
GENERAL 

Chapter 

Number 
Description 

CHAPTER 

1 

HB 2019   

Go to 

full text 

ARIZONA STATE HOSPITAL 
The Arizona State Hospital Capital Construction Commission is charged with 

review of capital construction and renovations at the Arizona State Hospital for 

forensic, civil and sexually violent person facilities. The chapter appropriates 

$80,000,000 between fiscal years 2000 and 2003 from the budget stabilization 

fund which will be repaid by the tobacco settlement fund. Effective January 19, 

2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

3 

HB 2564  
Go to 

full text 

SUPPLEMENTAL APPROPRIATION 
The Arizona State Hospital Capital Construction Commission is charged with 

review of capital construction and renovations at the Arizona State Hospital for 

forensic, civil and sexually violent person facilities. The chapter appropriates 

$80,000,000 between fiscal years 2000 and 2003 from the budget stabilization 

fund which will be repaid by the tobacco settlement fund. Effective January 19, 

2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

11 

HB 2649   

Go to 

full text 

PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICES 
It is a class 3 misdemeanor to violate a published order or regulation of a county 

relating to public health and safety. It is also a class 3 misdemeanor for a person 

to maintain an unsanitary condition premises and refuse to place the premises in 

a sanitary condition within three days of being ordered to do so by specified 

health officials or thereafter to refuse or fail to maintain the premises in a 

sanitary condition. The final determinations of hearing officers in cases 

involving civil penalties for violation of sanitary regulations, codes or orders are 

subject to judicial review pursuant to Title12. Retroactive to June 30, 2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

12 

HB 2042   

Go to 

full text 

PODIATRY BOARD 
The superior court may hold in contempt of court a person who refuses to obey a 

subpoena issued by the Board of Podiatry Examiners. 

    

CHAPTER 

14 

HB 2131   

Go to 

full text 

MINIMUM GAMBLING AGE 
Beginning July 1, 2003, a person must be 21 years of age to participate in pari-

mutuel wagering, purchase a lottery ticket, receive a prize from a lottery ticket, 

and wager on tribal gaming activities.  

. 

    

CHAPTER OUTDOOR ADVERTISING VIOLATION 
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34 

HB 2559   

Go to 

full text 

A municipality must file an action regarding an outdoor advertising use or 

structure zoning or a sign code violation within two years after discovering the 

violation. The action initially must be filed in a court having jurisdiction to 

impose all penalties sought and that jurisdiction also must be necessary for 

effective filing. Only the superior court has jurisdiction to order removal, 

abatement, reconfiguration or relocation of an outdoor advertising use or 

structure. 

    

CHAPTER 

35 

SB 1344   

Go to 

full text 

ARBITRATION DEPOSITS 

A deposit made by an appellant as a condition of receiving a trial de novo in the 

superior court may be returned only if the judgment on the trial is at least 

twenty-five percent more favorable than the relief granted by an arbitration 

award. Formerly, a more favorable judgment of ten percent was sufficient. 

    

CHAPTER 

39 

SB 1082   

Go to 

full text 

FIRE FIGHTER CANCER INSURANCE 

Fund manager court costs and attorney fees are exempted from the limitation on 

the amount of monies from the fire fighter cancer insurance policy program 

account that the fund manager may use to pay the cost of administering the 

program. 

    

CHAPTER 

41 

SB 1249   

Go to 

full text 

COURT REPORTERS BOARD 

July 1, 2000 is established as the starting date for court reporter certification. The 

Supreme Court shall administer the court reporter certification program, adopt 

program rules and establish and collect fees, costs and fines necessary for 

implementation of the program. The Board of Certified Court Reporters (Board) 

recommends to the Supreme Court rules, policies and procedures to implement 

the certification program. On its own motion or upon receipt of a complaint, the 

Board must investigate and take disciplinary action for alleged violations of 

certification rules or requirements. The Board is authorized to impose cease and 

desist orders, issue letters of concern or warnings or order revocation or 

suspension of certification for violations and to assess costs and fines associated 

with the prosecution. Applicants for standard certification must meet stated 

requirements, including the demonstration of reasonable proficiency in making 

verbatim transcripts, as established by Supreme Court rule, and submit to the 

Supreme Court a full set of fingerprints for the purpose of obtaining a state and 

federal criminal records check. The Supreme Court sets the date and place for 

certification examinations. If the Board is satisfied that the applicant meets 

certification requirements, the Supreme Court issues a certificate to the 

applicant. The authority of the Board to refuse certification is expanded to 

include specified grounds. The Board may revoke or suspend a license if the 

court has ordered treatment for a certified reporter pursuant to Title 36 or the 

reporter is found to be incapacitated pursuant to title 14. A summary suspension 

of a certificate may be ordered pending certificate revocation or other action if 

the Board finds that there is danger to the public health, safety or welfare. The 

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0034.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0034.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0123.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0123.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0039.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0039.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0041.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0041.htm


procedures and qualifications for obtaining obtain a temporary certificate are 

clarified. The qualifications for temporary certification are listed. An applicant 

may be required to provide signed affidavits from three attorneys or judges for 

whom the court reporter has reported depositions or other judicial proceedings 

and prepared transcripts. The Board may refuse to issue or renew a temporary 

certificate for cause pursuant to rules adopted by the Supreme Court. Effective 

July 1, 2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

52 

HB 2703   

Go to 

full text 

ELECTED OFFICIALS SALARY COMMISSION 

Laws relating to the Commission on Salaries for Elected State Officials are 

amended to require that the commission meet and submit its report in even-

numbered years to coordinate with the biennial budget system. Beginning in 

2002, the commission meets in even-numbered years and reports by June 1. The 

recommendations made in 1999 apply to the two-year budget for fiscal years 

2001 and 2002. 

    

CHAPTER 

66 

HB 2238   

Go to 

full text 

RETIREMENT AGE 

The requirement that retirees and beneficiaries covered by the Arizona State 

Retirement System be at least 55 years of age in order to receive the automatic 

annual benefit increase prescribed by law is repealed. 

    

CHAPTER 

81 

SB 1263   

Go to 

full text 

RESIDENTIAL CARE WORKERS 

Failure of the Department of Public Safety (DPS) to approve an application to 

own or be employed by a residential care institution, nursing care institution or 

home health agency following a criminal-history record check is a final 

administrative decision subject to judicial review. If the results of the record 

check (or the notarized form each owner or employee is required to submit to 

DPS) shows that a person is awaiting trial on or has been convicted of specified 

crimes (e.g., arson, theft and assault) or similar offenses, the person may request 

a good cause exception hearing with the Board of Fingerprinting. If granted, the 

person may continue to provide care or services to the institution or agency. The 

Board is required to establish rules for good-cause exceptions. 

    

CHAPTER 

83 

HB 2313   

Go to 

full text 

TOBACCO SETTLEMENT 

Arizona enacts the model escrow-accounts statute described in the master 

settlement agreement with tobacco companies made between Arizona and 

tobacco product makers on November 23, 1998. By its terms every tobacco 

product manufacturer selling cigarettes to consumers in the state must either 

become a participating manufacturer or place a specified portion of the monies 

for each unit sold in an escrow account to any judgments or settlements on 

released claims. Identical provisions were also enacted as a part of Chapter 366, 

effective April 24, 2000. 

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0052.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0052.htm
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http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0083.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0083.htm


    

CHAPTER 

98 

SB 1151   

Go to 

full text 

INTERPRETERS FOR HEARING IMPAIRED PERSONS 

The state Council for the Hearing Impaired is re-named the Commission for the 

Deaf and the Hard of Hearing, its membership is revised and its executive 

secretary is re-titled executive director. Beginning September 1, 2007, the 

commission is charged with licensing interpreters for the deaf and hard of 

hearing and interpreters who provide services in legal proceedings, as prescribed 

in § 12-242. A new article governing licensure is added to title 36. After 

September 30, 2007, a qualified intermediary interpreter may be nominated 

whenever an interpreter or the deaf person determines that effective 

communication is not occurring. 

    

CHAPTER 

100 

SB 1347   

Go to 

full text 

NONCONSENSUAL LIENS 

The statutes regarding nonconsensual liens against the property of public officers 

and employees are amended to make protections originally designed to prevent 

harassment of public officials applicable to any person’s property. A 

nonconsensual lien, other than one recorded or filed by a governmental agency 

or political subdivision, a licensed utility company, a mechanics' lien claimant or 

an entity created by covenants or conditions affecting real property, is invalid 

unless accompanied by an order or judgment from a court of competent 

jurisdiction authorizing the recording or filing. 

    

CHAPTER 

105 

HB 2496   

Go to 

full text 

JURY SELECTION 

Revises the jury selection process by requiring the jury commissioner or jury 

commissioner’s agent to select juror names at least twice a year rather than in 

January and July of each year. Clarifies the presiding judge determines the 

number of alternate grand jurors with a minimum of four. Allows the jury 

commissioner’s agent to draw randomly from the master jury list, conduct the 

drawing publicly or to use an automated computer process for the random 

selection of names. Eliminates the requirement to keep minutes of the drawings. 

    

CHAPTER 

110 

SB 1131   

Go to 

full text 

STATE TECHNOLOGY ACCOUNT 

A statewide technology license agreement account is established within the 

Department of Administration’s technology and telecommunications fund. Any 

state budget unit intending to purchase a product or service for which a statewide 

technology license agreement has been executed must make the purchase under 

the agreement and forward payment to the statewide technology license 

agreement account. 

    

CHAPTER 

114 

SB 1441   

Go to 

CONSTABLE SALARIES 

In precincts having sixteen thousand or more registered voters, the salary of 

constables is increased from not less than $36,810 nor more than $44,170 to not 

less than $48,294 nor more than $55,654. A joint legislative committee is created 

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0098.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0098.htm
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full text to review current methods of setting constables' salaries to determine whether it 

is an appropriate measure of a constable’s workload; review possible alternative 

methods of establishing salaries; review the job duties of constables; review the 

feasibility of eliminating constables in favor of using sheriffs or private process 

servers to perform a constable’s duties; and, review the process by which justice 

precincts are drawn. The report and recommendations of the committee must be 

submitted by December 15, 2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

115 

SB 1443   

Go to 

full text 

PROCUREMENT CODE 

State purchasing agencies are authorized to enter into public-private partnership 

contracts to finance technology needs. Requests for proposals must require 

prospective private partners to propose specific performance improvements and 

approaches to measure the value delivered by the vendor technology solution. 

The Joint Legislative Budget Committee must be consulted with regard to fiscal 

impact on the state before a contract is awarded. The judicial branch is not 

governed by the state procurement code but under § 41-2501(E) must adopt 

substantially equivalent policies and procedures. 

    

CHAPTER 

126 

SB 1127   

Go to 

full text 

RETIREMENT PLAN CONFORMITY 

Provisions are added to statutes controlling the Elected Officials Retirement 

Plan, the Corrections Officer Retirement Plan and the Public Safety Personnel 

Retirement System to ensure the plans continue to receive tax-exempt status 

under the Internal Revenue Code. An intent clause recites that the Legislature 

intends the plans and system to be IRC-qualified, their trusts exempt from 

taxation and their assets held for the exclusive benefit of the members. 

Retroactive in part to July 1, 1968; Aug. 7, 1985; and July 1, 1986. 

    

CHAPTER 

161 

HB 2494   

Go to 

full text 

COUNTY BENEFITS AND MEETINGS 

The limit for publicly funded life insurance for county employees and elected 

officials is increased from $40,000 to $50,000 or the amount of the salary 

annually paid to the elected official or employee, whichever is more. The 

number of persons required to serve on a board of trustees for a life insurance 

risk retention pool is reduced from at least three to at least five persons. 

