
1 
 

David K. Byers, Director 

Administrative Office of the Courts   

Arizona Supreme Court 

1501 W. Washington St. 

Phoenix, AZ 85007-3231 

 

 

IN THE SUPREME COURT 

STATE OF ARIZONA 
 

In the Matter of: ) 

 ) 

PETITION TO AMEND RULES 1, 2  )     Supreme Court No. R-08-0021 

AND 22, ARIZONA RULES OF  ) 

PROCEDURE IN CIVIL TRAFFIC )          AMENDED PETITION 

CASES, AND ADD RULES 38-46,   ) 

ARIZONA RULES OF PROCEDURE  ) 

CIVIL TRAFFIC CASES ) 

 ________________________________ ) 
 

Pursuant to Arizona Supreme Court Rule 28, David K. Byers, 

Administrative Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts, Arizona 

Supreme Court, respectfully amends his petition in this matter in response to 

a request from Maricopa County Justice Court Administration that one 

additional rule of civil traffic procedure be adopted that will standardize case 

processing time frames for DPS traffic citations issued pursuant to A.R.S. 

§41-1722.   

The Justice Courts in Maricopa County anticipate that the §41-1722 

photo enforcement program will substantially increase traffic case filings in 
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a manner that threatens to overwhelm available justice courts resources.  The 

establishment of additional standards for case processing is vital to meeting 

the demand imposed by this new program.  Petitioner agrees that the new 

rule will assist the courts statewide, and has attached a modified version of 

his original rules proposal that includes a new Rule 45, Arizona Rules of 

Procedure in Civil Traffic Cases, applicable only to citations issued under 

A.R.S. §41-1722.  (Appendix A).  Petitioner may seek to expand these rules 

at a later date to all civil traffic matters involving photo enforcement, 

depending on the courts’ experience with this new process. 

Civil traffic and other types of civil cases proceed dissimilarly in 

many ways, and the Rules of Civil Procedure do not always offer an 

appropriate solution for filling the gaps left open in the current Civil Traffic 

Rules.  In addition, the statutes governing procedures in civil traffic 

violations, A.R.S. §§28-1591 et seq., enacted in 1997, and the Rules of 

Procedure in Civil Traffic Cases, originally adopted in 2002, both pre-date 

the proliferation in traffic enforcement technology.   

Under A.R.S. §28-1592(B)(2) the citing agency has 90 days from the 

date of filing to serve the complaint on the defendant in civil traffic cases.  

As established by the decision in Tonner v. Paradise Valley Magistrate’s 

Court, 831 P.2d 448 (Ariz. Ct. App. Div. 1, 1992), a civil traffic case cannot 
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be resolved in the absence of evidence of personal service on the defendant 

or until the 90 days for effecting service has run.   

The Civil Traffic Rules do not impose any deadlines for responding to 

a citation.  Under the only standard offering guidance on this issue, Rule 

4.1(c), A.R.Civ.Proc., the respondent has 30 days to acknowledge receipt of 

service by mail and another 30 days to file an answer.  In the civil traffic 

arena, the extra 30 days to file an answer is not warranted.  

In a conventional traffic case, the citation is served on the scene and 

later filed in court, so personal service has not been an issue in traffic cases 

until the advent of photo enforcement.  In most traffic cases, the defendant 

does not file a written response to the citation, but responds by requesting a 

continuance, mailing the required payment to the court before, registering 

and completing a defensive driving class, or attending the scheduled 

appearance, typically 20 to 60 days after the citation issues.   

Citations filed in photo enforcement cases are generally served by first 

class mail, which injects uncertainty into the process as the court must await 

evidence of acknowledgement of service before acquiring jurisdiction of a 

case.  Law enforcement agencies generally do not attempt personal service 

until it appears that the defendant is not going to acknowledge receipt of the 

citation. 
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The statewide photo enforcement program established by A.R.S. §41-

1722 attempts to reduce the number of cases that must be filed in court by 

providing a pre-filing process under which DPS can mail defendants an 

initial Notice of Violation, and defendants can resolve their tickets directly 

with DPS before their citations are filed in court.  DPS will only file and 

serve citations in those cases where the defendant failed to adequately 

respond to the Notice of Violation.   

