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CHAPTER 

2   

HB 2025  

Go to 

full text 

STATE EMPLOYEE HEALTH INSURANCE 
The requirement enacted in 2002 that the State Department of Administration 

implement a self-insurance program for state employee medical and dental 

benefits by October 1, 2003 is removed, allowing the agency to self-insure on 

review of the Joint Legislative Budget Committee. Emergency measure 

effective February 7, 2003. 

CHAPTER 

6  

 SB 1021  

Go to full 

text 

UNEXPIRED TERM OF VACANT COUNTY OFFICE 
A person elected to fill the remainder of an unexpired term of a vacant county 

office pursuant to A.R.S. § 16-230 may take the oath of office and begin the 

remainder of the term of office at any time within 90 days after the canvass of 

the election and thereafter shall remain in office until the person elected takes 

the oath of office.  

CHAPTER 

13  

 HB 2022  

Go to full 

text 

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY AUTHORIZATION COMMITTEE 
The June 1, 2003 repeal date of the law establishing the Information Technology 

Authorization Committee (ITAC) is repealed, continuing the committee at least 

until the July 1, 2006 sunset date enacted in 1998. ITAC oversees information 

technology resources of all state budget units, including the judicial and 

legislative branches of state government, and has approval authority over 

proposed state information technology projects in excess of $1 million. The 

Administrative Director of the Courts is a member of ITAC. Emergency 

measure effective March 28, 2003. 

CHAPTER 

17   

HB 2129  

Go to full 

text 

SUBMISSION OF INSTRUMENTS FOR RECORDING 
A county recorder may accept for recording a digitized image of a recordable 

instrument if submitted by, among others listed in A.R.S. § 11-461, an active 

member of the State Bar of Arizona. 

CHAPTER 

18  

 HB 2130  

Go to full 

text 

TRANSFER OF FILE IN CHILD SUPPORT PROCEEDING 
An amendment to A.R.S. § 25-502 clarifies that when a request to change the 

venue of a child support case is unopposed, the clerk must issue a transfer order 

and transmit the file to the new county, which retains venue and the file for all 

purposes. The transferring county need not retain a copy of the file. 

CHAPTER 

22   

SB 1262  

Go to full 

text 

PUBLICATION OF APPELLATE COURT DECISIONS 
The Secretary of State no longer is required to distribute volumes of the Arizona 

Reports to statutorily-prescribed recipients and other requesting entities. Under 

A.R.S. § 12-108, the Arizona Supreme Court remains responsible for arranging 

publication but the publisher will ship directly to recipients who pay the 

shipping cost. Entities previously required to apply to the Secretary of State for 

volumes now must order directly from the publisher and pay the cost of the 

volume and shipping. 

CHAPTER SUPERIOR COURT CLERK 
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33   

HB 2239  

Go to full 

text 

The population threshold set forth in A.R.S. § 21-131 at or below which the 

clerk of the superior court acts as the jury commissioner is increased from 

200,000 to 500,000 persons. Persons applying to the clerk for a marriage license 

must provide social security numbers separate from the application affidavit 

required under § 25-121(B). 

CHAPTER 

51   

SB 1260  

Go to full 

text 

DISTRIBUTION OF STATUTES 
The Secretary of State no longer is required under A.R.S. § 41-123 to supply 

copies of the Arizona Revised Statutes to each judge and the clerk of the U.S. 

District Court for Arizona, the U.S. Attorney and U.S. Marshal for Arizona and 

each senator and representative in Congress from this state. 

CHAPTER 

65   

HB 2206  

Go to full 

text 

BEHAVIORAL HEALTH PROFESSIONALS 
Regulatory oversight by the Arizona Board of Behavioral Health Examiners of 

behavioral health professionals in the disciplines of social work, professional 

counseling, marriage and family therapy and substance abuse counseling is 

converted from voluntary certification to mandatory licensure and various 

changes are made to the educational and competence requirements for 

behavioral health professionals. Persons holding valid certificates must be 

reclassified to licensed status prior to July 1, 2004. Effective July 1, 2004. 

CHAPTER 

70   

HB 2120  

Go to full 

text 

BONDS OF ELECTED OFFICIALS 
The law (A.R.S. § 38-252) requiring county boards of supervisors to obtain a 

blanket liability bond for all county officers is repealed. Elected or appointed 

officials and county offices and employees are included among members 

covered by retention of risk pools counties may contract or agree to under § 11-

592.01. Emergency measure effective April 17, 2003. 

CHAPTER 

80   

HB 2498  

Go to full 

text 

INTERNET USE BY STATE EMPLOYEES 
Except as necessary for an approved research project or other approved 

undertaking, an employee of an agency, including the Judicial Department, shall 

not knowingly use agency owned or agency leased computer equipment to 

access, download, print or store any information infrastructure files or services 

that depict nudity, sexual activity, sexual excitement or ultimate sexual acts as 

defined in A.R.S. § 13-3501. Agency approvals must be given in writing and 

made available for public inspection. A violation is cause for discipline or 

dismissal of the employee and is considered misuse or unauthorized use of state 

property pursuant to § 41-770. Agencies are directed immediately to furnish 

current employees a copy of § 38-448 and new employees must be furnished a 

copy when authorized to use an agency computer. 

CHAPTER 

84   

SB 1261  

Go to full 

text 

MOBILE HOME PARKS LANDLORD/TENANT ACT BOOKLET 
The current Arizona mobile home parks residential landlord and tenant act 

booklet circulated in some communities by justice of the peace courts will no 

longer be published by the Secretary of State. Landlords now are required before 

entering into a rental agreement to provide prospective tenants and make 

available to all tenants a concise written summary of the Act, approved by the 

director of the Department of Building and Fire Safety and posted to the web site 

of the Department and the Secretary of State. 
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CHAPTER 

101   

SB 1257  

Go to full 

text 

LOYALTY OATH 
The law making it criminal for officers or employees required by A.R.S. § 38-

231 to subscribe to a loyalty oath be a member of the Communist party or any 

organization advocating overthrow of the government by force is amended by 

eliminating references to that party or such organizations. It is unlawful 

knowingly at the time of subscribing to the oath or affirmation, or at any time 

thereafter during the officer's or employee's term of office or employment, to 

commit or aid in the commission of any act to overthrow the government by 

terrorism. 

CHAPTER 

104   

HB 2049  

Go to full 

text 

STATE AGENCY REPORTS 
Intended as a revenue reduction measure, this law eliminates or reduces the 

number of copies of reports various state departments, agencies and boards are 

statutorily required to prepare. Among things eliminated are the obligation of the 

State Foster Care Review Board to make annual recommendations regarding 

foster care statutes, policies and procedures (A.R.S. § 8-515.04), the requirement 

that the Arizona Supreme Court submit an annual report detailing the status of 

the Court Appointed Special Advocate Program and the expenditure of all 

monies appropriated for the program (§ 8-524). In addition, the Administrative 

Office of the Courts no longer is required to submit an annual report of the 

utilization of and types of calls received by the parent assistance program, 

although in this latter case statistical information still must be available to the 

public on request and on the Supreme Court's web site. 

CHAPTER 

106   

HB 2108  

Go to full 

text 

JUDGES’ PERSONAL INFORMATION 
Justices, judges, superior court commissioners, and public defenders are added 

to the list of persons in Maricopa and Pima counties who may request that the 

general public be restricted from accessing the unique identifier and the 

recording date contained in indexes of recorded instruments maintained by the 

county recorder and the residential address and telephone number contained in 

instruments or writings recorded by the county recorder and made available on 

the Internet (A.R.S. § 11-483) or the residential address and telephone numbers 

contained in instruments, writings and information maintained by the county 

assessor and the county treasurer (§ 11-484). It is unlawful for a person 

knowingly to make available on the world wide web the personal information of 

a justice, judge, commissioner or public defender if distribution of the 

information poses an imminent and serious threat and if that fact is reasonably 

apparent to the person posting the information (§ 13-2401). A person employed 

by a state or local government entity who knowingly releases the home address 

or home telephone number of a justice, judge, commissioner or public defender 

with the intent to hinder an investigation, cause physical injury or damage to the 

property of the person or the person’s immediate family is guilty of a class 6 

felony (§ 39-124). The term "justice" is defined to include Justices of the 

Arizona and United States Supreme Court and justices of the peace. "Judge" 

includes federal, state and municipal court judges. "Public defender" includes 

federal public defenders and county public defenders, legal defenders and 

contract indigent defense counsel as well as assistants in these positions. 
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Prosecutors, who previously were protected under these laws, now include 

United States Attorneys. 

CHAPTER 

107   

HB 2109  

Go to full 

text 

CONFIDENTIAL INTERMEDIARIES 
Reversing a statutory change made last year (Laws 2002, chapter 173, section 

3), the minimum age established in A.R.S. § 8-134 at which a person may be 

contacted by a confidential intermediary is restored to 21 from 18. However, the 

age at which an adoptee, the progeny of a deceased adoptee or the biological 

sibling of an adoptee may use the services of a confidential intermediary is 

lowered from 21 to 18. 

CHAPTER 

119   

SB 1209  

Go to full 

text 

DISTRIBUTION OF STATE SHARED TAX REVENUES 
Cities, towns and counties are provided with optional methods to obtain 

population estimates for distribution of state shared revenues, including 

contracting with the U.S. Census Bureau to conduct a sample survey or using a 

July 2005 population estimate approved by the director of the Department of 

Economic Security. Currently, statute requires the distribution of state shared 

revenues to be based on the most recent U.S. decennial or special census. 

CHAPTER 

121   

HB 2017  

Go to full 

text 

PARENT EDUCATION PROGRAM FEE 
The maximum fee that may be charged a parent for attending the Domestic 

Relations Education on Children’s Issues program is increased from $30 to $50. 

A.R.S. § 25-355 is clarified to state that § 12-302 controls the procedure to 

request deferral or waiver of the fee. 

CHAPTER 

132   

HB 2023  

Go to full 

text 

UNPAID CONTRIBUTIONS TO STATE RETIREMENT 
if less than the correct amount of employer or member contributions is paid into 

the Arizona State Retirement System by an employer, within 90 days of being 

notified of unpaid contributions the employee or employer must make required 

payments or become responsible for any accrued interest. The initiator of a 

request for correction of salary history and service credits is responsible for 

providing credible evidence of past employment and compensation in a form 

that would lead a reasonable person to conclude that the employee was eligible 

for membership. Beginning July 1, 2004, these provisions apply only to 

adjustments for any unpaid contributions and interest for eligible verified service 

that occurred less than or equal to 15 years before that date of notification. 

Eligible service that occurred more than 15 years before the date of notification 

will be considered public service credit that the member may purchase. 

CHAPTER 

134   

HB 2333  

Go to full 

text 

MUNICIPAL COURT SERVICE OF PROCESS 
Pursuant to rules to be established by the Arizona Supreme Court, an unarmed 

police aide or traffic investigator appointed pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-627 may 

serve any process originating out of a municipal court in the municipality in 

which the person is employed, except process resulting from a citation obtained 

from photo radar or a red light camera issued for a violation of § 28-701 or § 28-

644 or of a city or town ordinance for excessive speed or failure to obey a traffic 

control device. Service may only be accomplished during the hours the 

municipal court is open for the transaction of business and only on court 

premises. 
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CHAPTER 

137   

HB 2429  

Go to full 

text 

CONFIDENTIALITY OF SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS 
Documents or records recorded or required to be open to the public pursuant to 

the constitution or laws of the state or by court rule or order are specifically 

exempted from restrictions on the use of social security numbers contained in 

new Title 44, Chapter 9, Article 16 (A.R.S. §§ 44-1376 and 44-1376.01). State 

agencies and political subdivisions must comply with provisions prohibiting the 

printing of a social security number on cards required to receive products or 

services and on materials mailed to an individual unless the number is required 

by state or federal law. The latter restriction does not prohibit the mailing of 

documents that include social security numbers sent as part of an application or 

enrollment process or to establish, amend or terminate an account, contract or 

policy or to confirm the accuracy of the social security number. Effective 

January 1, 2005. 