    

CHAPTER 

162 

HB 2610   

Go to 

full text 

NAVIGABLE WATER QUALITY 

If a court overturns or modifies a final administrative decision of the director of 

the state Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) relating to the total 

maximum daily load (TMDL) program, DEQ must take steps to implement the 

court’s decision within 30 days, unless the decision involved was submitted to 

and approved by the regional administrator of the federal Environmental 

Protection Agency, in which case the department must, within 30 days, request 

the administrator modify the approval to reflect the court’s decision. 
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CHAPTER 

193 

SB 1426   

Go to 

full text 

STATE TREASURER 

Numerous technical and conforming changes are made in this 500-page law to 

resolve conflicting statutory language affecting the state treasurer’s office. One 

change clarifies monies collected by the courts, such as civil penalties, fines, 

surcharges, fees (including filing fees, time payment fees, fees collected for 

program implementation, etc.) and costs are deposited pursuant to §§ 35-146 and 

35-147 by remitting monies to the state treasurer for credit to the general fund. 

Monies in the specified funds administered by the Supreme Court (such as the 

judicial collection enhancement fund, the criminal case processing and 

enforcement improvement fund, and the board of certified court reporters fund) 

may be invested by the state treasurer "on notice" from the Court. 

    

CHAPTER 

220 

HB 2662   

Go to 

full text 

SECURITY GUARDS 

The suspension or revocation of a security guard agency license or a security 

guard registration by the director of the Department of Public Safety may be 

appealed to the superior court pursuant to title 41. 

    

CHAPTER 

231 

SB 1129   

Go to 

full text 

RETIREMENT BENEFIT INCREASES 

A member of the Elected Officials Retirement Plan who was employed before 

September 15, 1989, by an employer participating in the plan and who retires on 

or after November 1, 1996, but before November 1, 2000, is entitled to receive a 

tax equity benefit allowance consisting of a permanent increase of two per cent 

of the member's base benefit retroactive to the day of retirement. The cost of the 

benefit increase section is payable from the assets of the plan and is added to the 

unfunded liability of the plan. 

    

CHAPTER 

241 

HB 2487   

Go to 

full text 

STATE-COUNTY FISCAL COMMITTEE 

The State-County Fiscal Committee is committee is established as a forum for 

consideration and discussion of issues relating to county fiscal matters. The 

committee includes one member of the judiciary appointed by the Chief Justice 

of the Supreme Court. 

    

CHAPTER 

242 

HB 2529   

Go to 

full text 

COUNTY JAIL DISTRICT FUNDS 

The board of directors of a county jail district shall retain any unexpended or 

unencumbered funds remaining in the jail district general fund at the end of a 

fiscal year and may allocate monies as necessary for specified purposes. County 

jail districts formed after January 1, 2000, may not allocate monies to reduce the 

county primary property tax levy. 

    

CHAPTER 

249 

ELECTION LAWS 

Distributing, posting or providing access to information from voter registration 

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0193.htm
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SB 1372   

Go to 

full text 

forms or precinct registers through the Internet without prior written approval of 

the voter is a class 6 felony. 

    

CHAPTER 

261 

SB 1274   

Go to 

full text 

HUMAN RIGHTS COMMITTEES 

To promote the rights of clients receiving services, human rights committees on 

the developmentally disabled and on children, youth and families are established 

in the Department of Economic Security and a human rights committee on the 

mentally ill is established in the Department of Health Services. Persons serving 

on the committees are not subject to civil liability for consequences of actions 

taken in good faith and without malice in connection with duties of functions of 

the committee. The presence of malice must be determined by the court by clear 

and convincing evidence. 

    

CHAPTER 

263 

SB 1321   

Go to 

full text 

VOLUNTARY ENVIRONMENTAL PERFORMANCE ACT 

If by July 1, 2001, the 45 th Legislature appropriates $250,000 and another 

$250,000 is donated, the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) must 

implement a voluntary environmental performance program by which an 

organization may agree to meet and maintain certain environmental performance 

standards in return for specified regulatory incentives, including total or partial 

waiver of penalties for noncompliance with environmental laws and permits. The 

stated intent of the law is to encourage less expensive programs and more trust 

among government, regulated parties and the public. A party to a cooperative 

agreement aggrieved by a decision of the director of DEQ to terminate an 

organization from the program or to refuse to grant civil penalty waivers may 

seek judicial review by direct appeal to the superior court. To prevail, the party 

must demonstrate that the director’s decision was arbitrary and capricious or an 

abuse of discretion. All penalty waivers granted by the director must be in the 

form of a mutual agreement, an administrative consent order or a judicial 

consent order. 

    

CHAPTER 

268 

HB 2069   

Go to 

full text 

ELECTRONIC TRANSACTIONS ACT 

The Arizona Electronic Transactions Act (modeled after the Uniform Electronic 

Transactions Act developed by the National Conference of Commissioners on 

Uniform State Laws) is established to facilitate intrastate, interstate and 

international electronic transactions by allowing parties to conduct electronic 

transactions and to electronic contracts using electronic signatures. The Act 

applies to any electronic record and electronic signature relating to a transaction 

except to the creation and execution of wills, codicils, or testamentary trusts and 

parts of the Uniform Commercial Code. Governmental agencies, including a 

"judicial agency," must determine if, and the extent to which, the agency will 

create and retain electronic records, convert written records to electronic records, 

and send and accept electronic records and signatures and otherwise create, 

store, process and rely on electronic records. 
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CHAPTER 

278 

SB 1045   

Go to 

full text 

UNIFORM LAWS COMMISSION 

The sunset date for the Arizona Commission on Uniform State Laws is extended 

ten years, to July 1, 2010. Retroactive to July 1, 2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

283 

HB 2090   

Go to 

full text 

SLUMLORD LAW 

1999 legislation allowing governmental agencies to designate residential rental 

property as slum property is amended to clarify that the decision of an 

administrative appeal contesting the designation of property as slum property is 

subject to judicial review. 

    

CHAPTER 

341 

HB 2079   

Go to 

full text 

STATE RETIREMENT COMPUTATION STUDY 

A legislative study committee is established to examine and compare actuarial 

computation methods that may be appropriate for the Arizona state retirement 

system, including the entry age normal cost method and the projected unit credit 

method, and to report its findings on or before December 1, 2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

358 

SB 1392   

Go to 

full text 

PUBLIC MEETINGS 

A definition of "executive session" is added to the statute on public meetings and 

proceedings. Any person receiving executive session information shall not 

disclose that information except to the attorney general or county attorney, by 

agreement with the public body, or to a court in camera for purposes of 

enforcing the public meeting law. Any court that reviews executive session 

information shall take appropriate action to protect privileged information. The 

attorney general may apply to the superior court for a protective order preventing 

the disclosure of executive session minutes or discussions. When investigating 

an alleged violation of the law, the attorney general may file an action in the 

superior court to compel compliance with a written investigation demand. The 

court may order compliance and may issue prescribed orders until the party 

complies. The civil penalty for violation of the law may be assessed per violation 

against the violator or one who knowingly aids, agrees to aid or attempts to aid 

another person in the violation. 

    

CHAPTER 

364 

HB 2554   

Go to 

full text 

LOBBYIST REGULATION 

A lobbyist may not make an expenditure for entertainment for a state officer or 

employee, or a member of a county board of supervisors, city or town governing 

body or school board unless the entertainment is connected with a properly 

reported special event or is incidental to a speaking engagement. Speaking 

engagements for which spending is reported are excluded from the definition of 

"gift." "Speaking engagement" is defined as the amount paid for entrance fees, 

lodging, food and drink, entertainment, travel and other expenses for a state 
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officer's or employee's attendance at a meeting concerned with government 

activity where the officer or employee participates. The requirement for the 

secretary of state to issue an annual report on lobbyists who fail to report 

expenditures is repealed. Effective January 1, 2001. 

    

CHAPTER 

372 

SB 1220   

Go to 

full text 

SPORTS STADIUM AUTHORITY 

A Tourism and Sports Authority is established for the purpose of constructing, 

financing, maintaining, operating and promoting a multipurpose facility, major 

league baseball spring training facilities and community youth and amateur 

sports facilities. The authority must be established in a county that has a 

population of more than 2 million persons, which limits the potential sites to 

within Maricopa County. The authority has no power to levy taxes to finance the 

facility. However, if approved by the qualified electors residing in the authority’s 

boundaries, the authority may levy a car rental surcharge of 3.25 percent or 

$2.50 on each lease or rental and a transient lodging tax of 1.0 percent. The 

Arizona Cardinals football franchise is required to contribute $85 million 

towards the facility, but the franchise also retains the naming rights for the 

facility. Additionally, the authority will have the power to issue bonds and 

pledge revenues to secure those bonds. The authority will also recapture the 

transaction privilege tax revenues generated at the multipurpose facility and the 

income taxes generated by the Cardinals franchise, its players and employees. 

    

CIVIL 

Chapter 

Number 
Description 

CHAPTER 

37 

HB 2600   

Go to 

full text 

MANAGED CARE ACCOUNTABILITY ACT 
When health care plans contract with a risk-bearing third party intermediary, the 

third party intermediary must secure a payment bond or post a cash deposit at its 

own expense. In any suit on the bond or the cash deposit, the prevailing party 

may recover as a part of the judgment a reasonable attorney fee as determined 

by the court. The payment bond must include a provision to that effect. Under 

specified circumstances, a health care insurer is liable for damages caused to an 

enrollee for the insurer’s delay in authorizing or failure to authorize medically 

necessary health care services covered under the insurance contract. An enrollee 

who files an action under the statute may not pursue a common for claim for bad 

faith and if a bad faith claim is filed the statutory cause of action is foreclosed. 

    

CHAPTER 

53 

SB 1056   

Go to 

full text 

ELECTRIC POWER COMPETITION 
Any person who serves as a director of an electric cooperative or in an advisory 

capacity to the cooperative or the board of directors of the cooperative is 

immune from civil liability and is not subject to a suit for any act or omission 

that results in damage or injury if that person acts in good faith and within the 
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scope of the persons official capacity and the damage was not the result of the 

person’s willful conduct or gross negligence. Consumer protection provisions 

are enhanced by providing that, notwithstanding any other law, customer 

information shall not be released for commercial or law enforcement purposes 

without court order. Effective March 26, 2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

72 

HB 2109   

Go to 

full text 

WORKPLACE HARASSMENT 
A new section is added to title 12, permitting an employer to petition for an 

injunction prohibiting workplace harassment, defined as a threat or act or series 

of acts that would cause a reasonable personal to be seriously alarmed or 

annoyed. "Employer" is broadly defined to include an individual, partnership, 

corporation or a person or group of persons acting on behalf of or in the interests 

of and with the consent of an employer, and includes the state, a political 

subdivision, a school district or other special district. The content and 

organization of the new law is similar to the law on injunctions against 

harassment. A petition may be filed with any justice of the peace, magistrate or 

superior court judge. A filing fee is established pursuant to §§ 12-284, 22-281 

and 22-404. The injunction may be issued ex parte to restrain a person from 

coming near the employer’s property or place of business and from contacting 

the employer or any other person while that person is on or at the property or 

place of employment or while performing official work duties. The injunction 

must notify the defendant of the right to a hearing within ten days of a written 

request and also must contain a statutorily prescribed warning. A copy of the 

petition and the injunction must be served on the defendant within one year 

from the date of issuance and is effective for one year after service is made. An 

injunction that is modified is effective upon service and is valid for one year 

after service of the initial injunction. An affidavit or acceptance of service of the 

injunction must promptly be filed with the clerk of the issuing court. Within 

twenty-four hours (excluding weekends) of the time proof of service is filed, the 

injunction and any modified injunction must be registered with the sheriff of the 

county in which the employer is located. Any person that the employer knows is 

the specific target of the harassment must be notified of the employer’s intent to 

seek an injunction. The employer is immune from civil liability for seeking or 

failing to seek an injunction unless the employer is acting primarily to 

accomplish a purpose for which the injunction was not designed. Effective 

January 1, 2001. 

