
SMALL CLAIMS CHECKLIST FOR PLAINTIFF 

 

The following checklist may assist you in processing your case.  Write down the applicable dates, and 

check off each event as it occurs: 

□ _______________  Date the complaint was filed.  (Note amount of the filing fee paid:           

$__________.) 

□ _______________     Date of delivery as shown on the return receipt.  If there are multiple 

defendants, each named defendant must be served with a copy of the complaint and summons.  

(Note cost of service for each defendant: $__________.) 

 

Note:  Service of the summons and complaint in a small claims case is usually done by certified 

or registered mail with a return receipt requested.  The return receipt card (“green”) card with the 

defendant(s) signature will be returned to you by the postal service to confirm that your summons 

and complaint has been delivered. 

 

If the postal service does not enter a date of delivery or the date is not legible, service is deemed 

complete on the date the return receipt is filed with the court.  Use the “Evidence of Service” 

form to file your completed service. 

□ _______________   Date that the Evidence of Service was filed with the court. 

□ _______________      Date that the defendant’s time to file an answer will expire.  (20 days 

after defendant was served.  See ARS §§22-513 and 22-514.) 

 

If an answer is not filed: 

□ _______________ Date that the application for entry of default/affidavit for default 

judgment was filed with the court, with copies mailed to defendant(s).  See Rule 55 of the 

Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure. 

 

If an answer is filed: 

□ _______________      Date the defendant filed an answer.  The court will set a hearing within 

60 days and notify the parties. 

 

If a counterclaim is filed: 

 □ _______________   Date the defendant filed a counterclaim. 

□ _______________      Date that your time to file a reply to counterclaim will expire.  (If the 

defendant files a counterclaim, you must file a reply within 20 days from the date of service.)  If 

you fail to file a reply, the defendant may obtain a default judgment against you. 

□ _______________      Date that your reply to the counterclaim was filed and that a copy was 

mailed to defendant. 
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If a hearing is scheduled by the court: 

 

□ _______________  Date of hearing.  Bring all evidence, exhibits and witnesses you will need 

to present your claim or your defense.  Bring extra copies of documents for all parties and the 

court. 

 

NOTICE 

 

Transfer of Hearing:  If you wish to preserve your right to appeal, you may have your case 

transferred to the civil division of the justice court pursuant to ARS §22-504(A), if you request 

such transfer at least 10 days prior to the date of the scheduled hearing. 

 

Dismissal:  You may dismiss the complaint at any time before the defendant files an answer by 

filing a Notice of Voluntary Dismissal.  Once the defendant has filed an answer, both parties must 

stipulate (agree in writing) to a dismissal. 

 

Notice of Change of Address:  All parties are required to inform the court in writing of a current 

address to ensure that the party can receive all notices mailed from the court. 

 

Note: The information in this checklist is only a summary.  It is not intended to be a complete list 

of the requirements of the Arizona Revised Statutes or of the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure. 
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