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1. INTRODUCTION 
 
AUTHORITY  
 

Arizona Revised Statutes(ARS) § 8-134 and Arizona Code of 
Judicial Administration (ACJA) § 7-201 and § 7-203 establish the 
authority for administration of the Confidential Intermediary Board 
by the Arizona Supreme Court.  The Court administers the 
Confidential Intermediary Program through the Certification and 
Licensing Division of the Administrative Office of the Courts. 

DEFINITION ACJA § 7-203 defines confidential intermediaries as persons who 
complete the requirements for certification established by ACJA  § 
7-201, ACJA § 7-203, and ARS  § 8-134 and possess a validation 
confidential intermediary certificate issued by the Arizona Supreme 
Court. 
 

REQUIREMENT FOR 
EXAMINATION 

All candidates for certification as a confidential intermediary shall 
successfully pass a written examination.  
 
ACJA § 7-201 and § 7-203 do not provide for any waiver of the 
examination.  All potential candidates for certification must take 
and pass the examination in order to be eligible to apply for 
certification.  
 

EXEMPTIONS FROM 
CERTIFICATION 

ARS § 8-134 does not require any agency licensed by the state or 
the Arizona Department of Economic Security to be certified as 
confidential intermediaries. 
 

PURPOSE OF THIS 
HANDBOOK 

The purpose of this handbook is to provide candidates with 
detailed information about the examination for certification as a 
confidential intermediary.  The handbook includes information 
about subject matter areas assessed by the examination, 
candidate responsibilities on the day of the examination, and 
notification of examination results. 
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2. APPLICATION POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 
 
ELIGIBILITY All potential candidates for certification must successfully complete 

the initial training and pass the written knowledge examination, 
submit a completed application for certification, including the 
application fee, and possess the education or experience as 
outlined in ACJA § 7-201 and § 7-203. 

CONFIRMATION OF 
ELIGIBILITY 

Potential applicants for certification as a confidential intermediary 
must possess and demonstrate one or more of the qualifications to 
sit for the exam illustrated by ACJA § 7-203.   ACJA § 7-203 and 
instructions for registering to participate in the examination are 
available for candidate review on the Program website at 
http://www.azcourts.gov/cld/Confidential-Intermediary-Program.  
 
 

FEES The fee for participating in the initial training and sitting for the 
examination is $150.00.  If it becomes necessary for an applicant to 
retake the examination, the fee is $50.00.  
  

SPECIAL 
ACCOMMODATIONS 

Requests for special accommodations in accordance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 must be submitted to the 
Certification and Licensing Division with substantiating 
documentation. 
 
Requests must include a description of the nature of the disability 
and limitations related to the examination, the type of 
accommodation(s) requested and verification from a qualified 
professional.  The qualified professional must have special 
expertise to evaluate the existence of the disability and proposed 
accommodations needed for the specific disability.  Requests are 
reviewed and granted on an individual basis. 
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3. OVERVIEW OF THE EXAMINATION 
 
 
TIME LIMITS 
 

 
Candidates are allowed a total of three (3) hours to complete the 
examination.  Candidates may wish to complete the multiple-choice 
questions in any order; however, are responsible for managing their 
own time.   
 

FORMAT The examination consists of 100 multiple-choice questions worth 
one point each.  There is one correct answer for each question.  
There is no penalty for guessing; therefore, candidates should 
answer all of the questions.   
 
The multiple-choice questions cover subject matter areas related to 
the provision of services as a confidential intermediary (see Content 
Specifications, Section 4).  The questions are designed to 
demonstrate candidates possess the basic knowledge, skills, and 
abilities to provide confidential intermediary services.   
 

PASSING SCORE The passing score is the score that a candidate must achieve in 
order to pass the examination and qualify for certification as a 
confidential intermediary in Arizona.   
 
The passing score for the examination is a scaled score of 70 out 
of the possible 100 points.  (Please note: the scaled score may be 
different from or higher than the raw score, which is the number of 
correct answers out of 100.) Scoring is not based on a candidate 
achieving a passing score in each of the content specification areas, 
but rather is reflective of the overall score on the examination. 
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4. CONTENT SPECIFICATIONS 
 
CONTENT AREAS The content for the examination was developed by a focus group of 

confidential intermediaries from representative practice settings in 
January 2007.  They evaluated the importance of major subject 
matter areas of practice, determined their relative importance to 
practice, and assigned a weight (percentage) to each area.   
 
For example, if the weight is 20%, there would be 20 questions on a 
100-item examination.  There are five content areas outlined in the 
content specifications: 
 
I.          Statutes and code (20%) 

 a.      ARS Section 8-134 
 b.      ACJA Section 7-201 
 c.      ACJA Section 7-203 
 d.      ICWA   

II.        Program procedures (15%) 
 a.      Certification 
 b.      Complaints 
 c.      Renewal  
 d.   Compliance 

III.      Ethics (25%) 
 a.      Standards of conduct 
 b.      Confidentiality 
 c.      Sensitivity and professionalism 
 d.      Conflicts of interest 

IV.     Case procedures (30%) 
 a.      Search parties 
 b.      Request for appointment 
 c.      Consultation and mentoring 
 d.      Fees and expenses 
 e.      Record access, affidavits, and orders for release 
 f.        File review statement 
 g.      Information consents 
 h.      Request for withdrawal and case reassignment 
 i.        Finalization report 

V.        Search process (10%) 
 a.      Record searches 
 b.      Public information 
 c.      Communication and telephone call guidelines 
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The specified percentages of content area questions will be randomly 
ordered on the examination.   For example, questions on program 
procedures will not be contained in one section or placed in 
consecutive order. 
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5. SAMPLE QUESTIONS 
 

These specific questions will not be on the examination but are representative of the types 
and format of the questions on the examination. 
 
1. Within how many days must an applicant retake the examination upon notice of the 

examination results? 
A. 120 days 
B. 90 days 
C. 60 days 
D. 30 days 

 
 
2. Mary Smith, Harry Williams and John Jones are CIs who work in the same office.  Mary 

and John plan to marry soon. Mary, who was adopted at birth, wants to locate her birth 
parents and invite them to her wedding.  Who can conduct the search for Mary's birth 
parents? 
A. Mary, as the adoptee 
B. John, as a personal friend 
C. Harry, as a business associate 
D. Another CI 

 
 
3. A CI attempts to contact a birth father but the birth father's wife demands to know why 

he is being contacted.  What should the CI tell the wife? 
A. "It is a personal matter."   
B. "I need to speak with her about a court matter." 
C. "I have information about a family member." 
D. "I am doing an investigation." 

 
 
Answers: B, D, A  
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6. EXAMINATION POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 
 
 
EXAMINATION 
SECURITY  

 
Candidates cannot receive any unauthorized assistance during 
the examination, including but not limited to any of the following:  

 
 Impersonating another person in order to take the examination 

on that person’s behalf; 
 
 Communicating examination content to any person (during or 

after the examination); 
 
 Removing examination materials from the examination room; 
 
 Having in one’s possession books, equipment, notes, written 

or printed materials, data, other than the examination 
materials distributed; 

 
 Reproducing examination materials or providing notes of 

examination content to any persons other than the 
examination staff; and, 

 
 Obstructing or subverting the administration of the 

examination. 
 
Any candidate who violates examination security policies is 
subject to denial of certification pursuant to ACJA §§ 7-201 and 
7-203.   
 

ARRIVAL AT THE 
EXAMINATION  

On the day of the examination, the candidate must arrive at the 
designated examination site no later than the established 
registration time.     
 

TARDINESS  An examination will not be disrupted to accommodate late 
arrivals.  If a candidate reports late, the candidate will not be 
permitted to take the examination and will be required to pay 
prescribed fees for later participation. 
 

REGISTRATION The candidate must report to the registration area and present 
photographic identification (e.g., state-issued driver’s license, 
military-issued identification or government-issued passport). The 
candidate will not be permitted to take the examination if they 
have not pre-registered and/or if they do not have the required 
photographic identification.   
 
At the time of the examination, all candidates will be required to 
sign an acknowledgement of the examination security policies 
and a non-disclosure agreement.     
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NO SHOW POLICY  If a candidate fails to show up for the examination, the candidate 

must re-register for the examination and pay the applicable fees. 
 

MATERIALS TO 
BRING  

Other than photographic identification, the candidate will be 
provided with all material necessary to participate in the 
examination process. 
 

PROHIBITED 
MATERIALS 

Candidates cannot bring communication devices, reference 
materials, photographic equipment or electronic devices into the 
examination room.  The following items are examples of 
prohibited materials: 
 
 Mobile devices or smartphones 
 Smartwatches 
 Candidate handbooks, technical reference books and 

dictionaries 
 Any recording device 
 Laptop computers 
 Food (beverage in a closed container is permitted) 

 
PERSONAL 
BELONGINGS  

Candidates may keep keys, wallets and purses on the floor near 
their seat during the examination.  Larger items (e.g., backpacks, 
briefcases, duffel bags, handbags, tote bags) and outerwear (e. 
g. coats, hats) CANNOT be brought into the examination.   
 
Examination staff will not be responsible for monitoring 
candidates’ personal items during the examination.  If a candidate 
reports with prohibited materials or belongings the candidate will 
be asked to make alternative arrangements before starting the 
examination.   
 
If securing belongings results in the candidate being late for the 
examination, the candidate will not be permitted to take the 
examination and will need to reschedule and submit any 
applicable fees.   
 

CHECK-OUT 
PROCEDURE  

All examination materials including test booklets, answer sheets, 
pencils and any notes taken during the examination must be 
returned to the examination staff.  Failure to do so will void the 
candidate’s examination.  
 

LEAVING THE ROOM 
DURING THE 
EXAMINATION 

Candidates will not be permitted to leave the examination room 
for any purpose unless accompanied by a member of the 
examination staff.  Candidates will NOT receive extra time to 
complete the examination.  Failure to follow this rule will result in 
the candidate’s examination being voided.  
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7. EXAMINATION RESULTS 
 
NOTIFICATION OF 
RESULTS 
 

Examination results will be sent to each candidate by mail at the 
address on file with the program within thirty (30) days of 
completion of the examination.  Examination results will not be 
released to third parties. 

 
RE-EXAMINATION 

 
A candidate who fails to pass the written examination may retake 
the examination two times under the following conditions: 
 

 The candidate is not disqualified from retaking the 
examination for fraud, dishonesty, or corruption while 
taking the examination, 

 The candidate sends a written request to retake the 
examination within 30 days of the date of receipt of the 
examination results;  

 The candidate takes the reexamination within 90 days of 
the date of the notice of the examination results. 

  
Pursuant to ACJA § 7-201, a candidate who has taken and failed 
the examination three times shall not be allowed to take a further 
examination unless the Confidential Intermediary Board grants 
special permission for the candidate to take another examination.  
The candidate must submit a written request stating the additional 
study and preparation the candidate has completed to qualify for 
an additional examination. 
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8. REFERENCES 
 

 
The following is a comprehensive list of references related to the examination questions. 
There are no references listed that are not reflected in the questions which may be 
present on the examination.  All cited references refer to the version of the reference as 
of September 1, 2017. Links to these references can be found on the Confidential 
Intermediary Page under Program Information: 
 
 http://www.azcourts.gov/cld/Confidential-Intermediary-Program  
 

1. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201(D) 
2. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201(E) 
3. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201(F) 
4. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201(G)(2) 
5. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201(G)(4) 
6. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-201(H) 

 
7. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203(E) 
8. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203(F) 
9. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203(G) 
10. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203(J) 
11. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203 (L) 
12. Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 7-203 (M) 

 
13. Arizona Revised Statutes § 8-106(E) 
14. Arizona Revised Statutes § 8-121  
15. Arizona Revised Statutes § 8-134 

 
16. Indian Child Welfare Act (25 USC § 1901)  
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ARIZONA CODE OF JUDICIAL ADMINISTRATION  
Part 7:  Administrative Office of the Courts 

Chapter 2:  Certification and Licensing Programs 
Section 7-201:  General Requirements 

 
 
D. Administration. 

 
1.  Role and Responsibilities of the Supreme Court.  Pursuant to A.R.S. § 8-134(I), § 8-543(A), § 
14-5651(A), § 28-3395(B), § 32-4005(A) and Rule 31(a)(23), Rules of the Supreme Court, the 
supreme court is responsible for administering the confidential intermediary program, 
fiduciary program, defensive driving program, certified reporter program and legal document 
preparer program.  The supreme court shall: 

 
a. Adopt rules for the implementation and administration of all certification programs 

including minimum qualifications, certification and disciplinary processes and a code 
of conduct. 

 
b. Establish and collect fees, costs and fines necessary for the implementation and 

enforcement of all certification programs. 
 

2. Role and Responsibilities of the Director.  The director as designated by the Az. Const. 
Art. 6 § 7: 

 
a. Shall: 
 

(1) Develop policies and procedures in conformity with this section and the applicable 
sections of ACJA including §§ 7-202, -203, -205, -206 and -208; 

(2) Appoint and supervise all division staff; 
(3) Approve or disapprove all budgetary matters; 
(4) Ensure implementation of the applicable laws, this section and the applicable 

sections of the ACJA; 
(5) Develop policies and procedures regarding review of credit reports; 
(6) Develop policies and procedures governing any complaint initiated by the director; 

and 
(7) Develop time frames for the processing of certification applications by division 

staff. 
 
b. May: 

 
(1)  Appoint and develop administrative guidelines for ethics advisory committees to 

issue nonbinding ethical advisory opinions;  
(2)  Direct division staff to conduct an investigation into alleged acts of misconduct or 

violations by a certificate holder pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(b); 
(3)  Initiate a complaint pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(b)(4)(b); and 
(4) Pursuant to the applicable sections of the ACJA, administrative orders and 

A.R.S. §§ 28-3399 and 41-2401(D)(8), initiate a compliance audit of a 
certificate holder to determine if the certificate holder is in compliance with 
statutes, court rules, administrative orders, court orders, local rules, the ACJA and 
any other legal or ethical requirement relating to the certificate holder’s profession 
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or occupation.  The following provisions apply to audits: 
(a) Timeframes. The director shall develop timeframes and procedures for division 

staff conducting compliance audits. 
(b) Confidentiality. 

(i) Working papers associated with the compliance audit maintained by 
division staff are not public records and are not subject to disclosure, except 
to court staff in connection with their official duties, the attorney general, 
county attorney, public regulatory entities or law enforcement agencies. 

(ii) Upon completion of an audit the final report issued to the affected party is 
a public record subject to public inspection. 

(c) Subpoena. The director may subpoena witnesses or documentary evidence, 
administer oaths and examine under oath any individual relative to the audit.  

(d) Referral.  The director may refer the audited certificate holder to an applicable 
agency or division staff for investigation of alleged acts of misconduct or 
violations of the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable sections of 
the ACJA.  If the director refers the audited certificate holder to division staff 
for investigation of allegations of acts of misconduct or violations, the division 
staff shall process the complaint pursuant to subsection (H). 

(e) Violations or Noncompliance.  Wilful violation of or wilful noncompliance 
with an order of the director regarding the audit, or wilful noncompliance with 
a corrective action plan resulting from an audit, may result in an order directing 
the certificate holder to comply.  The director may forward a copy of the order 
or report to the superior court and request the superior court issue an order to 
require the appearance of a person or business, compliance with the director’s 
order, or both.  The superior court may treat the failure to obey the order as 
contempt of court and may impose penalties as though the certificate holder had 
disobeyed an order issued by the superior court. 

 
3. Role and Responsibilities of the Deputy Director.  The deputy director shall: 

 
a. Serve as the probable cause evaluator, pursuant to subsection (H)(5)(a); 
 
b. Review the investigation summary of a complaint prepared by division staff; and 
 
c. Determine if there is probable cause to believe a certificate holder has committed acts 

of misconduct or violations of the statutes, court rules, or the applicable sections of the 
ACJA. 

 
4. Role and Responsibilities of Division Staff.  The director shall designate the division 

director and other division staff to assist in the administration of all certification programs 
pursuant to the Az. Const. Art 6, § 7.  Division staff shall administer all certification 
programs. 

 
a. Role and Responsibilities of the Division Director.  The division director may: 

 
(1) Issue subpoenas in the investigation process pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(h); 
(2) Dismiss complaints where the supreme court has no jurisdiction pursuant to 

subsection (H)(2)(b)(2); 
(3) Dismiss clearly insufficient complaints pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(b)(3); and 
(4) Refer complaints to another state agency or entity with jurisdiction, if appropriate, 
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pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(b)(4). 
 

b. Division staff shall: 
 

(1) Submit completed applicant fingerprint cards and applicable fees to the Arizona 
Department of Public Safety, in accordance with A.R.S. § 41-1750 and Public Law 
92-544, pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(d)(3); 

(2) Make recommendations to the board on all matters of applications and certification 
and any other matters regarding applicants and certificate holders; 

(3) Provide updates to the board on program activities; 
(4) Maintain a list of certificate holders and post the list on the applicable Website and 

make the list available to the public; 
(5) Conduct investigations of allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of the 

statutes, court rules, or the applicable sections of the ACJA by applicants, certificate 
holders or non-certificate holders and report the findings to the board; and 

(6) Conduct compliance audits and monitoring as required by this section or the 
applicable sections of the ACJA. 

