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SMALL CLAIMS CHECKLIST FOR PLAINTIFF 
 
The following checklist may assist you in processing your case. Write down the applicable dates, 
and check off each event as it occurs: 

[  ] _______________ Date the complaint was filed. Note the amount of the filing fee paid:           
$__________. 

[  ] _______________ Date of delivery of the summons, complaint, and Notice to Plaintiff 
and Defendant as shown on the return receipt. If there are multiple defendants, each named 
defendant must be served with a copy of the summons, complaint, and Notice to Plaintiff 
and Defendant. Note the cost of service for each defendant: $__________. 
 
Note: Service of the summons, complaint, and Notice to Plaintiff and Defendant in a small 
claims case is usually done by certified or registered mail with a return receipt requested. 
The return receipt (“green card”) will be returned to you by the postal service to confirm 
that your summons, complaint, and Notice to Plaintiff and Defendant have been delivered. 
The return receipt can also be the delivery receipt printed from the delivery service’s 
website.    
 
If the postal service does not enter a date of delivery or the date is not legible, service is 
deemed complete on the date the return receipt is filed with the court.  
 
Use the Proof of Service by Registered or Certified Mail form to file your proof that service 
has been completed.  
 
[  ] _______________ Deadline for filing the Proof of Service by Registered or Certified 
Mail with the court.  
 
Note: Proof of service must be filed within 45 days of the complaint filing date, otherwise, 
the court will dismiss your case. See Rule 5 of the Arizona Rules of Small Claims 
Procedure (ARSCP). 

[  ] _______________ Date that the Proof of Service by Registered or Certified Mail was 
filed with the court.  

[  ] _______________ Date that the defendant’s time to file an answer will expire. The 
defendant has 20 days from the date of service to file an answer. See Arizona Revised 
Statutes (ARS) § 22-514 and Rules 3 and 7, ARSCP. 

 
If an answer is not filed: 

[  ] _______________ Date that the Application for Entry of Default was filed with the 
court, with copies mailed to all parties in the case.  

[  ] _______________ Date you will file the Request and Affidavit for Entry of Default 
Judgment. (Must be at least 10 days from the filing date of the Application for Entry of 
Default. See Rule 140, JCRCP.) 
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[  ] _______________ Date that the Request and Affidavit for Entry of Default Judgment 
was filed with the court, with copies mailed to all parties in the case. See Rule 140, JCRCP. 
 

If an answer/counterclaim is filed: 

[  ] _______________ Date the defendant filed an answer. The court will set a hearing date 
and hold a hearing within 60 days of the answer filing date. 

 [  ] _______________ Date the defendant filed a counterclaim. 
 
[  ] _______________ Date of hearing. Bring all evidence, exhibits, and witnesses you will 
need to present your claim or your defense. Bring extra copies of documents for all parties 
and the court. 
 

 
NOTICE 

 
Transfer: If you wish to preserve your right to appeal, you may have your case transferred 
to the civil division of the justice court pursuant to ARS § 22-504(A) and Rule 11, ARSCP, 
if you request such transfer at least 10 days prior to the date of the scheduled hearing. 
 
Dismissal: You may dismiss the complaint at any time before the defendant files an answer 
or counterclaim by filing a Notice of Voluntary Dismissal. If the defendant has filed an 
answer or counterclaim and you wish to dismiss your complaint, both parties must agree 
in writing to a dismissal. 
 
Notice of Change of Address: All parties must provide the court with a mailing address, 
email address, and phone number, if available. You should notify the court of any changes 
to this information, as the court may use this information to communicate with you by mail, 
email, text message, or phone about your case.   
 
NOTE: The information in this checklist is only a summary. It is not intended to be a 
complete list of the requirements of the Arizona Revised Statutes or the Arizona Rules 
of Small Claims Procedure. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