CHAPTER 

150   

HB 2124  

Go to full 

text 

PEACE OFFICER JURY SERVICE 
On timely application, the court must excuse from jury service any peace officer 

certified by the Arizona Peace Officer Standards and Training Board and 

employed as a peace officer by the state or any of its political subdivisions. An 

employer is prohibited from influencing the officer’s decision to be excused. 

The bill became law without signature of the Governor, pursuant to the Arizona 

Constitution, Article V, section 7. 

CHAPTER 

163   

HB 2018  

Go to full 

text 

CONCILIATION COURT FEE 
Maternity and paternity cases are added to the present types of family law cases 

in which, when filing initial pleadings, litigants pay a $65 fee under A.R.S. § 12-

284(E). 

CHAPTER 

164   

HB 2024  

Go to full 

text 

ASRS SERVICE PURCHASE 
A definition of "current annual compensation" is added to A.R.S. § 38-711 to 

clarify the current method for calculating the cost of purchasing credit in the 

Arizona State Retirement System (ASRS) for previous service with another 

public employer or the military. ASRS is required to recalculate the cost of 

credited active military service prior to July 20, 1996 and refund any difference 

between that cost and the amount calculated under the current statutory formula. 

ASRS must notify members of this latter obligation by publication in prescribed 

annual statements or newsletters. Emergency measure effective May 7, 2003. 

CHAPTER 

171   

SB 1037  

Go to full 

text 

ASRS HEALTH INSURANCE BENEFITS 
To equalize certain health insurance benefits offered by the Arizona State 

Retirement System with those of the other public retirement systems in the state 

(including the Elected Officials Retirement System), the health care premium 

benefit and temporary rural health care premium supplement is extended to a 

contingent annuitant of an ASRS member. A member who elects a joint and 

survivor annuity as an optional retirement benefit may choose the same method 

of payment of the health care premium benefit under new subsection K of 

A.R.S. § 38-783. The optional premium benefit payment applies to members 

who retire from and after December 31, 2003. 
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CHAPTER 

196   

HB 2455  

Go to full 

text 

ASRS DROP PROGRAM 
The modified Deferred Retirement Option Plan (DROP) established for 

members of the Arizona State Retirement System in 1999 is clarified. To 

qualify, the termination option must be established by a written agreement that 

includes conditions that constitute a breach and the employee must have at least 

five years of credited service and work for at least six months under the 

agreement. A member may purchase no more than an aggregate of five years of 

credited service under all agreements with any one or more employers. Although 

the member and employer do not make retirement contributions during the term 

of the agreement, each must make contributions for the long-term disability 

program.  

If a member transfers employment between state agencies or from one 

participating employer to another, the member and the successor employer may 

complete the terms of the agreement if the latter assumes all remaining 

obligations of the agreement, however, a member may have only one agreement 

in effect at any one time with a single agency or employer. If a member 

terminates employment due to total disability or death, the agreement 

nevertheless is considered completed through the date of termination of 

employment and, notwithstanding the six month minimum service requirement, 

the member or the member's beneficiary is eligible to purchase and receive 

credited service for the period of the agreement that was completed. 

CHAPTER 

200   

HB 2520  

Go to full 

text 

JURY SERVICE 
A statement of policy added to A.R.S. § 21-202 declares that all qualified 

citizens have an obligation to serve on juries when summoned by the courts of 

this state, unless excused. That statute is amended to limit the circumstances 

under which a person may temporarily be excused from jury service on timely 

application. The prospective juror must provide documentation demonstrating to 

a judge or jury commissioner that the person is incapable of performing jury 

service due to a mental or physical condition, that jury service would materially 

affect the public interest or welfare in an adverse manner, or that jury service 

would cause undue or extreme physical or financial hardship under 

circumstances prescribed in the statute. A prospective juror may be permanently 

excused if the underlying grounds are permanent in nature.  

New § 21-336 limits postponement of jury service to two times. Except in the 

event of an extreme emergency that could not have been anticipated at the time 

of the initial postponement, a request for postponement will be granted if the 

prospective juror either appears in person or contacts the jury commissioner by 

telephone, electronic mail or in writing and has not previously been granted a 

postponement. The postponement can not extend beyond three months after the 

date of the original summons and must be on a date when the court will be in 

session. 

Under new § 21-335, a juror summoned and selected to serve on a jury in the 

state is not required to serve again in any court in this state for two years 

following the last day of the juror's service. The Arizona Supreme Court may 

grant an exemption from this limitation for a specified period of time, not 

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0196.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0196.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0200.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0200.htm


exceeding one year. 

Amendments to § 21-236 prohibit an employer from requiring or requesting that 

an employee use annual, vacation or sick leave for time spent responding to a 

summons for jury duty, participating in the jury selection process or serving on a 

jury. However, an employer is not obligated to provide annual, vacation or sick 

leave to employees who are otherwise not entitled to such benefits under 

company policies. A court must postpone and reschedule the service of a 

summoned juror employed by an entity with five or fewer full-time employees 

if, during the same period, another employee of the employer is serving as a 

juror. A postponement pursuant to this provision does not affect a person's right 

to one "automatic" postponement under § 21-336 (see above). 

Under new § 21-336.01, defining a juror’s term of service, a person’s jury 

service obligation is "fulfilled" under five listed circumstances, ranging from 

actual service on one trial to providing the court with a valid telephone number 

and standing ready to serve on the same day, for a period of two days. A county 

may receive an exemption from this term of service statute for a specified period 

of time, not exceeding one year, on application to the Arizona Supreme Court. 

Effective January 1, 2005. 

It is unlawful, without seeking a postponement or being excused, willfully and 

without reasonable excuse for a prospective juror to fail to attend on the date 

summoned. The maximum fine for contempt is increased from $100 to $500. 

The Arizona Lengthy Trial Fund is established, consisting of additional fees 

charged, beginning on January 1, 2004, on filing, appearance and answer or 

response fees in the superior court in an amount and on case types to be 

determined by the Arizona Supreme Court. Beginning July 1, 2004, monies in 

the fund will be used in accordance with a formula set forth in § 21-222 to 

supplement or replace earnings of petit jurors who serve for more than ten days 

and who receive less than full compensation from an employer. A juror may 

receive replacement or supplemental earnings of at least $40 but not more than 

$300 per day. Jurors who serve beyond the tenth day also are eligible to receive 

at least $40 but not more than $100 per day from the fourth to the tenth day of 

jury service. The implementing statutes are repealed on December 31, 2013 

and July 1, 2014.  

Except as noted this law becomes effective January 1, 2004. 

  

CHAPTER 

214   

HB 2016  

Go to full 

text 

FINGERPRINT CLEARANCE CARDS 
Various substantive and conforming amendments are made to statutes regarding 

the requirement to possess a fingerprint clearance card as a condition of 

employment. The distinction between class one and class two fingerprint 

clearance cards is eliminated. All class one or class two fingerprint clearance 

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0214.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0214.htm


cards issued before October 1, 2003 remain valid until their normal expiration 

dates, at which time the cardholder must apply for a new fingerprint clearance 

card.  

On issuance, a fingerprint clearance card becomes the personal property of the 

cardholder, who retains possession of the fingerprint clearance card. A 

cardholder must submit a new set of fingerprints to the division for a fingerprint 

background check every six years. A person awaiting trial on or who has been 

convicted of committing or attempting or conspiring to commit a DUI offense in 

this state or another state within five years from the date of applying for a 

fingerprint clearance card is precluded from driving any vehicle to transport 

employees or clients of the employing agency as part of the person's 

employment. This limitation must be noted on the clearance card. The 

cardholder is not precluded from driving alone in the course of employment. 

The Board of Fingerprinting (Board) is authorized to establish fees to finance its 

responsibilities. The fee will be collected by the Fingerprinting Division of the 

Department of Public Safety on submission of an application for a clearance 

card. 

The Board is directed to appoint a hearing officer to determine good cause 

exceptions under A.R.S. § 41-619.55. A good cause exception hearing must be 

held when an applicant otherwise qualified to apply for the exception does not 

qualify under an expedited review. To determine whether a person is eligible 

under an expedited review, the applicant must not be awaiting trial on or have 

been convicted of committing any of the offenses listed in § 41-1758.03(B) or 

that the person is successfully rehabilitated and is not a recidivist. All criteria 

currently listed in § 41-619.55 for granting a good cause exception must be 

considered. 

Emergency measure effective May 14, 2003. 

CHAPTER 

233   

SB 1046  

Go to full 

text 

ELECTIONS 
A person’s name may be withdrawn from a candidate nominating petition no 

later than 5:00 p.m. on the date the petition is filed. A write-in candidate must 

file nomination papers no later than the fortieth, rather than fourteenth, day prior 

to the election. A write-in candidate for a vacancy caused by death, incapacity or 

withdrawal of a candidate may file up to the fifth day prior to the election. 

Appeals challenging the validity of nomination petitions must be filed by 5:00 

p.m. on the tenth day after the last day for filing nomination papers and 

petitions.  

To receive an early ballot by mail, an elector’s request to the county recorder 

must be complete and correct, including all information required by A.R.S. § 16-

542(A). The county recorder must notify an elector of any deficiencies if the 

request otherwise complies with the requirements of that section. 

An automatic recount of ballots is required when the margin of votes between 

the two candidates receiving the greatest number of votes for an office is less 
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than or equal to the lesser of: 1) in the case of an office to be filled by state 

electors, 200 votes when the total number of votes cast is more than 25,000 or 

50 votes when the total number of votes cast is 25,000 or less; 2) 200 votes in 

the case of an initiated or referred measure or proposal to amend the 

constitution; or, 3) ten votes in the case of an office to be filled by the electors of 

a county or a subdivision thereof. 

Effective January 1, 2004. 

CHAPTER 

247   

HB 2349  

Go to full 

text 

PREMIUM BENEFIT SUPPLEMENT PROGRAM FOR RETIREES 
The premium benefit supplement applied towards insurance premiums for 

eligible retired and disabled members and dependents of the Arizona State 

Retirement System and the Elected Officials Retirement Plan who live in non-

service areas where no HMO is available, originally enacted in 2001 for a two-

year period (Laws 2001, Chapter 376), is extended an additional two years 

through June 30, 2005. Some new restrictions apply: Members must live in a 

county with 200,000 or less persons without an available HMO and in order to 

receive the benefit ASRS members must have at least 10 years and EORP 

members at least eight years of credited service. Minimum out-of-pocket 

contributions are set forth as a condition of receiving benefits. Retroactive to 

July 1, 2003. 