 
5. Role and Responsibilities of Professional and Occupational Boards. 

 
a. Establishment.  The supreme court shall establish a board for each profession or occupation 

regulated by the supreme court pursuant to this section and the applicable ACJA section. 
 
b. Appointment of Members.  Upon establishment of a board, the chief justice shall appoint 

members to initial varying terms of one, two and three years to encourage continuity of the 
board.  Thereafter, all terms are for three years, unless otherwise noted in the applicable 
ACJA section.  The chief justice shall appoint the chair of each board who shall serve as 
chair no longer than three years, unless otherwise specified in the applicable ACJA section.  
If a vacancy occurs in a board member position, the chief justice shall fill the vacancy 
expeditiously in the manner provided for in the original appointment.  The appointments 
shall provide geographical, gender and ethnic diversity and consist of members of the 
regulated profession or occupation, court staff, the public and other professionals pursuant 
to the applicable ACJA section.  The chief justice may appoint members to serve 
successive terms.  The members shall assist division staff in the recruitment of board 
members and in the recommendation to the chief justice regarding appointment of 
candidates to the board. 

 
c. Duties of the Board. 
 

(1) The board shall: 
(a) Make recommendations to the supreme court regarding rules, policies and 

procedures for regulation of the profession or occupation, including: 
(i) applicant qualifications; 
(ii) applicant testing; 
(iii) fees; 
(iv) a code of conduct; 
(v) continuing education; and 
(vi) any other matter pertaining to the regulated profession. 

(b) Establish a passing score on any examination used for certification purposes, 
other than a national validated examination; 
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(c) Make all decisions regarding requests for special consideration to sit for 
subsequent examinations pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(f)(2)(d)(ii) and (iii); 

(d) Make all decisions regarding whether to certify applicants for initial or renewal 
of certification; 

(e) Review the division director’s dismissal of a complaint, pursuant to subsection 
(H)(2)(d); 

(f) Review the probable cause evaluator’s finding pursuant to subsection (H)(5)(a) 
and make a decision to: 
(i) Request division staff to conduct further investigation; 
(ii) Refer the complaint to another entity with jurisdiction; 
(iii) Determine no violation exists and dismiss the complaint with our without 

prejudice, pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a)(3); 
(iv) Order the preparation of documents necessary for informal or formal 

disciplinary actions pursuant to subsection (H)(7)(b), (H)(8)(b) or 
(H)(9)(b); or 

(v) Order an immediate emergency suspension of a certificate and set a date 
for an expedited hearing, if the public health, safety or welfare are at risk, 
pursuant to subsection (H)(9)(d)(1); and 

(g) Make all final decisions regarding alleged acts of misconduct or violations 
of the statutes, court rules, or applicable sections of the ACJA by applicants, 
certificate holders or noncertificate holders pursuant to subsections (H)(24) 
and (H)(25).  The board has the final decision on the disposition of a 
complaint and may take any action pursuant to subsection (H)(24), 
regardless of the recommendations of the division director or hearing officer. 

(2) The board may: 
(a) Hold informal interviews of applicants regarding initial certification and 

issue subpoenas for witnesses and documentary evidence, pursuant to 
subsection (E)(1)(a)(10); 

(b) Hold informal interviews of certificate holders regarding renewal of 
certification and issue subpoenas for witnesses and documentary evidence, 
pursuant to subsection (G)(1)(b); 

(c) Request additional investigation of a complaint dismissed by the division 
director, pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(d)(2); 

(d) Hold formal interviews of certificate holders regarding disciplinary matters, 
whether any discipline is eventually imposed or not, and issue subpoenas for 
witnesses and documentary evidence, pursuant to subsection (H)(8); and 

(e) Make procedural determinations to consolidate or sever any discipline matter. 
 

d. The board shall follow the policies and procedures in subsection (I). 
 
e. Persons appointed by the supreme court to serve on boards are immune from civil 

liability for good faith conduct relating to their official duties. 
 

6. Computation of Time.  For the purposes of this section and the ACJA specific section, the 
computation of days pursuant to Rule 6(a), Rules of Civil Procedure is calculated as 
follows: 

 
[T]he day of the act, event or default from which the designated period of time 
begins to run shall not be included . . . if less than 11 days, intermediate 
Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays shall not be included in the 
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computation. When that period of time is 11 days or more, intermediate 
Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays shall be included in the computation. 
The last day of the period so computed shall be included, unless it is a 
Saturday, a Sunday or a legal holiday, in which event the period runs until the 
end of the next day which is not a Saturday, a Sunday or a legal holiday. 

 
E. Initial Certification. 
 

1. Application for Initial Certification. 
 

a. Forms.  An applicant shall apply for certification on approved forms and file them with 
division staff. 

 
(1) Division staff shall conduct a preliminary review of the submitted application and 

determine if the application is deficient, the required supporting documents are 
deficient, fees are deficient, or a combination of these requirements are deficient. 

(2) Division staff shall advise the applicant in writing of the deficiencies. 
(3) The applicant shall provide the information and a written response to correct or 

explain the deficiencies, or otherwise remedy the defects in the application, 
supporting documents or fees. 

(4) Division staff may require the applicant to provide additional information or an 
explanation reasonably necessary to determine if the applicant meets the required 
qualifications specified in this section or the applicable sections of the ACJA. 

(5) Upon receipt of a complete application, division staff may conduct a personal credit 
review and review records regarding an application for initial certification, consistent 
with the policies and procedures developed by the director pursuant to subsection 
(D)(2)(a)(5). 

(6) The applicant shall notify division staff of any changes relevant to the application 
for certification within five days of the change. 

(7) Upon a final review of the application, division staff shall prepare and forward to 
the board a written recommendation regarding the applicant’s qualifications and 
eligibility for certification. 

(8) Division staff shall advise the board in any written recommendation regarding 
certification of an applicant, of any complaints alleging acts of misconduct or 
violations of statute, court rules or order, this section, or the applicable sections of 
the ACJA, if the allegations occurred during the time the applicant held an active 
certificate and were received after the applicant’s certificate expired. 

(9) The division staff’s written recommendation to the board shall note any deficiencies 
in the application.  A deficient application for initial certification is lacking one or more 
of the following requirements: 
(a) An explanation or correction of any deficiencies, pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(a)(4);  
(b) Payment of all appropriate fees, pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(b); 
(c) A photograph, pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(c); or 
(d) A readable fingerprint card or affidavit in lieu of a fingerprint card, pursuant to 

subsection (E)(1)(d). 
(10) The board, upon review of the division staff recommendation, may request an 

informal interview with an applicant for certification, pursuant to subsection 
(D)(5)(c)(2)(a), to establish if: 
(a) Additional information is needed to determine if the applicant meets all 

qualifications for certification in this section and the applicable section of the 
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ACJA; 
(b) An explanation of the information provided by the applicant is needed to 

determine if the applicant meets all qualifications for certification in this section 
and the applicable section of the ACJA; or 

(c) Any complaints, regarding allegations of misconduct or violations of the 
statutes, court rules or applicable sections of the ACJA, received after the 
applicant’s original certificate expired, require investigation by division staff 
pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(a)(4). 

 
b. Fees.  The applicant shall submit, with the application, any applicable certification, 

examination and training fees specified in the applicable sections of the ACJA.  Fees 
are not refundable or waivable.  An applicant shall make the payment for any fee 
payable to the Arizona Supreme Court.  An application submitted without fees is 
deficient. 

 
c. Photograph.  The applicant for certification shall provide with the application, one color 

passport-size photograph, two inches by two inches of the applicant’s head, neck and 
shoulders only.  The applicant shall ensure the photograph was taken within the last 
two years and clearly identifies the applicant.  An application submitted without a 
photograph is deficient. 

 
d. Fingerprinting.  If required pursuant to law, the applicant shall submit with the 

application, a full set of fingerprints, with the fee established by law, for the purpose 
of obtaining a state and federal criminal records check.  An application submitted 
without a fingerprint card, if required by law, is deficient. 

 
(1) The applicant shall provide a readable and complete fingerprint card.  The applicant 
shall pay any costs attributable to the original fingerprinting or subsequent re-
fingerprinting due to unreadable fingerprints and any fees required for the submission 
or resubmission of fingerprints. 
(2) If after two attempts, the FBI determines the fingerprints provided are not readable, 
the applicant shall submit a written statement, under oath, the applicant has not been 
arrested, charged, indicted, convicted of or pled guilty to any felony or misdemeanor, 
other than as disclosed on the application. 
(3) Division staff shall submit completed applicant fingerprint cards and the applicable 
fees to the Arizona Department of Public Safety, pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1750, Public 
Law 92-544 and subsection (D)(4)(b)(1). 

 
e. Initial Training.  If required by the applicable section of the ACJA, an applicant shall 

attend and complete the initial training session.  Division staff shall provide the 
applicant with a document signifying the applicant completed the training.  If required 
by the applicable section of the ACJA, an applicant shall attend the entire training 
session for eligibility to sit for a certification examination. 

 
f. Examination.  If required by the applicable section of the ACJA, an applicant shall take 

and pass the examination for initial certification.  Specific examination requirements 
are located in subsection (E) of the applicable ACJA section.  National examinations 
shall be at the time and place scheduled by the administering entity. 

 
(1) Administration of the Initial Examination.  In administering the examination, 
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division staff shall: 
(a) Offer the examination on dates in conjunction with the initial training for 
certification, if initial training is required by the applicable section of the ACJA; 
(b) Set a date and place for the examination; 
(c) Promptly notify qualified applicants in writing they are permitted to sit for the 

examination, specifying the time and place of such examination; 
(d) Publish in advance of the examination, content specifications for the 

examination and a study guide, as approved by the applicable board and make 
the specifications and study guide available to applicants;  

(e) Announce, in advance of the examination, the passing score for the 
examination, as established by the applicable board.  The passing score shall be 
consistent with the job analysis conducted at the direction of the board.  An 
applicant shall pass with a final score on the examination meeting the guidelines 
established by the board; 

(f) Use multiple versions of the examination and ensure no copies of the 
examination are released to applicants or the public; 

(g) Inform each applicant in writing as to whether the applicant passed or failed the 
examination and if the grade is failing, a reexamination is required to meet all 
qualifications for certification; and 

(h) Make and keep an accurate record of each examination used at each administration 
of the examination and the score of each person taking the examination. 

(2) Administration of Reexaminations.  Division staff shall allow an applicant who fails 
the first examination to: 
(a) Review the answer sheet and grade of the applicant, upon written request.  The 

applicant shall conduct the review during business hours in the presence of 
division staff and the applicant shall not copy materials provided for review. 

(b) Retake the examination two times under the following conditions: 
(i) The applicant is not otherwise disqualified from retaking the examination; 
(ii) The applicant sent a written request to retake the examination to division 

staff within 30 days of the date of the notice of the examination results;  
(iii) The applicant files a new application and pays the applicable examination 

fee each time; 
(iv)  The applicant takes the second or third reexamination within 90 days of 

the date of the notice of the examination results indicating the applicant 
failed either the first or second examination; and 

(v) An applicant who does not submit a written request to retake the 
examination within the 30 day time frame specified in subsection 
(E)(1)(f)(2)(b)(ii), may request an extension of time from the board upon 
a showing of good cause. 

(c) An applicant taking and failing the examination three times, unless otherwise 
noted in the applicable ACJA section, shall not be permitted to take any 
subsequent examination unless granted permission by the board. 

(d) Subsequent Examinations.  
(i) Any applicant who was unsuccessful on the third attempt to pass the 

examination may request the board for permission to sit for a fourth 
examination.  The applicant shall submit a written request to the board to 
sit for a fourth examination under the following conditions: 
(a) The applicant has filed a new application with division staff and paid 

the appropriate examination fee; 
(b) The applicant is not otherwise disqualified from taking the subsequent 
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examination; 
(c) The applicant has provided documentation attached to the new application 

stating the additional study and preparation the applicant has made to qualify 
for a fourth examination; and 

(d) The applicant has provided documentation attached to the new application 
demonstrating the circumstances and reasons for believing the applicant now 
possesses the knowledge of the minimum competencies of the profession or 
occupation to pass the fourth examination. 

(ii)  If the board finds the applicant demonstrates additional study and 
preparation and the circumstances and reasons to believe the applicant now 
possesses the knowledge of the minimum competencies of the profession 
or occupation, the board may, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(c), 
approve the applicant’s request to sit for the fourth examination.  Division 
staff shall inform the applicant of the board’s decision to allow the 
applicant to sit for the fourth examination within ten days of the board’s 
decision.  The notice shall state the earliest date for which the applicant 
may sit for the fourth examination. 

(iii) If the board finds the applicant does not demonstrate additional study and 
preparation and the circumstances and reasons to believe the applicant now 
possesses the knowledge of the minimum competencies of the profession or 
occupation, the board shall, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(c), deny the 
applicant’s request to sit for the fourth examination.  Division staff shall 
inform the applicant of the board’s decision to deny the applicant’s request 
to sit for the fourth examination within ten days of the board’s decision.  The 
notice shall state the reasons for the board’s denial.  The decision by the 
board to deny the request is final and there is no right to a hearing. 

(iv) If the applicant’s request to sit for the fourth examination is denied, the 
applicant may file a new application twelve months after the board’s 
decision to deny. 

(v) An applicant who was unsuccessful on the fourth or any subsequent 
examinations may request permission from the board to sit for a subsequent 
examination pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(f)(2)(d). 

 
g.  An applicant is disqualified from taking any future examination if the board determines 

the applicant engaged in fraud, dishonesty or corruption while taking the examination 
or any subsequent examination.  

 
h.  Updating of Examinations.  Division staff shall update examinations as needed and 

may ask representatives from the court community, regulated profession or occupation, 
the public, or any other knowledgeable resource to assist in the development and 
validation of examinations for the applicable sections of the ACJA.  

 
2. Decision Regarding Certification. 

 
a. Notification of Certification.  Upon the board’s decision to issue a certificate, division 

staff shall promptly notify qualified applicants of certification in writing, pursuant to 
this section and the applicable section of the ACJA.  Each qualified applicant shall 
receive a document, badge or card evidencing certification, stating the applicant’s 
name, date of certification, certificate number and expiration date of the certification.  
Each certificate shall expire as provided in the applicable section of the ACJA.  In 
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addition, unless previously provided, each applicant granted certification shall receive 
a copy of this section and the applicable section of the ACJA, detailing the 
responsibilities of the certificate holder. 

 
b. Certificate Status.  All certificates are valid until expired, surrendered, suspended or 

revoked. 
 

c. Denial of Initial Certification. 
 

(1) The board shall deny certification of the applicant if the applicant does not meet the 
qualifications or eligibility requirements at the time of the application described in 
this section or the applicable section of the ACJA; or has not submitted a complete 
application with all deficiencies corrected, the applicable documents and fees. 

 
(2) The board may deny certification of any applicant if one or more of the following 

is found: 
(a) Material misrepresentation, omission, fraud, dishonesty, or corruption on the 

part of the applicant in the examination for certification; 
(b) The applicant or an officer, director, partner, member, trustee, or manager of 

the applicant: 
(i) Has committed material misrepresentation, omission, fraud, dishonesty, 

or corruption in the application form; 
(ii) Has committed any act constituting material misrepresentation, omission, 

fraud, dishonesty or corruption in business or financial matters; 
(iii) Has conduct showing the applicant or an officer, director, partner, 

member, trustee, or manager of the applicant is incompetent or a source 
of injury and loss to the public; 

(iv) Has a conviction by final judgment of a felony, regardless of whether 
civil rights have been restored; 

(v) Has a conviction by final judgment of a misdemeanor if the crime has a 
reasonable relationship to the practice of the certified profession or 
occupation, regardless of whether civil rights have been restored; 

(vi) Has a denial, revocation, suspension or any disciplinary action of any 
professional or occupational license or certificate; 

(vii) Has a censure, probation or any other disciplinary action of any 
professional or occupational license or certificate by other licensing or 
regulatory entities if the underlying conduct is relevant to the 
certification sought; 

(viii) Has a termination, suspension, probation or any other disciplinary action 
regarding past employment if the underlying conduct is relevant to the 
certification sought; 

(ix) Has been found civilly liable in an action involving misrepresentation, 
material omission, fraud, misappropriation, theft or conversion; 

(x) Is currently on probation or parole; 
(xi) Has violated any decision, order, or rule issued by a professional 

regulatory entity; 
(xii) Has violated any order of a court, judicial officer, administrative tribunal, or 

the board; 
(xiii) Has made a false or misleading statement or verification in support of an 

application for a certificate filed by another person; 
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(xiv) Has made a false or misleading oral or written statement to division staff 
or the board; 

(xv) Failed to disclose information on the certification application subsequently 
revealed through the background check; 

(xvi) Failed to respond or furnish information to the division staff or the board 
when the information is legally requested and is in the applicant’s control or 
is reasonably available to the applicant and pertains to certification or 
investigative inquiries; or 

(xvii) If the applicant is a business, a record of conduct constituting dishonesty 
or fraud on the part of an employee, board member, or the business. 

(3) The board may consider any or all of the following criteria when reviewing the 
application for certification of an applicant with a misdemeanor or felony 
conviction, pursuant to subsection (E)(2)(c)(2)(b)(iv) and (v): 
(a) The applicant’s age at the time of the conviction; 
(b) The applicant’s experience and general level of sophistication at the time of the 

pertinent conduct and conviction; 
(c) The degree of violence, injury or property damage and the cumulative effect of 

the conduct; 
(d) The applicant’s level of disregard of ethical or professional obligations; 
(e) The reliability of the information regarding the conduct; 
(f) If the offenses involved fraud, deceit or dishonesty on the part of the applicant 

resulting in harm to others; 
(g) The recency of the conviction; 
(h) Any evidence of rehabilitation or positive social contributions since the 

conviction occurred as offered by the applicant; 
(i) The relationship of the conviction to the purpose of certification; 
(j) The relationship of the conviction to the applicant’s field of certification; 
(k) The applicant’s candor during the application process; 
(l) The significance of any omissions or misrepresentation during the application 

process; and 
(m) The applicant’s overall qualifications for certification separate from the conviction. 