    

CHAPTER 

108 

SB 1099   

Go to 

full text 

SECURITIES 
A number of changes are made to statutes governing regulation of securities by 

the Corporation Commission's securities division. Amendments to two separate 

statutes (§§ 44-1825 and 44-3134) dealing with sales of securities and 

investment management mandate that the court award reasonable expenses, 

including attorney fees, to the commission for failure to obey a subpoena or 

citation issued by the commission, if the failure is not substantially justified and 
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unless other circumstances make an award of expenses unjust. Expenses 

awarded must be deposited in the state general fund. 

    

CHAPTER 

112 

SB 1291   

Go to 

full text 

DATING REFERRAL SERVICES 
A new chapter of law regulates contracts for dating referral services that 

requires contracts for these services to be written, provides a three-day recission 

("cooling off") period and prohibits certain contract provisions and acts. A court 

of competent jurisdiction may award the prevailing party to an action on a 

contract actual damages and reasonable attorney fees and costs. The act applies 

only to dating referral service contracts entered into after the effective date of 

the act. 

    

CHAPTER 

113 

SB 1435   

Go to 

full text 

REGULATORY REFORM 
Statutes governing appeals of decisions by a variety of state agencies are 

amended to conform to the Uniform Administrative Appeals Process. The 

agencies affected are principally "90/10" boards or commissions; so called 

because 90 percent of fees collected fund operations of the entity with 10 

percent remitted to the sate general fund. These boards and commissions were 

brought within the act by a definitional change in 1998, but individual statutes 

were not conformed at that time. Amendments also clarify that final 

administrative decisions are subject to judicial review under title 12. 

    

CHAPTER 

123 

SB 1334   

Go to 

full text 

EMINENT DOMAIN 
A limitation on commencement of actions for eminent domain is added to 

sections of law (§ 12-1129 is added and § 12-1156 amended). If the plaintiff 

causes the complaint to be dismissed without prejudice before payment of the 

compensation and damages awarded the defendant by the court or jury, the 

plaintiff may not commence any eminent domain action for the same property or 

for the same or a related project for at least two years after the date of the 

verdict or judgment. 

    

CHAPTER 

176 

HB 2158   

Go to 

full text 

OSTEOPATHIC EXAMINERS 
A person who in good faith reports information to the Board of Osteopathic 

Examiners in Medicine and Surgery regarding an osteopathic physician or 

surgeon who may be guilty of unprofessional conduct or may be mentally or 

physically unable safely to engage in the practice of medicine is not subject to 

civil liability. 

    

CHAPTER 

179 

MUNICIPAL ANNEXATION 
A court must award reasonable attorney fees and costs to a property owner who 
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HB 2599   

Go to 

full text 

prevails in an action challenging an annexation by a municipality. 

    

CHAPTER 

182 

HB 2709   

Go to 

full text 

WRONGFUL DEATH ACTIONS 
A surviving child, parent and legal guardian are now listed among those who 

may commence a wrongful death action. A personal representative to whom 

letters testamentary or of administration have been granted may file the action 

without further letters or other authorization. 

    

CHAPTER 

184 

HB 2037   

Go to 

full text 

UNCLAIMED PROPERTY 
A schedule is established by which property may be presumed abandoned if 

unclaimed by the apparent owner. Included is property is received by a court as 

proceeds of a class action and not distributed pursuant to the judgment within 

one year after the distribution date. Property held by a court, government, 

government subdivision, agency or instrumentality, except for support as 

defined in § 25-500 or spousal maintenance, also is presumed abandoned one 

year after the property becomes distributable. A court may order the Department 

of Revenue (DOR) to disclose confidential information pertaining to a party to 

an action. An order shall be made only on a showing of good cause and that the 

party who seeks the information has demanded the information from the 

claimant. The court may award a claimant reasonable attorney fees to those who 

file an action against the DOR. Documents and working papers that the DOR or 

the DOR’s agent, employee or designated representative obtains or compiles in 

the course of conducting an examination may be produced pursuant to a 

subpoena or court order. 

    

CHAPTER 

194 

SB 1480   

Go to 

full text 

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL 
The chapter conforms county air pollution control programs with many of the 

requirements of the state Administrative Procedures Act. Any person who is or 

may be affected by a county rule or ordinance may obtain a judicial declaration 

of the validity or construction of the rule or ordinance by filing a declaratory 

judgment action in the superior court under title 12. A person may bring a civil 

action in superior court against a control officer alleging that the control officer 

has failed to act in a timely manner. The control officer must be given at least 60 

days prior to the commencement of such an action. A new section governs 

judicial review of hearing board or administrative law judge decisions. 

Appealable agency actions may be taken to the superior court without prior 

review by the hearing board or administrative law judge. Exceptions are 

provided for appeals of decisions on permits, conditional orders or orders of 

abatement and final administrative decisions from administrative appeals. 

Superior court decisions may be appealed to the court of appeals. 
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CHAPTER 

203 

HB 2139   

Go to 

full text 

LANDLORD-TENANT UTILITY CHARGES 
When a landlord does not disclose administrative charges for submetering utility 

services or the use of a ratio utility billing system the tenant must first object to 

the landlord in writing and if the dispute cannot be resolved then may file a civil 

complaint in justice court. 

    

CHAPTER 

250 

SB 1374   

Go to 

full text 

ATTORNEY FEES FOR PROPERTY SEIZURE 
Requires the court to award attorneys fees and other expenses to a party who 

prevails in a civil action brought by the party against the state, county, city or 

town to challenge the seizure and sale of personal property. 

    

CHAPTER 

262 

SB 1294   

Go to 

full text 

MORTGAGE GUARANTEE INSURERS 
In response to a subpoena issued in a criminal or civil action, the director of the 

Department of Insurance must release information regarding reinsurance 

agreements submitted to the director as required by law. In a civil action in 

which a domestic mortgage guarantee insurer is a party, any other party to the 

action may obtain the information if relevant to the action, not available from 

another non-confidential source and a subpoena issued by a judicial officer has 

been submitted to the director. 

    

CHAPTER 

266 

SB 1514   

Go to 

full text 

MILITARY AIRPORTS 
Effective January 1, 2001, each political subdivision with territory in the 

vicinity of a military airport must submit to the attorney general, on or before 

February 15 and August 15 of each year, a report demonstrating compliance 

with land use planning and zoning regulation requirements and sound 

attenuation standards for building codes for territory in the vicinity of a military 

airport. In specified circumstances, the attorney general may commence a civil 

action in the superior court to restrain, enjoin, correct or abate a violation of the 

act or to collect a civil penalty. In any enforcement action, the court may assess 

civil penalties in favor of the state and must award reasonable attorney fees and 

other costs if the attorney general prevails. 

    

CHAPTER 

289 

HB 2614   

Go to 

full text 

RECREATIONAL VEHICLE RENTAL SPACE ACT 
The Recreational Vehicle Rental Space Act is added to law, governing landlord-

tenant relationships for rental spaces leased to recreational vehicle owners for 

more than 180 consecutive days. Similar to the structure of existing landlord 

tenant acts, the new law includes definitions, general provision and specific 

provisions regarding rental agreements, obligations of the parties, remedies and 

retaliatory actions. A court may find a rental agreement or a settlement of a 
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rental agreement dispute to be unconscionable. A tenant may recover damages 

and obtain injunctive relief for any noncompliance by the landlord with the 

rental agreement or any other provision of law. Material and irreparable 

noncompliance by the tenant entitles the landlord to proceed in a special 

detainer action. 

    

CHAPTER 

319 

HB 2016   

Go to 

full text 

INSURANCE DEPARTMENT LICENSING 
Two sections of law relating to the authority of the Department of Insurance to 

redress violations of insurance licensing laws are amended to clarify that the 

superior court in Maricopa County is the proper venue for any civil action 

commenced by the attorney general to enjoin or restrain a person from 

continuing a violation, engaging in a violation or doing any act in furtherance of 

a violation. 

    

CHAPTER 

323 

HB 2130   

Go to 

full text 

JUSTICE COURT JURISDICTION 
The $1,000 monthly property rental value limit on the concurrent jurisdiction of 

the justice of the peace courts in forcible entry and detainer cases is eliminated 

and the jurisdictional limit in such cases is increased to a total involved amount 

of $10,000, exclusive of interest, costs and awarded attorney fees. Justice courts 

are granted concurrent original jurisdiction with the superior court in all cases 

when the amount involved is more than $5,000 and less than $10,000, exclusive 

of interest, costs and awarded attorney fees. When a party files a counterclaim 

exceeding $10,000, a justice of the peace must forward all papers with a 

certified copy of the docket to the superior court. If it appears that the 

counterclaim has a value of $10,000 or less, the superior court may remand the 

case and order costs. Should the counterclaiming party recover $10,000 or less, 

the superior court may deny to and impose on the party costs, including 

reasonable attorney fees. The statute (§ 13-4146) making a judge liable for 

financial damages for failure to grant a writ of habeas corpus upon a proper 

application is repealed. This portion retroactive to January 1, 2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

338 

SB 1130   

Go to 

full text 

INSURANCE SUBROGATION 
An insurer providing uninsured or underinsured motorist benefits must 

commence an action for  subrogation and reimbursement within two years of the 

date that the insurer first makes payment to the insured. 

    

CHAPTER 

365 

HB 2647   

Go to 

ABORTION 
Beginning January 1, 2001, a person may not knowingly perform an abortion 

after 12 weeks’ gestation without an ultrasound exam to estimate gestational age 

based on biparietal diameter and femur length and unless the person ensures that 
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full text a copy of each ultrasound result taken of a fetus of a woman as a result of a 

second or third trimester abortion is sent for evaluation by an entity contracted 

by the Department of Health Service. 

    

CRIMINAL 

Chapter 

Number 
Description 

CHAPTER 

15 

SB 1089   

Go to 

full text 

DRUG AND GANG POLICY COUNCIL 
The Arizona Drug and Gang Policy Council is extended until July 1, 2005. 

    

CHAPTER 

32 

HB 2245   

Go to 

full text 

STATUTORY CORRECTIONS 
This annual corrections legislation makes technical amendments to a number of 

statutes. There are retroactive and general effective dates. By December 1 of 

each year the public defender shall provide the presiding judge of the superior 

court an annual report on the average cost of defending a felony case. The court 

may order an indigent administrative assessment of not more than $25 at the 

time of the defendant’s initial appearance and may order an indigent 

administrative assessment of not more than $25 to be paid by a juvenile or a 

juvenile’s parent or guardian at the time of a juvenile’s advisory hearing. The 

court may require that the defendant, including a defendant who is placed on 

probation, repay the county a reasonable amount to reimburse for the 

defendant’s legal defense. A juvenile’s legal services shall be reimbursed 

pursuant to § 8-221. Assessments collected shall be paid into the county general 

fund to defray costs of public defenders and court appointed counsel. 