CHAPTER 

250   

SB 1224  

Go to full 

text 

SUPPLEMENTAL DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN 
Various changes are made to the supplemental defined contribution plan (Plan) 

available to members of the Arizona State Retirement System (ASRS), the 

Elected Official’s Retirement Plan (EORP) and other state retirement systems in 

order to be certified under section 401(a) of the Internal Revenue Code. An 

employee now must elect to participate in the Plan within two years after first 

becoming eligible. The election is continues for the remainder of the term of 

employment. In lieu of annual employer adjustments of employer contributions, 

the employee may make a one-time irrevocable election of the employer’s 

contribution amount. An employer may elect to match the employee’s 

contribution to any other qualified plan and if either the separate or combined 

contributions of the employer and employee exceed limits established by the 

IRS any excess amount may be contributed to the Plan. It is clarified that 

members of ASRS must qualify to participate in the Plan in order to be eligible. 

CIVIL  

Chapter 

Number 
Description 

CHAPTER 

29  

HB 2158  

Go to full 

text 

CORPORATION COMMISSION SUBPOENA IN INVESTMENT CASES 
The superior court of Maricopa County may exercise its contempt powers for 

willful noncompliance with an order of the Arizona Corporation Commission 

directing a financial institution not to disclose, other than to legal counsel, the 

existence or content of a subpoena issued in the course of an investigation of 

investment management practices. The Commission is authorized directly to 

petition the superior court in Maricopa County for appointment of a conservator 
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to reorganize or wind up the affairs of a person alleged to have violated the 

licensing requirements of A.R.S. § 44-3151 for investment advisors or investment 

advisor representatives or to have committed a fraudulent practice in providing 

investment advisory services under § 44-3241. The Commission may recover 

costs of any court action.  

CHAPTER 

30  

HB 2159  

Go to full 

text 

CORPORATION COMMISSION SUBPOENA IN SECURITIES 

MATTERS 
The superior court of Maricopa County may exercise its contempt powers for 

willful noncompliance with an order of the Arizona Corporation Commission 

directing a financial institution not to disclose, other than to legal counsel, the 

existence or content of a subpoena issued in the course of an investigation of 

security sales practices. The Commission is authorized directly to petition the 

superior court in Maricopa County for appointment of a conservator to reorganize 

or wind up the affairs of a person alleged to have violated the laws regarding 

sales of unregistered securities (A.R.S. § 44-1841) or securities sales to or 

purchases from unregistered dealers or salespersons (§ 44-1842) or to have 

committed a fraudulent practice with regard to securities under Title 44, Chapter 

12, Article 13. The Commission may recover costs of any court action.  

CHAPTER 

56  

HB 2181  

Go to full 

text 

GUARDIAN OF INCAPACITATED PERSON 
A petition for appointment of a guardian for an incapacitated person under A.R.S. 

§ 14-5303 must state whether a general or limited guardianship is requested. If a 

general guardianship is requested, the petition must state that other alternatives 

have been explored and why a limited guardianship is not appropriate. If a limited 

guardianship is requested, the petition must state what specific powers are 

requested. When making the appointment, the court must encourage development 

of maximum self-reliance and independence of the incapacitated person. In 

addition to other evidence required under § 14-5304 to make an appointment, the 

court must be satisfied the person's needs cannot be met by less restrictive means, 

including the use of appropriate technological assistance.  

CHAPTER 

74  

SB 1111  

Go to full 

text 

TREATMENT RELEASE FROM STATE HOSPITAL 
The Medical Director of the Arizona State Hospital may authorize a patient 

civilly committed pursuant to A.R.S. § 36-540 to leave the state hospital grounds 

unaccompanied to begin the process of integrating the patient back into a 

functioning role in society if the leave is part of an inpatient individualized 

treatment and discharge plan and if the medical director determines that the 

patient will not become dangerous or suffer serious physical harm or illness 

during that time.  

CHAPTER 

84  

SB 1261  

Go to full 

text 

MOBILE HOME PARKS LANDLORD/TENANT ACT BOOKLET 
The current Arizona mobile home parks residential landlord and tenant act 

booklet circulated in some communities by justice of the peace courts will no 

longer be published by the Secretary of State. Landlords now are required before 

entering into a rental agreement to provide prospective tenants and make 

available to all tenants a concise written summary of the Act, approved by the 

director of the Department of Building and Fire Safety and posted to the web site 

of the Department and the Secretary of State.  
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CHAPTER 

96  

HB 2214  

Go to full 

text 

VETERANS’ SERVICES FIDUCIARY DUTIES 
Various sections of law are amended to provide that the spouse or minor child of 

a veteran may serve as a personal representative (A.R.S. § 14-3203), guardian (§ 

14-5311) or conservator (§ 14-5410) of the veteran, and to prioritize the 

appointment of the spouse, minor child or the Department of Veterans’ Services 

over a court-appointed guardian or conservator. The authority of the Department 

to act in all fiduciary matters on behalf of a veteran or the veteran’s spouse or 

minor child is clarified in § 41-603.  

CHAPTER 

129  

SB 1010  

Go to full 

text 

MEDICAL MALPRACTICE INVOLVING ALLEGED ELDER ABUSE 
A medical malpractice action brought against a physician, podiatrist, registered 

nurse practitioner or physician assistant regarding services provided within that 

person's scope of practice, may not be based on the neglect, abuse or exploitation 

of an incapacitated or vulnerable adult, unless at the time of the events giving rise 

to a cause of action either: 1) the person was employed, retained or designated to 

serve as a medical director of a nursing care institution, an assisted living center, 

an assisted living facility, an assisted living home, an adult day health care 

facility, a residential care institution, an adult care home, a skilled nursing facility 

or a nursing facility; or, 2) the person was the primary provider responsible for 

the medical services to the patient while the patient was at one of these facilities. 

Also exempt from civil liability for damages is any person who was the primary 

provider of medical services to the patient in the last two years before it was 

recommended that the patient be admitted to one of these facilities.  

CHAPTER 

190  

HB 2221  

Go to full 

text 

BURIAL RESPONSIBILITY 
The statute (A.R.S. § 36-831) outlining damages that may be recovered in a civil 

action for failure of a person within a reasonable time to bury a body or provide 

other funeral and disposition arrangements for a dead person is amended by 

allowing recovery for expenses incurred in providing for the burial or other 

funeral and disposition arrangements.  

CHAPTER 

195  

HB 2407  

Go to full 

text 

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS FOR CIVIL ACTIONS BY VICTIMS 
Provisions for extension and tolling of the statute of limitations specifically 

applicable to a civil cause of action arising from criminal conduct against the 

victim are established in new section A.R.S. § 12-511. A "civil cause of action" is 

defined as any civil claim the victim could have brought against the defendant 

only for criminal conduct committed against the victim regardless of whether the 

incidents were criminally prosecuted. "Criminal conduct" is limited to 

specifically listed offenses, including homicide, assault, kidnapping, particular 

sexual offenses, offenses involving sexual exploitation of children and domestic 

violence. In any action brought pursuant to this section, the standard of proof is 

by the preponderance of the evidence.  

If a defendant is convicted of criminal conduct against the victim, the statute of 

limitations for the civil action is extended for one year from the time the 

conviction becomes final. Whether or not a conviction is obtained, the statute of 

limitations is tolled from the time the defendant is charged by a criminal 

complaint or indictment until the final adjudication of the criminal prosecution. If 

the victim’s civil action arises out of more than one incident of criminal conduct 
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included in the conviction, the statute of limitations runs from the date of the last 

incident of criminal conduct or conviction. The statue does not toll or extend any 

statute of limitations applicable to a civil cause of action brought against the 

employer or former employer of a defendant subject to the statute and does not 

shorten any other applicable tolling provisions.  

CHAPTER 

212  

SB 1351  

Go to full 

text 

UNIFORM TRUST CODE 
The Uniform Trust Code promulgated and recommended for enactment in all 

states by the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws is 

adopted as Title 14, Chapter 10, to apply to express trusts, charitable or 

noncharitable trusts and trusts created pursuant to a statute, judgment or decree 

that require administration in the manner of an express trust. The Code is 

designed to provide precise, comprehensive, and easily accessible guidance on 

trust law questions. According to the drafters, although much of the Code is a 

codification of the common law of trusts, it does contain a number of innovative 

provisions. Among the more significant are specification of the rules of trust law 

that are not subject to override in the trust's terms (A.R.S. § 14-10105), the 

inclusion of a comprehensive article on representation of beneficiaries (Article 3, 

enacted as §§ 14-1404 through 14-1408), rules on trust modification and 

termination that will enhance flexibility (§§ 14-10410 through 14-10417), and the 

inclusion of an article collecting the special rules pertaining to revocable trusts 

(Article 6, enacted as §§ 14-10601 through 14-10604).  

The Code applies to all trusts created before, on or after January 1, 2004 and to 

all judicial proceedings concerning trusts commenced on or after January 1, 2004. 

It also is applicable to judicial proceedings concerning trusts commenced before 

January 1, 2004, unless the court finds that application of a particular provision of 

the Code would substantially interfere with the effective conduct of the judicial 

proceeding or prejudice the rights of the parties, in which case the superseded law 

applies. Any rule of construction or presumption in the Code applies to trust 

instruments executed before January 1, 2004, unless there is a clear indication of 

a contrary intent in the terms of the trust. An act done before January 1, 2004, is 

not affected by the Code. If a right is acquired, extinguished or barred on the 

expiration of a prescribed period that has commenced to run under any other 

statute before January 1, 2004, that statute continues to apply to the right even if 

repealed or superseded by the Code. Unless already done, for all irrevocable 

trusts in existence before January 1, 2004, the sixty day notice required by new § 

14-10813 to be sent by a trustee to qualified beneficiaries must be given within 

sixty days after January 1, 2004. Generally effective January 1, 2004.  

CHAPTER 

221  

SB 1243  

Go to full 

text 

ENFORCEMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING CONTROLS 
New legislation in Title 49 dealing with remediation of contaminated soil to 

protect public health and the environment permits the Director of the Department 

of Environmental Quality to issue orders regarding engineering controls and 

financial assurances about such controls required to be given by a property 

owner. Under new A.R.S. § 49-152.02, a final order of the Director may be 

enforced in the superior court. If the Director determines an owner’s failure to 

comply with a final order has created an imminent and substantial endangerment 
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to the public health or the environment, the Attorney General may be asked to 

commence a civil action to mitigate or prevent endangerment and access the 

financial assurance mechanism. Such an action has precedence over all other 

matters pending before the court. Additionally, the Attorney General may be 

requested to commence a civil action to recover civil penalties of up to $1,000 per 

day for each day of noncompliance, not to exceed $250,000 for each order 

violated. The statute lists factors to be considered by the court in determining the 

amount of the penalty. Emergency measure effective May 14, 2003.  

CHAPTER 

229  

SB 1280  

Go to full 

text 

COMMERCIAL ELECTRONIC MAIL 
A right of action to recover damages sustained, including loss of profits, and the 

costs incurred from the suit, is created in favor of a person injured due to a 

violation of new laws (Title 44, Chapter 9, Article 16) prohibiting the 

transmission of commercial electronic mail, defined as an electronic message, 

executable program or computer file containing an image of a message that is 

transmitted between two or more computers or electronic terminals for the 

purpose of encouraging the purchase or rental of, or investment in, property, 

goods or services. If an injury results from the intentional transmission of 

unsolicited commercial electronic mail, the injured person or injured electronic 

mail service provider may recover attorney fees and costs and may choose, 

instead of receiving actual damages, to recover $10 for each unsolicited 

commercial electronic mail message transmitted in violation of the Article or 

twenty-five thousand dollars, whichever is less.  

