
CIVIL CHECKLIST FOR PLAINTIFF 

 

The following checklist may assist you in processing your case.  Write down the applicable dates, and 

check off each event as it occurs: 

□ _______________  Date your complaint was filed. 

                   (Note amount of the filing fee paid: $__________.) 

□ _______________  Date that the summons, complaint and notice to defendant were served. 

 

□ _______________     Date that the defendant’s time to file an answer will expire.  (20 days 

after defendant was served, 30 days if served out of state.) 

 

 

If an answer is not filed: 

□ _______________   Date that the application for entry of default was filed with the court, 

with copies mailed to defaulted defendant(s) and other parties.  See Rule 140 of the Justice Court 

Rules of Civil Procedure. 

□ _______________   Date that your request for entry of default judgment without a hearing 

was filed. 

 

 

 

If an answer is filed: 

□ _______________  Date the defendant filed an answer.   

□ _______________     Date for all parties to exchange a disclosure statement.  Disclosure is 

the pretrial process requiring each party to exchange information with the opposing party.  The 

exchange must occur within 40 days after the filing date of the answer. 

 

 

If a counterclaim is filed: 

 □ _______________  Date the defendant filed a counterclaim. 

□ _______________     Date that your time to file an answer to the counterclaim will expire.  (If 

the defendant files a counterclaim, you must file an answer within 20 days from the date of 

service.  If you fail to file an answer, the defendant may obtain a default judgment against you.) 

□ _______________     Date that your answer to the counterclaim was filed and that a copy was 

mailed to defendant. 
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 If a hearing/trial is scheduled by the court: 

 

□ _______________  Date of hearing/trial.  The court will notify all parties of any scheduled 

hearing dates 

 

NOTICE 

Default: If the time to answer passes and the defendant(s) fails to answer the complaint, or if the 

time to answer a counterclaim passes and the plaintiff(s) fails to answer the counterclaim, you 

may get information and forms from the court or at www.azturbocourt.gov for obtaining a default 

judgment. 

 

Dismissal:  Plaintiff may dismiss the complaint at any time before the defendant files an answer 

by filing a Notice of Voluntary Dismissal.  Once the defendant has filed an answer, both parties 

must stipulate (agree in writing) to a dismissal. 

 

Notice of Change of Address:  All parties are required to inform the court in writing of a current 

address to ensure that the party can receive all notices mailed from the court. 

 

Note: The information in this checklist is only a summary.  It is not intended to be a complete list 

of the requirements of the Arizona Revised Statutes or of the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure. 
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