    

CHAPTER 

49 

HB 2394   

Go to 

full text 

NO-KNOCK SEARCH WARRANTS 
The bill permits a magistrate to issue a warrant authorizing an unannounced 

entry if an announced entry would endanger the safety of any person or result in 

the destruction of items described in the warrant. The bill allows an officer to 

break into a building, premises or vehicle to execute a search warrant under 

specified circumstances. Evidence seized pursuant to a search warrant shall not 

be suppressed as a result of this chapter unless required by the state and federal 

constitutions. 

    

CHAPTER 

50 

HB 2395   

Go to 

full text 

CHILD AND VULNERABLE ADULT ABUSE 
The law regarding child or vulnerable adult abuse (§ 13-3623) is substantially 

rewritten. Included in the definition of endangered and abuse are circumstances 

in which a child or vulnerable adult is permitted to enter or remain in any 

structure or vehicle in which volatile, toxic or flammable chemicals are found or 
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equipment is possessed by any person for the purpose of manufacturing a 

dangerous drug. Manufacture of dangerous drugs is added to the dangerous drug 

offenses that constitute first degree murder if the death of a person is caused. The 

definition of "threshold amounts" is expanded to include the liquid suspension of 

methamphetamine. 

    

CHAPTER 

59 

HB 2209   

Go to 

full text 

ARIZONA CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMISSION 
The members of the Arizona Criminal Justice Commission (which includes the 

Administrative Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts) may appoint 

a designee to serve in place of the member. The commission's spending authority 

is expanded for the purpose of enhancing efforts to investigate, prosecute and 

adjudicate serious offenses, as defined in § 13-604. If a crime victim is paid 

money from the victim compensation fund administered by the commission, the 

fund is subrogated to the victim's rights against the criminal. 

    

CHAPTER 

67 

HB 2485   

Go to 

full text 

ADMISSION TICKETS 
It is a class 1 misdemeanor to forge, alter or possess, with intent to defraud, any 

ticket or token for admission to any sports, amusement, concert, or other facility 

that offers services to general public. 

    

CHAPTER 

86 

SB 1132   

Go to 

full text 

HOME INSPECTORS 
It is a class 1 misdemeanor to forge, alter or possess, with intent to defraud, any 

ticket or token for admission to any sports, amusement, concert, or other facility 

that offers services to general public. 

    

CHAPTER 

88 

SB 1230   

Go to 

full text 

ARIZONA STATE LIBRARY 
Numerous statutes are amended to reflect that the name of the Department of 

Library, Archives and Public Records is changed to Arizona State Library, 

Archives and Public Records. The change is noteworthy for various statutory 

notification requirements under §§ 12-120.09 (clerks of the court of appeals), 12-

202.01 (clerk of the supreme court), 12-282 (clerks of the superior court) 22-124 

(justices of the peace), and 22-428 (municipal court judges). Statutes regarding 

admissibility in court of duplicate records maintained by the Department of 

Motor Vehicles are amended but not substantively changed. It is a felony to 

destroy or dispose of public records. 

    

CHAPTER 

90 

SB 1302   

Go to 

CHARTER SCHOOLS 
A number of statutes relating to charter schools are amended, including the 

addition of a new section of law (§ 13-1816) making it a felony to commit 

misappropriation of charter school monies. A person misappropriates if without 
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full text authority and with intent to defraud monies provided by the state under a charter 

school contract are converted in a manner that does not further the purposes of 

the charter and is not reasonably related to the business of charter schools. 

    

CHAPTER 

111 

SB 1202   

Go to 

full text 

ATHLETIC TRAINERS 
The state Board of Athletic Training, is newly established to license and regulate 

athletic trainers. A person who engages in an activity requiring a license or who 

uses the title or representation of athletic trainer is guilty of a class 1 

misdemeanor. It is also a class 1 misdemeanor for a person or business entity to 

use the words "athletic trainer" or abbreviations associated with this occupation 

unless athletic training service are provided or supplied by or under the direct 

supervision of a properly licensed person. The appropriate county attorney or the 

attorney general may apply to the court for injunctive relief to prohibit violations 

of the new law. Decisions of the licensing board are subject to judicial review. 

    

CHAPTER 

119 

SB 1307   

Go to 

full text 

RANDOM GUNFIRE 
Referred to as "Shannon’s Law," this legislation elevates from a class 2 

misdemeanor to a class 6 felony the discharge of a firearm within city limits, but 

specifies that the discharge must be with criminal negligence. However, unless 

the dangerous nature of the felony is charged and proven, statutory authority (§ 

13-702(g)) permitting the court to enter judgment of conviction as a class 1 

misdemeanor applies. The existing list of exemptions from the discharge law is 

expanded to include firing blanks, firing more than one mile from an occupied 

structure and firing in self defense or defense of another person against an 

animal attack. Effective April 3, 2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

125 

SB 1427   

Go to 

full text 

AWARD OF FEES AND EXPENSES 
The authority of the court to award fees and expenses to a prevailing party in an 

action brought against the state or a city or town is expanded to include actions 

challenging the adequacy or regularity of notice of delinquent taxes and the 

regularity of sales of property for delinquent taxes. The requirement that the 

sheriff give notice of the sale of property seized for tax delinquency is amended. 

In addition to posting notices, the sheriff either must make service personally or 

by registered mail. Notice no longer must be made at least five days before the 

sale; instead the sale may not occur until at least three weeks after the notice is 

served or after receiving confirmation of receipt of a mailed notice. If the court 

determines notice was not given as required, the property sale is void, the owner 

may redeem the property and the court may award fees and other expenses 

associated with adjudication to the owner. 

    

CHAPTER 

135 

HB 2340   

STATE CONTRACTING SERVICES 
A new chapter added to the title of law governing state buildings and 

improvements establishes a comprehensive system for procuring architect, 
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Go to 

full text 

contracting and engineering services. The attorney general is mandated to bring 

a civil action to enjoin any threatened or pending violation of the chapter. Any 

person (including officers, contractors and subcontractors of the state or a 

political subdivision) violating the chapter is guilty of a class 2 misdemeanor. 

Effective April 4, 2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

140 

SB 1146   

Go to 

full text 

UNSOLICITED TOBACCO PRODUCTS 
It is unlawful to deliver or cause to be delivered to any residence in the state 

tobacco products unsolicited by at least one adult residing at the address. 

Knowing violation is a class 2 misdemeanor and may be subject to a civil 

penalty of up to $5,000 per violation. The attorney general is authorized to bring 

an action to recover the civil penalty, with awards to be deposited in the state 

general fund. Identical provisions were also enacted as a part of Chapter 366, 

effective April 24, 2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

141 

SB 1266   

Go to 

full text 

DEFERRED PRESENTATION COMPANIES 
A deferred presentment licensing program is created in the banking code to 

license and regulate companies (sometimes called payday-loan companies) that 

loan money by accepting checks that are held for at least five days before 

presentment for payment or deposit. The new law is not applicable to banks and 

other financial institutions. A person that provides deferred presentment services 

without a license is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor. A licensee that violates the 

law or the rules adopted under it is subject to license revocation and is guilty of a 

class 1 misdemeanor. Effective April 4, 2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

143 

SB 1316   

Go to 

full text 

PROHIBITED WEAPONS POSSESSOR 
The definition of "prohibited possessor" of a weapon is revised to exclude 

persons serving a term of probation for certain misdemeanor offenses. Only 

probationers convicted of a domestic violence offense (most of which are 

misdemeanors) or a felony are now prohibited from possessing specified 

weapons. 

    

CHAPTER 

147 

SB 1502   

Go to 

full text 

COSMETOLOGY 
Effective April 4, 2000, it is a class 1 misdemeanor for a person to ignore or fail 

to comply with a subpoena of the Board of Cosmetology.  

    

CHAPTER 

160 

HB 2472   

Go to 

RETAIL THEFT 
Increases the penalty for shoplifting and identifies new types of criminal 

activities related to shoplifting. Also requires retailers and merchants to keep 

records of their transactions. 
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full text 

    

CHAPTER 

168 

HB 2128   

Go to 

full text 

UNCLAIMED VICTIM RESTITUTION 
Requires the Department of Revenue to deposit unclaimed victim restitution 

monies in the victim compensation and assistance fund for the purpose of 

establishing, maintaining and supporting programs that compensate and assist 

victims of crime. 

    

CHAPTER 

172 

HB 2660   

Go to 

full text 

BUSINESS ENTERPRISE FINES 
Amends the process of assessing a criminal fine on an business enterprise for a 

violation of law. The maximum fines that may be imposed on enterprises is 

expanded to provide that the judge must impose as a presumptive fine the 

median of the maximum fine allowed. If the actual fine deviates from this 

presumptive fine, the decision must be based on evidence and other listed factors 

(e.g. prior misconduct, role of enterprise directors, etc.). Explanation of the 

deviation is also required. If the offense violated a court order, was malicious or 

endangered health, the fine can be quintupled. If the enterprise had a working 

crime-detection program in place, the fine must be reduced 25 percent. Note: 

Not all changes apply to sentences for misdemeanor violations that are 

prosecuted in justice court or municipal court. 

    

CHAPTER 

173 

HB 2066   

Go to 

full text 

SHOPPING CART RETRIEVAL 
This chapter prohibits the unauthorized removal of a shopping cart from the 

premises of a retail establishment and prescribes the manner for the 

impoundment and retrieval of shopping carts. The law is applicable only to 

shopping carts that have a permanently affixed sign identifying the owner of the 

cart, the procedure for authorized removal, the telephone number and address of 

the owner, and specifying that the unauthorized possession or removal of the cart 

is a violation of the law. Any violation is a class 3 misdemeanor. 

    

CHAPTER 

189 

HB 2428   

Go to 

full text 

COMPUTER CRIMES 
Modernizes Arizona’s criminal code regarding the use of computer technology 

and the Internet in crimes related to fraud, identity theft, unauthorized access 

into computer systems, the dissemination of proprietary and security information 

and sex crimes. Increases some criminal penalties and creates new crimes of 

luring a minor for sexual exploitation, unlawful possession of an access device 

and unauthorized release of proprietary information. 

    

CHAPTER 

191 

SB 1048   

Go to 

MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT DECISIONS 
A surrogate is authorized to make mental health care treatment decisions for an 

incapacitated person, including admission to a level one behavioral health 

facility under certain conditions. An agent with a health care power of attorney 
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full text may make mental health care decisions if the principal is incapable, but express 

authority to admit a principal to a level one behavioral health facility must be 

stated in the health care power of attorney. 

    

CHAPTER 

210 

HB 2242   

Go to 

full text 

ELECTRONIC NOTARIES 
A comprehensive act, mirroring the present notary public law, establishes 

electronic notaries public to be appointed by the Secretary of State to provide 

electronic notarial acknowledgment of electronic documents (i.e., digital, 

magnetic, wireless, optical, electromagnetic or similar). Guidelines and 

requirements for electronic notarization and for the appointment and conduct of 

electronic notaries are included. It is a class 6 felony for an electronic notary to 

omit prescribed notices from advertising materials. 

    

CHAPTER 

226 

SB 1559   

Go to 

full text 

SCHOOL SAFETY 
The acts constituting interference with or disruption of an educational institution 

are redefined and do not need to be directed at a specific individual, educational 

institution or the property of an educational institution. Additional prohibited 

acts include threatening to cause physical injury to any employee of an 

educational institution or any person attending an educational institution and 

threatening to cause damage to any educational institution, the property of any 

educational institution, the property of any employee of an educational 

institution or the property of any person attending an educational institution. The 

court may order offenders to make restitution and the parents and guardians of 

juvenile offenders to make restitution if a juvenile offender is unable to pay. 