At the request of any party to a legal action, the court may conduct all 

proceedings in a manner to protect the secrecy and security of the computer, 

computer network, computer data, computer program and computer software 

involved in order to prevent possible recurrence of the same or similar act by 

another person and to protect any trade secrets of any party. 

A person who violates the Article is guilty of a class 2 misdemeanor.  

CHAPTER 

234  

SB 1049  

Go to full 

text 

MOBILE HOME PARKS LANDLORD TENANT LAW 
Various amendments are made to the Arizona Mobile Home Parks Residential 

Landlord and Tenant Act relating to the terms and conditions of the rental 

agreement (A.R.S. § 33-1413), rules and regulations concerning the tenant’s use 

and occupancy of the premises (§ 33-1452), a tenant’s rights when a change in 

use or redevelopment of a mobile home park (§ 33-1476.01), and assessments for 

the mobile home relocation fund (§ 33-1476.03). A new section of law added as § 

33-1485.01 governs the rights and responsibilities of landlords and tenants 

regarding removal of a mobile home from a mobile home park.  

CHAPTER 

235  

SB 1098  

Go to full 

text 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE VICTIM ADVOCATE PRIVILEGE 
Under new A.R.S. § 12-2239, in a civil action other than one involving the civil 

commitment of a sexually violent person, a domestic violence victim advocate, 

having qualifications set forth in the statute, can not be examined as to any 

communication made to that person by a domestic violence victim. However, 

unless other legal privileges apply, the communication is not privileged if the 

victim advocate knows or should have known that the victim will give or has 
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given perjurious statements or statements that would tend to disprove the 

existence of domestic violence. Any party to the action may move for disclosure 

of privileged information. Upon finding reasonable cause, an in camera hearing 

must be held to determine whether the privilege should apply.  

The privilege granted for civil actions does exempt a domestic violence advocate 

from the duty to report nonaccidental injuries and physical neglect of minors 

imposed under § 13-3620.  

CHAPTER 

237  

SB 1119  

Go to full 

text 

INTRASTATE TELEMARKETING 
The Attorney General may petition the superior court to collect civil penalties, 

not to exceed $1,000 per violation, for any unlawful practice committed in 

violation of new A.R.S. §44-1282, governing the intrastate telephone solicitation 

to a telephone number in Arizona.  
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CRIMINAL 

Chapter 

Number 

Description 

CHAPTER 

11   

HB 2019  

PROBATION ABSCONDER 
Time spent on "absconder status" while on probation is excluded in calculating 

the time within which certain felonies may be considered as historical prior 



Go to full 

text 

felony convictions for purposes of sentencing under A.R.S. § 13-604. A 

probationer is considered an "absconder" if the person has moved from the 

primary place of residence without permission of the probation officer and cannot 

be located within 90 days of the previous contact and a petition to revoke has 

been filed in the superior court alleging that the probationer's whereabouts are 

unknown. A probationer is no longer deemed to be an absconder when 

voluntarily or involuntarily returned to probation service.  

CHAPTER 

12   

HB 2021  

Go to full 

text 

DNA TESTING 
Laws enacted in 2002 regarding DNA testing are clarified. One version of a dual 

enactment of A.R.S. § 13-610 is repealed, leaving that statute in the form enacted 

by Laws 2002, chapter 226. The repealed statute required tested persons to pay 

the cost to the superior court, a procedure inconsistent with the funding scheme 

adopted by the legislature in 2002 by which funding for testing is derived from a 

surcharge under § 12-116.01.  

A juvenile subject to prosecution as an adult under § 13-501(B)(2) for a class 2 

felony drug offense must be tested whether or not prosecution occurs under that 

statute. Testing previously was required only if the juvenile was prosecuted under 

that statute. Note, however, that beginning January 1, 2004, a violation of any 

felony offense under § 13-501 will trigger DNA testing. A correction to 

subsection L of § 13-610 clarifies that testing for both juveniles and adults must 

occur within stated time frames. 

CHAPTER 

15   

HB 2110  

Go to full 

text 

PUBLIC DEFENDER ASSESSMENT 
The time limitation for imposition by the court of the administrative assessment 

allowable under A.R.S. § 11-584 is removed. Previously, this assessment could 

be made only at the time of a defendant’s initial appearance in a criminal case or 

a juvenile’s advisory hearing in a delinquency proceeding. Assessments, which 

may not exceed $25, are used to defray the costs of public defenders and court 

appointed counsel. 

CHAPTER 

19   

SB 1300  

Go to full 

text 

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES 
Several sections of Title 36 are amended to conform to the federal Drug Abuse 

Prevention and Control Act and make Arizona state-specific changes regarding 

schedule III, IV and V controlled substances. A prescription order for a schedule 

II substance may not be dispensed more than 60 days after the order was written. 

CHAPTER 

42   

SB 1088  

Go to full 

text 

SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION 
The Department of Corrections in conjunction with the Department of Public 

Safety and each county sheriff must, before a person is released from 

confinement, complete the registration of any person required to register as a sex 

offender under A.R.S. § 13-3821. Effective January 1, 2004. 

CHAPTER 

65   

HB 2206  

Go to full 

text 

BEHAVIORAL HEALTH PROFESSIONALS 
Regulatory oversight by the Arizona Board of Behavioral Health Examiners of 

behavioral health professionals in the disciplines of social work, professional 

counseling, marriage and family therapy and substance abuse counseling is 

converted from voluntary certification to mandatory licensure and various 

changes are made to the educational and competence requirements for behavioral 
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health professionals. Persons holding valid certificates must be reclassified to 

licensed status prior to July 1, 2004. Effective July 1, 2004. 

CHAPTER 

78   

SB 1301  

Go to full 

text 

PHARMACY TECHNICIANS AND TRAINEES 
It is a class 2 misdemeanor to secure a license as a pharmacy technician or a 

pharmacy technician trainee by knowingly making a false representation, to 

fraudulently claim to be licensed as a pharmacy technician or a pharmacy 

technician trainee or to knowingly perform the duties of a pharmacy technician or 

a pharmacy technician trainee without a license. Effective April 17, 2003. 

CHAPTER 

112   

HB 2280  

Go to full 

text 

PRIVATE INVESTIGATORS AND SECURITY GUARDS 
Among the grounds for which disciplinary action may be taken by the 

Department of Public Safety against the license of a private investigator under 

A.R.S. § 32-2457 or a security guard under § 32-2636 is that the holder is on 

parole, community supervision, work furlough, home arrest, or release on any 

other basis, is named in an outstanding arrest warrant or is on probation for the 

conviction of any act of personal violence or domestic violence or an offense 

having the same elements as a domestic violence offense. It is a class 1 

misdemeanor for a person to engage in a business regulated by the security guard 

statutes or to act, assume to act as or represent one’s self to be a licensee unless 

the person is properly licensed. 

CHAPTER 

117   

SB 1084  

Go to full 

text 

NATUROPATHIC MEDICINE 
It is a class 6 felony to commit certain unlawful acts relating to the practice of 

naturopathic medicine listed in A.R.S. § 32-1555. 

CHAPTER 

134   

HB 2333  

Go to full 

text 

MUNICIPAL COURT SERVICE OF PROCESS 
Pursuant to rules to be established by the Arizona Supreme Court, an unarmed 

police aide or traffic investigator appointed pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-627 may 

serve any process originating out of a municipal court in the municipality in 

which the person is employed, except process resulting from a citation obtained 

from photo radar or a red light camera issued for a violation of § 28-701 or § 28-

644 or of a city or town ordinance for excessive speed or failure to obey a traffic 

control device. Service may only be accomplished during the hours the municipal 

court is open for the transaction of business and only on court premises. 

CHAPTER 

156   

HB 2507  

Go to full 

text 

WILDFIRES 
A new section of law (A.R.S. § 13-1706) makes it unlawful to intentionally, 

knowingly, recklessly or with criminal negligence set or cause to be set on fire 

any wildland not owned by the defendant or to permit a fire that was set or caused 

to be set to pass to the grounds of another person. The classification of offense for 

violation of this section range from a class 2 misdemeanor for causing a wildland 

fire with criminal negligence to a class 3 felony for intentionally causing a 

wildland fire that places another person in danger of death or serious injury or 

places another person’s building or occupied structure in danger of damage. 

Under new § 13-2913, it is a class 2 misdemeanor for a person to enter or remain 

in any public building or on any public property in violation of any order or rule 

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0078.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0078.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0112.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0112.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0117.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0117.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0134.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0134.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0156.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0156.htm


issued by any officer or agency having the power of control, management or 

supervision of the building or property and that relates to the control and 

limitation of fires. 

CHAPTER 

170   

HB 2410  

Go to full 

text 

USE OF SERVICE ANIMALS BY PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES 
It is a class 1 misdemeanor for a person or entity operating a public place to 

violate of any of the subsections of new A.R.S. § 11-1024, pertaining to 

discrimination against individuals with disabilities who use service animals. 

Prohibiting a service animal from public places is not considered discriminatory 

under stated circumstances. A vehicle operator approaching a legally blind 

pedestrian carrying a predominately white or metallic-colored cane and using a 

service animal or being assisted by a sighted person is liable for damages for any 

injury to the pedestrian or the service animal caused by the failure to yield the 

right-of-way or take reasonable precautions to avoid injury to the pedestrian and 

the service animal. Drivers are equally responsible for injuries to pedestrians who 

have a disability other than blindness and their service animals. 

CHAPTER 

172   

SB 1059  

Go to full 

text 

TRESPASS ON CRITICAL PUBLIC SERVICE FACILITIES 
It is a class 6 felony under A.R.S. § 13-1504 to enter or remain unlawfully in or 

on a "critical public service facility" as newly defined in § 13-1501, so long as the 

facility is posted with signage indicating it is a felony to trespass or signage 

indicating high voltage or high pressure. 

CHAPTER 

173   

SB 1158  

Go to full 

text 

SEX OFFENDER NOTIFICATION 
Arizona law is conformed with the federal Campus Protection Act by requiring 

persons subject to sex offender registration additionally to register with the 

county sheriff having jurisdiction over any public or private postsecondary 

educational institution where the person is a student, employed, or engaged in a 

vocation and to notify the sheriff of each change in enrollment or employment 

status at the institution. The sheriff must promptly make the information available 

to the law enforcement agency responsible to perform community notification, 

which then must notify the institution's administration and complete appropriate 

campus notification.  

The December 30, 2003 sunset date for the Community Notification Guidelines 

Committee established in A.R.S. § 13-3826 is repealed. 

CHAPTER 

183   

SB 1282  

Go to full 

text 

WILDLIFE DISEASES 
It is a class 2 misdemeanor to violate any lawful order issued under new A.R.S. § 

17-250, authorizing the Director of the Game and Fish Department to issue orders 

necessary to minimize or eliminate the threat from wildlife disease suspected or 

documented in free ranging or captive wildlife, including establishing 

quarantines, directing the destruction of wildlife to prevent the spread of disease, 

controlling the movement of wildlife, wildlife carcasses or wildlife parts or 

requiring individuals to submit wildlife or wildlife parts for testing. 