(4) Upon the board’s decision to deny certification, division staff shall, notify each 
applicant denied certification of the reasons for the denial and the right of the 
applicant to a hearing, pursuant to subsection (E)(2)(c)(5).  The division staff shall 
provide the notice in writing and shall send the notice within ten days after the 
board’s decision. 

(5) An applicant is entitled to a hearing on the decision to deny certification, if the 
disciplinary clerk receives a written request for a hearing within fifteen days after 
division staff mails the notice of the denial.  The applicant is the moving party at 
the hearing and has the burden of proof.  The provisions of subsections (H)(12) 
through (H)(23) and (H)(25) through (H)(27) apply regarding procedures for the 
hearing and appeal. 

(6) An applicant denied certification by a final decision of the board, whether or not a 
hearing was requested and held, may reapply for certification, pursuant to 
subsection (E), under the following circumstances: 
(a)  It has been twelve months since the final decision by the board; 
(b) If the initial reasons for denial were failure to meet the education and experience 

requirements, the applicant shall attach to the new application written 
documentation demonstrating how the circumstances have changed to meet 
these requirements: 
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(i) Division staff shall review the new application and supporting 
documentation and consider if the applicant now meets the education and 
experience requirements; 

(ii) Division staff shall notify the applicant in writing within ten days if the 
applicant has now provided sufficient documentation to demonstrate the 
applicant meets the education and experience requirements pursuant to this 
section and the applicable ACJA sections or has not provided sufficient 
documentation to demonstrate the applicant now meets the education and 
experience requirements; 

(iii) If the applicant has met the education and experience requirements 
necessary for certification, division staff shall forward the application to 
the board pursuant to subsection (E)(1)(a)(7); 

(iv) If the applicant has not met the education and experience requirements 
necessary for certification, division staff shall forward the application to 
the board noting the deficiencies and a recommendation for denial pursuant 
to subsection (E)(1)(a)(9) and provide written notice to the applicant of the 
deficiencies and recommendation; and 

(v) The applicant may request an informal interview with the board to review 
the recommendation of division staff for denial of certification because of 
the deficiencies, if the request is submitted to the board in writing within 
ten days of the date of the notification. 

(c) If the board denied certification for reasons other than failure to meet the 
education or experience requirements, the applicant shall present new 
documentation to address the original issues resulting in denial including all of 
the following: 
(i) Demonstration of acceptance of responsibility for the conduct leading to the 

denial by the board; and 
(ii) Establishment of good moral character. 

(d) In determining whether the applicant has established good moral character, the 
board shall conduct an informal interview with the applicant, no later than 60 
days after the applicant has submitted a completed application. 

(e) Upon a showing of good cause, the applicant may apply for certification sooner 
than twelve months if denied solely for lack of education or experience 
necessary for certification, if those circumstances have changed. 

(f) The applicant may not reapply for certification if there are statutory provisions 
prohibiting certification as specified in the applicable ACJA section. 

 
3. Time Frames for Certification. 

 
a. The director shall develop time frames for the processing of certification applications by 

division staff, pursuant to subsection (D)(2)(a)(7). 
 
b. An applicant shall respond timely to requests for information from division staff 

pertaining to the applicant’s application.  Unless the applicant can show good cause as to 
why the board should grant additional time, the board shall not approve any applicant for 
certification unless the applicant successfully completes all requirements within 90 days 
from the date division staff received the original initial application for certification or 
within 90 days of the applicant passing the examination for certification if required by 
the applicable section of the ACJA.    
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c. If an applicant needs additional time to comply with division staff requests or to complete 
the application process within the time frames specified in this subsection, the applicant 
shall file a written request for an extension with division staff.  The request shall state the 
reasons for additional time to comply with time frames and certification requirements.  
The applicant shall file the request for additional time to complete the initial application 
at a minimum, ten days prior to the 90 day deadline, unless the applicant makes a showing 
of good cause.  Failure to complete the certification process or file a written request for 
an extension of time within this time period shall nullify and void the original application 
and supporting documents, including fingerprints, fees and the applicable examination 
scores. 

 
d. Division staff shall forward the written request for an extension of time to the board at 

the next scheduled board meeting. 
 
e. If the applicant fails to meet the 90 day deadline or is not granted additional time by 

the board to complete the initial certification process, the applicant is considered a new 
applicant.  The applicant shall submit a new application including a fingerprint card 
and fee if applicable and certification and training fees.  The applicant is not required 
to sit for the examination if the applicant submits the new application within one year 
of having successfully passed the required examination. 
 

4. Records of Applicants for Certification and Certificate Holders.  Unless otherwise provided by 
law, the following applies to applicant and certificate holder records: 

 
a. Applicant and certificate holder’s certification records are open to the public, after 

home addresses, home or cellular telephone numbers, social security numbers and all 
other personally identifying information, except for the name of the certificate holder, 
have been redacted. 

 
b. Division staff shall retain applicant and certificate holder records for a period of five 

years from the last activity in the record.  Division staff shall take appropriate methods 
to ensure the confidentiality of any destroyed records. 

 
c. If an applicant or certificate holder needs to have personally identifying information 

contained in their files released to an employer or potential employer, the applicant or 
certificate holder shall sign a release of information form.  Division staff shall provide 
the applicant or certificate holder with an approved form for this purpose. 
 

5. Unlawful Use of Designation or Abbreviation.  A person who has received a certificate to practice 
in a specific profession or occupation from the board is authorized to utilize the designation of 
“Arizona certified” in connection with their title or name and may use any appropriate abbreviation 
connected with this certification.  No other person or business shall assume or use the title, 
designation or abbreviation or any other title, designation, sign or card, the use of which is 
reasonably likely to induce others to believe the person or business holds valid certification issued 
by the Arizona Supreme Court in the specified profession or occupation.  The certificate holder 
shall not sell, transfer or assign its certification to any other entity. 
 

6. Cease and Desist Order.  The board, upon completion of an investigation or disciplinary 
proceeding, may issue a cease and desist order pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a)(6)(g).  A 
hearing officer or a superior court judge, upon petition by the board, may enter an order for an 
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individual or business entity to immediately cease and desist conduct constituting engagement in 
the practice of the profession or occupation without the required certification. 

 
7. Voluntary Surrender.  A certificate holder in good standing may surrender their certificate to 

the board.  However, the surrender of the certificate is not valid until accepted by the board.  
The board or division staff may require additional information reasonably necessary to 
determine if the certificate holder has violated any provision of the statutes, court rules and 
this section or the applicable section of the ACJA.  The surrender does not prevent the 
commencement of subsequent discipline proceedings for any conduct of the surrendered 
certificate holder occurring prior to the surrender. 

 
a. Division staff shall present the surrendered certificate to the board at the next available 
board meeting after receiving the surrender.  Upon the board’s acceptance of the voluntary 
surrender division staff shall designate the certificate of the certificate holder as a 
“surrendered certificate holder in good standing”.  Division staff shall notify the certificate 
holder in writing within ten days after the board’s acceptance of the surrender. 

 
b. The board shall not accept the surrender if there is a complaint pending against the 
certificate holder.  However, this does not preclude the board from entering into a consent 
agreement to resolve the pending complaint pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a)(6)(c) by 
terms including the voluntary surrender of the certificate. 
 
c. The board shall, within 120 days of the receipt of the surrendered certificate by division 

staff either accept the surrender or, based upon the recommendations of division staff, 
institute disciplinary proceedings pursuant to subsection (H).  If the board subsequently 
imposes a sanction pursuant to subsections (H)(24) and (H)(25) upon the certificate of 
the surrendered certificate holder, division staff shall change the status of the certificate 
holder from “surrendered certificate holder in good standing” to that of a person so 
disciplined. 

 
8. Inactive Status. 
 

a. A certificate holder may transfer to inactive status, upon written request to the board.  
Upon recommendation of division staff the board may accept the transfer of the 
certificate holder to inactive status and division staff shall note in the certification 
database the certificate holder is on inactive status, in good standing.  The inactive 
certificate holder shall not engage in the practice of the profession or occupation of 
certification pro bono or for a fee or other compensation while on inactive status and 
shall not present themselves as a certificate holder. 

 
b. Upon application and payment of any applicable fee for reactivation of certification, 

required by the applicable section of the ACJA, the board may require the applicant to 
comply with the following: 
(1) Submit proof of compliance with the requirements for continuing education;  
(2) Submit other proof required by the board to: 

(a) Demonstrate the applicant possesses the skills necessary to practice in the 
profession or occupation; 

(b) Demonstrate the applicant remains in compliance with the applicable ACJA 
sections; and 

(c) Demonstrate compliance with other requirements for certification. 
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(3) If the applicant for reinstatement engaged in the profession or occupation in 
another jurisdiction during the time the certificate holder’s certificate was 
inactive, the applicant shall submit all of the following: 
(a) Proof of practice in the profession or occupation in the other jurisdiction; 
(b) An affidavit affirming the applicant has not been disciplined in another 

jurisdiction; and 
(c) An affidavit affirming the applicant is not subject to discipline or being 

investigated in another jurisdiction. 
(4) If the applicant has been inactive for more than one year the board may require the 

applicant to sit for and pass the applicable examination. 
 

c. If the applicant meets the requirements of this subsection to the satisfaction of the 
board, the board shall return the inactive certificate holder to active status.  Division 
staff shall change the status of the certificate holder from “inactive” to “active” and 
notify the certificate holder of the board’s decision within ten days. 

 
d. A certificate holder shall only remain in an inactive status as specified by the applicable 

ACJA section. 
 

9. Reinstatement after Suspension or Revocation.  A certificate holder whose certificate was 
suspended or revoked by a final order of the board may apply for reinstatement under the 
following conditions: 

 
a. An applicant for reinstatement shall file a written application for reinstatement with 

division staff, accompanied by the appropriate fees and the following documents: 
 

(1) The reinstatement form and a copy of the final order of suspension or revocation; 
(2) A detailed description of the applicant’s occupation and sources of income or 

earnings derived during the period between the filing of the final order by the 
disciplinary clerk and the date of application for reinstatement after suspension or 
an initial application for recertification; 

(3) A statement of every civil or criminal action and a copy of the action, where the 
applicant was either plaintiff or defendant, since the submission of the last renewal 
application or, if no renewal application has been submitted, then since the initial 
application was submitted; 

(4) A list of all criminal or civil final judgments since the submission of the last renewal 
application, or if no renewal application has been submitted, then since the initial 
application was submitted; 

(5) A list of all residences and business addresses since the submission of the last 
renewal application, or if no renewal application has been submitted, then since the 
initial application for certification and the date division staff receive the application 
for reinstatement; 

(6) A statement of concise facts of how the applicant for reinstatement has maintained 
the minimum competencies and knowledge during the period of time from the date 
of the suspension order until the date division staff receives the reinstatement 
application; 

(7) A statement of concise facts of how the applicant for recertification has maintained 
the minimum competencies and knowledge during the period of time from the date 
of the order revoking the applicant’s certificate until the date division staff receive 
the application for certification; 
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(8) A statement of facts supporting reinstatement to the profession or occupation after 
suspension; or a statement of facts supporting certification again to the profession 
or occupation; and  

(9) A statement of all facts demonstrating the applicant’s rehabilitation during the period 
of time from the date of the board’s order revoking the applicant’s certificate or 
suspending the applicant’s certificate, until the date division staff receive the 
application for reinstatement or initial certification. 

 
b. Division staff or the board may require additional information demonstrating the 

applicant meets the minimum competencies of the profession or occupation.  The board 
may require the applicant sit for and pass the applicable examination in order to process 
the application or determine if the applicant meets the minimum competencies of the 
profession or occupation.  The applicant has the burden of proof to demonstrate by 
clear and convincing evidence the applicant’s rehabilitation, compliance with all 
discipline orders and rules and, the applicant meets the minimum competencies of the 
profession or occupation.  An applicant denied reinstatement by the board has the right 
to a hearing pursuant to subsection (H)(12), except if the applicant fails to provide the 
information within the requested time frame.  Failure to provide the information shall 
result in automatic denial of reinstatement without the right to a hearing. 

 
c. Upon submission of all requirements of subsection (E)(9)(a), the applicant shall meet 

all requirements of initial certification pursuant to subsection (E)(1).  The applicant, for 
reinstatement after a suspension or revocation, shall pay the fee for reinstatement, 
pursuant to subsection (K) in the applicable section of the ACJA.  

 
d. The board shall not issue any certification under this section to any person or business 

entity whose certification has been suspended until: 
(1) The person or business entity seeking reinstatement of a suspended certificate has 

demonstrated all the requirements of the suspension order have been met; and 
(2) The person or business entity qualifies in accordance with the applicable provisions 

of this section or other sections of the ACJA. 
 
e. The board shall not issue any certification under this section to any person or business 

entity whose certification has been revoked until: 
(1) One year has passed from the date of the board’s final order of revocation; 
(2) The person or business entity seeking certification provides proof of satisfaction of 

any and all requirements in the order of revocation; and 
(3) The person or business entity again qualifies in accordance with the provisions of 

subsection (E)(1) and the applicable sections of the ACJA. 
 
F. Role and Responsibilities of Certificate Holders. 
 

1. Code of Conduct.  Each individual certificate holder shall adhere to the code of conduct or 
standards of conduct, subsection (J) in the applicable section of the ACJA. 

 
2. Identification.  Upon request by any judicial officer, court employee or member of the 

public, a certificate holder shall provide proof of certification. 
 

3. Assumed Business Name.  A certificate holder shall not transact business in this state under 
an assumed name or under any designation, name or style, corporate or otherwise, other 
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than the legal name of the individual or business entity unless the person or business entity 
files with division staff a statement indicating the name for transaction of the business and 
the legal full name of the certificate holder. 

 
4. Response.  A certificate holder shall respond by the specific time stated in any request for 

information from, and shall provide documents to the director, deputy director, division staff, 
or board pertaining to certification, renewal of certification, complaints alleging acts of 
misconduct or violations by the certificate holder, investigative inquiries and compliance audits 
or defensive driving course monitorings of the practice of the certificate holder.  A certificate 
holder shall respond to any subpoenas or orders issued by the director, division director, board, 
or any judicial officer.  Failure to comply with this subsection by a certificate holder constitutes 
grounds for discipline pursuant to subsection (H)(6)(c) or denial of renewal of certification 
pursuant to subsection (G)(3) and (G)(4).  Failure to comply with this subsection by a certificate 
holder in completion of a corrective action plan or defensive driving course monitoring may 
constitute grounds for discipline, pursuant to subsection (H)(6)(b). 

 
5. Candor. 

 
a.  A certificate holder shall not knowingly: 
 

(1) Make a false statement of material fact or law to a tribunal; or 
(2) Fail to disclose a material fact to a tribunal, except as required by applicable law. 

 
b. A certificate holder shall notify division staff within ten days of a misdemeanor or 

felony conviction. 
 

6. Change of Name or Address.  A certificate holder shall notify division staff of any change 
in name or business, directory, mailing or home address, telephone number or email 
address within 30 days of any change, pursuant to the applicable sections of the ACJA. The 
certificate holder shall make this notice in writing by U.S. Post, facsimile or email. 

 
G. Renewal of Certification. 
 

. . . 
 

2. Application.  A certificate holder is responsible for applying for a renewal certificate.  The 
certificate holder shall apply for renewal of certification on the form provided by division 
staff.  The board shall set a deadline renewal application date, in advance of the expiration 
date, to allow a reasonable time frame for processing the renewal application. 
 
a. When a certificate holder has filed a timely and complete renewal application, the 

existing certification does not expire until the administrative process for review of the 
renewal application has been completed. 

 
b. When a certificate holder requests to file an untimely renewal application, the division 

director may process the untimely application and recommend to the applicable Board 
to renew a certificate if the untimely renewal applicant demonstrates to the director 
good cause for the untimely filing. In addition, the following shall apply: 
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(1) The applicant shall submit a complete renewal application and applicable fees, and 
any other documentation requested by division staff to verify the grounds for the 
good cause exception requested. 

(2) The applicant shall not practice in the applicant’s profession: 
(a) until the director decides in writing based on good cause to process the 

application or 
(b) if the director decides not to process the untimely application, until an initial 

application is processed and the applicant is granted certification pursuant to 
the AJCA § 7-201(E) and the applicable sections of §§ 7-202 through 7-208. 

 
c. When a timely renewal application is denied, the existing certification does not expire 

until the last day for seeking a hearing on the denial decision pursuant to subsection 
(E)(2)(c)(5); or if a hearing is requested, until the final decision is made by the board 
pursuant to subsection (H)(25). 

 
 
d. The board may request an informal interview with the applicant for renewal, pursuant 

to subsection (D)(5)(c)(2)(b), to establish if additional information or an explanation of 
the information provided by the applicant is needed to determine if the applicant 
continues to meet the qualifications for certification in this section and the applicable 
section of the ACJA. 

 
e. The certificate of a certificate holder who does not supply a complete renewal 

application and payment of the renewal fee in the specified time and manner to division 
staff shall expire as of the expiration date in the applicable section of the ACJA.   
Division staff shall treat any renewal application received after the expiration date as a 
new application, except when the certificate holder requests to file an untimely renewal 
application pursuant to subsection (G)(2)(b). 

 
. . .  

