Committee business, and advisory committees.

## 5. MEETINGS

Meetings will be scheduled at the discretion of the Committee chair. All meetings shall comply with the Judicial Department's Open Meeting Policy.

### 6. RULES OF PROCEDURE

The Committee shall follow the standard rules of procedure utilized by the Arizona Judicial Council.

3

## 7. FUNDING

The Committee, with the assistance of the Administrative Office of the Courts and the County Supervisors Association of Arizona, may seek grant funding from local, state, and national organizations for its expenses of operation, including expert advice and consultation. To the extent available, Supreme Court funds may also be used to partially or fully fund Committee expenses.

## 8. STAFF

Under the direction of the Chief Justice, the Administrative Office of the Courts shall provide staff for the Committee and, as feasible, may conduct or coordinate research recommended by the Committee. This staff will work in cooperation with staff from the County Supervisors Association of Arizona.

DATED this 7th day of September , 1994.

Stanley/G. Feldman Chief/Justice

## **APPENDIX A**

## **COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP**

Senator John Mawhinney Committee Chair P.O. Box 35536 Tucson, Arizona 85740

Honorable Rebecca Albrecht Associate Presiding Judge Superior Court in Maricopa County 201 West Jefferson Phoenix, Arizona 85003

Honorable Betsey Bayless Maricopa County Board of Supervisors 301 West Jefferson Phoenix, Arizona 85003

Melvin Bowers, Jr., Esq. Navajo County Attorney P.O. Box 688 Holbrook, Arizona 86025

Mr. Richard Boykin Director, Adult Detention Center Office of the Pima County Sheriff 1720 West Silverlake Tucson, Arizona 85713

Ms. Dora Bursey 2334 East Broadway Tucson, Arizona 85719 Mr. David Byers Administrative Director Administrative Office of the Courts Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Mr. Joe Carter County Manager, Graham County 800 Main Street Safford, Arizona 85546

Honorable H. Jeffrey Coker Presiding Judge Superior Court in Coconino County County Courthouse Flagstaff, Arizona 86001

Representative Lori Daniels Arizona House of Representatives 1700 West Washington Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Tim Delaney, Esq. Brown and Bain, P.A. 2901 North Central P.O. Box 400 Phoenix, Arizona 85001-0400

Representative Catherine Eden 81 West Virginia Avenue Phoenix, Arizona 85003 Ms. Karen D. Ferrara Court Administrator Superior Court in Cochise County P.O. Box 204 Bisbee, Arizona 85603

Honorable Clayton R. HamblenPresiding Justice of the Peace of Maricopa County2050 West UniversityMesa, Arizona 85201

Senator A.V. Hardt Arizona State Senate 1700 West Washington Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Rory Hays, Esq. 1440 East Missouri, Suite 150 Phoenix, Arizona 85014

Honorable Delbert Householder Graham County Board of Supervisors 800 Main Street Safford, Arizona 85546

William R. Jones Jr., Esq. Jones, Skelton and Hochuli 2901 North Central, Suite 800 Phoenix, Arizona 85012-2703

Mr. Knox Kimberly
Director
Maricopa County Intergovernmental Relations Department
301 West Jefferson, 10th Floor
Phoenix, Arizona 85003 Rabbi Robert Kravitz 3443 N. Central Ave., Suite 906 Phoenix, AZ 85012

Representative Robert J. McLendon Arizona House of Representatives 1700 West Washington Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Honorable Ron Morriss Santa Cruz County Board of Supervisors 2100 North Congress Drive Nogales, Arizona 85621

Senator Patti Noland Arizona State Senate 1700 West Washington Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Senator Jones Osborn 2440 South Elks Lane-Unit 15 Yuma, AZ 85364-6201

Honorable Mike Palmer Cochise County Board of Supervisors P.O. Box 225 Bisbee, Arizona 85603

Honorable Ryan Reinhold Justice of the Peace and Municipal Judge P.O. Box 2020 Lakeside, Arizona 85929 Allan Stanton, Esq. 1702 East Highland, Suite 302 Phoenix, Arizona 85016-4666

Honorable San Standerfer Mohave County Board of Supervisors P. O. Box 7000 Kingman, Arizona 86402

Dr. M. Lee Starr 7101 E. River Canyon Road Tucson, Arizona 85715 Mr. Joel Valdez Senior Vice President University of Arizona 605 Administration Building Tucson, Arizona 85721

Mr. Robert Watson, Esq. Lauren Watson Companies, Inc. 3101 N. Central Ave., Suite 1000 Phoenix, AZ 85012

Mr. Martin Willett Pima County Deputy Administrator 130 West Congress, 11th Floor Tucson, Arizona 85701