Despite this statutory pre-filing process, DPS is expected to file an 

unprecedented number of §41-1722 cases in many justice courts, especially 

in urban areas.  The proposed Rule 45 comes into play once the citation is 

filed.  It offers defendant one more opportunity to resolve the case without 

substantial court involvement.  The new rule creates a standardized process, 

modeled after Civil Rule 4.1, which permits the defendant to avoid the costs 

of personal service, establishes a deadline for filing the defendant’s written 

response, and directs the court to impose the cost of service of process, if the 

defendant fails to respond in a timely fashion. 

By requiring all defendants to notify the court whether they intend to 

admit or deny responsibility or otherwise acknowledge personal receipt of 

the citation within an established time frame, processing of §41-1722 cases 

will be more predictable and easier to automate, and should reduce the 
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number of cases in which personal service is made unnecessarily.  The time 

frame set by the rule will also leave DPS approximately 60 days to effect 

service in those cases where a defendant does not respond to the mailing.  

Effective Date of the Proposed New Rule 

Petitioner respectfully requests that the proposed new rules be adopted 

on an emergency basis effective on and after September 26, 2008 with a 

comment period to follow, as Chapter 286, HB 2210 is effective on this date.  

 

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED this 15th day of August, 2008. 

 
 
 By_/S/__________________________               
       David K. Byers 
       Administrative Director 
       Administrative Office of the Courts   
      Arizona Supreme Court 
      1501 W. Washington St. 
       Phoenix, AZ 85007-3231 
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APPENDIX A 

Arizona Rules of Procedure in Civil Traffic Violation Cases 

Rule 1.  Scope; Hearings and Appeals 

These rules shall apply in all cases involving the adjudication and 

appeals of civil traffic violations except those violations consolidated 

pursuant to Rule 14 of these rules.  Rules 38-45 shall apply only to photo 

enforcement cases that are commenced pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1722 

Rule 2.  Definitions 

(a) "Civil traffic violation" means any violation designated as such 

under the provisions of A.R.S. § 28-121 or expressly designated as such by a 

traffic ordinance of a city or town and any boating violation punishable by a 

civil sanction under Articles 1 through 11 of Chapter 3, Title 5 of the 

Arizona Revised Statutes, or expressly designated a civil violation by a 

boating ordinance or a city or town. 

(b) "Court" means a justice court or a court established by a city or 

town. Unless the context otherwise requires, "trial court" also means the 

justice or municipal court. 

(c) “Department” means the Arizona Department of Public Safety 

acting directly or through their duly authorized officers, agents and 

contractors. 

http://azrules.westgroup.com/shared/gotowestlaw.wl?DocName=AZSTS28-121&FindType=L&DB=1000251&RS=AZR1%2E0&VR=1%2E0
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(c d) "Judge" means a justice of the peace, judge, or magistrate. 

(d e) "Hearing officer" means a person appointed as such under the 

provisions of A.R.S. § 28-1553. 

(f) “Notice of violation” means a document charging a civil traffic 

offense pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1722 which is issued to a violator in 

accordance with these Rules and not filed in court. 

(g) “Photo enforcement” means enforcement of violations detected by 

photo enforcement equipment for the purpose of capturing violations within 

Title 28, Chapter 3, Articles 3 and 6 relating to vehicle traffic and speed, 

pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1722. 

(e h) In computing time limits, the "last day" means that when the last 

day of any period of time prescribed herein falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or 

day when the court is closed, the "last day" shall be the next day court is 

open. The day of the act or event from which the designated time period 

begins is not to be included. Except as stated by these rules or by order of 

court in a particular case, filing deadlines are not enlarged when sent by 

mail. 

(f i) "Party" means the state or the defendant. A law enforcement 

officer, police aide, traffic investigator, or parking enforcement volunteer is 

not a party. 

http://azrules.westgroup.com/shared/gotowestlaw.wl?DocName=AZSTS28-1553&FindType=L&DB=1000251&RS=AZR1%2E0&VR=1%2E0
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(g j) Unless the context otherwise requires, the requirements of these 

rules may be performed by an attorney who has filed a proper notice of 

appearance. 