CHAPTER 

188   

HB 2015  

Go to full 

STATUTORY CORRECTIONS 
Each year, on recommendation of the Legislative Council pursuant to A.R.S. § 

41-1304.01, a bill is introduced to correct multiple, defective or conflicting 

legislative disposition of statutory text. Among changes in this year’s bill are 
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text amendments reconciling conflicting versions of § 13-2008, relating to identity 

theft. Retroactive application with differing effective dates. 

CHAPTER 

199   

HB 2482  

Go to full 

text 

NEIGHBORHOOD ASSOCIATION VICTIMS’ RIGHTS 
Drawing or inscribing a message without permission of the owner (A.R.S. § 13-

1602(A)(5)) and discharging a firearm at an occupied structure (§ 13-3102(A)(9)) 

are added to the offenses that permit a registered neighborhood association to 

receive notice under or invoke the provisions of various victims’ rights statutes. 

CHAPTER 

202   

SB 1103  

Go to full 

text 

MASSAGE THERAPISTS 
It is a class 1 misdemeanor for any person to claim to be a massage therapist or 

use any terms or references in any advertisement, statement or publication to 

suggest to the public that the person is a massage therapist unless that person is 

licensed as a massage therapist licensed pursuant to a new chapter of law in Title 

42. It also is a class 1 misdemeanor for an unlicensed person to use any titles or 

abbreviations adopted by the Board of Massage Therapy (Board) to reference 

licensed massage therapists or any other abbreviation or other words, letters, 

signs or figures to indicate that the person using the title is licensed. The Board, 

through the appropriate county attorney, city attorney or the office of the attorney 

general, may apply to any court of competent jurisdiction to enjoin a person from 

committing any act in violation of the new chapter. Effective May 12, 2003, 

however, provisions establishing criminal penalties presumably can not be 

enforced until July 1, 2004 when the requirement for licensure of massage 

therapists begins. 

CHAPTER 

222   

SB 1352  

Go to full 

text 

PROTECTION OF CHILDREN 
The scope of the law (A.R.S. § 13-3506.01) criminalizing the transmission to a 

minor of information harmful to minors is expanded beyond the Internet to add 

email, personal messaging or any other direct communication and the term 

"Internet" is defined. Exceptions are made for posting information on an Internet 

bulletin board or newsgroup or sending material via a mailing list or listserv not 

administered by the sender.  

The statute (§ 13-3620) establishing a duty to report child abuse, neglect or non 

accidental injury is amended and restructured. Among other things, the 

mandatory reporting requirement is extended to physician’s assistants, 

optometrists, behavioral health professionals, stepparents, guardians, Christian 

Science Practitioners, and domestic violence victim advocates. "Reportable 

offenses" are specifically defined and expanded to include surreptitious 

photographing, videotaping, filming or digitally recording a child in violation of § 

13-3019 and additional crimes classified as sexual offenses or sexual exploitation 

of children. Failure to report a reportable offense is elevated from a class 1 

misdemeanor to a class 6 felony. 

If a physician, psychologist or behavioral health professional receives a statement 

from a person other than a parent, stepparent, guardian or custodian of a minor in 

the course of providing sex offender treatment not ordered by the court or that 

does not occur while the offender is incarcerated in the Department of 

Corrections (DOC) or committed to the Department of Juvenile Corrections 

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0199.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0199.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0202.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0202.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0222.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0222.htm


(ADJC), the physician, psychologist or behavioral health professional may 

withhold reporting if it is reasonable and necessary to accomplish the purposes of 

the treatment. Separately, under new § 13-4066, statements by a person who 

undergoes sex offender treatment ordered by the court or provided by DOC or 

ADJC to a person convicted of any sex offense or offense involving sexual 

exploitation of children, and any evidence resulting from that treatment, is not 

admissible against the person in any criminal or juvenile delinquency proceeding 

without the person’s consent or unless the evidence is used to show motive, 

pursuant to Arizona Rules of Evidence. 

CHAPTER 

225   

HB 2208  

Go to full 

text 

RETALIATORY CRIMES 
For purposes of determining a sentence under A.R.S. § 13-710, the court must 

consider as a possible aggravating factor that the offense was committed in 

retaliation for a victim's either reporting criminal activity or being involved in an 

organization, other than a law enforcement agency, that is established for the 

purpose of reporting or preventing criminal activity. The crime of threatening and 

intimidating (§ 13-1202) is classified as a class 6 felony if committed under the 

same retaliatory circumstances. 

CHAPTER 

229   

SB 1280  

Go to full 

text 

COMMERCIAL ELECTRONIC MAIL 
It is a class 2 misdemeanor to violate new laws added as Title 44, Chapter 9, 

Article 16, prohibiting the transmission of commercial electronic mail, defined as 

an electronic message, executable program or computer file containing an image 

of a message that is transmitted between two or more computers or electronic 

terminals for the purpose of encouraging the purchase or rental of, or investment 

in, property, goods or services. If an injury results from the intentional 

transmission of unsolicited commercial electronic mail, the injured person or 

injured electronic mail service provider may recover attorney fees and costs and 

may choose, instead of receiving actual damages, to recover $10 for each 

unsolicited commercial electronic mail message transmitted in violation of the 

Article or twenty-five thousand dollars, whichever is less. 

CHAPTER 

255   

SB 1267  

Go to full 

text 

VICTIMS’ RIGHTS AT SENTENCING 
The legislature declares its intent that under Arizona law victims in capital cases 

have the right to make recommendations regarding the appropriate sentence in the 

same manner as defendants and states that "the only thing that stands in the way 

of exercising this right is the lack of a decision by the Arizona Supreme Court or 

the United States Supreme Court affirming this right. The sentencing statute is 

amended to provide that at the penalty phase, the victim has the right to be heard 

pursuant to A.R.S. § 13-4426. A new version of that statute permits the victim, 

before the imposition of sentence, to address the sentencing authority and present 

any information or opinions that concern the victim or the victim's family, 

including the impact of the crime on the victim, the harm caused by the crime, the 

criminal offense, the defendant, the need for restitution or the sentence to be 

imposed at every sentencing or disposition proceeding.  

Under § 13-703.01, if the death penalty was not alleged or was alleged but not 

imposed, the court must determine whether to impose a sentence of life or natural 

life. In determining whether to impose a sentence of life or natural life, the court 
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may consider any evidence introduced before sentencing or at any other 

sentencing proceeding and must shall consider both any aggravating and 

mitigating circumstances listed in § 13-702 and any statement made by a victim. 

The above provisions (other than the intent clause) do not become effective 

unless on or before June 30, 2013 the Arizona Supreme Court or the United 

States Supreme Court rules it is constitutional for a crime victim in a capital 

case to make a sentencing recommendation. 

A new § 13-4426.01 provides that in any proceeding in which the victim has the 

right to be heard, the victim's right is exercised not as a witness, the victim's 

statement is not subject to disclosure to the state or the defendant or submission 

to the court and the victim is not subject to cross-examination. The state and the 

defense shall be afforded the opportunity to explain, support or deny the victim's 

statement. 

In determining whether to impose a sentence of death under § 13-703, the trier of 

fact may consider as an aggravating circumstance that the defendant committed 

the offense charged while on probation for a felony offense. When considering 

prior convictions of serious offenses, convictions for serious offenses committed 

on the same occasion as the homicide, or not committed on the same occasion but 

consolidated for trial with the homicide, must be treated as a serious offense. 

CHAPTER 

256   

SB 1291  

Go to full 

text 

DRUG OFFENDER TRANSITION PROGRAM 
The Department of Corrections (DOC) is directed to establish through private or 

nonprofit entities a program to offer transition services to eligible inmates before 

and after release from confinement. To be eligible, an inmate must have been 

convicted of a drug offense under Title 13, Chapter 34 and not also been 

convicted of a sex offense, arson or any offense involving death, physical injury 

or the use of a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument, and meet other 

requirements. Transition services include assistance in finding employment, job 

training, transitional needs such as housing, food, treatment services, health 

insurance coverage, medical assistance, including necessary medication and 

mentoring services. Beginning January 1, 2004, an inmate who enters a transition 

program pursuant will be released from confinement three months earlier than the 

inmate's earliest release date.  

DOC also is tasked to conduct an annual study to determine the recidivism rate of 

persons who receive the contracted transition services and to Prepare a quarterly 

report detailing cost reductions directed to the transition program.. 

The transition program is funded by a mandatory eight percent deduction from 

the wages of all prisoners convicted of a drug offense under Title 13, Chapter 14. 

The distribution scheme in A.R.S. § 31-254 of mandatory deductions from wages 

of prisoners whose compensation for labor performed is less than $2 per hour is 

reordered to include the eight percent deduction, where applicable, and to 

assignee the lowest priority to court-ordered restitution. 
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FAMILY LAW 

Chapter  

Number 

Description 

CHAPTER 

18   

HB 2130  

Go to full 

text 

TRANSFER OF FILE IN CHILD SUPPORT PROCEEDING 
An amendment to A.R.S. § 25-502 clarifies that when a request to change the 

venue of a child support case is unopposed, the clerk must issue a transfer order 

and transmit the file to the new county, which retains venue and the file for all 

purposes. The transferring county need not retain a copy of the file.  

CHAPTER 

27   

HB 2135  

Go to full 

text 

CHILD SUPPORT WAGE ASSIGNMENTS 
Conflicting versions of a statute (A.R.S. § 23-722.02) dually enacted in 1998 

regarding the responsibilities of employers and employees when orders of 

assignment for child support obligations have been issued are reconciled by 

repealing one version (Laws 1998, chapter 260, section 1). The stricken version 

included apparently unnecessary statutory references.  

CHAPTER 

54   

HB 2134  

Go to full 

text 

PERMISSIBLE USE OF CONSUMER REPORTS 
A.R.S. § 44-1692 is clarified and expanded to allow the Department of Economic 

Security in a Title IV-D child support case to receive a consumer credit report if 

either the obligor mother or father (previously only father) has a child support 

obligation.  

CHAPTER 

89   

HB 2257  

Go to full 

text 

GRANDPARENT VISITATION RIGHTS 
The procedure under A.R.S. § 25-409 for grandparents or great-grandparents to 

obtain visitation rights to a child born out of wedlock is clarified to prescribe that 

the petition must be filed in the same action in which the court determined 

maternity or paternity or, if the court no longer has jurisdiction over such action, 

by separate action in the county where the child resides.  

CHAPTER 

121  

HB 2017  

Go to full 

text 

PARENT EDUCATION PROGRAM FEE 
The maximum fee that may be charged a parent for attending the Domestic 

Relations Education on Children’s Issues program is increased from $30 to $50. 

A.R.S. § 25-355 is clarified to state that § 12-302 controls the procedure to 

request deferral or waiver of the fee.  

CHAPTER 

142  

HB 2131  

Go to full 

text 

RENEWAL OF JUDGMENTS 
Conflicting versions of a statute (A.R.S. § 12-1551) dually enacted in 1999 

exempting child support judgments from the requirement of periodic renewal are 

reconciled by repealing one version (Laws 1999, chapter 283, section 2). The 

statute is clarified to exempt all written judgments and orders for child support 

and spousal maintenance, including associated costs and attorney fees, as well as 

criminal restitution orders entered pursuant to § 13-805. Newly exempted are 

judgments for supervision fees or expenses associated with the care of a juvenile 

pursuant to § 8-241 or § 8-243 and associated costs and attorney fees.  