Interference with or disruption of an educational institution is a class 1 

misdemeanor. If property or damage is threatened the act is a class 6 felony. 

Effective April 10, 2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

227 

HB 2097   

Go to 

full text 

LASER POINTERS 
A person knowingly aiming a laser pointer at a peace officer is guilty of a class 1 

misdemeanor. 

    

CHAPTER 

256 

SB 1214   

Go to 

full text 

REGULATION OF CONTRACTORS 
A person criminally convicted of contracting without a license is not eligible to 

obtain a contractor’s license from the state Registrar of Contractors for one year 

after the date of the last conviction. Interest may be paid on amounts paid to 

claimants from the residential contractor’s recovery fund only if ordered by a 

court of competent jurisdiction. Penalties provided for misdemeanor violations 

committed by a contractor under § 32-1164 are increased from $500 to $1,000 

for a first violation and from $750 to $2,000 for a second or subsequent 

violation. 
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CHAPTER 

269 

HB 2013   

Go to 

full text 

VICTIM'S RIGHTS 
The Victims’ Rights Implementation Act is expanded to permit vulnerable adult 

crime victims the right to be represented by a family member or court appointee 

in civil, criminal, delinquency or dependency cases. Prosecutors also are given 

discretion to disclose to all victims certain information regarding grand jury 

proceedings and regarding criminal indictments, information or complaints prior 

to a defendant’s arrest or summons to court. A definition of "release" added to 

§§ 8-382 and 13-4401 means no longer in custody of the custodial agency and 

includes transfers from one custodial agency to another. This expands the scope 

of information a victim may be notified of. 

    

CHAPTER 

295 

SB 1257   

Go to 

full text 

RADIO TRAFFIC RECORDS 
The records and recordings of public safety radio traffic calls are admissible 

without the testimony of a custodian of records in any action, so long as 

accompanied by a statutorily prescribed form. The records and recordings and 

any copies that comply are deemed to be authenticated pursuant to Rule 

901(b)(10) of the Arizona Rules of Evidence. 

    

CHAPTER 

324 

HB 2153   

Go to 

full text 

DISPENSING OPTICIAN LICENSE VIOLATIONS 
It is a class 1 misdemeanor to hire, procure or induce a person to act as a 

licensed dispensing optician if the person is not licensed as a dispensing optician. 

    

CHAPTER 

326 

HB 2381   

Go to 

full text 

LOTTERY TICKET SALES 
The statute making it a class 3 misdemeanor to sell a lottery ticket or lottery 

share to person under eighteen years of age is amended to eliminate language 

permitting the gift of a lottery ticket or share by a person over eighteen to a 

person under eighteen. Until June 1, 2003, it is a petty offense for a person under 

eighteen years of age to purchase knowingly a lottery ticket or share. Beginning 

June 1, 2003, it is unlawful for a person under twenty-one years of age to 

purchase a lottery ticket or share. It is a class 3 misdemeanor for a licensed agent 

to sell a lottery ticket or share to a person who uses either a public assistance 

voucher issued by any public entity or an electronic benefits transfer card issued 

by the Department of Economic Security. It also is unlawful to sell a ticket or 

share during the same transaction in which a person uses such a voucher or 

transfer card. 

    

CHAPTER 

350 

HB 2557   

Go to 

TOBACCO SALES 
It is a class 3 misdemeanor to manufacture, sell or distribute in this state a 

package or container that contains fewer than twenty cigarettes or packages of 

roll-your-own tobacco containing less than six-tenths of an ounce of tobacco. 
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full text Exceptions are provided for the manufacture of products for out-of-state sale and 

manufacture or for sale or distribution of products for use only at a bar that 

admits only people of at least twenty-one years of age. 

    

CHAPTER 

366 

HB 2658   

Go to 

full text 

UNSOLICITED TOBACCO PRODUCTS 
It is unlawful to deliver or cause to be delivered to any residence in the state 

tobacco products unsolicited by at least one adult residing at the address. 

Knowing violation is a class 2 misdemeanor and may be subject to a civil 

penalty of up to $5,000 per violation. The attorney general is authorized to bring 

an action to recover the civil penalty, with awards to be deposited in the state 

general fund. Identical provisions also were enacted by Chapter 140. This 

chapter also enacts the model escrow accounts statute described in the master 

settlement agreement with tobacco companies made between the Arizona and 

tobacco product manufacturers on November 23, 1998. Effective April 24, 

2000. 

    

CHAPTER 

373 

SB 1353   

Go to 

full text 

DNA TESTING 
A person sentenced for a felony offense may request the forensic DNA testing of 

any evidence in the possession or control of the court or the prosecution that is 

related to the investigation or prosecution that led to the conviction and may 

contain biological evidence. If a DNA test request is made, the state must create 

an inventory of, and preserve, the evidence in the case. The court may impose 

sanctions if the state knowingly and intentionally destroys evidence after being 

ordered to preserve it. Circumstances are specified in which the court must or 

may order DNA testing. If the court orders testing it also must direct the method 

and responsibility for testing costs and may compel the requesting party to pay. 

Legal counsel may be appointed for the requesting party during the DNA 

proceedings. If testing is ordered, the court must select a laboratory to conduct 

the testing that meets certain standards. For any test ordered, laboratory reports, 

including underlying data and notes, must be furnished to all parties. The court 

also may direct that reports and data be furnished to parties if the prosecutor or 

defense previously has subjected evidence to DNA testing. If the results of the 

post-conviction DNA testing are favorable to the requesting party, the court shall 

order a hearing and make any further required orders. The group of felons from 

which county probation departments and state and county incarceration facilities 

must acquire DNA samples is expanded. Within prescribed time periods, the 

Department of Corrections, county jails, county probation departments and the 

Department of Juvenile Corrections (DOJC) are required to collect DNA 

samples from persons their custody that have committed, or attempted to commit 

certain crimes. The compact administrator for the Interstate Compact on 

Juveniles is required to request that the sending state impose a duty on the 

juvenile to submit to DNA testing if adjudicated for listed crimes. If the sending 

state does not comply, the DOJC is required to request from the sending state a 

blood sample for DNA testing for archiving by the Department of Public Safety. 
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CHAPTER 

376 

HB 2095   
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full text 

STATE REGULATION OF FIREARMS 
For purposes involving misconduct involving weapons (§ 13-3102), "public 

establishment" means a structure, vehicle or craft owned, leased or operated by 

the state or a political subdivision and "public event" means a specifically named 

or sponsored event of limited duration conducted by either a public or private 

entity. New privileges and prohibitions are created within § 13-3108 (firearms 

regulated by state). Violations are class 2 misdemeanors unless the political 

subdivision designates a lesser classification by ordinance. 

    

FAMILY LAW 

Chapter  

Number 

Description 

CHAPTER 

13 

SB 1191   

Go to 

full text 

MARITAL DEBTS 
In all actions for dissolution of marriage or legal separation a notice must be 

provided to the petitioner and served on the respondent advising that a court 

order regarding disposition of property may not bind creditors. Within thirty 

days of a written request, creditors of parties to a dissolution or separation 

action must provide the balance and account status of any debts of either or 

both spouses. On request of a party, the court may order a credit reporting 

agency to release the credit report of the non-requesting party. Parties may be 

required to submit a proposed joint debt distribution plan (or separate plans if 

the parties can not agree) indicating how creditors are to be paid and outlining 

any agreements between the parties to pay community debts or agreements 

with creditors by which one spouse assumes sole responsibility for a 

community debt. The court’s orders related to property distribution must 

reflect the debt distribution plan approved by the court. A party who fails to 

comply with the court’s orders to pay community debts may be sanctioned. 

Actions to enforce court orders to pay debts are subject to a two-year statute 

of limitations.  

    

CHAPTER 

42 

SB 1345   

Go to 

full text 

CUSTODY AND VISITATION 
The child custody law (§ 25-403) is extensively modified to include 

provisions regarding domestic violence. There is a rebuttable presumption 

that it is contrary to the best interests of the child to award custody to a parent 

who has committed an act of domestic violence against the other parent. The 

presumption does not apply if both parents have committed an act of domestic 

violence. A parent who is found to have committed an act of domestic 

violence must prove that visitation will not endanger the child or significantly 

impair the child’s emotional development. If the parent meets this burden, the 

court must place conditions on visitation that best protect the child and the 

abused parent from further harm. The court may increase by up to two years 

the maximum sentence otherwise authorized if a defendant commits a felony 
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against a pregnant victim and has knowledge of the pregnancy.  

    

CHAPTER 

122 

SB 1303   

Go to 

full text 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE TASK FORCE 
A 20-member domestic violence and sexual assault state plan task force is 

established consisting of legislators, representatives of state and local 

governmental organizations, law enforcement, the legal community, and 

domestic violence advocacy groups, including the director of the 

Administrative Office of the Courts. The task force is charged with 

developing a consolidated state plan to ensure coordinated and efficient use of 

resources to address domestic violence and sexual assault prevention, 

prosecution, and supportive services to victims. A report must be submitted to 

state leaders by December 1, 2000. The Department of Economic Security 

also is required by September 1, 2000, to report to state leaders and the task 

force on baseline cost-effectiveness information and other recommended 

outcome measures that should be developed.  

    

CHAPTER 

149 

HB 2041   

Go to 

full text 

GENETIC TESTING 
Confidentiality requirements are imposed in genetic testing and information 

derived from genetic testing and tests may be performed on unemancipated 

minors only with the consent of a parent or guardian. The definition of 

"genetic testing" specifically excludes tests for HIV, tests used in a criminal 

investigation or prosecution or as a result of a criminal conviction, and tests to 

determine paternity under the domestic relations law.   

    

CHAPTER 

150 

HB 2059   

Go to 

full text 

SELF-EMPLOYED OBLIGOR 
On a showing of good cause, a judge can compel a self-employed parent who 

is at least ninety days in arrears on a child support obligation to forward as 

much as six months of support to the Department of Economic Security 

(DES) to hold as security and use to pay missed payments. In a child support 

establishment case, if at least one parent is self-employed, the court may 

require the parties to meet with a federally authorized tax practitioner, who 

will review the accuracy of the self-employed person’s records and submit a 

written report to assist the court in setting the amount of support.  

    

CHAPTER 

215 

HB 2305   

Go to 

full text 

CHILD CUSTODY 
Effective December 31, 2000, the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act is 

replaced by the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act, 

promulgated by the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State 

Laws. The new Act conforms with federal law on parental kidnaping, 

establishes enforcement mechanisms not in the present uniform act and 

clarifies when a state has both initial jurisdiction to grant and subsequent 

continuing exclusive jurisdiction to modify a child custody order. The 

procedural requirements of A.R.S. § 25-411, by which the judge may 
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summarily deny a petition unless adequate cause for a hearing is 

demonstrated, do not apply to a petition for modification or clarification of 

visitation.  

    

CHAPTER 

312 

SB 1286   

Go to 

full text 

CHILD SUPPORT 
Omnibus legislation combining several introduced bills regarding child 

support, including provisions originally proposed by the state child support 

agency and by the Child Support Coordinating Council Subcommittee of the 

legislature. Session law establishing the Child Support Coordinating Council 

Subcommittee and the Domestic Relations Reform Study Subcommittee is 

codified and continues these groups until the end of 2007. In a title IV-D 

support case, a parent required to provide health insurance must furnish the 

child support agency with information about coverage and, where support has 

been ordered, the right to receive support may transfer to a caretaker. Jury 

trials are not required in administrative appeals of child support matters. 

