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What to do if your air conditioning 
is broken? 
 
A landlord must supply reasonable air conditioning and cooling in units 

that have an air conditioning unit installed, or where air conditioning is offered. Arizona law 
provides remedies that tenants may use when the air conditioning fails in the tenant’s rented 
home. However, these remedies are not available if the tenant, tenant’s family, or guest 
caused the air conditioning to stop working by a deliberate or careless act, or failing to act.  
 
If the landlord fails to supply air conditioning, the tenant must give written notice to the 
landlord and wait for the landlord to make the needed repair. 

A.R.S. means Arizona Revised Statutes and RPEA means Rules of Procedure for Eviction Actions. 

 
ABOUT NOTICES... 

Notices may be hand‐delivered to the landlord (or to the landlord’s authorized agent) or sent 
to the landlord by certified mail. It is strongly recommended that notices be hand‐delivered, as 
notices sent by certified mail are deemed to be received on the date the landlord actually 
receives the notice or 5 days after the notice is mailed, whichever occurs first. 
 
The tenant should make sure to keep copies of any notices given to the landlord so that they can
show them to the court. 
 
If the landlord fails to make the repair within a specific timeframe, the tenant may do 
ONE of the following 6 options. 

1 GIVE WRITTEN NOTICE AND TERMINATE THE LEASE 

Give written notice (Form A: “Notice of Failure to Provide Adequate Air Conditioning and 
Notice of Tenant’s Remedy”) that the landlord has 5 calendar days to make the repair. If 
the landlord does not timely make the repair, the tenant can then decide whether to 
terminate the lease and leave. If the tenant decides to terminate the lease, they will need 
to provide an additional notice (Form B: “Notice of Intent to Vacate and Request for 
Inspection”) that states the intended move‐out date. The tenant will be responsible for 
any rent during this time. See A.R.S. § 33‐1361(A). 

2 GIVE WRITTEN NOTICE AND FILE AN INJUNCTION 

Give written notice (Form A: “Notice of Failure to Provide Adequate Air Conditioning and 
Notice of Tenant’s Remedy”) that the landlord has 5 calendar days to make the repair. If 
the landlord does not timely make the repair, the tenant may bring a lawsuit for an 
injunction (to force the landlord to make the repairs) and for money damages. See A.R.S. 
§ 33‐1361(B). 
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3 GIVE WRITTEN NOTICE AND HIRE A LICENSED CONTRACTOR 

Give written notice (Form A: “Notice of Failure to Provide Adequate Air Conditioning and 
Notice of Tenant’s Remedy”) that if the landlord does not make the repair in 10 calendar 
days (or sooner as conditions require in an emergency), the tenant will hire a licensed 
contractor to repair the air conditioning. To check a contractor’s license, go to the Arizona 
Registrar of Contractors’ website at https://roc.az.gov/ or call: (602) 542‐1525, or toll‐free 
within Arizona: (877) MY AZROC / (877) 692‐9762. 

 

Warning: This self‐help remedy can only be used if the repair costs less than 
$300 or one‐half of the monthly rent, whichever amount is greater. For example, 
if the rent is $700 per month, the repair must stay under $350. The tenant will be 
able to deduct the cost of that repair from the rent payment. See A.R.S. § 33‐
1363(A).  

 
After the contractor completes the repair, the tenant will need to have the contractor fill 
out and sign a waiver of lien (Form C: “Waiver of Lien”) and provide the tenant with an 
itemized bill marked “PAID.” The tenant must give the landlord copies of these 
documents, along with the self‐help remedy notice (Form D: “Tenant’s Notice of 
Completed Repairs”), and payment of the amount of rent owed minus the deduction for 
the contractor’s bill. 

4 GIVE WRITTEN NOTICE AND PROCURE FANS OR A WINDOW‐
MOUNTED A/C UNIT 

Give written notice (Form A: “Notice of Failure to Provide Adequate Air Conditioning and 
Notice of Tenant’s Remedy”) that the landlord has a reasonable time to repair. If the repair 
is not timely made, the tenant can choose to procure reasonable amounts of air 
conditioning or cooling themselves. What does this mean? Examples include purchasing 
fans or a window‐mounted air conditioning unit. If the tenant takes these steps, the 
tenant will be able to deduct the “actual reasonable cost” from the rent. The tenant must 
keep all receipts from these purchases and be able to prove that they purchased the items 
after the deadline stated on the notice that the tenant gave the landlord for fixing the air 
conditioning unit. See A.R.S. § 33‐1364(A)(1).  

5 GIVE WRITTEN NOTICE AND PAY FOR TEMPORARY SUBSTITUTE 

HOUSING 

Give written notice (Form A: “Notice of Failure to Provide Adequate Air Conditioning and 
Notice of Tenant’s Remedy”) that the landlord has a reasonable time to repair. If the 
repair is not timely made, the tenant can choose to pay for reasonable, temporary 
substitute housing (such as renting a hotel room) until the landlord repairs the air 
conditioning in the home. Just like with the other remedies, the tenant will need to keep 
all receipts, so the tenant can prove that substitute housing was only used for the time 
period from the deadline stated on the notice until when the air conditioning was 
restored to the home. 
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5 GIVE WRITTEN NOTICE AND PAY FOR TEMPORARY SUBSTITUTE 

HOUSING (CONT’D) 

Warning: The tenant may deduct a maximum of 125% of the monthly rent 
amount for the substitute housing. For example, if the air conditioning is out for a 
month and the rent is $800 per month, the tenant will be excused from the full 
$800 and can be reimbursed for up to $200. If the air conditioning is out for a 
week and the rent is $800 per month, the tenant can be excused for up to $250. 
See A.R.S. § 33‐1364(A)(3).  

 

6 GIVE WRITTEN NOTICE AND SUE FOR THE REDUCED VALUE OF THE 

HOME 

Give written notice (Form A: “Notice of Failure to Provide Adequate Air Conditioning and 
Notice of Tenant’s Remedy”) that the landlord has a reasonable time to repair. If the 
landlord does not timely make the repair, the tenant can sue the landlord to recover 
money for the reduced value of the home from the deadline stated on the notice until 
when the air conditioning was restored to the home. See A.R.S. § 33‐1364(A)(2). 

 