 
4. Decision Regarding Renewal. 

 
a. The board may renew a certification if the certificate holder: 
 

(1) Meets all requirements for renewal as specified in this section and the applicable 
section of the ACJA; 

(2) Submits a completed renewal application; and 
(3) Pays the renewal fees on or before the expiration date as specified by the applicable 

section of the ACJA. 
 

b. Division staff shall promptly notify the applicant in writing of the board’s decision to 
renew the applicant’s certificate in accordance with this section and the applicable 
section of the ACJA. Each renewed applicant shall receive a document, badge or card 
evidencing renewal of certification, stating the applicant’s name, date of certification, 
certification number and expiration date. 

 
c. The board may deny renewal of certification for any of the reasons stated in subsection 

(E)(2)(c).  Division staff shall promptly notify the applicant, in writing, within ten days 
of the board’s decision to deny renewal of certification.  The notice shall include the 
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board’s reasons for the denial of renewal of certification and the right of the applicant 
to a hearing, pursuant to subsection (G)(4)(d). 

 
d. An applicant is entitled to a hearing, on the decision to deny renewal of certification if 

the disciplinary clerk receives a written request for a hearing  within fifteen days after 
the date of the notice of denial.  The applicant is the moving party at the hearing and 
has the burden of proof.  The provisions of subsections (H)(12) through (H)(23) and 
(H)(25) through (H)(27) apply regarding procedures for hearing and appeal. 

 
H. Complaints, Investigations, Disciplinary Actions, Proceedings and Certification 

and Disciplinary Hearings. 
 
1. Complaints:  Filing and General Provisions. 

 
a. Filing of Complaint.  All judicial officers, court employees and certificate holders shall, 

and any person may, notify division staff if it appears a certificate holder has violated 
statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the ACJA.  The 
complainant shall provide the complaint in writing with sufficient specificity to warrant 
further investigation.  The complaint form shall provide the name, telephone number 
and address of the complainant. 

 
b. Director Initiated Complaints.  In accordance with the policies and procedures developed 

pursuant to subsections (D)(2)(a)(6) and (D)(2)(b)(2), the director may direct division staff 
to investigate allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of statutes, court rules, or the 
ACJA, which may result in a complaint, if such investigation protects and serves the best 
interest of the public.  This shall include an investigation where the complainant does not 
wish to have their identity disclosed to the certificate holder. 

 
(1) Review of allegations.  Division staff shall: 

(a) Review the allegations and determine if the supreme court has jurisdiction; 
(b) Determine if there is sufficient information to permit investigation; 
(c) Verify details in the allegations including the certificate holder’s status and, if 

available, any addresses, phone numbers or other relevant factors; 
(d) Corroborate, by independent observations and information, the allegations of acts 

of misconduct or violations of statutes, court rules or the ACJA, to determine if the 
allegations are credible and reliable; and 

(e) Meet with the division director to confirm jurisdiction and relevant factors 
contained in the allegations. 

(2) Division staff shall, upon completion of the review, prepare a written report of the 
allegations and include the following: 
(a) Confirmation of supreme court jurisdiction; 
(b) Determination, if the allegations are true, they would warrant discipline; 
(c) Verification of details in the allegations; and 
(d) Corroboration of relevant facts by independent observations. 

(3) Division staff shall forward the written report to the director for review and schedule a 
meeting with the director and division director. 

(4) The director shall review the written report and direct staff to: 
(a) Conduct further review of the allegations; 
(b) Initiate a complaint naming the director as the complainant, pursuant to subsection 

(D)(2)(b)(3); or 
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(c) Determine the allegations do not warrant the filing of a director initiated complaint. 
 
c. Anonymous Complaints.  Division staff shall not accept anonymous complaints. 

 
d. Authority after Expiration.  If a complaint or investigation is pending prior to the 

expiration date of a certificate, the provisions of subsection (G)(1) and the applicable 
sections of the ACJA do not affect the authority of: 

 
(1) The director to initiate a complaint, pursuant to subsection (D)(2)(b)(3); 
(2) Division staff to investigate a complaint, pursuant to subsection (D)(4)(b)(5); or 
(3) The board to take disciplinary action regarding the certification of a certificate 

holder, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(g). 
 
e. Standing of Complainant.  A complainant does not have standing regarding any proceedings 

and is not a party to any proceedings.  The complainant may, upon request to division staff, 
receive notice of any public proceeding concerning the complaint or any consent agreements.  
The complainant submits to the jurisdiction of the supreme court’s certification and licensing 
division for all purposes relating to the proceedings. 

 
(1) The complainant shall keep division staff informed of any changes of mailing address, 

telephone number or email address during the investigation and any disciplinary 
proceedings. 

(2) Division staff shall forward any correspondence or notice to the complainant by 
United States mail to the last address of record with division staff. 

(3) Division staff shall provide the complainant with the following information: 
(a) A written acknowledgement of the receipt of the complaint; 
(b) A copy of the letter sent to the certificate holder requiring a response to the 

alleged acts of misconduct or violations and the initial response by the 
certificate holder, within twenty days of receipt of the certificate holder’s initial 
response; 

(c) Notice, if the complainant has requested notice, of any public proceeding 
concerning the complaint or any consent agreement; 

(d) Notice of the final disposition of each allegation; and 
(e) Notice of the dismissal of the complaint within ten days of the determination 

by the division director, if applicable, pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(b). 
(4)  Failure by division staff to provide the complainant with information as required 

by this subsection shall not affect the ultimate disposition of any allegations of acts 
of misconduct or violations by the certificate holder. 

(5) The complainant may file a request for review by the board of the division 
director’s dismissal of the complaint, within ten days of the date of the notice of 
dismissal pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(e). 
 

f. Non-abatement.  Unwillingness, failure of the complainant to cooperate with division 
staff or the board, withdrawal of the complaint or a specific allegation of misconduct 
or violation contained in the complaint, settlement or compromise between the 
complainant and the certificate holder, or restitution by the certificate holder shall not 
abate the processing of any complaint or disciplinary proceeding. 

 
g. Confidentiality of Complaints.  The director, deputy director, division staff, board and 

court employees shall keep information or documents obtained or generated by the 
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director, deputy director, division staff, board or court employees in the course of an 
open investigation or received in an initial report of misconduct confidential, except as 
mandated by court rules or this section. 

 
(1) Confidential information may also be disclosed during the course of an open 

investigation: 
(a) To court staff, the attorney general, county attorney, law enforcement and other 

regulatory officials; 
(b) If the director makes a finding the disclosure is in the best interest of the public and 

the interest is not outweighed by any other interests; or 
(c) Is not contrary to law. 

(2) Once a finding of probable cause has been entered all information and documents 
are open for public inspection unless: 
(a) Confidential by law or public record rules adopted by the supreme court; or 
(b) If the deputy director, as probable cause evaluator, determines further 

investigation is necessary, the information or documents and those compiled in 
the further investigation shall remain confidential until probable cause is 
determined. 

(3) Complaints dismissed by the division director, pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(b) for 
lack of jurisdiction or clear insufficiency are confidential and not a matter of public 
record for inspection.  

(4) Complaints dismissed by the board, pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a)(3) are a 
matter of public record for inspection. 

 
h.  Investigative Subpoenas.  Upon the recommendation of division staff and a demonstration 

of good cause, the division director, pursuant to subsection (D)(4)(a)(1), may issue an 
investigative subpoena to any person or entity: 

 
(1) For the purpose of securing documents or information from any person or entity, if 

the documents or information are related to a pending investigation of alleged acts 
of misconduct or violations regarding statutes, court rules, this section or the 
applicable section of the ACJA. 

(2) Subpoenas issued by the division director shall be issued and served in the same 
manner as provided by the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure.  An employee of the 
court or any other person as designated by the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure may 
serve the subpoena. 

 
i. Processing Time Frames.  Division staff shall: 

 
(1) Prepare any complaint the division director has dismissed pursuant to subsections 

(H)(2)(b) and (c) and forward the complaint to the board for review, pursuant to 
subsection (H)(2)(d), at the next regularly scheduled board meeting. 

(2) Prepare and forward to the board for review at the next regularly scheduled board 
meeting, any investigated complaint the deputy director has reviewed and entered 
a finding regarding probable cause, pursuant to subsection (H)(5)(c). 

(3) Prepare the documents for informal discipline no later than 30 days following the 
order of the board, pursuant to subsections (H)(7)(b) and (H)(25), unless the board 
extends the time for good cause. 

(4) Prepare the documents for formal discipline no later than 30 days following the 
order of the board pursuant to subsections (H)(9)(b) and (H)(25), unless the board 
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extends the time for good cause. 
(5) File the formal statement of charges with the disciplinary clerk and arrange for 

service no later than 30 days following the order of the board, pursuant to 
subsection (H)(10), unless the board extends the time for good cause. 

(6) Serve the board’s order of emergency summary suspension and expedited hearing 
immediately on the certificate holder, pursuant to subsection (H)(9)(d)(2). 

(7) Except as provided in subsections (H)(1)(i)(6) and (8), deposit in the United States 
mail addressed to the last known address on file with division staff, written notice 
of the board’s final decision and order, regarding a complaint matter, to the 
certificate holder and complainant within ten days after the board’s decision, 
pursuant to subsection (H)(26)(b) and (c).  Notice by mail is complete upon deposit 
in the United States mail. 

(8) Mail the board’s final order of suspension or revocation of the certificate, pursuant 
to subsection (H)(26)(b) to the certificate holder, by certified mail return receipt 
requested, within two days, after the board’s decision, addressed to the last known 
address on file with division staff; and 

(9) Process complaints timely, with the goal of processing 98 percent of all complaints 
within 22 months from date of receipt to final decision by the board. 

 
2. Initial Screening of a Complaint.  Upon receipt of a complaint: 

 
a. Division staff shall: 
 

(1) Consider if a complaint: 
(a) Falls outside the supreme court’s jurisdiction; 
(b) Does not provide the name of a certificate holder; 
(c) Does not contain sufficient information to permit an investigation; 
(d) Does not provide specific allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of the 

statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the ACJA; 
(e) Contains allegations of acts of misconduct or violations, that if true, would not 

constitute a violation of the statutes, court rule, this section or the applicable 
section of the ACJA, the certificate holder is required to comply with;  

(f) Does not provide the name of the complainant; or 
(g) Does warrant further investigation and evaluation. 

(2) Recommend the division director dismiss the complaint if the complaint: 
(a) Falls outside the jurisdiction of the supreme court, court rules, this section, the 

applicable section of the ACJA, or the laws applicable to the certificate holder; 
(b) Does not provide the name of a certificate holder; 
(c) Does not contain sufficient information to permit an investigation; 
(d) Does not provide specific allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of the 

statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the ACJA; 
(e) Contains allegations of acts of misconduct or violations that if true, would not 

constitute a violation of the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable 
section the certificate holder is required to comply with; or 

(f) Does not provide the name of the complainant. 
(3) Report all complaints dismissed by the division director to the board at the next 

regularly scheduled board meeting following the determination by the division 
director; and 

(4) Provide written notice to the complainant and the certificate holder of the division 
director’s decision to dismiss the complaint for the reasons in subsection (H)(2)(b) 
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and (c), within ten days of the division director’s decision. 
 
b. The division director may: 
 

(1) Direct division staff to return an incomplete complaint to the complainant for 
additional information; 

(2) Dismiss a complaint, pursuant to subsection (D)(4)(a)(2), with or without prejudice, 
if the complaint falls outside the jurisdiction of the supreme court, the statutes, court 
rules, this section or the applicable section of the ACJA; 

(3) Dismiss a complaint, pursuant to subsection (D)(4)(a)(3), with or without prejudice, 
if the complaint meets any of the criteria of subsection (H)(2)(a)(2)(b) through (f); 
or 

(4) Refer the complaint to another state agency or entity with jurisdiction, if 
appropriate, pursuant to subsection (D)(4)(a)(4). 

 
c. The division director shall dismiss the complaint, if the complainant does not supply 

documents or other information to remedy an insufficient complaint or demonstrate the 
alleged acts of misconduct or violations are within the certificate holder’s 
responsibilities as required by statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section 
of ACJA. 

 
d. The board shall review, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(e), the division director’s 

dismissal of a complaint and do one of the following: 
 

(1) Affirm the division director’s dismissal; or 
(2) Request additional investigation of the dismissed complaint; pursuant to subsection 

(D)(5)(c)(2)(c). 
 
e. The complainant may request the board review the division director’s dismissal of the 

complaint pursuant to subsection (H)(2)(b) or (c) by submitting a written request for 
review, specifying the requested reasons for the board’s review.  The complainant shall 
submit the request for review to division staff within ten days of the written notice of the 
division director’s dismissal of the complaint. 

 
3. Investigation.  Division staff shall investigate the complaint, after completion of the initial 

screening of the complaint and the determination a complaint is within the jurisdiction of 
the supreme court and warrants further investigation pursuant to subsection 
(H)(2)(a)(1)(g). 

 
a. Preliminary Investigation.  Division staff shall conduct an investigation of all complaints 

not dismissed by the division director to determine if a certificate holder has violated 
statutes, court rules, this section, or the applicable section of the ACJA; or for the purpose 
of securing information useful in the lawful administration of the law, this section, or the 
applicable sections of the ACJA. 

 
b. Notification to Certificate Holder of Complaint.  Division staff shall send the complaint 

to the certificate holder within fifteen days of receiving the complaint or the date the 
director initiates a complaint pursuant to subsections (D)(2)(b)(3) and (H)(1)(b)(4)(b). 

 
c. Certificate Holder’s Response to Notification of Complaint.  The certificate holder 
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shall provide a written response to the complaint within thirty days of the notification 
of the complaint.  The board shall not proceed with disciplinary action without 
providing the certificate holder the complaint and an opportunity to respond to the 
complaint, except in a matter regarding an emergency suspension pursuant to 
subsection (H)(9)(d).  Failure by the certificate holder to accept notification of a 
complaint or failure to respond to the complaint shall not prevent division staff from 
proceeding with an investigation and the board from taking any disciplinary action. 

 
(1) If the certificate holder is unable to respond to a complaint within the time frame 

established by subsection (H)(3)(c), the certificate holder may submit a written 
request to the division director for an extension of time to respond.  The request for 
an extension of time to respond shall demonstrate good cause exists for an extension 
and shall provide a proposed date for fulfillment of the response requirement.  The 
certificate holder shall file the written request for an extension of time to respond 
to the complaint, no later than five days prior to the date the response is due. 

(2) The division director shall determine if good cause exists for an extension.  Division 
staff shall notify the certificate holder of the division director’s decision on the 
request for an extension of time for providing a written response, within five days 
of the request for extension from the certificate holder. 

 
4. Preparation of Investigation Summary.  Upon completion of the investigation, division 

staff shall prepare a written investigation summary for review by the probable cause 
evaluator.  The investigation summary shall include an analysis of the allegations of 
misconduct and violations and a recommendation as to whether probable cause exists 
demonstrating the certificate holder committed any of the alleged acts of misconduct or 
violations. 

 
5. Probable Cause Review.  Pursuant to subsection (H)(4) division staff shall forward the 

investigation summary to the probable cause evaluator for review and determination as to 
whether probable cause exists misconduct or violations occurred and are demonstrated in 
the investigation summary. 
 
a. The deputy director, serving in the capacity of probable cause evaluator pursuant to 

subsection (D)(3)(a), shall review the written investigation summary of the allegations 
of acts of misconduct or violations.  The deputy director may agree or disagree with 
the recommendations contained in the summary and may do one or more of the 
following: 

 
(1) Direct division staff to investigate further; 
(2) Determine probable cause does not exist demonstrating the certificate holder has 

committed any acts of misconduct or violations of the statutes, court rules, this 
section, or the applicable section of the ACJA and enter a written finding to that 
effect; or 

(3) Determine probable cause exists demonstrating the certificate holder has 
committed one or more acts of misconduct or violations of the statutes, court rules, 
this section, or the applicable section of the ACJA and enter a written finding to 
that effect. 

 
b. If the probable cause evaluator directs division staff to investigate the complaint 

further, pursuant to subsection (H)(5)(a)(1), division staff shall do so immediately. 
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c. Upon review of the finding by the probable cause evaluator, pursuant to subsection 

(H)(5)(a)(2) and (3), division staff shall forward to the board, pursuant to subsection 
(H)(1)(i)(2), the investigation summary, finding by the probable cause evaluator and a 
written recommendation by the division director for the appropriate disposition of the 
complaint.  The written recommendation by the division director shall include any 
sanctions if applicable, pursuant to subsections (H)(7), (H)(9), (H)(24)(a)(6) and 
(H)(24)(b).  The board shall review these documents at the next regularly scheduled 
board meeting and do one of the following: 

 
(1) Determine the certificate holder did not commit any acts of misconduct or 

violations and dismiss the complaint pursuant to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(g) and 
(H)(24)(a)(3); 

(2) Determine the allegations of acts of misconduct or violations do not warrant 
discipline pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(g), but the certificate holder’s actions 
need modification or elimination and send an advisory letter to the certificate holder 
pursuant to subsections (H)(24)(a)(4) and (H)(24)(b)(1); 

(3) Determine the allegations of acts of misconduct or violations may be resolved 
through informal discipline proceedings pursuant to subsection (H)(7); 

(4) Determine the acts of misconduct or violations may be resolved through a formal 
interview, pursuant to subsection (H)(8); 

(5) Determine the acts of misconduct or violations may be resolved through a formal 
discipline proceeding, pursuant to subsection (H)(9); or 

(6) Determine the acts of misconduct or violations pose harm or a risk to the public 
health, safety or welfare and require resolution through an emergency summary 
suspension, pursuant to subsection (H)(9)(d).  An emergency summary suspension 
is a formal discipline proceeding. 