Worker’s compensation benefit payments may be assessed to meet child 

support obligations. In furtherance of centralized support payment processing, 

authority to receive payment processing fees (previously referred to in statute 

as annual handling fees) is transferred from the clerks of court to the support 

payment clearinghouse. The order in which those fees may be deducted from 

support payments is prioritized. The court may suspend interest on a child 

support judgment if the requesting party is incarcerated or incapacitated.  

    

CHAPTER 

331 

SB 1306   

Go to 

full text 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE SHELTERS 
The cap of $100,000 per fiscal year on grant funds that may be received by a 

domestic violence shelter from the state domestic violence shelter fund is 

removed. To be eligible to receive funds, a shelter must provide crisis 

interventions and advocacy and support services to victims and must provide 

information and referrals for community-based services. The Department of 

Economic Security is required, after consultation with a state coalition against 

domestic violence, to develop a weighted methodology for allocating funds.  

    

CHAPTER 

347 

HB 2506   

Go to 

full text 

DIVISION OF LIQUID ASSETS 
A party to an action for dissolution of marriage, legal separation or annulment 

may request an equal division of the liquid assets of the marital property. 

Upon petition and absent good cause to the contrary, the court must equally 

divide the liquid assets that existed as of date the petition for divorce, 

separation or annulment is served on the other party. "Liquid assets" are 

defined as cash, traveler’s checks, cash in financial institutions and lottery 

winnings.  

    

CHAPTER 

356 

MARITAL COMMUNITY 
Language pertaining to division of marital property in an action of legal 
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SB 1338   

Go to 

full text 

separation is eliminated. The change was required by 1998 legislation 

providing that community property ceases to accrue when the petition in an 

action for dissolution of marriage, legal separation or annulment is served on 

the non-filing spouse.  

    

CHAPTER 

357 

SB 1339   

Go to 

full text 

SUPERIOR COURT FEES 
The fee paid by a party filing the petition or response in an action for 

dissolution of marriage, legal separation or annulment is increased from $50 

to $65 in those counties that have established a conciliation court.  

    

CHAPTER 

361 

HB 2126   

Go to 

full text 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE 
Substantive and technical amendments are made to protective order statutes. 

Law enforcement, or the constable in the justice court, may serve an 

injunction against harassment when requested by the plaintiff. Advance 

payment of fees for service may not be assessed but if fees have not been 

waived, the serving agency may assess actual fees for service against the 

plaintiff. A court may not require the petitioner in an injunction against 

harassment case to perform community service as a condition of waiving fees. 

Correctional officers, when acting in their official capacity, may serve orders 

of protection and injunctions against harassment.  

The definition of domestic violence now includes aggravated domestic 

violence (§ 13-3601.02) and surreptitiously photographing, videotaping, 

filming, or digitally recording a person (§ 13-3018). The relationship that may 

allow a crime to constitute domestic violence includes relationships 

established by court order for the same parties presently referred to in statute 

who are related by blood. Step-parents and step-grandparents are included 

within the relationship, as are children who have a relationship to the 

defendant similar to the relationship of other victims. 

The written notice provided to a defendant found guilty of a domestic 

violence offense but diverted to probation or intensive probation must inform 

that after conviction of a second offense, a third charge may be filed as a 

felony and, if conviction results, a term of incarceration will result. A judge 

may waive the requirement that a misdemeanor domestic violence offender 

complete a domestic violence offender treatment program if the offender has 

previously been ordered to complete an offender treatment program and the 

court deems alternative sanctions more appropriate. 

Only second-time misdemeanor domestic violence offenders may be placed 

on supervised probation. The prior misdemeanor conviction must be of an 

offense committed after January 1, 1999. The maximum probation term of 

twelve months for these offenders is eliminated because statute currently 

authorizes the court to sentence an offender to a probation term of up to three 
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years. The list of aggravating circumstances that a court must consider when 

sentencing a person convicted of second degree murder or for certain first-

time felony convictions is expanded to include domestic violence offenses 

committed in the presence of a child. 

The court may authorize a defendant in an order of protection case granting 

the plaintiff the exclusive use of the parties’ residence to return to the 

residence on one occasion with law enforcement to retrieve belongings. When 

accompanying defendants during a return to the residence, law enforcement 

officers are provided with limited immunity from liability. A limited 

jurisdiction court may hear all matters related to an ex parte order of 

protection even if there is a pending action in the superior court, provided that 

the defendant requested the hearing before the court receives notice that there 

was an action filed in superior court.  

    

CHAPTER 

370 

SB 1173   

Go to 

full text 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE DEFINITION 
The relationship necessary for certain criminal acts to be considered domestic 

violence no longer requires that persons who are cohabiting or who have 

cohabited in the past be of the opposite sex. Children are afforded additional 

protection from domestic violence by including within the relationship any 

child who resides or has resided in the same household as the defendant and is 

related by blood to a former spouse of the defendant or to a person who 

resides or who has resided in the same household as the defendant.  

    

JUVENILE 

Chapter  

Number 
Description 

CHAPTER 

29 

SB 1024   

Go to 

full text 

JUVENILES AND JUVENILE HEARING OFFICERS 
The Arizona Department of Juvenile Corrections (ADJC) retains jurisdiction 

over a juvenile convicted of a felony offense while in an ADJC secure care 

facility who is placed on adult probation. The juvenile may be discharged from 

ADJC if prescribed conditions are met. The court may impose a term of 

probation longer than one year for a sexual offenses or sexual exploitation of 

children. The court, after considering the nature of the offense and the age, 

physical and mental condition and earning capacity of an adjudicated juvenile, 

shall order the juvenile to make full or partial restitution to the victim of the 

offense for which the juvenile was adjudicated delinquent or to the estate of a 

deceased victim. Restitution payments are made to the clerk of the court for 

disbursement to the victim or estate. If a juvenile fails to appear pursuant to a 

citation or an order to appear or if on disposition fails to comply with any court 

order, a juvenile hearing officer must order suspension of the juvenile's driver 

license or privilege to drive or direct that a driver’s license not be issued or 

renewed or the privilege to drive restored until the juvenile reaches eighteen 

years of age or appears in court as directed or complies with the court's order. At 

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0370.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0370.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0029.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/legtext/44leg/2r/laws/0029.htm


the time the court issues an order to appear or other order, the court must inform 

a juvenile that failure to appear or failure to comply with an order will result in 

suspension of driving privileges. When a juvenile fails to appear for a hearing 

before a juvenile court hearing officer the case may no longer be referred back to 

the juvenile court for further action.  

Specific time frames are provided for acts of juvenile hearing officers. A 

juvenile hearing officer must notify the juvenile court within five days that a 

juvenile has been charged with an offense and shall list the charges. A copy of 

the citation and the hearing officer’s findings and disposition must be 

transmitted to the juvenile court within five days after disposition. 
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CPS CENTRAL REGISTRY 
The requirements for the Child Protective Services Central Registry maintained 

by the Department of Economic Security are revised to limit the registry to 

reports of child abuse and neglect that are substantiated and outcomes of the 

investigation of these reports. Information in the registry may be used only for 

specified purposes (e.g., background checks for licensing of foster-homes). A 

new section (§ 8-804.01) governs maintenance of reports. An inadvertent repeal 

of the central registry that was part of a 1997 act is itself repealed. 
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Go to 

full text 

CHILD CARE FACILITIES 
Several changes are made to licensing and certification requirements for child 

facilities and group homes. Individuals awaiting trial on, convicted of or who 

have admitted in open court or pursuant to a plea agreement to committing 

sexual abuse of a minor, incest, murder and other named crimes are forbidden 

from working in a child care facility. For other listed crimes, such persons are 

not permitted to be employed in a child care facility without direct visual 

supervision unless a fingerprint clearance card had been obtained. Similar 

prohibitions are included for child care group homes. Records maintained by the 

Department of Health Services (DHS) for child care facilities and group homes 

are available to the public, but personally identifiable information relating to a 

child, parent or guardian is confidential and accessible only by court order, 

written consent of the parent or guardian or for official law enforcement or 

governmental use. DHS is required to notify prosecutors and seek an immediate 

restraining order and injunction when it believes a group home is operating 

under conditions that may cause serious harm to children. 
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JUVENILE COMPETENCY 
Statutes by which the mental competency of a juvenile accused of a crime is 

judged are revised and expanded. Existing cross-references to criminal-code 

competency statutes are replaced with actual text of the statutes. The provisions 

relating to restoration for "dangerous juveniles" are repealed. The court is 

authorized to order any juvenile into a competency restoration period for up to 

240 days (8 months) rather than ordering dangerous juveniles to a competency 
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restoration program for up to 21 months. The list of offenses currently 

considered by the court when dismissing charges against the juvenile either with 

or without prejudice is changed. Instead of referring to "serious offenses" listed 

in §13-604, dismissal is now based on whether the charge requires or permits 

transfer to adult court. If a juvenile’s competency has not been restored, the court 

must dismiss with prejudice a misdemeanor charge, may dismiss with prejudice a 

charge that does not require or permit a juvenile to be transferred to adult court, 

and must dismiss without prejudice a charge that does require or permit a 

juvenile to be transferred to adult court. The privilege against self-incrimination 

is expanded to include statements made by the juvenile to treatment providers 

during treatment to restore competency and to the juvenile’s court-appointed 

guardian ad litem. Any statement made by a juvenile to treatment providers 

during treatment is not subject to disclosure. Added provisions allow the court to 

dismiss any misdemeanor charge if the juvenile has been adjudicated 

incompetent within the past year and continues to be incompetent. The court 

may order the initiation of civil commitment proceedings or may appoint a 

guardian ad litem to proceed with a dependency investigation. The process for 

sealing all reports relating to a juvenile’s competency is clarified. The court 

clerk must seal and file the original report submitted by the mental health expert 

and defense counsel must receive a copy of the report. Defense counsel may 

redact the report and provide redacted copies to the state and the court. If the 

court orders a report opened for the purpose of statistical analysis or scientific 

study, the report shall be anonymous. Reports submitted to the court by mental 

health experts must indicate the expert’s opinion regarding the possibility of 

restoration to competency within the maximum allowable time frame and 

whether removal from medications might affect the juvenile in the process. The 

duties of a guardian ad litem appointed by the court for a juvenile ordered to 

participate in a competency restoration program are clarified. The guardian ad 

litem shall coordinate the continuity of care following restoration and advise the 

court on the appropriateness of the treatment program. Any request to the court 

for determination of a juvenile’s competency must state facts in support of the 

request. Absent a stipulation, the court is required to appoint two or more mental 

health experts to examine the juvenile, at least one of which must be a licensed 

psychiatrist. Experts are immune from liability except for intentional, wanton or 

grossly negligent acts. The competency examination may consist of 

psychological, physical or neurological tests. The county is responsible for the 

cost of any court-ordered competency examination, unless ordered by a 

municipal court judge, in which event, the political subdivision pays. When a 

juvenile’s sanity is at issue, the court shall not appoint a mental health expert to 

conduct an examination until receiving the juvenile’s court, medical and 

educational records. 
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ADOPTION 
Changes in adoption statutes eliminate adoption consent from a man excluded as 

the father, conform temporary custody and certification exemptions, allow 
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updated certification studies, modify adoption consent requirements, allow 

flexibility in scheduling and consolidating juvenile court hearings, expand 

procedures to ensure compliance with the Indian Child Welfare Act, and clarify 

and expand notice of hearing requirements. A custody hearing is not required if 

the adoptive parent is a court-appointed guardian. If an application for 

certification has not been filed before a custody hearing, the court shall order an 

application be filed within 30 days after the hearing date. If a child is a ward of 

the court, a petition to adopt must indicate that written consent to adopt has been 

given by the division or the agency having custody of the ward or state the 

reason consent has not been given.   

