SUPREME COURT OF ARIZONA

In the Matter of ) Arizona Supreme Court
) No. R-20-0011
RULE 404(b), RULES OF EVIDENCE )
)
)
) FILED: 8/27/2020
)
)

ORDER
AMENDING RULE 404(b) OF THE
ARIZONA RULES OF EVIDENCE

A petition having been filed to amend Rule 404(b) of the
Arizona Rules of Evidence, and a comment having been received
proposing additional amendments, and having considered the
petition and comment, along with other related changes to Rule
404(b) proposed in Rule Petition R-20-0011,

IT IS ORDERED that Rule 404(b) of the Arizona Rules of
Evidence 1is amended iIn accordance with the attachment to this
order, effective January 1, 2021.

DATED this 27th day of August, 2020.

/s/
ROBERT BRUTINEL
Chief Justice
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TO:

Rule 28 Distribution
Hon. Sara J Agne
Hon. Maria Elena Cruz
David J Euchner
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ATTACHMENT!
ARIZONA RULES OF EVIDENCE

Rule 404. Character Evidence aNot Admissible to Prove Conduct; Exceptions;
Other Crimes, Wrongs, or Acts

* * *

(b) Other crimes, wrongs, or acts.

(1) Prohibited uses. Except as provided in Rule 404(c) evidence of other crimes,
wrongs, or acts is not admissible to prove the character of a person in order to show
action in conformity therewith.

(2) Permitted uses. # This evidence may, however, be admissible for other purposes,
such as proof of motive, opportunity, intent, preparation, plan, knowledge, identity, or
absence of mistake or accident.

(3) Notice in a criminal case. In all criminal cases in which the state intends to offer
evidence of other crimes, wrongs, or acts under Rule 404(b), the state must:

(A) make disclosure to the defendant as to such acts as required by Rule 15.1, Rules
of Criminal Procedure, no later than 45 days before the final trial setting or at such later
time as the court may allow for good cause; and

(B) articulate in the disclosure the permitted purpose for which the state intends to
offer the evidence and the reasoning that supports the purpose. The defendant must make
disclosure as to rebuttal evidence pertaining to such acts as required by Rule 15.2, no
later than 20 days after receipt of the state’s disclosure or at such other time as the court
may allow for good cause.

Comment to 2021 Amendment

Rule 404(b) was amended effective January 1, 2021, to conform to the changes made
to Federal Rule of Evidence 404(b) that took effect on December 1, 2020.

1 Additions to the text of the rule are shown by underscoring and deletions of text are
shown by strike-through.