 
6. Grounds for Discipline.  A certificate holder is subject to disciplinary action if the board 

finds the certificate holder has engaged in one or more of the following: 
 

a. Failed to perform any duty to discharge any obligation in the course of the certificate 
holder’s responsibilities as required by law, court rules, this section or the applicable 
section of the ACJA; 

 
b. Failed to comply with or complete a corrective action plan resulting from an audit or 

course monitoring; 
 
c. Failed to cooperate with or supply information to the director, deputy director, division 

staff or board by the specific time stated in any request; 
 
d. Aided or assisted another person or business entity to provide services requiring 

certification if the other person or entity does not hold the required certification; 
 
e. Conviction of a criminal offense while certified by final judgment of a felony relevant 

to certification; 
 
f. Failed to provide information regarding a criminal conviction; 
 
g. Exhibited gross negligence; 



 

 35 

 
h. Exhibited incompetence in the performance of duties; 
 
i. Evaded service of a subpoena or notice of the director, division director or board;  

 
j. The existence of any cause for which original certification or renewal of certification could 

have been denied pursuant to subsections (E)(2)(c) or (G)(4)(c) and the applicable section 
of the ACJA; 

 
k. Engaged in unprofessional conduct, including: 
 

(1) Assisted an applicant or certificate holder in the use of deception, dishonesty or 
fraud to secure an initial certificate or renewal of a certificate; 

(2) Failed to comply with any court order, board order or other regulatory agency order 
relevant to the profession or occupation; 

(3) Failed to comply with any federal, state or local law or rule governing the practice 
of the profession or occupation; 

(4) Failed to comply with any terms of a consent agreement, restriction of a certificate 
or corrective action plan; 

(5) Failed to retain client or customer records for a period of three years unless law or 
rule allows for a different retention period; 

(6) Failed to practice competently by use of unsafe or unacceptable practices; 
(7) Failed during the performance of any responsibility or duty of the profession or 

occupation to use the degree of care, skill and proficiency commonly exercised by 
the ordinary skillful, careful and prudent professional certificate holder engaged in 
similar practice under the same or similar conditions regardless of any level of harm 
or injury to the client or customer; 

(8) Failed to practice competently by reason of any cause on a single occasion or on 
multiple occasions by performing unsafe or unacceptable client or customer care or 
failed to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing practice; 

(9) Used advertising intended to or having a tendency to deceive the public; 
(10) Used a supreme court certification to deceive the public in level of skills or abilities; 
(11) Willfully made or filed false reports or records in the practice of the profession or 

occupation; 
(12) Failed to file required reports, records or pleadings in the practice of the profession 

or occupation; 
(13) Delegated professional or occupational responsibilities or duties to an employee or 

person who the certificate holder knows does not possess the necessary level of 
education, experience, skills or credentials to perform the duties of the profession or 
occupation unless authorized to do so by the applicable section of the ACJA; 

(14) Performed the responsibilities or duties of the profession or occupation when 
medically or psychologically unfit to do so; 

(15) Engaged in habitual substance abuse; 
(16) Engaged in undue influence over a client or customer to the benefit, financial or 

otherwise, of the certificate holder or a third party; or 
(17) Violated any statutory, court rule, or the applicable ACJA section regarding a 

confidentiality requirement. 
 
7. Informal Disciplinary Proceedings. 
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a. Commencement.  Following entry of a finding of probable cause by the probable cause 
evaluator and review of the recommendation of the division director pursuant to 
subsections (H)(5)(a) and (c), the board may commence informal disciplinary 
proceedings if the board finds the complaint is appropriate for resolution through 
informal disciplinary proceedings. 

 
b. Decision of the Board.  The board may resolve the complaint through informal 

disciplinary proceedings and impose an informal sanction pursuant to subsection 
(H)(24)(a)(6)(a) or may take other action pursuant to this section.  The Board, pursuant 
to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(f)(iv), shall order the preparation of documents necessary to 
commence informal disciplinary proceedings.  The board may make procedural 
determinations to consolidate or sever any informal discipline matter pursuant to 
subsection (D)(5)(c)(2)(e).  The provisions of subsections (H)(24) and (H)(25) apply 
to the decision and order of the board.  Informal disciplinary proceedings: 
 
(1) Do not provide the certificate holder the right to a hearing; 
(2) May result in the informal sanction of a letter of concern; 
(3) Are not subject to special action proceedings pursuant to subsection (H)(27); and 
(4) Are not confidential. 

 
8. Request for Formal Interview.  Upon entry of a finding of probable cause by the probable 

cause evaluator and review of the recommendation of the division director pursuant to 
subsections (H)(5)(a) and (c), and a board determination formal discipline is warranted, 
but before the filing of the formal statement of charges, the board may request a formal 
interview with a certificate holder, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(2)(d).  The request for 
a formal interview is to determine if the facts of the complaint may be capable of 
resolution outside of a formal disciplinary process by consent agreement or other 
negotiated settlement, pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a)(6)(c) between the board and 
certificate holder. The board shall hold the formal interview at the next regularly 
scheduled board meeting, unless the board determines good cause to expedite the 
interview. 

 
a. Once the board determines a formal interview is necessary, division staff shall provide 

the certificate holder a copy of the investigation summary, finding by the probable 
cause evaluator and the written recommendation by the division director for the 
appropriate disposition of the complaint.  Division staff shall also provide written 
notice of the day and time of the scheduled interview.  If the certificate holder declines 
the board’s request for an interview, the certificate holder does not forfeit the right to 
request a hearing pursuant to subsection (H)(12). 

 
b. If the certificate holder declines the board’s request for a formal interview, or if the 

division director’s recommended sanctions for future found violations include a 
suspension of more than twelve months or revocation, the board shall order the 
preparation of documents necessary for a filing of a formal statement of charges 
pursuant to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(f)(iv) and (H)(9)(b).  The board may consolidate 
or sever any discipline matter pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(2)(e). 

 
c. Upon the completion of the formal interview, if the board enters a finding the evidence 

obtained during the investigation or provided by the certificate holder merits a 
suspension of more than twelve months or revocation of the certificate, the board shall 
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order the preparation of documents for filing a formal statement of charges, pursuant 
to subsections D(5)(c)(1)(f)(iv) and H(9)(b). 

 
d. Upon the completion of the formal interview, if the board enters a finding the evidence 

obtained during the investigation or provided by the certificate holder demonstrates the 
public’s health, safety, or welfare requires emergency action, the board shall issue an 
emergency summary suspension order pursuant to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(f)(v) and 
H(9)(d). 

 
e. Upon completion of the formal interview, if the board determines the evidence obtained 

during the investigation or provided by the certificate holder does not merit a 
suspension of more than twelve months, revocation, or an emergency summary 
suspension, the board may take one or more of the following actions: 
 

(1) Determine the certificate holder did not commit any acts of misconduct or 
violations of statutes, court rules, this section, or the applicable section of the ACJA 
and dismiss the complaint pursuant to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(g) and 
(H)(24)(a)(3); 

(2) Determine the allegations of acts of misconduct or violations of statutes, court rules, 
this section, or the applicable section of the ACJA, do not warrant discipline, but 
the certificate holder’s actions need modification or elimination and send an 
advisory letter to the certificate holder, pursuant to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(g), 
(H)(24)(a)(4) and (H)(24)(b)(1); 

(3) Determine the certificate holder committed one or more acts of misconduct or 
violations of the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the 
ACJA, and the complaint is appropriate for resolution through informal discipline 
proceedings pursuant to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(g) and (H)(7); 

(4) Determine the certificate holder committed one or more acts of misconduct or 
violations of the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the 
ACJA, and the compliant is appropriate for resolution through a consent agreement 
as part of formal disciplinary proceedings, pursuant to subsections (D)(5)(c)(1)(g) 
and (H)(24)(a)(6)(c); or 

(5) Determine the certificate holder committed one or more acts of misconduct or 
violations of the statutes, court rules, this section or the applicable section of the  
ACJA and the complaint is appropriate for resolution only through formal 
discipline proceedings, pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(g) and (H)(9). 

 
f. If the board, after the formal interview is concluded, determines the acts of misconduct 

or violations warrant an emergency summary suspension, the board shall make an order 
for an expedited hearing, pursuant to subsections (H)(9)(d)(1) and (H)(12)(d). 

 
9. Formal Disciplinary Proceedings. 

 
a. Commencement.  Upon entry of a finding of probable cause by the probable cause 

evaluator and review of the recommendation of the division director pursuant to 
subsection (H)(5)(c), the board may commence formal disciplinary proceedings. 

 
 

b. Decision of the Board.  On review of the recommendation of the division director, the 
board may resolve the complaint through formal disciplinary proceedings and impose 
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informal and formal sanctions pursuant to subsection (H)(24)(a) and (b) or may take 
other actions pursuant to this section.  The board, pursuant to subsection 
(D)(5)(c)(1)(f)(iv) shall order the preparation of the documents necessary to commence 
formal disciplinary proceedings.  The board may make procedural determinations to 
consolidate or sever any formal disciplinary matter pursuant to (D)(5)(c)(2)(e).  The 
provisions of subsections (H)(24) and (H)(25) apply to the decision and order of the 
board.  Formal disciplinary proceedings: 

 
(1) Provide the certificate holder the right to a hearing, pursuant to subsection 

(H)(12)(c); 
(2) May result in informal and formal sanctions, including an emergency summary 

suspension pursuant to subsections (H)(24)(5) and (6); 
(3) May result in costs and civil penalties pursuant to subsections (H)(24)(6)(j) and (k); 
(4) Are subject to special action proceedings pursuant to subsection (H)(27); and 
(5) Are not confidential. 

 
c. Notice to Certificate Holder.  Upon commencement of formal disciplinary proceedings 

by a board order, division staff shall notify the certificate holder of the board’s order 
and provide the certificate holder with a copy of the investigation summary, the 
division director’s recommendations and the deputy director’s finding of probable 
cause. 

 
d. Emergency Summary Suspension. 

 
(1) Upon entry of a finding of probable cause by the probable cause evaluator and 

review of the recommendation of the division director pursuant to subsection 
(H)(5)(c), if the board finds the public health, safety or welfare is at risk and 
requires emergency action, the board shall order an immediate emergency summary 
suspension of a certificate and set a date for an expedited hearing while formal 
disciplinary proceedings are pending. 

(2) Division staff shall ensure the order of emergency summary suspension is 
immediately served on the certificate holder with the notice of the emergency 
summary suspension and the expedited hearing as ordered by the board, pursuant 
to this subsection and subsection (H)(12)(d). 

(3) The hearing shall be held within ten days of the board’s order of summary 
suspension. 

(4) The hearing officer shall only grant an extension of the ten day time period for 
holding the expedited hearing under extraordinary circumstances at the request of 
either party.  The certificate holder may consent to a longer time period for the 
extension and the reasons for the extension shall be part of the record. 

(5) Division staff shall notify all applicable courts including superior court presiding 
judges, clerks of the superior court and superior court administrators of the 
emergency summary suspension. 

 
10. Notice of Formal Statement of Charges and Proceedings; and Right to Hearing.  Upon motion 

and order of the board, division staff shall: 
 
a. Prepare the formal statement of charges pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(i)(4) and include 

in the statement all of the following: 
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(1) A short and plain statement of the allegations; 
(2) A reference to statutes, court rules, this section and the applicable ACJA section; 
(3) A statement indicating the certificate holder has the right to a hearing, pursuant to 

subsection (H)(12)(c); 
(4) A statement indicating the request for hearing shall be in writing and made within 

fifteen days of receipt of the notice, pursuant to subsection (H)(13); and 
(5) A statement of the requirements for filing an answer pursuant to subsections (H)(11) 

and (17). 
 

b. Present the formal statement of charges to the board chair or designee for review and 
signature; 

 
c. File the signed formal statement of charges with the disciplinary clerk; 
 
d. Arrange for service of the notice of formal statement of charges to the certificate holder 

pursuant to Rule 4, Rules of Civil Procedure; and 
 
e. Amendments to the formal statement of charges are permissible upon motion and order of 

the board. 
 

11. Answer to Formal Statement of Charges or Default.  The certificate holder shall file an 
answer to the formal statement of charges within fifteen days after the date the statement 
is served, unless otherwise ordered by the board for good cause.  Answers shall comply 
with Rule 8, Rules of Civil Procedure.  Any defenses not raised in the answer are waived.  
If a certificate holder fails to file an answer within the time provided, the certificate holder 
is in default and the factual allegations in the formal statement of charges are deemed 
admitted.  The board may enter a finding or findings against the certificate holder of one 
or more of the assertions contained in the notice. 

 
12. Right to Hearing. 
 

a. Except as provided in subsection (E)(1)(f)(2)(d)(iii), an applicant denied initial or 
renewal certification pursuant to subsections (E)(2)(c) or (G)(4) may request a hearing. 

 
b. Pursuant to subsection (E)(9)(b), an applicant denied reinstatement of certification may 

request a hearing, except if the applicant fails to provide required information within 
the requested time frame. 

 
c. A certificate holder served with a formal statement of charges pursuant to subsection 

(H)(9) may request a hearing. 
 

d. A certificate holder issued an emergency summary suspension pursuant to subsection 
(H)(9)(d)(1) shall have an expedited hearing. 

 
13. Request for Hearing.  The applicant or certificate holder shall request the hearing within 

fifteen days of the notice of denial of initial or renewal certification; or the notice of a 
formal statement of charges.  The request shall include the ACJA subsection entitling a 
person or business to a hearing, the factual basis supporting the request for hearing and the 
relief demanded. 
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14. Selection of Hearing Officer for Certification or Discipline Hearing.  Upon written request 
by an applicant or certificate holder entitled to a hearing pursuant to subsection (H)(12), 
the disciplinary clerk shall select a hearing officer. 

 
a. The disciplinary clerk shall select a hearing officer from the list of hearing officers 

appointed by the supreme court.  The hearing officer shall have the following 
qualifications: 

 
(1) Admitted to the practice of law in Arizona; and 

(a) An active member in good standing for at least seven years with the State Bar 
of Arizona; or 

(b) An active or retired judicial officer. 
(2) Have knowledge in the procedure for conducting administrative hearings regarding 

the denial of initial or renewal of certification or alleged acts of misconduct or 
violations by a certificate holder pursuant to this section or the applicable ACJA 
section. 

 
b. The disciplinary clerk may request the presiding judge of the superior court in the 

county where the alleged acts of misconduct or violations occurred to supply a hearing 
room and any other necessary resources. 

 
15. Time Line for Hearing.  The disciplinary clerk or hearing officer shall: 
 

a.  Ensure the hearing is held within 60 days of receipt of the request for hearing.  The 
hearing officer may continue the hearing date upon request or stipulation of the parties, 
or upon the hearing officer’s own motion, for good cause shown.  The hearing officer 
shall grant continuances no more than 30 days at a time and may not extend the hearing 
on the merits beyond 120 days from the filing of the formal statement of charges. 

 
b.  If the request to continue the hearing is filed by division staff, the hearing officer shall 

ensure the hearing is held as soon as practical at the discretion of the hearing officer 
but no less than fifteen days after notice, as required by subsection (H)(16). 

 
16. Notice of Hearing.  The disciplinary clerk shall prepare and give notice of the hearing to 

the applicant or certificate holder and division staff, at least fifteen days prior to the date 
set for hearing. 

 
a. The notice shall include the following information: 

 
(1) A statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction for conduct of the hearing; 
(2) A statement of the date, time, place and nature of the hearing; and 
(3) A reference to the particular sections of the statutes, rules and ACJA sections 

involved. 
 

b. The disciplinary clerk shall accomplish service of the notice of hearing by United States 
mail to the last address of record on file with division staff.  Service is accomplished in 
accordance with Rule 5, Rules of Civil Procedure by deposit in the United States mail. 

 
c. If an attorney represents an applicant, certificate holder or division staff, the 

disciplinary clerk shall make service to the attorney of record. 
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17. Filings of Pleadings, Motions and Other Documents. 

 
a. The applicant or certificate holder and division staff shall file all pleadings, motions or 

other documents with the disciplinary clerk at least fifteen days prior to the scheduled 
hearing date, unless otherwise ordered by the hearing officer. 

 
b. The applicant or certificate holder and division staff shall file responses to all pleadings, 

motions, or other documents with the disciplinary clerk within ten days of the filing of 
the pleading, motion, or other document. 

 
c. The party filing the pleading, motion, or other document may reply within five days of 

the filing of the response to the motion. 
 
d. Copies of all filings shall be delivered to the disciplinary clerk, the hearing officer and 

all parties to the proceeding. 
 

18. Discovery. 
 

a. There is no discovery, except as provided in this section, unless mutually agreed to by the 
parties or ordered by the hearing officer. 

 
b. The hearing officer, upon written request, shall order a party to allow the requesting 

party to have a reasonable opportunity to inspect and copy, at the requesting party’s 
expense, admissible documentary evidence or documents reasonably calculated to lead 
to admissible evidence prior to a hearing, provided the evidence is not privileged. 

 
c. Upon the hearing officer’s own motion or request by a party, the hearing officer shall 

order the disclosure of documentary evidence intended for use at the hearing provided 
the evidence is not privileged.  The hearing officer shall order the disclosure at least 
ten days prior to the hearing. 

 
d. A hearing officer shall review and rule upon any claims of privilege challenged by a 

party with respect to subsections (H)(18)(b) and (c). 
 

e. Within fifteen days of receipt of the notice of hearing, the parties shall exchange a list of 
witnesses containing the names, addresses and telephone numbers of all persons known to 
have knowledge of the relevant facts.  The list of witnesses shall designate those persons 
the parties intend to call at the hearing and summarize the anticipated testimony of each 
witness. 

 
f.  Parties may submit a motion to the hearing officer to take depositions of witnesses who 

cannot be subpoenaed or are otherwise unable to attend the hearing, for use as evidence 
at the hearing.  The hearing officer may order the deposition of any other witness upon 
motion and for good cause shown.  In either circumstance, the requesting party shall 
file a written motion for deposition with the hearing officer within ten days of the filing 
of the list of witnesses.  The requesting party shall provide copies to all parties, setting 
forth the name and address of the witness, subject matter of the deposition, documents, 
if any, the parties are seeking for production, time and place proposed for the deposition 
and justification for the deposition. 
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g.  Parties shall file responses to requests for depositions, including motions to quash, 

within five days after the filing of the request for deposition.  The hearing officer shall 
enter a final order regarding any motions for depositions. 

 
h. If a deposition is permitted and ordered by the hearing officer, the hearing officer shall 

issue a subpoena and written order.  The subpoena and order shall identify the person 
to be deposed, scope of testimony to be taken, documents, if any, to be produced and 
the time and place of the deposition.  The party requesting the deposition shall arrange 
for service of the subpoena and order with service on all parties five days before the 
time fixed for taking the deposition unless, for good cause shown, the time is shortened 
by the hearing officer. 