A child placed in an adoptive home by any agency or by the Department of 

Economic Security (DES) shall not be removed from the home except on order 

of the juvenile court. An agency or DES may request a hearing for removal. 

Pending the final adoption hearing, a child is subject to further investigation by 

DES, an officer of the court or an agency. Mandatory time periods and reasons 

for postponement of a hearing on the petition are set forth. 
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KINSHIP FOSTER CARE 
The Department of Economic Security (DES) is required to establish kinship 

foster care services for a child who has been removed from the child's home and 

is in DES custody. The program is intended to promote the placement of a child 

with the child's relative for kinship foster care. On or before January 1, 2001, 

DES must implement a pilot program for kinship care in at least two locations in 

this state; one location in a county with a population of at least one million two 

hundred thousand persons. The goals of the program include streamlining 

existing services and referrals, preserving families and enabling families to 

sustain support for a child who cannot live with the child's parents. Under the 

pilot program, DES must develop separate administrative rules, policies and 

procedures for kinship foster care parents and report on specified outcome 

evaluation data on January 1, 2002 and 2003. The Auditor General must evaluate 

the pilot program and prepare an outcome evaluation report by June 30, 2002. 
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SPECIAL EDUCATION 
Language allowing foster parents to petition the court to receive an appointment 

to serve as a surrogate parent for a handicapped child (now called a child with a 

disability) is removed from statute. Persons who petition to become surrogate 

parents must have a valid class one fingerprint clearance card. By January 1, 

2002, all persons currently serving as surrogate parents must obtain a class one 

fingerprint clearance card. Effective April 12, 2000. 
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PARENTAL CONSENT FOR ABORTION 
It is a class 1 misdemeanor to perform an abortion on an unemancipated minor 

unless the attending physician has secured written consent from one of the 

minor’s parents or the minor’s guardian or unless a judge has ordered the 
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full text abortion after determining that the minor is mature and capable of informed 

consent. Parental consent or judicial authorization is not required if the doctor 

certifies that abortion is needed to save the minor’s life or prevent serious risk of 

substantial impairment, or if the pregnancy resulted from sexual contact with a 

parent, step-parent, uncle, grandparent, sibling, adoptive parent, legal guardian, 

foster parent or any person who lives in the same house as the minor and the 

minor's mother. Court proceedings are confidential and have precedence over 

other pending matters. A judge who conducts the proceeding must make 

specific, written factual findings and legal conclusions supporting the decision 

and shall order a confidential record of the evidence to be maintained that 

includes the judge’s findings and conclusions. 

    

CHAPTER 

251 

SB 1407   

Go to 

full text 

FINGERPRINT CLEARANCE CARD 
A number of changes are made to statutes regarding fingerprint clearance cards 

issued to persons who work with children and developmentally disabled persons. 

Clearance cards issued to persons who pass a screening process allow the holder, 

until the card expires three years later, to change jobs among participating state 

agencies without having to be re-fingerprinted and be subject to a further 

criminal background check for each new job. Changes impact the Administrative 

Office of the Courts and various state agencies. The statute governing the 

juvenile probation services fund is amended to require that for contracts entered 

into between the Supreme Court and any contract provider, the Department of 

Public Safety must be notified when the court receives credible evidence that a 

person holding a fingerprint clearance card is arrested or charged with specified 

crimes or has falsified information on the form required to obtain the card. The 

statute regarding fingerprinting requirements for contractors of the Department 

of Health Services for children’s behavioral health services is rewritten. Other 

amendments refer to adult developmental home and child developmental foster 

home licensees, child care and child care group home as well as day care and 

day care group home personnel and domestic violence shelter workers. The 

requirement that the Board of Fingerprinting hold a hearing for every request for 

a good cause exception is removed. A hearing is required only if the Board will 

deny a good cause exception or if the Board needs additional information to 

make a good cause determination. A unanimous decision of the Board, not just 

agreement by Board members who represent agencies serving similar 

populations, is required to grant a good cause exception. Pending the outcome of 

a good cause exception determination, the Board may issue a good cause 

applicant interim approval to continue working.   

Other provisions clarify that possession, use or sale of  marijuana, dangerous 

drugs or narcotic drugs (not, as presently, only if these crimes are committed on 

or near school grounds) disqualifies a person from receiving a class one 

fingerprint clearance card and allow a person who has had a judgment of guilt 

set aside by a court of competent jurisdiction to receive a clearance card. 
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A new chapter titled "Group Homes for Juveniles" is added to title 36, 

establishing minimum provisions for all new, renewed or amended contracts for 

juvenile group homes entered into with group homes directly by state agencies 

or by behavioral health authorities as a part of subcontracts with state agencies. 

By January 1, 2000, the Department of Health Services (DHS) is required to 

establish a central registry of juvenile group homes licensed by the state. "Group 

home" is defined as a residential facility serving no more than four dependent, 

delinquent or disabled juveniles at one time that is licensed by DHS or the 

Department of Economic Security. 
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SCHOOL ABSENCES 
A student who has excessive absences from school may be adjudicated an 

incorrigible child. Absences are excessive when the number of absent days 

exceeds 10 percent of the required attendance days. Rules developed by school 

governing boards concerning discipline, suspension or expulsion from school 

must be consistent with the constitutional rights of pupils. 
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CHILD WELFARE AND PLACEMENT 
The recommendations and findings of a local foster care review board regarding 

children in out-of-home placement must be reviewed by the court and the 

Department of Economic Security (DES) at the next scheduled hearing in a 

dependency case and the court must address the findings on the record. Within 

ten business days of receiving the board’s recommendation, DES must advise 

the board in writing whether the recommendation will be accepted or not 

implemented. A child’s parents and grandparents are permitted to attend the 

local board’s review of a case and may be accompanied by an advocate. Prior to 

filing a dependency petition, DES must review each removal of a child expected 

to result in a dependency petition to assess other options. A member of a local 

foster care review board must be included in the membership of the review team. 

If a child has medical problems or chronic illness, the team also shall include the 

child’s physician, if available, or another physician. When a child is taken into 

temporary custody, the written notice provided by the child protective services 

worker or peace officer now must include a signature line for the parent or 

guardian to acknowledge receipt and must list reasons for the child’s removal as 

well as services available to the parent or guardian.  

DES is directed to establish for children removed from home and in its custody 

foster care services to promote the placement of the child with a relative for 

kinship foster care. A pilot program for kinship care is created for specified 

purposes. The agency also is directed to develop a comprehensive kinship foster 

care program plan for submission to the joint legislative committee on children 

and family services by November 20, 2000. DES is required to establish a 

transitional independent living program for dependent persons under twenty-one 

years old to complement a person’s efforts to achieve self-sufficiency and 

transition to adulthood. The family advocacy office is established within DES to 

review complaints of individual cases involving the child welfare system and, 
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upon request, review the removal of a child before a dependency petition is filed. 
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DEPARTMENT OF JUVENILE CORRECTIONS 
The Department of Juvenile Corrections is continued until January 1, 2011. 

Retroactive to July 1, 2000. 
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CHILD WELFARE HOUSING ASSISTANCE 
The Department may provide special housing assistance to achieve permanency 

for a child who is involved in an open child protective services case, not just for 

a child who is a ward of the court. Payment of housing assistance allowed is 

made more flexible by amending the law from $300 per month for no more than 

six months to not more that $1,800 in any six-month period. Retroactive to July 

1, 2000. 
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PARENTAL APPEARANCE 
Requires a parent, guardian or custodian to accompany their child to juvenile 

court. If a child has a court hearing, the parent, guardian or custodian must 

appear. The court may waive this requirement, and shall state on the record 

reasons for waiving the requirement. A parent, guardian or custodian who has 

failed to appear in juvenile court will be issued an order by the court to show 

cause as to why that person will not be held in contempt. The changes also apply 

to proceedings before juvenile court hearing officers. 
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JUVENILE DETENTION FACILITY FUNDING 
A total of $4.1 million is appropriated to the Administrative Office of the Courts 

for deposit in the state aid to detention fund established for providing state 

assistance to counties in maintaining, expanding and operating juvenile detention 

centers. The sum of $2.1 million is appropriated from the corrections fund and 

the remaining $2 million is transferred from an earlier wastewater treatment 

project appropriation for the Arizona state prison complex in Douglas. Effective 

April 24, 2000. 
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JUVENILE OMNIBUS 
A new article is enacted, relating to the evaluation, treatment and placement of 

mentally ill children under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court (repealing § 8-

242.01). New statutes provide definitions and comprehensive statewide 

standards for ordering inpatient and outpatient assessments, inpatient psychiatric 

acute care and residential treatment services for dependent, delinquent or dually 

adjudicated children. The legislation was proposed by a multi-disciplinary 

committee tasked by the Committee on Juvenile Courts.  
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Exclusive jurisdiction over adoption and dependency proceedings is restored in 

the juvenile court, except for adult adoption proceedings. The juvenile court may 

schedule and consolidate permanency, termination of parental rights and 

permanent guardianship hearings, within certain statutory limits. 

In a termination of parental rights case, a copy of the petition must now be 

served on all parties formerly entitled to notice of the initial hearing. The court 

shall not consider the first sixty days of initial out-of-home placement as part of 

the cumulative total period of out-of-home placement constituting grounds for 

termination. Voluntary placement may now be considered like out-of-home 

placement as grounds for termination. 

At the beginning of any dependency proceeding, the court must inquire whether 

a child is subject to the federal Indian Child Welfare Act. The petition must 

include a statement indicating whether the child is subject to the act. The filing 

party must serve a copy of the petition on any person who has filed for adoption 

of the child or who has physical custody of the child pursuant to a court order in 

a foster-adoptive placement. If by a preponderance of the evidence the court 

finds the allegations in the petition are true, the court must make specified 

findings as to each parent. If the petition is not so supported, the court must 

dismiss the petition. The court may adjudicate dependency and proceed to 

further hearings with respect to one parent or guardian notwithstanding that the 

other parent or guardian contests the dependency or has not been served. 

Following the disposition hearing, the court is required to provide notice to those 

persons having a right to participate in six-month review hearings. If termination 

of a parent’s rights is at issue, the person ordered to file the termination motion 

must serve a copy on any person who has filed for adoption of the child or who 

has physical custody of the child pursuant to a court order in a foster-adoptive 

placement. Within certain parameters, the court may order or permit the filing of 

a motion for termination or permanent guardianship before the permanency 

hearing is held, consolidate hearings or provide for a different order of hearings. 

A person who files a motion for permanent guardianship must serve a notice of 

the hearing and a copy of the petition on any person who has filed for adoption 

of the child or who has physical custody of the child pursuant to a court order in 

a foster-adoptive placement. In addition, the notice must be sent by registered 

mail to any parent, Indian custodian and tribe of an Indian child as defined by 

the Indian Child Welfare Act. 

Several new programs impacting juvenile court proceedings are established. A 

medical examination pilot project is established in two counties (one rural and 

one urban) selected by the Department of Economic Security (DES), in which 

DES must provide a complete medical examination for every child who is the 

subject of a dependency petition filed by the agency. 