Rules 3-21 (No change)  

Rule 22.  Default by Defendant at Hearing 

(a) Except where Rule 21 is applicable, if the defendant fails to appear 

as required, the allegations of the complaint shall be deemed admitted, and 

the court shall enter a judgment for the State, impose a civil sanction, and 

report such judgment to the Department of Transportation, except that civil 

boating and photo enforcement violation judgments shall not be reported to 

the Department of Transportation. 

(b) If it appears that the defendant is in active military service, no 

default judgment may be entered. 

Rules 23-37 (No change) 

Rule 38.  Photo Enforcement; Notice of Violation 

A photo enforcement case may be commenced by a Notice of 

Violation, which is issued prior to the filing of an Arizona Traffic Ticket and 

Complaint. 
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Rule 39.  Notice of Violation; Form 

(a) The Notice of Violation shall be substantially in a form 

approved by the Supreme Court as set forth in Appendix B of these rules. 

(b) Any substantial variation from the form of the Notice of 

Violation must first be approved by the Supreme Court. 

(c) Notice of Violation forms need not be sworn to if they contain a 

form of certification by the Department in substance as follows "I hereby 

certify that I have reasonable grounds to believe and do believe that the 

person named herein committed the civil violation described herein contrary 

to law." 

(d) The Department shall promptly forward one form copy and any 

subsequent changes therein, to the Supreme Court. 

Rule 40. Issuance and Delivery of the Notice of Violation   

The Department shall properly complete, certify and deliver the 

Notice of Violation as follows: 

(a) Issuance of the notice of violation.  The Notice of Violation 

may be issued by the Department. 

(b) Delivery of the notice of violation; defendant copy.  The Notice 

of Violation may be delivered by any of the following means: 

(1)  Delivering a copy to the person charged with the violation. 



10 
 

(2) Mailing the Notice of Violation by first class mail to the person 

charged with the violation at the address provided to the Arizona 

Department of Transportation.  If an address has not been provided to the 

Department of Transportation, the notice may be sent to any address known 

to the Department of Transportation, including the address listed on a traffic 

citation received by the Department of Transportation.  

(3)  Service of process authorized by the Rules of Civil Procedure.  

Rule 41.  Sufficiency of the Notice of Violation 

The Notice of Violation is legally sufficient if it contains either a 

written description or the statutory designation of the alleged violation. 

Rule 42.  Notice of Violation; Time for Delivery 

Delivery of a Notice of Violation must be initiated within ten days of 

the date of violation on the person charged in accordance with Rule 40 of 

these rules.  If delivery is not initiated within ten days of the date of 

violation, the Notice of Violation is void. 

Rule 43.  Response to Notice of Violation 

Upon receipt of a Notice of Violation the violator may submit as 

directed by the Department a signed statement within 40 days of the date of 

violation that: 



11 
 

(a) Admits responsibility for the allegations of the Notice of 

Violation, agrees to tender the full amount of the civil penalty and surcharge 

as directed on the Notice of Violation and agrees that this admission is final, 

and may not be withdrawn; 

(b) Denies responsibility because the violator was not the driver of 

the vehicle at the time of the violation; or   

(c) Denies responsibility for the allegations of the Notice of 

Violation. 

Rule 44. Procedure if Violator does not Admit Responsibility. 

(a)  If the Department excludes the violator as the driver, the 

Department shall notify the violator. 

(b) The Department may file a complaint in the court having 

jurisdiction of the violation within 60 days of the date of the violation and 

serve upon the defendant an Arizona Traffic Ticket and Complaint as 

otherwise provided by law, if any of the following occur: 

(1) The violator denies responsibility, except if the violator is 

excluded as the driver of the vehicle. 

(2) The violator fails to respond to the Notice of Violation within 

40 days of the date of violation. 
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(3) The violator admits responsibility but fails to tender the full 

amount of the civil penalty and surcharge as required by Rule 43 of these 

rules. 

Rule 45.  Service of Complaint; Hearing Date; Notice; Response to 

Complaint 

 

(a) Service of the Complaint.  Within 10 days after filing the 

Arizona Traffic Ticket and Complaint, the Department shall mail by first 

class mail to the defendant a copy of the complaint and provide the 

defendant the option to respond to the complaint by filing an admission or 

denial of responsibility with the court.  

