Supreme Court Board of Certified Reporters

Arizona State Courts Building 1501 West Washington, Phoenix, AZ 85007 Conference room 119-A 12:00-1:00 PM

January 17, 2007 Approved Regular Session Minutes

MEMBER ATTENDANCE

Present: Telephonically Present:

Judge Lawrence Winthrop Chair Sandra Markham

Jean Lea

Kathleen Montalvo Patricia Seguin Allen Sonntag Terri Faust

OTHER ATTENDEES

AOC Staff:

Linda Grau Kandace French Kimberly Siddall Nina Preston Doris Leonard Marianne Baiza

CALL TO ORDER

Called to Order By: Chair, Sandra Markham

Time: 12:06pm

1) CERTIFICATION AND ELIGIBILITY

1-A: Review, discussion and possible action for technical amendment of denial entered regarding the 2007 renewal application of:

~ Kari Kerns

Individuals Addressing the Board: Linda Grau and Kimberly Siddall

Discussion: Ms. Siddall recommended the Board amend the motion of January 8, 2007

regarding Ms. Kerns to provide the denial of renewal pursuant to ACJA § 7-201 (G)(4)(c) and ACJA § 7-206 (G)(5)(b), based on Ms. Kerns' failure to pass all the

required components of the RPR.

Motion: To amend the motion of January 8, 2007 regarding applicant Kari Kerns to

provide the denial of renewal pursuant to ACJA § 7-201 (G)(4)(c) which reads, "The board may deny renewal of certification for any of the reasons stated in subsection (E)(2)(c)." and (E)(2)(c)(1) which states, "The board shall deny certification of the applicant if the applicant does not meet the qualifications or eligibility requirements at the time the application described in this section or the applicable section of the ACJA...", and ACJA § 7-206 (G)(5)(b) which reads, "The board may deny renewal of a certificate for any of the reasons specified in § 32-4024." based on Ms. Kerns failure to pass all of the required components of

the RPR.

Motion Proposals: First Patricia Seguin

Second Judge Lawrence Winthrop

Motion Results: Passed BCCR-07-11

1-B: Review, discussion and possible Motion for Reconsideration regarding the denial of 2007 renewal of certification involving:

- ~ Royce Conner
- ~ Denise Vaishville
- ~ Denise Style
- ~ Leticia Quintero

Individuals Addressing the Board: Linda Grau and Nina Preston

Discussion:

Discussion regarding staff recommendation the Board vacate the 2007 renewal denials entered for these applicants and, in the alternative, hold and defer consideration of the 2007 applications until such time as the Board enters Final Orders on the 2006 renewal applications, which are pending hearing.

In the event the Board affirms the denial of the 2006 applications, staff will return with a recommendation for the 2007 applications to be deemed moot. In the event the Board ultimately determines to overturn the 2006 denials, staff will return with a recommendation to grant the 2007 renewal applications.

Board requests advice of legal counsel, Nina Preston

Motion: Board moves to Executive Session to consult with legal counsel.

Motion Proposal: First Patricia Seguin

Second Allen Sonntag

Motion Results: Carried BCCR-07-12

Executive Session ended at 12:36 pm

Individuals Addressing the Board: Kimberly Siddall

Motion:

To amend the motion of January 8, 2007 regarding Royce Conner, Denise Vaishville, Denise Style and Leticia Quintero to provide the denial of renewal pursuant to ACJA § 7-201 (G)(4)(c) which reads, "The board may deny renewal of certification for any of the reasons stated in subsection (E)(2)(c)." and

(E)(2)(c)(1) which states, "The board shall deny certification of the applicant if the applicant does not meet the qualifications or eligibility requirements at the time the application described in this section or the applicable section of the ACJA...", and ACJA § 7-206 (G)(5)(b) which reads, "The board may deny renewal of a certificate for any of the reasons specified in § 32-4024." based on each applicant's failure to pass all of the required components of the RPR.

Motion Proposals: First Judge Lawrence Winthrop

Second Allen Sonntag

Motion Results: Carried BCCR-07-13

CALL TO THE PUBLIC

Individuals Addressing the Board: – None

ADJOURNMENT

Motion: Meeting is adjourned at 12:38 pm

Motion Proposals: First Jean Lea

Second Judge Winthrop

Motion Results: Carried BCCR-07-14

/kf.del