At a preliminary placement hearing, the court must review the agency’s 



arrangements for the examination, efforts to assemble medical records and plans 

for communication of the medical examination results. In addition, a family 

group decision making program is created within DES with a variety of goals, 

including to provide participants with information about departmental and court 

proceedings. Amendments are made to the law creating the adoption and foster 

care system improvement committee, that includes two juvenile court judges 

appointed by the Chief Justice, a current or recent member of the foster care 

review board and a person who serves as a court appointed special advocate. The 

principal purpose of the committee is to develop an implementation plan for an 

administrative adoptive home certification pilot project to replace pre-adoption 

certification by the court. 
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SUBSTANCE ABUSE PROGRAM 
The Department of Economic Security and the Department of Health Services 

are charged to administer a joint substance abuse treatment fund to coordinate 

provision of community-based services to parents, guardians or custodians and 

families receiving Temporary Assistance to Needy Families benefits whose 

substance abuse is a significant barrier to maintaining, preserving or reunifying 

the family. 

    

PRISONERS AND PROBATIONERS 

Chapter 

Number 
Description 

CHAPTER 

13 

SB 1191  
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PRISONER 
Except as authorized by the Department of Corrections, it a class 1 misdemeanor 

for a prisoner to have access to the Internet through the use of a computer, 

computer system, network, communication service provider or remote 

computing service. The statute on prisoner correspondence is revised to forbid 

sending or receiving email and sanctions may be imposed, including denial of 

earned release credits, if a prisoner corresponds or attempts to correspond with a 

communication service provider or remote computing service or if any person 

accesses the provider’s or service’s Internet web site at the inmate’s request. 

    

CHAPTER 

104 

HB 2374  
Go to 

full text 

PRISONER LITERACY 
With stated exceptions, prisoners who fail to achieve functional literacy at an 

eighth-grade level before becoming eligible for release to community 

supervision may not begin the term of supervision until either achieving that 

level of literacy or serving the full prison term imposed by the court. 
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SEXUALLY VIOLENT PERSONS 
Except for medical necessity or conditional release upon court determination, a 

person detained or civilly committed as a sexually violent person may not be 
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transported from the Arizona State Hospital (ASH) except for specified 

purposes. Listed are certain proceedings under the law on sexually violent 

persons, including probable cause hearings, trials, hearings for conditional 

release to less restrictive alternate facilities and hearings on discharge petitions. 

In addition, a detained or civilly committed person may be transported for any 

evidentiary hearing in which the presence of the person is necessary and for any 

court proceeding not specified in which the presence of the person is required. 

The Department of Health Services (DHS) must provide transportation to and 

from medical facilities. Both DHS and the sheriff are granted immunity for good 

faith acts involving transportation.  

The restriction on transportation does not preclude proceedings being held on the 

grounds of ASH or using a telephonic or video interactive conference device. 

The court is required to adopt rules for the conduct of proceedings under the 

sexually violent person statutes. These rules must ensure the safety of all persons 

and may provide for hearings on state hospital grounds or by remote 

conferencing device. 

At any court hearing regarding the conditions of detention, confinement or 

treatment, the sexually violent person must show that the procedures or actions 

of the licensed facility have no reasonable basis in fact or law. 

    

TAX COURT 

Chapter 

Number 
Description 

CHAPTER 

13 
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ATTORNEYS FEES IN TAX APPEALS 
The court may award fees and expenses to a prevailing party when the party is a 

state, city, town or county that has commenced an action to enforce the 

assessment or collection of taxes.  

The court may award no more than the prevailing party has paid or agreed to pay 

or a maximum amount of $175 per hour. An award of fees against the state, a 

city, town or county shall not exceed $30,000 for fees incurred at each level of 

judicial appeal. 

    

TRAFFIC 

Chapter 

Number 
Description 

CHAPTER 
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DUI AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE 
Eliminates the ability of some BUI, DUI and extreme DUI defendants to have 

their cases dismissed by proving that the alcohol concentration in their bodies 

was less than .10 or .18 at the time of driving or being in physical control of a 

vehicle or motorized watercraft. Only alcohol consumed before or while driving 

or operating a motorized watercraft may be considered in determining whether 

the .10 or .18 thresholds have been met. A prosecutor may admit into evidence 
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the amount of alcohol consumed even when the defendant did not drive but was 

in physical control of the vehicle.  
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OPEN CONTAINER LAW 
The consumption from or possession of an open container of spirituous liquor is 

prohibited in a vehicle on any public highway or right-of-way. This provision 

does not apply to buses, limousines, taxis, or persons in the passenger section of 

a motor home.  
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DUI IMPLIED CONSENT 
Language pertaining to implied consent testing in A.R.S. § 28-1321 (Implied 

consent; tests; refusal to submit to test; order of suspension; hearing; review; 

temporary permit; notification of suspension) is inserted in § 28-673 (Traffic 

accidents; implied consent; tests). A technical error in § 28-673 is corrected by 

amending the cross-reference to § 28-1321.  
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IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICES 
Persons convicted of extreme DUI are added to the list of offenders that must 

install an ignition interlock device (IID), as are persons convicted of aggravated 

DUI as a result of driving under the extreme influence of intoxicating liquor (§ 

28-1382) while a person under the age of fifteen is in the vehicle. The 

responsibility to order installation of an IID is shifted from the court to the 

Department of Transportation (DOT). The authority to extend the duration of the 

IID for up to one year for violating IID regulations (§ 28-1464) also is 

transferred to DOT. The court retains discretion to order a convicted person to 

equip a vehicle with an IID for more than one year on the conclusion of a license 

suspension or revocation.  

The Administrative Office of the Courts is required to submit to the Governor’s 

Office of Highway Safety by September 1 of each year for the previous fiscal 

year the number of complaints issued charging both DUI and extreme DUI and 

the number of complaints issued charging either DUI or extreme DUI. Effective 

October 1, 2000.  
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VEHICLE WEIGHT VIOLATIONS 
The penalty for a first conviction of a vehicle weight violation is no longer a 

misdemeanor. A civil penalty of $1 is assessed for excess weight of 1,000 

pounds or less and a schedule of penalties is prescribed for other violations. A 

second violation within six months is reduced from a class 2 to a class 3 

misdemeanor and a second violation within one year is reduced form a class 1 to 

a class 2 misdemeanor. A driver is permitted to shift the load, rather than 

reloading, in order to comply to avoid a citation or penalty.  
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CHAPTER 

276 

HB 2625   

Go to 

full text 

BICYCLE SAFETY 
A motorist passing a bicycle traveling in the same direction must exercise due 

care by leaving a safe distance of not less than three feet between the motor 

vehicle and the bicycle until safely past the overtaken bicycle. A civil penalty of 

up to $500 may be assessed for any violation that results in a collision causing 

serious physical injury to any person. The violator is subject to a $1,000 penalty 

if death results. The law does not apply if the bicyclist is injured in the traffic 

lane when a designated bicycle lane is present and passable.  

    

CHAPTER 

343 

HB 2256   

Go to 

full text 

TRANSPORTATION 
A maximum speed limit of 65 miles per hour is established for vehicles pulling a 

pole trailer or vehicles over 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight unless the 

Department of Transportation (DOT) determines on the basis of an engineering 

and traffic investigation that a higher speed is appropriate. Based on such an 

investigation, the DOT also may designate a specific lane or lanes of travel for 

those vehicles. Certain vehicles must be equipped with windshields. It no longer 

is required for issuance of a driver’s license that a person convicted of a felony 

within the five years before a criminal records check is complete have completed 

the entire sentence imposed by a court, including imprisonment, parole, 

probation or community service.  

    

BILLS THAT FAILED TO PASS 

Chapter 

Number 
Description 

HB 2003   

Go to full 

text 

SALARY RECOMMENDATION REJECTION 
The Governor’s salary recommendations for justices of the supreme court, appellate 

court judges and superior court judges are specifically disapproved. The Governor 

already had reduced the salary recommendations of the Commission on Salaries for 

Elective State Officers. This action by the House of Representatives would have 

denied any salary increase to judges. 

    

HB 2524   

Go to 

full text 

COUNTY POWERS 
The county board of supervisors is authorized to determine the classification, salary 

and allocation of all non-elected personnel positions within the county government, 

including all judicial branch departments. When the original bill was held in 

committee, sponsors amended it onto another bill (HB 2526) in an effort to secure 

passage. 

    

SB 1314   

Go to 

full text 

JUDICIAL RETENTION 
The Secretary of State is required to include in voter publicity pamphlets all public 

comments submitted to the Commission on Judicial Performance Review and any 

other public comments on the performance of a justice of the supreme court, a judge 
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of the court of appeals or a judge of the superior court seeking to remain in office by 

retention. 

    

SB 1365   

Go to 

full text 

BALLOT PAMPHLETS 
For justices of the supreme court, judges of the court of appeals and judges of the 

superior court seeking to remain in office by retention, voter publicity pamphlets 

must include the report of any organization the legislature contracts with to review 

judicial performance. A companion bill (SB 1442) established contract authority. 

    

SB 1367   

Go to 

full text 

ELECTED OFFICIALS SALARIES 
The amount of salary increases recommended by the Governor for justices of the 

supreme court, appellate court judges and superior court judges is reduced. The 

Governor’s recommendations were lower than that proposed by the Commission on 

Salaries for Elective State Officers. 

    

SB 1442   

Go to 

full text 

MONITORING JUDICIAL DECISIONS 
A legislative committee on judicial decisions is established for the purpose of 

developing criteria for monitoring decisions of justices and judges who are subject 

to a retention election. The task of monitoring would be awarded by contract with a 

report due on or before December 15, 2001. A companion bill (SB 1365) required 

the report to be included in voter publicity pamphlets. The bill also was offered as 

strike-everything amendments to SB 1386 and SB 1515. 

    

SCM 

1005   

Go to 

full text 

COURT APPOINTED PSYCHOLOGISTS 
Citing a lack of accountability between judges and court-appointed custody 

evaluators leading to the undermining of public confidence in the impartiality of the 

courts, several actions are required, including: examination of the process of 

appointment by the Chief Justice or presiding family law judges; participation by 

legislators and public members in the examination, and; adoption of a specifically 

recommended means of appointing custody evaluators. 

    

SCR 

1012   

Go to 

full text 

CONFIRMATION ON JUDICIAL APPOINTMENTS 
Voters were requested to approve a state constitutional amendment requiring the 

Governor to submit for consent of the Senate each nominee to the Supreme Court or 

as an appellate court judge. Presently, the governor appoints without further action 

from a list of nominees furnished by the Commission on Appellate Court 

Appointments. Two amendments to this bill were offered in committee, each 

proposing additional constitutional provisions. The first allowed the Senate to 

impeach any justice or judge holding office by appointment or retention, with no 

stated standards by which to measure conduct. The second permitted the senate to 

"evaluate" each justice or judge who files a declaration to be retained in office. If 

disapproved, the name of the justice or judge could not be placed on the election 
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ballot. 

    

VETOED 

Chapter 

Number 
Description 

HB 

2316  
Go to 

full text 

MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT PROGRAM 
An appropriation of $33 million is made to the Department of Health Services 

behavioral health division to establish an "assertive community treatment program" 

for persons with serious mental illness. Before implementing the program, an 

evaluation of the program’s effectiveness is required, including the impact on jail 

diversion programs. 

    

SB 1538  
Go to 

full text 

PSYCHIATRIC MEDICATION FOR CHILDREN 
A Mental Health Care Study Committee is established to review the use of 

psychiatric medications, treatments and therapies for children with mental illness and 

regulatory actions of all state boards that oversee mental health practices. The 

committee is specifically charged to the committee to recommend a plan for the 

Department of Health Services (DHS) to review the use of public monies for 

behavioral health treatments in Arizona that are not scientifically substantiated and, 

together with DHS and the various boards that regulate mental health practices, to 

determine the validity and reliability of a treatment or therapy by reviewing scientific 

journal citations. 
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