 
19. Subpoena. 

 
a. For the purpose of the hearing, a hearing officer may subpoena witnesses or 

documentary evidence, administer oaths and examine under oath any individual 
relative to the subject of any hearing. 

 
b.  Subpoenas shall be issued by a hearing officer and served in the same manner as provided 

by Rule 45, Rules of Civil Procedure.  An employee of the court or any other person as 
provided by Rule 45, Rules of Civil Procedure may serve the subpoena. 

 
c. If a person fails to obey a subpoena served in accordance with the provisions of this section, 

the board or hearing officer may forward a report of the disobedience, together with a copy 
of the subpoena and proof of service, to the superior court and request the superior court 
judge issue an order requiring the appearance by a person or the production of documents, 
or both.  The superior court may treat the failure to obey the subpoena as contempt of court 
and may impose penalties as though the person had disobeyed a subpoena issued by the 
court. 

 
20. Prehearing Conference.  The hearing officer may order and conduct a pre-hearing 

conference at the request of any party or on the hearing officer’s own initiative.  The 
purpose of the conference is to consider imposing limitations to promote simplicity in 
procedures, fairness in administration, elimination of unnecessary expense and protection 
of the public while preserving the rights of the certificate holder.  The hearing officer may 
take any of the following actions: 

 
a. Establish a hearing schedule to ensure early and continuing control so the matter shall 

not be protracted because of lack of management; 
 
b. Dispose of outstanding procedural matters; 
 
c. Narrow the issues for adjudication; 
 
d. Dispose of preliminary legal issues, including ruling on pre-hearing motions; 
 
e. Obtain stipulations from the parties to the admission of evidence, facts and legal 

conclusions not contested; 
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f. Identify witnesses and coordinate testimony; and 
 
g. Consider any other matters to aid in the expeditious conduct of the hearing. 

 
21. Procedure at Hearings. 

 
a. Hearing Officer.  The hearing officer shall preside over the hearing and decide all requests 

for a continuance, motions, determine the order of proof and manner of presentation of other 
evidence, issue subpoenas, place witnesses under oath, recess or adjourn the hearing and 
prescribe and enforce general rules of conduct and decorum.  Informal disposition may be 
made of any case by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent order or default. 

 
b. Rights of Parties and Other Persons at a Hearing.  At a hearing: 

 
(1) A party is entitled to enter an appearance, introduce evidence, examine and cross-

examine witnesses, make arguments and generally participate in the conduct of the 
proceeding. 

(2) An applicant or certificate holder may represent themselves or appear through 
counsel.  An attorney who intends to appear on behalf of a party shall promptly file 
a notice of appearance with the disciplinary clerk providing the name, address and 
telephone number of the party represented and the name, address and telephone 
number of the attorney.  A corporate officer or principal may represent a business 
entity in any proceeding under this section, as permissible pursuant to Arizona 
Supreme Court Rule 31. 

(3) All persons appearing before a hearing officer in any proceeding shall conform to 
the conduct expected in the superior court. 

 
c. Conduct of Hearing. 

 
(1) All hearings are open to the public and shall conform to the provisions of ACJA § 

1-202:  Public Meetings.  The hearing officer may close the hearing to the public, 
pursuant to ACJA § 1-202(C)(5). 

(2) The hearing officer may conduct a hearing in an informal manner and without 
adherence to the rules of pleading or evidence.  The hearing officer may question 
witnesses and shall require any evidence supporting a decision is substantial, 
reliable and probative and shall exclude irrelevant, immaterial or unduly repetitious 
evidence. There is no right to a jury. 

(3) The hearing officer shall require all testimony taken is under oath or affirmation, 
except matters of which judicial notice is taken or entered by stipulation. The 
hearing officer may administer oaths and affirmations. 

(4) In all formal disciplinary matters brought as the result of an order by the board, 
evidence in support of the formal statement of disciplinary charges is presented first 
and carries the burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence.  In matters 
brought at the request of any other person or entity, including requests for hearing on 
the denial of initial or renewal of certification, the person or entity seeking the hearing 
shall present first and carries the burden of proof, by a preponderance of the evidence. 

 
d. Record of Hearing. 

 
(1) The hearing officer shall ensure the oral proceedings, or any part of the oral 



 

 44 

proceedings, are recorded.  Upon the request of any party to the proceedings and 
payment of any costs, the record of the proceedings shall be transcribed. 

(2) A certified reporter shall make a full transcript of the proceedings if requested by a 
party within five days prior to a hearing and upon order of the hearing officer.  The 
requesting party shall pay the cost of the transcript.  The hearing officer may require 
prepayment or a monetary deposit to cover the cost of the transcript.  If transcribed, 
the record is part of the court's record of the hearing and any other party with a 
direct interest shall receive a copy of the record, at the request and expense of the 
requesting party. 

 
22. Recommendation Report of Hearing Officer. 
 

a. The hearing officer shall, within 30 days of the closing of the record of a hearing, 
prepare a written recommendation report and file the report with the disciplinary clerk.  
The recommendation report shall include findings of fact, based on a preponderance of 
the evidence and conclusions of law, separately stated. 

 
b. The hearing officer shall take testimony and receive evidence regarding alleged acts of 

misconduct or violations and possible sanctions.  If the hearing officer recommends the 
board enter a finding the certificate holder committed one or more acts of misconduct or 
violations, the hearing officer shall include in the recommendation report, in a separately 
stated section, an analysis of mitigating and aggravating factors and recommended 
imposition of permissible sanctions pursuant to subsection (H)(24).  The hearing officer 
shall base the recommendations exclusively on the matters officially noticed and the 
evidence presented. 
 
(1) Mitigating factors may include but are not limited to the following: 

(a) The absence of a prior disciplinary record; 
(b) The absence of a dishonest motive; 
(c) The absence of a selfish motive; 
(d) Personal or emotional problems; 
(e) A timely good faith effort to make restitution or to rectify consequences of 

misconduct; 
(f) Full and free disclosure to the division staff, the board or the hearing officer; 
(g) A cooperative attitude toward any proceedings; 
(h) Inexperience in the practice of the profession or occupation; 
(i) Character or reputation; 
(j) Physical or mental disability; 
(k) Physical or mental impairment; 
(l) Delays in the disciplinary proceedings; 
(m) Interim rehabilitation; 
(n) Imposition of other penalties or sanctions; 
(o) Remorse; or 
(p) The remoteness of prior offenses. 

(2) Aggravating factors may include but are not limited to the following: 
(a) A prior disciplinary record; 
(b) A dishonest motive; 
(c) A selfish motive; 
(d) Multiple offenses; 
(e) Bad faith obstruction of the disciplinary proceedings by intentionally failing to 
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comply with this section, the applicable section of ACJA, court rules or orders of 
the hearing officer; 

(f) Submission of false evidence, false statements or other deceptive practices during 
the discipline process; 

(g) Refusal to acknowledge wrongful nature of the conduct; 
(h) Vulnerability of the victim; 
(i) Substantial experience in the profession or occupation; or 
(j) Indifference to making restitution. 

 
 
c. The disciplinary clerk shall distribute the hearing officer recommendation report to all 

parties and the board by United States mail to the last address on file with the division 
staff.  Distribution is accomplished in accordance with Rule 5, Rules of Civil Procedure 
by deposit in the United States mail. 

 
d. The board may adopt or modify the hearing officer’s recommendation report in whole 

or in part. 
 
e. The board may remand the matter to the hearing officer in whole or in part, designating 

the issues remanded.  The board shall provide the hearing officer with an order 
identifying the issues remanded. 

 
23. Rehearing.  A party to the hearing may request a rehearing of the matters involved in the 

hearing.  The requesting party shall file the written request with the hearing officer and the 
disciplinary clerk within fifteen days after the disciplinary clerk has distributed the hearing 
officer’s recommendation report to the parties pursuant to subsection (H)(22)(c).    The 
requesting party shall base the request for rehearing on one or more of the grounds listed 
in Rule 59, Rules of Civil Procedure.  The hearing officer shall allow any party served with 
a request for rehearing to file a response within ten days of service.  The hearing officer 
may grant a rehearing of the matters involved in the hearing and shall make the decision to 
grant or deny the request within ten days of the date the response for rehearing is filed. 

 
24. Possible Actions for Resolution of a Complaint. 

 
a. Upon completion of an investigation concerning alleged acts of misconduct or violations by 

a certificate holder, which may or may not include a formal interview, informal or formal 
disciplinary proceedings, or a hearing, the board shall do one or more of the following: 

 
(1) Request division staff to conduct further investigation; 
(2) Refer the complaint to another entity with jurisdiction; 
(3) Determine no violation exists and dismiss the complaint with or without prejudice; 
(4) Determine no acts of misconduct or violation occurred and no discipline is 

warranted; however, the certificate holder’s actions need modification or 
elimination and issue an advisory letter pursuant to subsection (D)(5)(c)(1)(g);  

(5) Enter a finding the certificate holder has violated any of the provisions of the 
statutes, court rules, this section, or the applicable ACJA specific sections or 
subsection (H)(6) and order an emergency summary suspension, pursuant to 
subsection (H)(9)(d); 

(6) Enter a finding the certificate holder has violated any of the provisions of the 
statutes, court rules, this section, the applicable ACJA sections or subsection (H)(6) 
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and issue an order imposing any or a combination of the following informal or 
formal disciplinary sanctions: 
(a)Issue a letter of concern; 
(b) Issue a censure;  
(c) Resolve any found acts of misconduct or violations by consent order or other 

negotiated settlement; 
(d) Place specific restrictions on a certificate; 
(e) Place the certificate holder on probation for a set period of time under specified 

conditions; 
(f) Mandate additional training for the certificate holder; 
(g) Issue a cease and desist order pursuant to subsection (E)(6); 
(h) Order suspension of a certificate for a set period of time with specific conditions 

for reinstatement; 
(i) Order revocation of a certificate with specific conditions for reinstatement; 
(j) Assess costs associated with the investigation and disciplinary proceedings; or 
(k) Impose civil penalties associated with the investigation and disciplinary 

proceedings. 
 

b. The following provisions apply to the actions specified in subsection (H)(24)(a): 
 

(1) An advisory letter is not a discipline sanction and is confidential.  While the conduct 
does not warrant any disciplinary action, the board believes the certificate holder 
should modify or eliminate certain practices and continuation of the activities 
leading to the documentation regarding the conduct being submitted to the board 
may result in future board action against the certificate holder.  A certificate holder 
may file a response with the board no later than fifteen days after the date of the 
advisory letter.  The certificate holder’s response is confidential and division staff 
shall file the response in the complaint file.  

(2) An informal disciplinary proceeding may result in  a letter of concern but may not 
include a censure, restrictions on a certificate, probation, mandated additional 
training, suspension or revocation of the certificate, or imposition of civil penalties 
or costs.  A letter of concern is a written informal discipline sanction and is not 
confidential or appealable.  A certificate holder may file a response to the letter of 
concern no later than fifteen days after the date of the letter of concern.  The 
certificate holder’s response is public and division staff shall file the response in 
the complaint file. 

(3) The board may impose informal discipline in combination with formal discipline. 
 

25. Decisions and Orders. The board shall make final decisions or orders in writing and shall 
include findings of fact and conclusions of law, separately stated.  The board shall make 
findings of fact by a preponderance of the evidence, based exclusively on the evidence and 
on matters officially noticed and consider mitigating or aggravating factors pursuant to 
subsections (H)(22)(b)(1) and (2). 

 
26. Notice of Board’s Final Decision.  Upon final order of the board regarding a certification 

or complaint matter, division staff shall provide written notice of the board’s final decision 
and order: 
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a. Regarding an initial or renewal certification matter, to the applicant or certificate holder 
within ten days, by deposit in the United States mail addressed to the last known 
address on file with division staff.  Notice by mail is complete upon deposit in the 
United States mail. 

 
b. Regarding suspension or revocation of certification to the certificate holder by certified 

mail, return receipt requested, within two days, addressed to the last known address on 
file with division staff pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(i)(8).  Division staff shall ensure 
the order of emergency summary suspension is immediately served on the certificate 
holder pursuant to subsection (H)(9)(d)(2).  Division staff shall send any other 
disciplinary order by the board, not involving suspension or revocation of certification, 
to the certificate holder within ten days by deposit in the Unites States mail addressed 
to the last known address on file with division staff, pursuant to subsection (H)(1)(i)(7).  
Notice by mail is complete upon deposit in the United States mail. 

 
c. Regarding a complaint matter, to the complainant within ten days, pursuant to 

subsection H(1)(i)(7), by deposit in the United States mail addressed to the last known 
address on file with division staff.  Notice by mail is complete upon deposit in the 
United States mail. 

 
27. Filing of Special Action.  Decisions of the board pursuant to this section and the applicable 

ACJA sections are final.  Parties may seek judicial review through a petition for a special 
action within 35 days after entry of the board’s final order.  The petition for special action 
shall be pursuant to the Arizona Rules of Procedure for Special Actions. 
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ARIZONA CODE OF JUDICIAL ADMINISTRATION 
Part 7:  Administrative Office of the Courts 

Chapter 2:  Certification and Licensing Programs 
Section 7-203:  Confidential Intermediary 

 
. . . 
 
E. Initial Certification.   
 

1. Application for Initial Certification.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-201(E), 
the applicant shall meet the following requirements: 

 
a. Fingerprinting.  A.R.S. § 8-134(K) provides: “In carrying out the provisions of this 

section the supreme court shall require applicants for a confidential intermediary 
certificate to furnish fingerprints and the supreme court shall obtain criminal history 
record information pursuant to § 41-1750.” 

 
b. Initial Training.  The division staff shall provide initial training for confidential 

intermediary applicants no less than one time per year.  The training shall consist of a 
minimum of twelve hours of instruction.  All applicants for initial certification shall 
attend the entire initial training session.   

 
c. Fees.  An applicant shall pay the fees for certification specified in subsection (K).  
 

2.  Qualifications for Initial Certification.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-201, 
an applicant for certification as a confidential intermediary shall meet the following 
minimum qualifications and be: 

 
a. 21 years of age or more;  

 
b. A citizen of the United States or legal resident; and 
 
c. In compliance with all requirements for application for initial certification pursuant to 

ACJA § 7-201and subsection (E). 
 

3. Examination.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-201 (E), the division staff shall 
administer the examination no less than one time per year in conjunction with the initial 
training. 

 
4. Decision Regarding Certification.  These requirements are contained in ACJA § 7-201 (E).   
 
5. Exemption from Certification.  No certification is required of any agency licensed by the 

state or the Arizona Department of Economic Security pursuant to A.R.S. § 8-126 (1). 
  

F. Role and Responsibilities of Certificate Holders.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA 
§ 7-201 (F), the following provisions apply to confidential intermediaries: 

 
1. Standards of Conduct.  Each confidential intermediary shall adhere to the standards of conduct 

in subsection (J) and A.R.S. § 8-134 (I) and A.R.S. § 8-543(C).   
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2. Identification.  When accessing files related to a search, a confidential intermediary shall 
provide the valid photo identification issued by the confidential intermediary program.   

 
3. Parties.  A confidential intermediary shall provide services only to those parties who are 

eligible pursuant to A.R.S. § 8-134(A).   
 

a. Adoption Searches. 
 

(1) A.R.S. § 8-134(A) provides: 
 

A. Any of the following persons may use the services of a confidential 
intermediary who is listed with the court: 

 
1. The adoptive parents of an adoptee who is at least eighteen years of 

age or, if the adoptive parents are deceased, the adoptee’s guardian. 
 
2. An adoptee if the adoptee is at least eighteen years of age. 
 
3. If an adoptee is deceased, the adoptee’s spouse if the spouse is the 

legal parent or guardian of any child of the adoptee. 
 
4. If an adoptee is deceased, any progeny of the adoptee who is at least 

eighteen years of age. 
 
5. Either of the birth parents of an adoptee. 
 
6. The biological grandparent of the adoptee or other members of the 

adoptee’s extended biological family. 
 
7. A biological sibling of the adoptee if the sibling is at least eighteen 

years of age. 
 

(2) A.R.S. § 8-134 further provides: 
 

G. On receipt of a written statement from a physician or a registered nurse 
practitioner that explains in detail how a health condition may seriously 
affect the health of the adoptee or a direct descendant of the adoptee, the 
court shall order the confidential intermediary program to appoint a 
confidential intermediary.  The confidential intermediary shall make a 
diligent effort to notify an adoptee who has attained eighteen years of 
age, an adoptive parent or guardian of an adoptee who has not attained 
eighteen years of age or a direct descendant of a deceased adoptee that 
the nonidentifying information is available and shall be provided on 
written request. 

 
H. On receipt of a written statement from a physician or registered nurse 

practitioner that explains in detail why a serious health condition of the 
adoptee or a direct descendent of the adoptee should be communicated to 
the birth parent or biological sibling to enable the birth parent or biological 
sibling to make an informed medical decision, the court shall order the 
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confidential intermediary program to appoint a confidential intermediary.  
The confidential intermediary shall make a diligent effort to notify those 
individuals that the nonidentifying information is available and shall be 
provided on written request. 