CHAPTER 

163   

HB 2018  

CONCILIATION COURT FEE 
Maternity and paternity cases are added to the present types of family law cases 

in which, when filing initial pleadings, litigants pay a $65 fee under A.R.S. § 12-
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Go to full 

text 

284(E).  

CHAPTER 

186   

HB 2258  

Go to full 

text 

CHILD CUSTODY JURISDICTION 
The circumstances in which a child custody proceeding involving a child born out 

of wedlock may be commenced under A.R.S. § 25-401 are clarified to state that a 

proceeding may be commenced by a parent only if there has been a prior 

establishment of maternity or paternity or may be commenced at the request of 

any person who is a party to an action for maternity or paternity. 

CHAPTER 

223   

HB 2136  

Go to full 

text 

ASSIGNMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT RIGHTS 
Beginning July 1, 2003, the Department of Economic Security is required to pass 

through to a family court-ordered child support payments for a child who is not 

eligible to receive Temporary Assistance For Needy Children (TANF) benefits 

because of the so-called "kid cap" by which a child is excluded from receiving 

such benefits if born while a parent is receiving TANF, during a period of 

voluntary withdrawal or during a period of sanction. 

CHAPTER 

230   

HB 2139  

Go to full 

text 

SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT 
When an obligor no longer owes current support, an administrative order of 

assignments issued by the state Title IV-D agency under A.R.S. § 25-505.01 may 

be adjusted for payment of arrearage. The adjusted order must be in the amount 

of the most recent current support order or the most recent order for payment of 

arrearage, whichever is greater.  

The process for voluntary establishment of paternity in § 28-812 is restructured 

but not substantially altered and conforming changes are made to other statutes. 

Necessary documents may be filed with the clerk of the superior court, the 

Department of Economic Security (DES) and the Department of Health (DHS). 

However, a birth certificate signed by the parents of a child born out of wedlock 

no longer may be used. A statement by the parents acknowledging paternity may 

be witnessed as well as notarized. A statement witnessed by a DES or DHS 

employee or by a hospital employee must contain the printed name and 

residential or business address of the witness. A statement that is witnessed by 

any other person must contain the printed name and residential address of the 

witness. If the acknowledgment of paternity is witnessed, the witness must be an 

adult who is not related to either parent by blood or by marriage. An order of 

paternity issued by the court must be transmitted both to DES and DHS. A 

rescission of the acknowledgment must be in writing and a copy must be filed 

with DES, not DHS. 

The composition of the Child Support Committee of the legislature is changed to 

eliminate one county attorney member. 

JUVENILE 

Chapter  

Number 

Description 

CHAPTER DNA TESTING 
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12   

HB 2021  

Go to full 

text 

Laws enacted in 2002 regarding DNA testing are clarified. One version of a dual 

enactment of A.R.S. § 13-610 is repealed, leaving that statute in the form enacted 

by Laws 2002, chapter 226. The repealed statute required tested persons to pay 

the cost to the superior court, a procedure inconsistent with the funding scheme 

adopted by the legislature in 2002 by which funding for testing is derived from a 

surcharge under § 12-116.01.  

A juvenile subject to prosecution as an adult under § 13-501(B)(2) for a class 2 

felony drug offense must be tested whether or not prosecution occurs under that 

statute. Testing previously was required only if the juvenile was prosecuted under 

that statute. Note, however, that beginning January 1, 2004, a violation of any 

felony offense under § 13-501 will trigger DNA testing. A correction to 

subsection L of § 13-610 clarifies that testing for both juveniles and adults must 

occur within stated time frames.  

CHAPTER 

15   

HB 2110  

Go to full 

text 

PUBLIC DEFENDER ASSESSMENT 
The time limitation for imposition by the court of the administrative assessment 

allowable under A.R.S. § 11-584 is removed. Previously, this assessment could 

be made only at the time of a defendant’s initial appearance in a criminal case or 

a juvenile’s advisory hearing in a delinquency proceeding. Assessments, which 

may not exceed $25, are used to defray the costs of public defenders and court 

appointed counsel. 

CHAPTER 

23   

HB 2020  

Go to full 

text 

COSTS OF JUVENILE PROGRAMS 
When a child involved in a juvenile delinquency proceeding is placed in foster 

care or ordered to participate in treatment or an education program or if a 

probation officer requires a child to comply with a program pursuant to A.R.S. § 

8-321(F), the juvenile court must inquire into the ability of the child or the child's 

parent to bear the charge or expense of foster care, treatment, or the education or 

other program. 

CHAPTER 

65   

HB 2206  

Go to full 

text 

BEHAVIORAL HEALTH PROFESSIONALS 
Regulatory oversight by the Arizona Board of Behavioral Health Examiners of 

behavioral health professionals in the disciplines of social work, professional 

counseling, marriage and family therapy and substance abuse counseling is 

converted from voluntary certification to mandatory licensure and various 

changes are made to the educational and competence requirements for behavioral 

health professionals. Persons holding valid certificates must be reclassified to 

licensed status prior to July 1, 2004. Effective July 1, 2004. 

CHAPTER 

123   

HB 2106  

Go to full 

text 

INTERSTATE COMPACT FOR JUVENILES 
When effective, the newly-promulgated Interstate Compact for Juveniles will be 

added as Title 8, Chapter 3, Article 5.1 (A.R.S. §§ 8-360 and 368.01), 

superceding the current Interstate Compact on Juveniles (§§ 8-361 through 8-

367) drafted in 1955. Primary changes from the earlier compact include the 

establishment of an independent compact operating authority to administer 

ongoing compact activity, representation of all member states on a national 

governing commission (the Interstate Commission for Juveniles, comprised of 

representatives appointed by separate state councils and non-voting members 

from interested organizations), rule making authority vested in the commission 
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with significant sanctioning to support essential compact operations and a 

mandatory funding mechanism to support essential compact operations (staffing, 

data collection, training/education, etc.). The state council exercises oversight and 

advocacy concerning the state’s participation in commission activities and must 

include a member of the Judicial Branch. Effective the later of July 1, 2004 or 

upon enactment into law by the thirty-fifth state (or other eligible 

jurisdiction), when it will supercede the current compact (§ 8-361 et seq.)  

An annual assessment is levied on each contracting state to cover the cost of 

internal operations and activities of the commission and its staff. Monies will be 

paid by the Department of Juvenile Corrections. 

CHAPTER 

124   

HB 2133  

Go to full 

text 

CHILD ABUSE REPORTS 
The written report of an investigation by a Department of Economic Security 

(DES) protective services worker will be submitted to the DES case management 

information system (Children Information Library and Data Source, or CHILDS, 

system) rather than to the central registry of reports of child abuse or neglect, 

which is limited to substantiated cases. If there is probable cause that abuse or 

neglect of a child has occurred, DES must record this finding independent of 

whether a specific person is identified as responsible for the abuse or neglect. 

However, whenever possible, DES must determine if a specific person is 

responsible for the abuse or neglect of a child. If DES is unable to locate a child 

who is the subject of a report of abuse or neglect, that finding must be recorded 

separate from its other findings.  

Under A.R.S. § 8-811, DES must provide the person subject of an abuse or 

neglect investigation and the person who reported the suspected child abuse or 

neglect, if that person is the child's parent, guardian or custodian, with a copy of 

the outcome of the investigation if probable cause exists that abuse or neglect has 

occurred but a specific person is not identified as having abused or neglected the 

child. 

CHAPTER 

142   

HB 2131  

Go to full 

text 

RENEWAL OF JUDGMENTS 
Conflicting versions of a statute (A.R.S. § 12-1551) dually enacted in 1999 

exempting child support judgments from the requirement of periodic renewal are 

reconciled by repealing one version (Laws 1999, chapter 283, section 2). The 

statute is clarified to exempt all written judgments and orders for child support 

and spousal maintenance, including associated costs and attorney fees, as well as 

criminal restitution orders entered pursuant to § 13-805. Newly exempted are 

judgments for supervision fees or expenses associated with the care of a juvenile 

pursuant to § 8-241 or § 8-243 and associated costs and attorney fees.  

CHAPTER 

181   

SB 1090  

Go to full 

text 

ADOPTION INFORMATION 
The law (A.R.S. § 8-106) requiring an agency, the Department of Economic 

Security division or an attorney participating or assisting in a direct placement 

adoption to obtain a notarized statement from a birth parent consenting to release 

of information is amended and made consistent with age changes made to A.R.S. 

§ 8-134 by Laws 2003, chapter 107. The consent will operate to grant or withhold 

permission for the child being adopted, when reaching 18 years of age, to obtain 

identifying and nonidentifying information about the child and the consenting 
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birth parent but will no longer specify whether the birth parent wishes to be 

informed of the death of the child and the date and the cause of death. Any 

subsequent statement changing the birth parent’s election must be filed only with 

the court. The most recent notarized statement takes precedence over any earlier 

statement.  

Under § 8-120, adoption files, records, reports and other papers in the possession 

of an attorney may be destroyed after seven, rather than 99, years. The restriction 

in § 8-121 on the disclosure or use of information derived from the adoption files, 

records, reports or other papers is limited to 100 years from the date of the 

adoption order. After that time, the court must transfer all files, records, reports 

and other documents in its possession to the Arizona State Library, Archives and 

Public Records, where they will be available for public inspection. The disclosure 

restriction in this statute does not prohibit a person from notifying a birth parent 

of the death of a child that the birth parent has placed for adoption.  

CHAPTER 

208   

SB 1304  

Go to full 

text 

OPEN JUVENILE COURT PROCEEDINGS 
The superior court in Maricopa County, in collaboration with the Department of 

Economic Security, is directed by session law to implement a pilot project to 

open to the public at least five but no more than ten per cent of dependency, 

guardianship and termination of parental rights proceedings and to determine if 

opening these proceedings to the public will promote due process while 

safeguarding privacy rights. An interim report evaluating the impact and 

effectiveness of the pilot program is due by January 1, 2004, with a final report 

scheduled for October 15, 2004. This law is repealed December 31, 2004.  

Before opening a proceeding to the public the court must consider listed factors, 

such as whether it is in the child’s best interest, and must entertain the request to 

close the proceeding made by any child at least twelve years of age who is a party 

to the proceeding. At the beginning of an open hearing, the court must admonish 

attendees that they are prohibited, under threat of contempt, from disclosing 

personally identifiable information about the child, the child's siblings, parents, 

guardians, caregivers and others mentioned in the hearing. The court also must 

explain contempt and the possible consequences of violating the court’s 

confidentiality order. 

Previous session law (Laws 1997, chapter 222, section 81, as amended by Laws 

1999, chapter 301, section 3) allowing the superior court in Maricopa and other 

counties to open to the public hearings and records of hearings in child abuse and 

neglect cases is repealed.  

CHAPTER 

214   

HB 2016  

Go to full 

text 

FINGERPRINT CLEARANCE CARDS 
Various substantive and conforming amendments are made to statutes regarding 

the requirement to possess a fingerprint clearance card as a condition of 

employment. The distinction between class one and class two fingerprint 

clearance cards is eliminated. All class one or class two fingerprint clearance 

cards issued before October 1, 2003 remain valid until their normal expiration 

dates, at which time the cardholder must apply for a new fingerprint clearance 

card.  
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On issuance, a fingerprint clearance card becomes the personal possession of the 

cardholder, who retains possession of the card. A cardholder must submit a new 

set of fingerprints to the division for a fingerprint background check every six 

years. 