(b) The scheduled hearing date appearing on the complaint shall be 

calendared for a date that is not less than 30 days after the Department mails 

the citation to the defendant. 

(c)  Notice of option to respond. The notice of option to respond 

shall: 

(1) be in writing and addressed directly to the defendant, 

(2) set forth the date on which the complaint and notice of option to 

respond were mailed, 

(3) inform the defendant of the date after which the defendant’s 

failure to either file a written response with the court or appear in court may 
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result in personal service at the defendant’s expense, unless good cause for 

the failure to respond is shown,  

(4) inform the defendant that if the defendant denies responsibility 

because the defendant was not the driver of the vehicle at the time of the 

violation, the defendant may additionally request that the Department review 

the complaint based on this ground for denial, as directed in the notice, 

(5) inform the defendant that filing an admission or denial of 

responsibility with the court is an appearance that has the effect of personal 

service, and 

(6) provide the defendant with a prepaid means of filing the 

admission or denial of responsibility with the court. 

(d) Time period. The defendant shall have 30 days after the date the 

complaint and notice of option to respond was mailed in which to file an 

admission or denial of responsibility with the court.  Filing of an admission 

or denial of responsibility shall constitute an appearance that shall have the 

force and effect of personal service. 

(e) Failure to respond.  If a defendant fails to file a response with 

the court, service may be effected in the manner prescribed by Rule 4.1(d), 

Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure, and the court shall impose the costs 
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subsequently incurred in effecting personal service on the defendant, unless 

good cause for the failure is shown.  

Rule 46.  Responsibilities of the Department; Retention of Records 

(a) Enforcement copy.  The Department shall retain the 

enforcement copy of the Notice of Violation in accordance with a procedure 

established by the Department. 

(b) Case record.  If a person admits responsibility, the Department 

shall retain the record of the case in accordance with a procedure established 

by the Department and not transmit the record to the court. 
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            Attachment B    
 
 
  
 

 

 
 

 

   
 
 
 
 
 
 

NOTICE:  To comply with this Notice of Violation, pay the full penalty and surcharge of $ 181.50 by [insert respond by date (40 days from 

violation date)]. No points will be assessed to your driving record. This Notice of Violation is not subject to dismissal due to defensive 
driving school attendance.  If you do not pay the full penalty and surcharge indicated above, you contest responsibility, or you fail 
to respond to this notice, a complaint will be filed into court, which may result in additional costs assessed.   
 
 
 
 

Your options to comply with this Notice of Violation are: pay the penalty and surcharge indicated 

above, indicate that you are not the driver, or contest responsibility. 

 

Additional information is provided by the Arizona Department of Public Safety regarding each 

of these options. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
       
 

Page # 

NOTICE OF VIOLATION NO.   [Insert #] 
 

Driver’s License Number 
 
 

State Class 

 
DEFENDANT 
 

           FIRST                                                                      MIDDLE                                                                                          LAST 

Residential Address/Mailing 
 
 

City State Zip 
 

Sex 
 
 

Eyes  Hair  Height Weight Date of Birth 

 
VEHICLE 
 

Color Year Make Model Style License Plate State Expiration 

Registered Owner 
 
 

Address Vehicle Identification Number 

 

 
ON 
 

Month Day Year Time AM  
PM  

   
SPEED 

Approx Posted R & P Speed Measurement Device 

 
AT 
 

Location Precinct County State 
of 

Arizona 

 

 
IN VIOLATION OF  

ARS              
 
 

Violation   
Civil Traffic 

Sanction  

                          $ 181.50 

(Insert name of law enforcement agency) 
AUTOMATED TRAFFIC ENFORCEMENT 
 NOTICE OF VIOLATION 

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: 
[Insert additional agency information] 

 
 
 
 

I hereby certify that I have reasonable grounds to believe, and do believe, based on my examination of digital images and data associated with this violation, that the 
person named herein committed the civil violation described above.  

 
 
Signature___________________________ ID # __________________ Date Issued/Mailed ____________________ 
 