 
1. Sharing of Information.  A.R.S. § 8-134 provides:  

 
C.  [A] confidential intermediary may inspect documents compiled pursuant to 

this article.  Documents include the court records, division records, agency 
records and maternity home records.  The confidential intermediary shall 
keep confidential all information obtained during the course of the 
investigation.  The intermediary shall use confidential information only to 
arrange a contact or share information between the person who initiates the 
search and the person who is the subject of the search.  A confidential 
intermediary shall review the court record before making any contact with an 
adoptee to determine if an affidavit has been filed pursuant to subsection E of 
this section.  Except as provided pursuant to subsection A, paragraphs 1, 2, 4 
and 7 and subsection G of this section, a confidential intermediary shall not 
contact persons under twenty-one years of age. 

 
D.  The confidential intermediary shall obtain written consent from the person 

who initiated the search and the person who is the subject of the search before 
arranging for the sharing of identifying information or a contact between 
them.  If the confidential intermediary discovers the subject of the search is 
deceased or that the identity of the birth father was unknown to or not 
revealed by the birth mother, the confidential intermediary shall share this 
information with the person initiating the search.  If the confidential 
intermediary, after a diligent effort, is unable to locate the subject of the 
search to obtain written consent to share information, the confidential 
intermediary shall share this information with the person initiating the search 
and prepare and place with the compiled documents a written report 
describing search efforts.  If the person who initiated the search petitions the 
court to release identifying information, the court shall review the report 
prepared by the confidential intermediary and shall decide if the information 
may be released and in what manner the information may be released if the 
court determines there is good cause. 

 
E.  An adoptive parent who has not informed an adoptee that the adoptee was 

adopted may file an affidavit so stating with the court where the adoption took 
place.  The affidavit may be withdrawn at any time by the adoptive parent.  If 
an affidavit is a part of the court record, the confidential intermediary shall 
not make contact with the adoptee unless the adoptive parent withdraws the 
affidavit and grants permission in writing or the adoptee has filed an affidavit 
stating that the adoptee knows about the adoption and wishes to make contact 
with the birth parent. 

 
F.  A birth parent who has not informed the parent’s biological offspring of the 

existence of the adoptee may file an affidavit so stating with the court where 
the adoption took place.  The affidavit may be withdrawn at any time by the 
birth parent.  If an affidavit is a part of the court record, the confidential 
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intermediary shall not make contact with the biological sibling unless the 
birth parent withdraws the affidavit and grants permission in writing or the 
biological sibling has filed an affidavit stating that the biological sibling 
knows about the adoptee and wishes to make contact with the adoptee. 

  
5.   Notice of Withdrawal.  A confidential intermediary may withdraw from a search for any 

reason. 
 

a. If a confidential intermediary withdraws from a search, the confidential intermediary 
shall submit a notice of withdrawal form to division staff for that search.   

 
b. The confidential intermediary shall submit to division staff a finalization report for each 

case the confidential intermediary withdraws from, pursuant to subsection (F)(6). 
 

6.   Finalization Report.  A confidential intermediary shall file with division staff a finalization 
report on all completed searches or searches where the confidential intermediary has 
withdrawn within 45 days of the withdrawal.  These requirements also apply when a 
confidential intermediary voluntarily surrenders their certificate or their certificate is 
placed on inactive status.  

  
a. The finalization report shall include: 

 
(1) A copy of the consent or refusal documents; 
(2) Documentation of a consultation or mentoring agreement;  
(3) A copy of the file review statement;  
(4) Original appointment form issued by division staff; and 
(5) A summary report of the search process and outcome.  

 
b.  The confidential intermediary shall file a copy of the finalization report with the juvenile 

court in the county the adoption was finalized.  The finalization report shall include: 
 

(1) Original consent or refusal documents; 
(2) Documentation of a consultation or mentoring agreement; and 
(3) A summary report of the search process and outcome. 

 
7. Retention of Records.  A confidential intermediary shall maintain all search related 

documentation, including receipts for every search for no less than five years. 
 
8. Voluntary Surrender or Request for Inactive Status.  In addition to the requirements of 

ACJA § 7-201(E)(7) and (E)(8), when a confidential intermediary voluntarily surrenders 
their certificate or is placed on inactive status, the confidential intermediary shall:   

 
a.  Submit a notice of withdrawal form pursuant to subsection (F)(5) for each open search 

approved for the confidential intermediary;  
 
b. Provide notice of the withdrawal to each affected client; and 

 
c. Submit the finalization report pursuant to subsection (F)(6).  

 
G. Renewal of Certification.  In addition to the requirements of ACJA § 7-201(G), the following 
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requirements apply: 
 

1. Expiration Date.  All certificates expire at midnight on October 31, 2006 and every even-
numbered year thereafter.     

 
2. Continuing Education.  All confidential intermediaries shall complete at least twelve hours 

of continuing education pursuant to subsection (L).    
 
. . . 
 
J. Standards of Conduct.  The following standards of conduct apply to all confidential 

intermediaries pursuant to A.R.S. § 8-134(I) to establish minimum standards for performance 
by confidential intermediaries and to ensure confidentiality of the search and consent process. 

 
1. Confidentiality. 

 
a. The confidential intermediary shall keep paramount in all actions the importance and 

significance of confidentiality.  The confidential intermediary shall exercise extreme 
care and diligence in respecting the privacy and confidentiality of all parties involved 
in the search. 

 
b. The confidential intermediary shall keep confidential all information obtained during 

the course of the search and shall use said confidential information only to arrange a 
contact or to share that information which is permitted by A.R.S. § 8-134 between the 
person who initiated the search and the person who is the subject of the search. 

 
c. The confidential intermediary shall review the court records to determine whether an 

affidavit has been filed by a party consenting to or blocking contact and act according 
to the wishes expressed by such an affidavit. 

  
d. The confidential intermediary shall perform duties and responsibilities pursuant to 

Arizona laws relating to adoption including limitations on the release of information. 
 
e. The confidential intermediary shall maintain required records in a professional manner 

while protecting the confidentiality of information contained in the records. 
 
f. The confidential intermediary, having located the sought-after party, shall divulge only 

that information necessary to allow the client and located party to make an informed 
decision whether or not to consent to the release of identifying information.  In order 
to meet the requirements of informed consent, the confidential intermediary shall share 
only the information necessary for the physical safety and protection of the parties and 
their families. The confidential intermediary shall present such information in a 
nonjudgmental manner.  

 
g. On a case-by-case basis, the confidential intermediary may consult with another 

confidential intermediary sharing only that information on a case which is necessary 
for the specific purpose of soliciting ideas or information that would assist the 
confidential intermediary in carrying out the search to arrange a contact. The discharge 
summary shall clearly designate the consulting confidential intermediary.  All 
confidentiality restrictions apply to both confidential intermediaries. 
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h. The confidential intermediary may act as a mentor to assist an inexperienced confidential 

intermediary.  The inexperienced confidential intermediary and the mentoring 
confidential intermediary may share confidential information for the purpose of 
instruction for the result of an increased skill level and a successful search.  The request 
for appointment form and the discharge summary shall clearly designate the mentoring 
confidential intermediary.  All confidentiality restrictions apply to both confidential 
intermediaries. 

 
2. Skills and Knowledge.    

 
a. The confidential intermediary shall demonstrate adequate skills and knowledge to 

perform the work of a confidential intermediary and shall fulfill ongoing continuing 
education requirements to maintain professional growth as specified by ACJA § 7-201 
and subsection (L). 

 
b. The confidential intermediary has an obligation to have knowledge and keep informed 

of all current and applicable laws regarding adoption issues. 
 
c. The confidential intermediary shall inform the parties of the availability of resources for 

support.  
 
d. The confidential intermediary has a responsibility to maintain a working knowledge of 

documents and information customarily contained in court and agency files. 
 
e. The confidential intermediary shall possess the necessary verbal and written 

communication skills sufficient to perform the confidential intermediary role, including 
an aptitude for communicating in person, by telephone and by correspondence. 

 
f. The confidential intermediary shall manage each case proficiently.  Skills required 

include, but are not limited to, skills necessary to perform the search, make contact, 
maintain records and discharge the case in a timely fashion. 

 
g. The confidential intermediary shall keep the client reasonably informed about the status 

of the search and promptly comply with reasonable requests for information. 
 
h. The confidential intermediary shall prepare complete, accurate and understandable 

reports and discharge summaries. 
 
i. The confidential intermediary shall conduct each search demonstrating efforts 

appropriate to the case. 
 
j. The confidential intermediary shall perform a diligent and expedient search if the 

search is a court-ordered medical search. 
 
k. The confidential intermediary shall otherwise perform a search using proper diligence 

pursuant to the agreement between the confidential intermediary and client. 
 

3. Fees and Expenses.   
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a. The confidential intermediary shall charge only those fees and expenses that are 
reasonable in amounts and necessarily incurred in order to conduct the search and 
provide services pursuant to Arizona law, ACJA § 7-201, this section and 
administrative orders adopted by the supreme court.  

 
b. The confidential intermediary shall not charge more than the amounts permitted 

pursuant to subsection (M).  
 
c. The confidential intermediary shall return to the client all fees collected in advance but 

not earned. 
 

4. Sensitivity and Professionalism.   
 
a. The confidential intermediary shall exercise the highest degree of sensitivity and 

professionalism in all interactions with clients, the party located and others with whom 
they come in contact during the search. This includes the ability to empathize with 
others, be discreet in dealing with confidential information and recognize the emotions 
of adoption members. 

 
b. The confidential intermediary shall strive to develop professional objectivity regarding 

biases, attitudes and beliefs about adoption and reunion issues.  
 
c. The confidential intermediary shall demonstrate the ability to work with individuals 

regardless of differing culture, ethnicity or lifestyle. 
 
d. The confidential intermediary shall not remove adoption case records from agency or 

court files or falsify or alter records. 
 
e. The confidential intermediary shall not use materials or employ methods that are not 

consistent with the role of a confidential intermediary and shall not use materials or employ  
methods for personal benefit or in ways that conflict with the goals and role of a 
confidential intermediary. 

 
f. The confidential intermediary shall not assume the role of a therapist or counselor when 

acting in the capacity of a confidential intermediary, even if otherwise qualified to do 
so, but may provide initial education and information.  A confidential intermediary 
shall demonstrate understanding of how the confidential intermediary role differs from 
that of a counselor or an advocate. 

 
g. The confidential intermediary shall not provide or offer to provide legal advice in the 

role of a confidential intermediary.  
 
h. The confidential intermediary shall not violate any rules or policies regarding the 

confidential intermediary program as established by the supreme court or conduct 
themselves in a manner that would reflect adversely on the judiciary, courts or other 
agencies involved in the administration of justice. 

 
5. Ethics.   
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a. The search and reunion of adopted individuals, adoptive parents and birth parents are 
highly charged emotionally.  Because the primary sources of information about the 
unknown parties are confidential, the confidential intermediary is held to the highest 
standards of trust, impartiality and respect in the performance of services. 

 
b. The confidential intermediary shall perform services in a manner consistent with legal 

and ethical standards. 
 
c. The confidential intermediary shall not assume the role of an advocate or use coercion 

or undue influence to persuade any party to the search to take or not to take any action.  
 
d. The confidential intermediary shall be cognizant of personal limitations of knowledge 

and experience and may consult other experienced confidential intermediaries about a 
case if ACJA §§ 7-201, -203, administrative orders, Arizona statutes, standards of 
conduct or training manuals do not provide the guidance necessary to address difficult 
ethical issues.  Nonetheless, the confidential intermediary is ultimately responsible for 
decisions made in regard to the case. 

 
e. The confidential intermediary shall avoid any conflict of interest or the appearance of 

a conflict of interest.  
 
(1) The confidential intermediary shall not accept appointment to a case or continue on 

a case involving a relative or business associate or a personal friend where the                                                                                             
relationship is such that the relative, business associate or personal friend may exert 
undue pressure on the confidential intermediary. 

(2) The confidential intermediary shall not accept an appointment or continue on any 
case where the confidential intermediary cannot act in an objective manner or 
perform services as required. 

(3) The confidential intermediary shall not accept an appointment or serve as a 
confidential intermediary for the purpose of taking advantage of any party to the 
search for personal or professional gain. 
 

f. The confidential intermediary shall avoid misrepresenting the purposes of the 
confidential intermediary program, the confidential intermediary’s qualifications, fees 
or any other information relating to the role of the confidential intermediary.  The 
confidential intermediary shall avoid misrepresenting to any client or any party located 
any circumstances or information specific to a case. 

 
g. The confidential intermediary shall avoid utilizing certification in any manner to gain 

access to information or services for purposes other than those of the confidential 
intermediary program. 

 
6.  Compliance.  The confidential intermediary shall perform all services and discharge all 

obligations in accordance with current Arizona and federal laws, ACJA §§ 7-201, -203 and 
administrative orders adopted by the supreme court governing the certification of 
confidential intermediaries. 

 
. . . 
 
L. Continuing Education Policy. 
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1. Purpose. 
 

a. Ongoing continuing education is one method to ensure confidential intermediaries 
maintain competence in the field after certification is obtained.  Continuing education 
also provides opportunities for confidential intermediaries to keep abreast of changes 
in the profession and the Arizona judicial system. 
 

 b. Pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(D) the board shall make recommendations to the supreme 
court regarding rules, policies, and procedures to implement and enforce the 
requirements regarding confidential intermediaries, including continuing education.  
This  
subsection is intended to provide direction to confidential intermediaries to ensure 
compliance with the continuing education requirements and to provide for equitable 
application and enforcement of the continuing education requirements. 

 
 2. Applicability.  Pursuant to subsection (G)(2): 
  
  a. All confidential intermediaries shall attend six hours of approved continuing education 

each year for a total of twelve hours of continuing education during each certificate 
period.  A confidential intermediary shall complete a minimum of one hour each year 
of the continuing education requirement in an ethics based curriculum.  The 
confidential intermediary shall submit documentation of completion of the continuing 
education requirement upon the request of the board or division staff.  Hours of 
participation are not transferable to certification periods other than the one in which the 
participation occurred. 

 
  b. From and after November 1, 2006 and for every renewal of certification after that date, 

all confidential intermediaries shall comply with these adopted policies regarding 
continuing education. 

 
3. Responsibilities of Confidential Intermediaries. 

 
 a. It is the responsibility of each confidential intermediary to ensure compliance with the 

continuing education requirements, maintain documentation of completion of 
continuing education, and to submit the maintained documentation to division staff 
upon the request of the board or division staff. 

 
 b. Upon request, each confidential intermediary shall provide any additional information 

required by the board or division staff when reviewing renewal applications and 
continuing education documentation. 

 
 c. Continuing education not recognized for credit upon board review does not in any way 

relieve the confidential intermediary of the responsibility to complete the required hours of 
continuing education.  

 
4. Authorized Continuing Education Activities. 
 
 a. Continuing Education.  Continuing education activity shall address areas of 

proficiency, competency, and performance of a confidential intermediary, impart 
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knowledge and understanding of the profession, search techniques, Arizona court 
jurisdiction and responsibilities, Arizona tribal court system, cultural issues, 
administrative matters and areas involving adoption and the adoption triad.   

 
a. Conferences.  A confidential intermediary may receive continuing education credit for 

attendance at a conference relevant to the profession.  A confidential intermediary may 
receive 100 percent of the continuing education credits for attendance at the conference, 
if the conference is directly related to the confidential intermediary profession.  
Introductory remarks, breaks, meals, business meetings, and general sessions of the 
conference do not qualify as continuing education hours. 

 
b. University, College and Other Educational Institution Courses.  A confidential 

intermediary may receive continuing education credit for a course provided by a 
university, college or other institutionally accredited educational program if the 
confidential intermediary successfully completes the course with a grade of "C" or 
better or a "pass" in a pass/fail grading system.  A confidential intermediary may 
receive continuing education credit if the course is relevant to the confidential 
intermediary profession, adoption, adoption searches or a related field, up to two times 
the number of credit hours awarded by the educational institution.  The maximum hours 
of continuing education credits earned from educational course work shall not exceed 
50 percent of the total number of continuing education hours required for renewal. 

 
c. Authoring or Coauthoring Articles.  A confidential intermediary may receive 

continuing education credit for authoring or coauthoring an article directly related to 
areas of adoptions, adoption searches or triad issues, if the article is published in a state 
or nationally recognized professional journal and if the article is a minimum of 1,000  
words in length.  A confidential intermediary may earn a maximum of one hour of 
continuing education credit each year for authoring of articles.  A confidential 
intermediary shall not receive credit for the same article published in more than one 
publication or republished in the same publication in later editions. 

 
d. Self Study.  A confidential intermediary may receive continuing education credit for 

self study activities, including correspondence courses, procedure manuals, video and 
audio tapes, online computer seminars, and other methods of independent learning.  
The maximum hours of continuing education credits earned in a self study format shall 
not exceed 50 percent of the total number of continuing education hours required for 
renewal. 

 
e. Serving as Faculty. A confidential intermediary may receive continuing education 

credit for serving as an instructor, speaker, panel or faculty member of an instructional 
seminar directly related to the profession of confidential intermediary.  A confidential 
intermediary may receive continuing education credit for the presentation time and up 
to two hours of preparation time for each hour of presentation.  The maximum hours 
of continuing education credits earned as faculty credit shall not exceed 50 percent of 
the total number of continuing education hours required for renewal and a confidential 
intermediary shall not receive duplicate credit for repeating a presentation during the 
certificate period.   