A person awaiting trial on or who has been convicted of committing or 

attempting or conspiring to commit a DUI offense in this state or another state 

within five years from the date of applying for a fingerprint clearance card is 

precluded from driving any vehicle to transport employees or clients of the 

employing agency as part of the person's employment. This limitation must be 

noted on the clearance card. The cardholder is not precluded from driving alone 

in the course of employment. 

The Board of Fingerprinting (Board) is authorized to establish fees to finance its 

responsibilities. The fee will be collected by the Fingerprinting Division of the 

Department of Public Safety on submission of an application for a clearance card. 

The Board is directed to appoint a hearing officer to determine good cause 

exceptions under A.R.S. § 41-619.55. A good cause exception hearing must be 

held when an applicant otherwise qualified to apply for the exception does not 

qualify under an expedited review. To determine whether a person is eligible 

under an expedited review, the applicant must not be awaiting trial on or have 

been convicted of committing any of the offenses listed in § 41-1758.03(B) or 

that the person is successfully rehabilitated and is not a recidivist. All criteria 

currently listed in § 41-619.55 for granting a good cause exception must be 

considered. 

Emergency measure effective May 14, 2003.  

CHAPTER 

222   

SB 1352  

Go to full 

text 

PROTECTION OF CHILDREN 
The statute (§ 13-3620) establishing a duty to report child abuse, neglect or non 

accidental injury is amended and restructured. Among other things, the 

mandatory reporting requirement is extended to physician’s assistants, 

optometrists, behavioral health professionals, stepparents, guardians, Christian 

Science Practitioners, and domestic violence victim advocates. "Reportable 

offenses" are specifically defined and expanded to include surreptitious 

photographing, videotaping, filming or digitally recording a child in violation of § 

13-3019 and additional crimes classified as sexual offenses or sexual exploitation 

of children. Failure to report a reportable offense is elevated from a class 1 

misdemeanor to a class 6 felony.  

If a physician, psychologist or behavioral health professional receives a statement 

from a person other than a parent, stepparent, guardian or custodian of a minor in 

the course of providing sex offender treatment not ordered by the court or that 

does not occur while the offender is incarcerated in the Department of 

Corrections (DOC) or committed to the Department of Juvenile Corrections 

(ADJC), the physician, psychologist or behavioral health professional may 

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0222.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/laws/0222.htm


withhold reporting if it is reasonable and necessary to accomplish the purposes of 

the treatment. Separately, under new § 13-4066, statements by a person who 

undergoes sex offender treatment ordered by the court or provided by DOC or 

ADJC to a person convicted of any sex offense or offense involving sexual 

exploitation of children, and any evidence resulting from that treatment, is not 

admissible against the person in any criminal or juvenile delinquency proceeding 

without the person’s consent or unless the evidence is used to show motive, 

pursuant to Arizona Rules of Evidence. 

The scope of the law (A.R.S. § 13-3506.01) criminalizing the transmission to a 

minor of information harmful to minors is expanded beyond the Internet to add 

email, personal messaging or any other direct communication and the term 

"Internet" is defined. Exceptions are made for posting information on an Internet 

bulletin board or newsgroup or sending material via a mailing list or listserv not 

administered by the sender.  

TAX COURT 

Chapter 

Number 

Description 

CHAPTER 

16   

HB 2112  

Go to full 

text 

SMALL CLAIMS MATTERS IN TAX COURT 
A.R.S. § 12-172 is amended to increase from $300,000 to $1 million the full cash 

value of all real and personal property subject to use in tax court of simplified, 

small claims procedures for resolving disputes concerning valuation or 

classification of property. 

CHAPTER 

105   

HB 2059  

Go to full 

text 

TAX LAW CORRECTIONS 
This annual tax correction act makes non-substantive technical corrections in the 

tax statutes to reflect current practices as recommended by the Department of 

Revenue and Legislative Council. Included this year are provisions that 

harmonize A.R.S. § 43-304, regarding tax returns by fiduciaries, with last year’s 

amendments on allowable subtractions from Arizona gross income for estates and 

trusts (Laws 2002, chapter 130, section 12). The Act also clarifies in the 

Unclaimed Property Act the time period for a person aggrieved by a decision of 

the Department of Revenue or whose claim has not been decided by the 

Department within 90 days to commence an original action in the superior court. 

A.R.S. § 43-304 is effective for taxable years beginning January 1, 2004. 

TRAFFIC 

Chapter 

Number 

Description 

CHAPTER 

97   

HB 2388  

Go to full 

Motor Vehicle Accident Reports 
An electronic copy of each report of a motor vehicle accident resulting in bodily 

injury, death or property damage in excess of $1,000 must be maintained if the 

issuing agency does not retain the original written report. 
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text 

CHAPTER 

134   

HB 2333  

Go to full 

text  

MUNICIPAL COURT SERVICE OF PROCESS 
Pursuant to rules to be established by the Arizona Supreme Court, an unarmed 

police aide or traffic investigator appointed pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-627 may 

serve any process originating out of a municipal court in the municipality in 

which the person is employed, except process resulting from a citation obtained 

from photo radar or a red light camera issued for a violation of § 28-701 or § 28-

644 or of a city or town ordinance for excessive speed or failure to obey a traffic 

control device. Service may only be accomplished during the hours the municipal 

court is open for the transaction of business and only on court premises. 

CHAPTER 

168   

HB 2283  

Go to full 

text  

MOTOR VEHICLE FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 
Applicability of the statute (A.R.S. § 28-4137) authorizing the court to reduce, 

waive or suspend imposition of the civil penalty established for a motorist’s 

failure to produce evidence of financial responsibility on request of a law 

enforcement officer is extended to taxis, limousines, executive sedans or sedans, 

as those vehicles are newly defined. Effective July 1, 2004. 

CHAPTER 

207   

SB 1283  

Go to full 

text  

ALCOHOL TESTING FOR WATERCRAFT OPERATORS 
The refusal of a person operating a motorized watercraft underway within the 

state to submit to a test for alcohol concentration or drug content when arrested 

for boating while intoxicated no longer is a petty offense and the former $300 

fine becomes a $750 civil penalty. 

CHAPTER 

213   

HB 2002  

Go to full 

text  

BREATH TESTING / IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICES 
The authority to adopt rules prescribing the approval of quantitative preliminary 

breath testing devices, rules prescribing methods and procedures for the 

administration of breath tests to determine alcohol concentration, and rules 

prescribing the approval of methods for the analysis of blood or other bodily 

substances to determine blood alcohol concentration, as well as issuing permits to 

breath test operators, is transferred from the Department of Health Services 

(DHS) to the Department of Public Safety (DPS). Rules that relating to the 

regulation of breath tests and blood alcohol concentration adopted by DHS 

remain in effect and continue to be administered and enforced by DHS until 

superseded by rules adopted by DPS. Breath test operator permits issued by DHS 

continue in effect until revoked.  

The Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) must send 

written notice of a certified ignition interlock device limitation to a person 

possessing a driver license, an unlicensed driver or a nonresident driver and, after 

consultation with the Director of DPS, may include information deemed 

necessary regarding certified ignition interlock devices. 

CHAPTER 

218   

HB 2299  

Go to full 

text  

MOTOR VEHICLE IMPOUNDMENT 
Laws enacted in 2001 governing impoundment of a vehicle by a peace officer 

when the operator’s driving privileges are revoked or suspended for particular 

offenses are amended. It is clarified in A.R.S. § 28-3512 that the vehicle may not 

be released except on specified conditions or order of a justice court, pursuant to 

procedures newly-outlined in § 28-3514. The latter statute removes responsibility 
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for conducting poststorage hearings from the Department of Transportation 

Motor Vehicle Division and places it with the impounding law enforcement 

agency, imposing notice and procedural requirements. If the impounding agency 

does not provide the opportunity for a poststorage hearing, the hearing must be 

conducted by a justice court in the impounding agency's jurisdiction or the 

jurisdiction in which the owner, the spouse of the owner, the owner's agent or the 

person identified in the department's record as having an interest in the vehicle 

resides. A person seeking a poststorage hearing must file a request with the 

justice court and pay a fee equal to the fee established pursuant to § 22-281 for a 

small claims answer ($9). The hearing must be conducted within five working 

days after receipt of the request. If a poststorage hearing is conducted by a justice 

court, the impounding agency must appear and "show evidence." Poststorage 

hearings conducted by a justice court are considered civil filings for the purposes 

of judicial productivity credits under § 22-125. 

CHAPTER 

228   

SB 1206  

Go to full 

text  

PARKING FOR PERSONS WITH PHYSICAL DISABILITIES 
The $50 maximum fine chargeable under A.R.S. § 28-885 against an operator, 

person in charge or owner of a vehicle parked in violation of laws regarding 

parking for persons with physical disabilities is made discretionary with the court. 

CHAPTER 

236   

SB 1118  

Go to full 

text  

TRAFFIC SURVIVAL SCHOOL NOTIFICATION 
A law enforcement officer or a jurisdiction issuing a citation to a person who 

violates A.R.S. § 28-645 (red light) or § 28-647 (flashing red light) must provide 

written notice that if eligible, the person may attend defensive driving school or, 

if not eligible or if the person chooses not to attend defensive driving school and 

is convicted of or enters a plea of responsible to the violation, the person must 

attend and successfully complete traffic survival school training and educational 

sessions (TSS). The notice must include a reference to red light violations and 

state that if the person is required to attend TSS the person will receive notice 

from the Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division. 

CHAPTER 

258   

HB 2294  

Go to full 

text 

MOTOR VEHICLE OMNIBUS 
Among the variety of changes to Title 28, most concerning vehicle titles and 

licensing, are amendments to A.R.S. § 28-1098 that enhance penalties for 

violation of vehicle load restrictions under certain circumstances. If damage or 

injury is not caused, the motorist may be assessed a civil penalty up to $250 for a 

first violation and up to $350 for a second or subsequent violation in 60 months. 

The penalty may be up to $500 if the violation results in an accident causing 

serious physical injury and up to $1,000 if the accident causes death. 

BILLS THAT FAILED TO PASS 

Number Description 

SB 1024  

Go to full 

text 

JUSTICE COURT ENHANCEMENT 
This bill sought to raise the age and educational qualifications for justices of the 

peace and establish a pre-election orientation program for candidates for the office. 

The bill also would have altered the calculation of judicial productivity credits, for 
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example, by including small claims filings heard by hearing officers, raising from 

500 to 700 the credits needed to receive the maximum salary and prohibiting a justice 

of the peace with 700 or more judicial productivity credits from sitting as a municipal 

court judge or receiving pay for service on any other court. 

SB 1031  

Go to full 

text 

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE PRO TEMPORE 
A.R.S. § 22-121 would be amended to provide that a person not admitted to the 

practice of law could serve as a justice of the peace pro tempore if the person 

previously had served as a justice of the peace. 

SB 1210  

Go to full 

text 

HATE CRIME SENTENCING 
The court would have discretion to increase the sentence of a person convicted of a 

misdemeanor offense if the court finds the offense was committed out of malice 

toward the victim because of the victim's race color, religion, national origin, sexual 

orientation, gender or disability. 

SB 1288  

Go to full 

text  

CIVIL ACTIONS FOR SEX ACTS AGAINST MINORS 
A civil action based on a sexual act committed against a minor would be subject to 

restrictions on the use of parties names and a specialized statute of limitations, for 

example, extending the time for commencement to age 28 or within three years after 

the victim's memory, knowledge, understanding, acceptance and volition coalesce to 

allow the victim to discover the causal connection between injuries sustained and the 

perpetrator's wrongful conduct. Same as HB 2457. 

