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This brochure is intended only as a general information guide. Laws 
and procedures are subject to change. For more specific 
information, contact your local justice of the peace court. 

What is a small claims division? 
Every justice of the peace court in Arizona has a small claims 
division, created by law, to provide an inexpensive and speedy 
method for resolving most civil disputes that do not exceed $3,500. 
 
Small claims cases are handled in a less formal manner than other 
cases. Procedures are intended to be simple enough for a person to 
file a complaint or to answer a claim without a lawyer. 
 
All cases are heard by either a judge or a hearing officer who makes 
a final and binding decision. There is no right to an appeal or to a 
jury trial in a small claims case. 
 
The small claims process is governed by Title 22, Chapter 5 of the 
Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) and the Arizona Rules of Small 
Claims Procedure.  
 
Who can use the small claims process? 
The small claims division can be used by any individual, 
corporation, partnership, association, marital community, or other 
organization for civil claims that do not exceed $3,500, exclusive 
of interest and costs.  
 
Because the small claims process is simplified, lawyers are 
generally not necessary and are not permitted to represent you in a 
small claims case unless all parties agree to it in writing. If all 
parties do not agree to it, attorneys are prohibited from representing 
any party in the case unless it is transferred out of the small claims 
division. 
 
Either party may object to the proceedings being held in the small 
claims division and, as long as such objection is made in writing at 
least ten business days before the hearing, the case will be 
transferred out of the small claims division. Once the case is 
transferred, the Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure apply, 
permitting attorney representation, jury trial, appeal, and claims in 
excess of $3,500. 

How do I start a small claims lawsuit? 
A small claims lawsuit starts when the person suing (plaintiff) files 
a small claims complaint. The complaint must be legible and must 
briefly state the plaintiff’s reasons for the claim against the 
defendant (the person being sued). You must use your correct legal 
name and you must use the correct legal name of the defendant. You 
will not be able to amend (change) your complaint once it is filed. 
The complaint must be filed in the justice court precinct where the 
defendant (person being sued) resides or as permitted by A.R.S. § 
22-202. 
 
At the time the complaint is filed, the clerk will issue a summons 
directing the defendant to answer your complaint. The summons, 

complaint, and Notice to Plaintiff and Defendant must be served on 
the defendant by registered or certified mail, with a “return receipt 
requested.” You can also have the constable, sheriff, or a process 
server serve the defendant.  
 
Proof of service must be filed with the court within 45 days of the 
date you filed your complaint, otherwise, the court will dismiss your 
case. 
 
If you change your mind about pursuing the lawsuit, you may 
dismiss your complaint by filing a Notice of Voluntary Dismissal, 
but only if the defendant has not filed an answer or counterclaim.  
 
How do I answer a small claims complaint? 
A defendant must file a written answer within 20 days of service. 
The form is available at www.azcourts.gov or can be obtained from 
the courthouse. If an answer is not filed within 20 days of service, 
the court may rule in favor of the plaintiff.  
 
How do I get my court date? 
The court will set a hearing date when the defendant files an answer 
and will hold the hearing within 60 days of the answer filing date. 
All parties must appear at the scheduled hearing.  
 
What if I have a claim against the plaintiff? 
A counterclaim is a claim that the plaintiff owes something to the 
defendant. Within 20 days of being served, a defendant may file a 
counterclaim against the plaintiff that is based on the same event 
described in the plaintiff’s complaint or based on a different event 
than the one described in the plaintiff’s complaint. If the 
counterclaim exceeds $3,500, the case will be transferred out of the 
small claims division.  
 
What if the case was filed in the wrong justice court (venue)? 
Venue is the proper or possible place for a lawsuit to proceed, 
usually because the place has some connection to the events that 
give rise to the lawsuit, or to the plaintiff or defendant.  If the lawsuit 
was not filed in the correct justice court, the defendant may file a 
motion to change the venue of the lawsuit. The plaintiff will have 
ten days to file a response. If the motion is granted, the court will 
transfer the case to the proper precinct. However, all parties must 
appear at any scheduled court dates until they receive notice that the 
court has granted the motion. The proper venue for your case can 
be determined by reviewing A.R.S. § 22-202. 
 
What if the defendant does not file an answer? 
 
If the defendant does not file an answer within 20 days of service, 
the plaintiff must initiate default proceedings in accordance with 
Rule 140, Arizona Rules of Justice Court Procedure. 
 
How do I prepare for my hearing? 
The court will consider testimony from parties and witnesses, will 
consider documents, and will decide any counterclaim. Both parties 

should write down the facts and details of the case in the order in 
which the events occurred. Both parties should also bring with them 
all witnesses and necessary documentation, e.g., bills, receipts, 
price estimates, pictures of the damage, etc. 
 
What happens if the parties come to an agreement before the 
hearing date? 

If the case settles before the hearing date, the plaintiff must notify 
the court by filing a Notice of Settlement.  

What if both parties agree to dismiss the lawsuit? 

The parties may mutually agree to dismiss the complaint and any 
counterclaims by filing an agreement to dismiss that is signed by all 
parties who have appeared in the case.  

What happens at the hearing? 

On the day of the hearing, both parties must appear on time before 
the judge or hearing officer and testify. The court will hear the 
defendant’s counterclaim if one has been filed. After both parties 
have presented their witnesses, testimony, and evidence, the judge 
or hearing officer will make a decision, called a judgment. The 
judgment will be a final written order of the court that decides the 
claims in the lawsuit. The judgment is binding on all parties. In most 
cases, the judgment is announced at the hearing; however, the judge 
or hearing officer has ten days to consider the facts in the case, 
conduct necessary research, make a decision, and notify the parties 
by mail.  

What happens if I do not appear at the hearing? 

If both parties fail to appear, the court will dismiss the complaint 
and any counterclaims. If the defendant fails to appear, the judge or 
hearing officer may hear testimony from the plaintiff and his or her 
witnesses, may examine evidence presented by the plaintiff, and 
may enter judgment against the defendant.  

If the plaintiff fails to appear, the court may dismiss the lawsuit, or 
it may award judgment for the defendant. 

Can the court’s decision be appealed? 

No, the court’s decision is final and binding on all parties. The 
decision cannot be appealed.  

Can I have a jury trial? 

No, jury trials are not permitted in small claims cases.  

How do I collect my money once the case is decided? 

A judgment may be enforced in accordance with Title 12, Chapter 
9 of the Arizona Revised Statutes and A.R.S. § 22-243 through 22-
246. Note that it is not the role or responsibility of the court to collect 
the judgment. 

https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=22
https://govt.westlaw.com/azrules/Browse/Home/Arizona/ArizonaCourtRules/ArizonaStatutesCourtRules?guid=N86E7BC50E52711E99877D89EFDB0D4E0&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=Default&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://govt.westlaw.com/azrules/Browse/Home/Arizona/ArizonaCourtRules/ArizonaStatutesCourtRules?guid=N86E7BC50E52711E99877D89EFDB0D4E0&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=Default&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://govt.westlaw.com/azrules/Browse/Home/Arizona/ArizonaCourtRules/ArizonaStatutesCourtRules?guid=ND4E6D1300BBC11E2B693E1305F461EC5&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://www.azleg.gov/ars/22/00202.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/ars/22/00202.htm
http://www.azcourts.gov/
https://www.azleg.gov/ars/22/00202.htm
https://govt.westlaw.com/azrules/Document/NFFA668200DDF11E2B1BB87D5DA3B811F?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
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