 
5. Minimum Time.  Each continuing education activity shall consist of at least 30 minutes of 

actual clock time spent by a confidential intermediary in actual attendance at and 
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completion of a continuing education activity.  “Actual clock time” includes the total 
number of hours attended, minus the time spent for introductory remarks, breaks, meals, 
and business meetings.  After completion of the first 30 minutes of a continuing education 
activity, credit shall be recognized in fifteen minute increments.  

 
6. Maximum Credit. Unless the board otherwise determines a continuing education activity is 

directly related to the confidential intermediary profession, a confidential intermediary shall 
not receive more than 50 percent of the credit requirement for the certificate period through 
one activity.  

 
7. Non-Qualifying Activities. 
 

a. The following activities shall not qualify for continuing education credit for 
confidential intermediaries: 

 
(1) Program training completed to qualify for certification; 

  (2) Mentoring.  A confidential intermediary shall not receive continuing education credit for 
mentoring activities; 

(3) Attendance or participation at professional or association business meetings, 
general sessions, elections, policymaking sessions or program orientation; 

(4) Serving on committees or councils or as officers in a professional organization; and  
(5) Activities completed as required by the board as part of a disciplinary action. 

 
 b. Repeat of an Activity. Continuing education activities repeated during a certificate 

period do not qualify for credited duplicate hours.  
 

 c. If a confidential intermediary attends part, but not all of a continuing education activity, 
the confidential intermediary is not eligible to claim partial credit completion. 

 
8. Documentation of Attendance or Completion.  When attending or completing a continuing 

education activity, each confidential intermediary shall obtain documentation of attendance 
or completion from the sponsoring entity.  At a minimum, this documentation shall include 
the: 

 
a. Name of the sponsor; 
 
b. Name of the participant; 

 
c. Topic of the subject matter; 

 
d. Number of hours actually attended or the number of credit hours awarded by the 

sponsoring entity; 
 

e. Date and place of the program; and 
 

f. Signature of the sponsor or an official document from the sponsoring entity.  
 

9. Compliance and Non-Compliance. 
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a. Affidavit of Compliance.  A confidential intermediary shall submit an affidavit of 
continuing education compliance when applying for renewal of certification.  The 
affidavit shall be in the format provided by the division staff.   

 
b. Proration of Continuing Education Requirement.  A confidential intermediary whose 

certificate expires less than one year from the effective date of certification shall 
complete no less than six hours of continuing education credit during the balance of the 
certification period.  In subsequent certification periods, the confidential intermediary 
shall complete the biennial twelve hour continuing education requirement.  Proration 
of the continuing education requirement does not apply to confidential intermediaries 
who previously held certification and allowed their certification to lapse. 

 
c. Extension or Waiver of Continuing Education Requirements.  A confidential 

intermediary seeking renewal of certification who has not fully complied with the 
continuing education requirements may request an extension or waiver of the 
continuing education requirements under the following conditions: 

 
(1) The confidential intermediary submits a notarized written statement to the board, 

explaining the facts regarding non-compliance and requesting an extension or 
waiver of the requirements no later than the September 15th preceding the October 
31st expiration of the certificate.  Upon a showing of extenuating circumstances, the 
board may grant an extension of a maximum of 90 days for the confidential 
intermediary to complete the continuing education requirement. 

(2) The board shall determine whether extenuating circumstances exist.  In reviewing 
the request, the board shall consider if the confidential intermediary has been unable 
to devote sufficient hours to fulfill the requirements during the certificate period 
because of: 
(a) full-time service in the armed forces of the United States during a substantial 

part of the certificate period; 
(b) an incapacitating illness documented by a statement from a currently licensed 

physician; 
(c) a physical inability to travel to the sites of approved programs documented by 

a statement from a currently licensed physician; or 
(d) any other special circumstances the board deems appropriate. 

(3) A confidential intermediary whose certificate has been suspended or revoked by 
the board is not eligible to request a waiver or extension of the continuing education 
requirement. 

  (4) The board or division staff may request documentation or additional information 
from a confidential intermediary applying for renewal to verify compliance with 
the continuing education requirements.  If the confidential intermediary fails to 
provide the requested documentation or additional information, the board may 
deem the application for renewal incomplete and deny renewal of certification. 

 
 d. Random Audits of Continuing Education Compliance.  During each renewal review 

period, the board shall direct division staff to randomly select a specified number of 
confidential intermediaries to demonstrate continuing education requirement 
compliance through submission of proof of continuing education participation.  Refusal 
or failure to respond to a request from the board or division staff for audit 
documentation of continuing education compliance may result in denial of renewal of 
certification or disciplinary action pursuant to ACJA § 7-201 and this section. 
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 e. A confidential intermediary who fails to complete the continuing education 

requirement, completes any portion of the continuing education requirement late, 
falsifies documents, or misrepresents attendance or an activity is subject to any or all 
of the following actions of the board: 

 
(1) Assessment of the delinquent continuing education fee; 

 (2) Denial of renewal of certification; and 
 (3) Disciplinary action pursuant to ACJA § 7-201(H) and this section. 
 

10. Board Decision Regarding Continuing Education Compliance. 
 

a. Upon a review of continuing education documentation and any applicable additional 
information requested, the board may: 

 
 (1) Recognize compliance by the confidential intermediary with the continuing 

education requirement; 
 (2) Require additional information from the confidential intermediary seeking renewal 

before making a decision; 
 (3) Recognize partial compliance with the requirement and order remedial measures; 

or 
 (4) Enter a finding of non-compliance. 

 
b. The division staff shall promptly notify the confidential intermediary, in writing, of the 

board’s decision. A confidential intermediary may appeal the decision by submitting a 
written request for review to the confidential intermediary program within fifteen days 
of receipt of notification of the board’s decision.  The confidential intermediary 
requesting review may request to appear before the board at the next available regularly 
scheduled board meeting. 

 
 c. The certification of a confidential intermediary who timely appeals a decision by the board 

regarding continuing education shall continue in force until a final decision is made by the 
board. 

 
d. The board shall make the decision on the appeal in writing.  The decision is final and 

binding. 
 
 
M. Client Fee Schedule.  Pursuant to A.R.S. § 8-134(I), the supreme court shall administer the 

confidential intermediary program.  The court shall adopt rules and procedures necessary to 
implement the program, including required and permissible fees.  A confidential intermediary 
may charge clients an amount not to exceed the fees listed in this subsection for adoption search 
related services. 

 
1. Initial Appointment Fee  $100.00 

 
(This is a one time fee the confidential intermediary may charge and collect 
for services that result in a search appointment.  These services include 
initial consultation related to services and processes and initial application 
with the confidential intermediary program to establish the search 
appointment.) 
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2. Investigation/Research Hourly Rate   $100.00 
 

(Maximum rate allowable.) 
 
3. Bookkeeping/Travel Hourly Rate    $  50.00 
 

(Maximum rate allowable.) 
 
4. Direct Costs and Expenses Billable at Rates Incurred 
 

(Current state of Arizona mileage allowance as posted on the Arizona 
government’s website.) 
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Arizona Revised Statutes § 8-106(E) –  Consent to adoption; waiver; consent to the release 
of information; notification to potential fathers 

 
E.  An agency, the division or an attorney participating or assisting in a direct placement adoption 

pursuant to section 8-130 shall obtain from a birth parent, at the time consent for adoption is 
obtained, a notarized statement granting permission or withholding permission for the child 
being adopted, when the child reaches eighteen years of age, to obtain identifying and 
nonidentifying information about the child and the consenting birth parent.  The agency, 
division or attorney shall inform the birth parent at the time of obtaining the notarized statement 
that the decision to grant permission or withhold permission may be changed at any time by 
filing a notarized statement with the court. The most recent notarized statement shall operate 
as consent for the court to grant or withhold identifying and nonidentifying information. 

 
Arizona Revised Statute § 8-121 – Confidentiality of information; exceptions 
 
A.  It is unlawful, except for purposes for which files and records or social records or parts thereof 

or information therefrom have been released pursuant to subsection C of this section or section 
8-120, 8-129 or 8-134, or except for purposes permitted by order of the court, for any person 
to disclose, receive or make use of, or authorize, knowingly permit, participate in or acquiesce 
in the use of, any information involved in any proceeding under this article directly or indirectly 
derived from the files, records, reports or other papers compiled pursuant to this article, or 
acquired in the course of the performance of official duties until one hundred years after the 
date of the order issued pursuant to section 8-116.  After one hundred years has elapsed from 
the date of the order issued pursuant to section 8-116 the court shall transfer all files, records, 
reports and other documents in possession of the court relating to the adoption to the Arizona 
state library, archives and public records.  The items transferred pursuant to this subsection 
shall be available for public inspection during business hours and may be made available in an 
alternative format. 

 
B.  The provisions of this section shall not be construed to prohibit persons employed by the court, 

the division or an agency from conducting the investigations or performing other duties 
pursuant to this article within the normal course of their employment. 

 
C.  This section does not prohibit persons employed by the court, the division, an attorney 

participating or assisting in a direct placement adoption pursuant to section 8-130 or an agency 
from providing partial or complete identifying information between a birth parent and adoptive 
parent when the parties mutually agree to share specific identifying information and make a 
written request to the court, the division or the agency.  

 
D.  A person may petition the court to obtain information relating to an adoption in the possession 

of the court, the division or any agency or attorney involved in the adoption. Nonidentifying 
information may be released by the court pursuant to section 8-129. The court shall not release 
identifying information unless the person requesting the information has established a 
compelling need for disclosure of the information or consent has been obtained pursuant to 
subsection E of this section or from the birth parent pursuant to section 8-106. If a compelling 
need for disclosure of information is established, the court may decide what information, if 
any, should be disclosed and to whom and under what conditions disclosure may be made. 

 



 

 63 

E.  An adoptee who is eighteen years of age or older or a birth parent may file at any time with the 
court and the agency, division or attorney who participated in the adoption a notarized 
statement granting consent, withholding consent or withdrawing a consent previously given 
for the release of confidential information. If an adoptee who is eighteen years of age or older 
and the birth mother or birth father have filed a notarized statement granting consent to the 
release of confidential information, the court may disclose information, except identifying 
information relating to a birth parent who did not grant written consent, to the adoptee or birth 
parent. 

 
F.  This section does not prohibit a person from notifying a birth parent of the death of a child that 

the birth parent has placed for adoption. 
 
Arizona Revised Statute § 8-134 – Confidential Intermediary  
 
A.  Any of the following persons may use the services of a confidential intermediary who is listed 

with the court: 
 

1.  The adoptive parents of an adoptee who is at least eighteen years of age or, if the adoptive 
parents are deceased, the adoptee's guardian. 

 
2.  An adoptee if the adoptee is at least eighteen years of age. 
 
3.  If an adoptee is deceased, the adoptee's spouse if the spouse is the legal parent or guardian 

of any child of the adoptee. 
 
4.  If an adoptee is deceased, any progeny of the adoptee who is at least eighteen years of age. 
 
5.  Either of the birth parents of an adoptee. 
 
6.  The biological grandparent of the adoptee or other members of the adoptee's extended 

biological family. 
 
7.  A biological sibling of the adoptee if the sibling is at least eighteen years of age. 

 
B.  An adoption agency licensed by this state, the division or an individual who meets the 

requirements adopted pursuant to subsections I and J of this section may serve as a confidential 
intermediary. 

 
C.  Notwithstanding sections 8-120 and 8-121, a confidential intermediary may inspect documents 

compiled pursuant to this article. Documents include the court records, division records, 
agency records and maternity home records. The confidential intermediary shall keep 
confidential all information obtained during the course of the investigation. The intermediary 
shall use confidential information only to arrange a contact or share information between the 
person who initiates the search and the person who is the subject of the search. A confidential 
intermediary shall review the court record before making any contact with an adoptee to 
determine if an affidavit has been filed pursuant to subsection E of this section.  Except as 
provided pursuant to subsection A, paragraphs 1, 2, 4 and 7 and subsection G of this section, 
a confidential intermediary shall not contact persons under twenty-one years of age. 
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D.  The confidential intermediary shall obtain written consent from the person who initiated the 
search and the person who is the subject of the search before arranging for the sharing of 
identifying information or a contact between them. If the confidential intermediary discovers 
the subject of the search is deceased or that the identity of the birth father was unknown to or 
not revealed by the birth mother, the confidential intermediary shall share this information with 
the person initiating the search. If the confidential intermediary, after a diligent effort, is unable 
to locate the subject of the search to obtain written consent to share information, the 
confidential intermediary shall share this information with the person initiating the search and 
prepare and place with the compiled documents a written report describing search efforts.  If 
the person who initiated the search petitions the court to release identifying information, the 
court shall review the report prepared by the confidential intermediary and shall decide if the 
information may be released and in what manner the information may be released if the court 
determines there is good cause.  

 
E.  An adoptive parent who has not informed an adoptee that the adoptee was adopted may file an 

affidavit so stating with the court where the adoption took place.  The affidavit may be 
withdrawn at any time by the adoptive parent.  If an affidavit is a part of the court record, the 
confidential intermediary shall not make contact with the adoptee unless the adoptive parent 
withdraws the affidavit and grants permission in writing or the adoptee has filed an affidavit 
stating that the adoptee knows about the adoption and wishes to make contact with the birth 
parent. 

 
F.  A birth parent who has not informed the parent's biological offspring of the existence of the 

adoptee may file an affidavit so stating with the court where the adoption took place. The 
affidavit may be withdrawn at any time by the birth parent.  If an affidavit is a part of the court 
record, the confidential intermediary shall not make contact with the biological sibling unless 
the birth parent withdraws the affidavit and grants permission in writing or the biological 
sibling has filed an affidavit stating that the biological sibling knows about the adoptee and 
wishes to make contact with the adoptee. 

 
G.  On receipt of a written statement from a physician or a registered nurse practitioner that 

explains in detail how a health condition may seriously affect the health of the adoptee or a 
direct descendant of the adoptee, the court shall order the confidential intermediary program 
to appoint a confidential intermediary. The confidential intermediary shall make a diligent 
effort to notify an adoptee who has attained eighteen years of age, an adoptive parent or 
guardian of an adoptee who has not attained eighteen years of age or a direct descendant of a 
deceased adoptee that the nonidentifying information is available and shall be provided on 
written request. 

 
H.  On receipt of a written statement from a physician or a registered nurse practitioner that 

explains in detail why a serious health condition of the adoptee or a direct descendant of the 
adoptee should be communicated to the birth parent or biological sibling to enable the birth 
parent or biological sibling to make an informed medical decision, the court shall order the 
confidential intermediary program to appoint a confidential intermediary.  The confidential 
intermediary shall make a diligent effort to notify those individuals that the nonidentifying 
information is available and shall be provided on written request.  

 
I.  The Arizona supreme court shall administer the confidential intermediary program.  The court 

shall adopt rules and procedures necessary to implement the program, including qualifications, 
required fees, minimum standards for certification, training and standards of conduct of 
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confidential intermediaries, and shall establish the fees that may be charged by a confidential 
intermediary. 

 
J.  A person shall not act as a confidential intermediary unless the person possesses a confidential 

intermediary certificate issued by the supreme court.  In order to be certified as a confidential 
intermediary a person shall meet and maintain the minimum standards prescribed by this 
section and the rules adopted by the supreme court. 

 
K.  In carrying out the provisions of this section the supreme court shall require applicants for a 

confidential intermediary certificate to furnish fingerprints and the supreme court shall obtain 
criminal history record information pursuant to section 41-1750. The applicant for certification 
shall pay a fee to the department of public safety to reimburse the department of public safety 
for the cost of obtaining the applicant's criminal history record information required by this 
section.  The fee shall not exceed the actual cost of obtaining the applicant's criminal history 
record information. 

 
L.  The actual and reasonable cost to the agency, division or court of providing information 

pursuant to the confidential intermediary program shall be paid by the person requesting the 
services of a confidential intermediary. If the juvenile court of a county is supplying the 
information, the actual and reasonable costs shall be paid to the clerk of the court of that county 
who shall transmit the monies to the county treasurer of that county for deposit in the juvenile 
probation services fund to be utilized by the juvenile court of that county for reimbursing the 
court for costs associated with providing information pursuant to the confidential intermediary 
program. If the division is supplying the information, the actual and reasonable costs shall be 
paid to the division. If an agency is supplying the information, the actual and reasonable costs 
shall be paid to the agency. 
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Indian Child Welfare Act (25 U.S.C. § 1901) 
 
§ 1901. Congressional findings 

Recognizing the special relationship between the United States and the Indian tribes and their 
members and the Federal responsibility to Indian people, the Congress finds-- 

(1) that clause 3, section 8, article I of the United States Constitution provides that “The 
Congress shall have Power * * * To regulate Commerce * * * with Indian tribes” and, 
through this and other constitutional authority, Congress has plenary power over Indian 
affairs; 

(2) that Congress, through statutes, treaties, and the general course of dealing with Indian 
tribes, has assumed the responsibility for the protection and preservation of Indian 
tribes and their resources; 

(3) that there is no resource that is more vital to the continued existence and integrity of 
Indian tribes than their children and that the United States has a direct interest, as 
trustee, in protecting Indian children who are members of or are eligible for 
membership in an Indian tribe; 

(4) that an alarmingly high percentage of Indian families are broken up by the removal, 
often unwarranted, of their children from them by nontribal public and private agencies 
and that an alarmingly high percentage of such children are placed in non-Indian foster 
and adoptive homes and institutions; and 

 
(5) that the States, exercising their recognized jurisdiction over Indian child custody 

proceedings through administrative and judicial bodies, have often failed to recognize 
the essential tribal relations of Indian people and the cultural and social standards 
prevailing in Indian communities and families. 

 