SB 1341  

Go to full 

text 

USE OF COURT COLLECTIONS 
A portion of all fees, fines, forfeitures and civil penalties imposed and collected by 

municipal and justice courts would be deposited in a fund for use by the Department 

of Public Safety (DPS) for overtime associated with highway patrol officers and for 

purchase of operational equipment, including less-lethal electro-muscular disruption 

weapons (tasers); lighter, thinner and more breathable body armor; deployable tire-

deflation devices for vehicle pursuits; and, breath alcohol detection devices. (Also 

see SB 1139 establishing a DPS "parity compensation fund" for annual salary 

adjustments for law enforcement personnel, with no specific source of funding.) 

SCR 1002  

Go to full 

text 

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE PRO TEMPORE 
Article VI, section 31 of the state constitution would be amended to state that justices 

of the peace pro tempore need not be members of the bar. 

HB 2089  

Go to full 

text 

REVIEW OF SPECIAL DISTRICT DECISIONS 
A person aggrieved by a decision of the governing body regarding a boundary 

change of a fire district, community park maintenance district or sanitary district 

could appeal to the superior court rather than the board of supervisors. 

HB 2203  

Go to full 

text 

PSYCHIATRIC SECURITY REVIEW BOARD AUTHORITY 
A person found guilty except insane committed to the Arizona State Hospital under 

A.R.S. § 13-502 later could be referred back to the court for a determination of the 

remaining terms upon a finding by the Psychiatric Security Review Board that the 

person no longer suffers from a mental disease or defect but cannot be placed on 

conditional release because the person is still dangerous. The court would conduct a 

hearing and make findings as to the least restrictive alternative available relative to 
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the person's current mental condition and behavior. A person would have the right to 

judicial review in the superior court of any decision specifically impacting the liberty 

interests of a person under the board's jurisdiction. 

HB 2247  

Go to full 

text 

ORDERS OF PROTECTION 
Except for emergency orders, a court would be required to hold a hearing before 

issuing an order of protection pursuant to A.R.S. § 13-3602. A plaintiff who 

knowingly violates any term or condition of an order of protection issued in the 

plaintiff’s favor would be subject to arrest and prosecution for interfering with 

judicial proceedings and any other crime that may have been committed in 

disobeying the order. 

HB 2261  

Go to full 

text 

JURY TRIALS IN PARENT-CHILD RELATIONSHIP CASES 
A parent who is subject of a petition to terminate the parent-child relationship 

pursuant to A.R.S. § 8-532 would have the right to trial by jury. 

HB 2297  

Go to full 

text 

PHOTO RADAR VIOLATIONS 
The first speeding violation under A.R.S. § 28-701 within two years would not be 

considered for license suspension or revocation insurance purposes or for proposes of 

determining insurability, nor should automobile insurance be cancelled or not 

renewed for the violation if photo radar was used. The notice of a photo radar 

violation would have to indicate that whether or not defensive driving school is 

selected, the violation could not be so considered. 

HB 

2301/2332  

Go to full 

text 

SEX OFFENDER RESIDENCE CLUSTERING 
Twice offered in somewhat different versions as strike-everything amendments to the 

bills noted, this measure would have prohibited persons convicted of sex crimes from 

residing within a quarter mile of another convicted sex offender. In one version, the 

restriction would have been limited only to persons on probation. 

HB 2457  

Go to full 

text 

CIVIL ACTIONS FOR SEX ACTS AGAINST MINORS 
A civil action based on a sexual act committed against a minor would be subject to 

restrictions on the use of parties’ names and a specialized statute of limitations, for 

example, extending the time for commencement to age 28 or within three years after 

the victim's memory, knowledge, understanding, acceptance and volition coalesce to 

allow the victim to discover the causal connection between injuries sustained and the 

perpetrator's wrongful conduct. Same as SB 1288. 

HB 2471  

Go to full 

text 

INTERSTATE ENFORCEMENT OF PROTECTION ORDERS 
This measure would establish a comprehensive system for recognition of protection 

orders issued by other states, protectorates or Indian nations with authority to issue 

such orders and provide a mechanism for registration and judicial and nonjudicial 

enforcement of such orders in Arizona. (But see A.R.S. § 13-3602(R), which already 

offers full faith and credit to foreign orders.) 

HB 2472  

Go to full 

text 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE OMNIBUS 
Among the various elements of this bill were provisions that under prescribed 

circumstances would prohibit the release of a person arrested for a domestic violence 

offense unless the court determines the person does not pose a danger to another 

person and can provide conditions of release that will reasonably assure the safety of 

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/bills/hb2247p%2Ehtm&DocType=B
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/bills/hb2247p%2Ehtm&DocType=B
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/bills/hb2261p%2Ehtm&DocType=B
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/bills/hb2261p%2Ehtm&DocType=B
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/bills/hb2297p%2Ehtm&DocType=B
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/bills/hb2297p%2Ehtm&DocType=B
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/bills/hb2301p%2Ehtm&DocType=B
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/bills/hb2301p%2Ehtm&DocType=B
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/bills/hb2457p%2Ehtm&DocType=B
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/bills/hb2457p%2Ehtm&DocType=B
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/bills/hb2471p%2Ehtm&DocType=B
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/bills/hb2471p%2Ehtm&DocType=B
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/bills/hb2472p%2Ehtm&DocType=B
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/46leg/1r/bills/hb2472p%2Ehtm&DocType=B


the other person; increase the classification or sentence of a domestic violence 

offense; require before releasing on probation or intensive probation a defendant 

found guilty of a domestic violence offense that the court state on the record that the 

safety of the victim and other specifically designated persons has been considered; 

increase the time a person sentenced for aggravated domestic violence must spend in 

jail or prison before release; provide, when two or more persons have committed a 

domestic violence offense, that a law enforcement officer attempt to determine who 

was the primary aggressor and presume that arrest is not the appropriate response for 

the person who was not the primary aggressor; increase penalties for violation of an 

order of protection; and, establish an internet domestic violence offender web site, 

listing persons who have been convicted of an offense involving domestic violence. 
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INEFFECTIVE COUNSEL 
In any criminal case, if an attorney is subsequently found to be ineffective and the 

attorney's client is denied the constitutional right to effective counsel, the attorney 

would not be permitted again to represent a client in a criminal case until completing 

a course of instruction prescribed by the Arizona Supreme Court at the attorney's 

expense. 
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ZONING ORDINANCE VIOLATIONS 
Any action imposing a fine or assessment on a person for a violation of a municipal 

zoning ordinance would have to be filed in the justice court precinct in which the 

violation occurred, removing that enforcement authority from the municipality’s 

legislative body. 
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VICTIMS’ RIGHTS OMNIBUS 
The rights of crime victims would be expanded by, among other things, allowing a 

court to order restitution in cases where the defendant is found guilty but insane; 

providing the victim standing to intervene in an appeal or to petition for review in 

any other appellate proceeding seeking to enforce any right of the victim; permitting 

the victim to be heard at each sentencing proceeding pursuant to a newly-proposed 

A.R.S. § 13-4426, granting a victim the right to be heard as a party and not as a 

witness and prohibiting disclosure of the victim's statement before made in open 

court; allowing a victim in any post-conviction proceeding in which an extension of 

time to file a brief or pleading is requested the right to notice of the request and to be 

heard on the request before an extension is granted; and, clarifying the right of a 

victim at any court proceeding not to testify publicly regarding the victim's 

addresses, telephone numbers, place of employment or other locating information 

unless the victim consents or the court orders disclosure on finding that a compelling 

need for the information exists.  

See SB 1267 (Chapter 255), by which some of these measures ultimately were 

enacted. 
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SENATE CONFIRMATION OF APPELLATE JUDGES 
A proposed amendment to Article VI, section 37 of the state constitution requiring 

approval of the voters would require the Governor to submit for consent of the 

Senate nominees for appellate court judgeships, who the Governor then shall appoint. 

HCR JUDICIAL POWER 
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The 2004 general election would carry the question of amending Article VI, Section 

1 of the state constitution vesting judicial power in an integrated judicial department 

by adding a provision stating: "Because the legislature and the people are vested with 

the sole authority to establish laws in light of the public interest and the courts are 

vested with the sole authority to adjudicate cases by applying those laws to the facts 

of applicable cases pursuant to Article III, the courts shall not establish rules of law 

on a retroactive basis, including rules of law that would apply to conduct that 

occurred before the filing of a claim arising out of that conduct." 
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JUDGES’ RETIREMENT AGE 
Voters would be asked to amend the state constitution by raising the mandatory 

retirement age of judges and justices of courts of record from 70 to 75 years of age. 
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SENATE CONFIRMATION OF JUDICIAL APPOINTMENTS 
A proposition submitted to the voters would amend the state constitution to require 

Senate confirmation of each person nominated by the Governor for justice or judge 

of a court of record and also require Senate reconfirmation every four years. 

Nominees could be proposed by the "Governor’s own choosing" without review by 

or approval of the Commission on Trial Court Appointments. 
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SUPREME COURT JURISDICTION 
Voters would be asked to amend Article VI, Section 5 of the state constitution to 

make the procedural and evidentiary rule making authority of the Arizona Supreme 

Court subject to amendment or repeal by the legislature or the people by initiative or 

referendum and to state that the authority to enact substantive, procedural and 

evidentiary laws is a legislative power inherent in the legislature and the people. 

VETOED 

Number Description 

SB 1314  
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APPEALS TO TAX COURT 
A corporate income or transaction privilege and use taxpayer aggrieved by a 

determination of the Department of Revenue would have been permitted, after an 

informal conference with the Department, to bring an action directly to the tax court 

without first exhausting administrative remedies. The Governor stated that: "It is 

neither appropriate nor fair to other users of the court system to further burden the 

courts with tax matters that the Department of Revenue might still resolve to the 

taxpayer’s satisfaction" and also commented on the anticipated burden to the Attorney 

General’s Office. 

HB 
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FORECLOSURE AND TRUSTEE SALES 
This bill would have made a number of clarifying and modifying amendments to laws 

relating to deeds of trust and sales of trust property and specifically overruled the 

holding of the Arizona Supreme Court in Krohn v. Sweetheart Properties, 203 Ariz. 

205, 52 P.2d 774 (2002) by making final, regardless of amount, the purchase price bid 

at a trustee sale. The Governor expressed concern with this attempt, stating: "While I 

realize that the situation presented in the Krohn case does not occur every day, I am 
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troubled by the specificity of the language in the bill requiring that purchaser’s bid 

price be deemed adequate for all purposes. There must be a balance between the rights 

of lenders to recover their debts and the abilities of the debtors to receive a fair price 

for property that is sold at auction. House Bill 2111 does not strike that balance." 

HB 

2259  
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DOMESTIC RELATIONS COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 
The number of parent and legislative members of the Domestic Relations Committee 

of the legislature, on which representatives of the Judicial Branch serve, would have 

been altered. The Committee was established in 1994 with various purposes, primarily 

to recommended changes to the domestic relations statutes, rules and procedures and 

other related issues designed to lead to a reform of the state's domestic relations 

statutes. In her veto message, the Governor disapproved of changing the makeup of 

such an important and non-partisan commission on "obvious partisan political 

grounds." 
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