
 

 

 
 
                       SUPREME COURT OF ARIZONA                 
                                                                
In the Matter of                  )  Arizona Supreme Court      
                                  )  No. R-10-0024              
PETITION TO AMEND RULES 6, 18,    )                             
19, 20, and 24 OF ARIZONA TAX     )                             
COURT RULES OF PRACTICE           )                             
                                  )  FILED 09/01/2011                      
__________________________________)                             
 

 
ORDER 

AMENDING RULES 6, 18, 19, 20, AND 24, ARIZONA TAX COURT RULES OF 
PRACTICE 

 

 A petition having been filed proposing to amend Rules 6, 18, 19, 

20, and 24 of the Arizona Tax Court Rules of Practice, and comments 

having been received, upon consideration, 

 IT IS ORDERED that Rules 6, 18, 19, 20, and 24, Arizona Tax Court 

Rules of Practice, be amended in accordance with the attachment 

hereto, effective January 1, 2012. 
 
  
 DATED this _______ day of September, 2011. 
 
 
 
       _______________________________ 
       REBECCA WHITE BERCH 
       Chief Justice 
 
 
 
TO: 
Rule 28 Distribution 
Dean M Fink 
Mark C Faull 
mwa 
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ATTACHMENT1 
 

Arizona Tax Court Rules of Practice 

Rules 1-5 [No change in text.]  

Rule 6.  Cases Transferred to the Tax Court 

(a) Tax cases filed in the Superior Court, but not in the Tax Court, which are later transferred to the Tax 
Court shall be treated by the Clerk for purposes of Rule 34 as if they were cases newly filed in the Tax 
Court. In such cases, the Plaintiff shall comply with Rule 910 within 30 days of the order directing the 
transfer. 

(b) When a tax case is transferred, the Clerk of the Superior Court from which the case is transferred 
shall forthwith transmit the file together with all exhibits and certified transcripts to the Clerk of the Tax 
Court. If the case is transferred from a county other than Maricopa, the Clerk of the county from which 
the case is received shall remit to the Clerk of the Maricopa County Superior Court Tax Court 
Department filing and appearance fees paid to the transferring Clerk by the parties. If the case was first 
filed other than in Maricopa County, the parties shall pay to the Clerk of the Maricopa County Superior 
Court Tax Court Department such document storage and retrieval fees, and other surcharges as are 
applicable. Such payment shall be made within 30 days of the order transferring the case. 

Rules 7-17 [No change in text.]  

Rule 18.  Election 

A taxpayer plaintiff elects to use small claims procedures by placing the legend, “SMALL CLAIMS 
PROCEDURE”, as directed in Rule 89. A taxpayer defendant elects to use small claims procedures by 
filing a “Notice of Election to Use Small Claims Procedures” with the answer. If a “Notice of Election 
to Use Small Claims Procedures” is filed by a taxpayer defendant, and the plaintiff asserts that the case 
does not meet the requirements for a small tax claim, as is set out in § 12-172, Arizona Revised Statutes, 
the plaintiff may, within 10 days of the filing of the answer, controvert the defendant's election. A Tax 
Court judge or commissioner will rule on the issue without further argument. 

Rule 19.  Reclassification when Defendant Taxpayer Elects 

If a defendant taxpayer elects small claims procedures, and such election is not controverted, or if 
controverted, the controversion is overruled, the case shall be reclassified as a small tax claim, and the 
clerk shall assign the case a new number as directed in Rule 34. 

Rule 20.  Reclassification when Requirements Not Met 

                                                            
1 Changes or additions in rule text are indicated by underscoring and deletions from text are indicated by strikeouts. 



 

 

If the Court determines that a case designated as a small tax claim does not meet the requirements of 
Section 12-172, Arizona Revised Statutes, the case shall be reclassified as a record tax case. The clerk 
shall assign a new number as directed in Rule 34, and shall assess the taxpayer and all other parties for 
whom the payment of filing and appearance fees are not exempt, with the difference between what such 
party paid to file or appear, and the statutory fees required for a record tax case. Parties are to pay such 
assessment within 10 days of notice by the clerk. 

Rules 21-23 [No change in text.]  

Rule 24.  Setting Small Claims for Trial 

The Court will set a small tax case for trial so that it will be tried within six (6) nine (9) months of the 
filing of an Answer or notice to the Tax Court of the taxpayer’s election that the case proceed as a small 
claim, whichever is later. The Presiding Judge of the Superior Court in Maricopa County by 
Administrative Order may extend the time to trial for extraordinary circumstances. 

Rules 25-26 [No change in text.]  

 


